Volkswagen Caddy Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Caddy.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Caddy? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Caddy better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (90) 87% 88% 83% 76% 88% 86%
Pirelli Cinturato Winter (5) 84% 92% 84% 84% 75% 78%
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (57) 84% 72% 79% 77% 92% 83%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (73) 87% 85% 80% 81% 74% 79%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (224) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (36) 83% 80% 80% 83% 83% 85%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (186) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Yokohama BluEarth AE01 (22) 79% 73% 76% 68% 59% 75%
Kumho IZen KW17 (2) 80% 70% 70% 35% 80% 85%
Avon ZT5 (29) 81% 67% 73% 65% 73% 74%
Dunlop SP Sport 300 (20) 77% 68% 66% 62% 77% 67%
Aptany RA301 (16) 75% 70% 70% 69% 53% 68%
Evergreen EH23 (9) 82% 56% 66% 68% 76% 68%
Dunlop SP Sport 3000 (10) 81% 64% 64% 64% 66% 69%
Autogrip P308 (24) 69% 56% 58% 53% 62% 63%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (60) 65% 45% 54% 53% 71% 55%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (129) 70% 48% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Maloya Crono 480 (1) 70% 50% 80% 50% 40% 40%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%

Volkswagen Caddy Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 67% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 average miles
I bought a pair of these last winter for my work van as I was unhappy with the performance of the Vredestine Quadrac 5's I had fitted. These tyres are excellent for winter, great grip on cold, wet roads and I zero problems with aquaplaning despite hitting huge puddles across the motorway at speed. Snow performance was disappointing though as the Quadrac 5's were better despite being quite poor everywhere else as a winter tyre. My problems with the Cross Climates are mediocre warm weather performance as the tread feels too soft when hot, high price and very high wear. The edges were starting to look really low after just 6000 miles on the front and the rest of the tyres were down to 4mm. I have since put them on the rear and done around 1500 miles and should hopefully get another winter with them on the front as I'm not using this van for work or as my primary transport anymore. If I was to buy more all season tyres I would probably go for Goodyear Vectors, they performed well on my BMW 1 series over a winter and those same tyres will be tested next winter on my Golf diesel to see how they hold up after a decent amount of miles. First impressions are good but they only did 2 or 3000 miles on the front of a rear wheel drive car.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-16 20:12:31
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 given 60% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
This is my second review of these tyres as I ended up using my van for work over the past winter so clocked about another 15000 miles. I swapped the rears with the fronts and the edges of the fronts were fairly worn and I was suffering with a lot of wheelspin and dangerous braking. The swap improved the braking to the point of not dangerous over winter but it was still below average, handling also improved but on the cold roads I was still getting a lot of wheelspin. One particularly bad trip up north on a motorway run I was suffering extremely badly with aquaplaning even with around 6mm of tread left on them. I swapped them out after with a pair of Michelin cross climates which pretty much solved all my handling, grip, aquaplaning and braking issues. I kept the worn ones on the back and they were fine for the rest of the winter with no problems at all there. Now it's summer I've switched those back to the front and inflated to 45psi cold to get the last use out of them before replacing with the less worn ones. The increased pressure seems to have improved the grip, braking and handling from what it was before. In the warm and dry they are better handling than the cross climates although still not as good in the wet or on the brakes but do seem better than before. I also had some snow driving with the less worn pair on the front before swapping to the Michelins and although they are not as good as those in the cold, wet and ice they actually worked better in snow for me. The Michelins look at least half worn after just 6000 miles on the front so considering the cost difference I'd say the Vredestines are a better tyre unless you are doing a lot of driving in bad conditions. In which case I'd probably try the Goodyear Vector 4's which will be going on my Golf diesel this winter. As I said in the last review the Quadrac 5's were pretty good all round for the first 12,000 miles, I don't think the Cross climates would even last any longer than 12,000 miles so the Vredestines win by default. The aquaplaning on the front with the hardly worn tyres is my biggest issue and the reason I won't buy these again. The newer version is supposed to be 10% better for that but that's not good enough. Make it 25% and I'd be interested. The Michelins have not aquaplaned once and they are down to about 4mm. The worn pair still on the van is down to about 3mm tread after approximately 20,000 miles on the front and 10,000 on the rear. They are bald on the outside edges but still legal as you only need 1.6mm on 75% of the centre tread in the UK.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-16 20:00:02
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 given 66% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
I have these tyres on a MK2 VW Caddy SDi 1.9 diesel with not much over 60bhp. They have now covered around 12,000 to 15,000 miles, fronts are down to 5mm with heavy wear on the edges and the rears are down to 7mm. Most of my driving has been on road trips through Europe in summer in very hot temperatures with a fairly heavy load, I mainly use a car for day to day driving. In the dry these tyres perform as well as all but the best summer tyres although they are starting to drop off with regular wheelspin occurring even in the dry in recent times. The van will understeer a bit at the limit but it is to be expected on a front drive which combined with the coilovers handles nearly as well as my BMW 1 series. In the wet handling is also good on corners but wheelspin is now nearly as bad as any tyres I've experienced when launching or accelerating hard. For the first 10 to 12 thousand miles wheelspin wasn't a problem in the wet. Braking wise in the wet even when the tyres were new they were only average, now they are close to being dangerous with planning needed in bad conditions, in an emergency situation you are going to crash. I believe the performance drop off may be due to the excessively hot conditions the tyres have been mainly used in as heat cycles will harden rubber, the fact that the fronts have barely worn down much more than the rears show that they may have been overheated when barreling down the alps and doing a couple of laps of the Nurbirgring. When I happened to be using the van after not driving it much for a while it rained and I had no chance of stopping from a not fast speed for a junction, luckily I timed the traffic while I was locking and unlocking the wheels so as not to crash as I pulled straight out in front of someone. Now I am very steady whenever the rain starts to fall or I make sure to drive something else and will swap the tyres around as soon as the summer starts to end. If performance is still unsafe when braking in the wet I will purchase a pair of Michelin Cross Climates for the front as according to the tests they maintain performance until they are on the legal limit. I can't stick with dangerous tyres no matter how much tread they have left, they are great still in dry conditions and would recommend them if you can get them for a good enough price. I've also got Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons on my 1 series, the Michelins were too expensive for those wheels, so far the Goodyears have impressed although they don't seem quite as good as these Vredestines were when new in the dry. I haven't had the pleasure of snow and ice driving with the Vredestines but on cold tarmac in the winter they out grip most summer tyres in corners but are a bit weak when braking again. For the record the van has had new brake pads, discs, fluid and I've cleaned all the dust out of the drums, plus the shoes are within the service limit. All done since I've had these tyres, plus it has gone through 2 MOT's. Most of my driving has been easy going except on occasion, rolling resistance is very good, on long motorway runs at 50mph I was averaging close to 70mpg. Normal UK driving gets me mid 50's to the gallon. Overall the Quadrac 5 are good but if you are keeping the vehicle allow them to need replacement within 15,000 miles unless you are happy with sub par / dangerous wet weather performance. You can buy better tyres but if the price is right still worth a look.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-09 10:14:28
Writing about the Aptany RA301 given 37% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2500 easy going miles
The worst tyres I’ve come across put them on in February an the fronts are gone already
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-16 06:24:50
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 96% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 average miles
Predictable handling, short braking distances, comfortable, real fuel saving tire. Definitely would buy it again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-25 08:58:14
Writing about the Evergreen EH23 given 47% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Found these to be a little vague on the steering with okay dry performance for a budget brand. In wet weather the performance drops off drastically where you find the tyres start to loose grip very easily. Now the winter months are here and have the wet and cold together I have found the performance dangerous at times in city and motorway traffic. If I have to brake hard the tyres loose grip easily and don't perform very well once the abs kicks in. These tyres may perform better on a car but with on a fully loaded van they don't perform well at all. Going to be glad to see the back of these.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-10 07:02:29
Writing about the Event WL905 given 15% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
The worst tyres I have ever had on a car. And iv had some crap tyres. They came fitted to the wheels and will be coming off very shortly. On first and second in the slightest of damp the wheels just spin. Perfect for the bottom racer in me that wants to wheel spinning but no good if you want to set off for a gap.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-30 11:01:42
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato Winter given 76% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
Bought them a month ago. Ideal for the Greek winter !!!
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-15 17:47:00
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 97% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-09 10:54:08
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 91% (205-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
I'll start by saying that I've never liked Bridgestone tyres when I've tried them in the past (twice now), but after having these fitted to a new car all I can say is how much of an improvement these are over other Bridgestone tyres I've tried.

They're good in all conditions, nice and quite, comfortable and are wearing very well at the moment. They're not a sporty tyre, but perform very well in their intended use as a touring tyre.

Practically faultless.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-14 20:49:14
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 300 given 76% (205-60-15-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 42000 spirited miles
All round Beats the standard tyres on my work vw caddy van maxi. 5 meters increase in stopping distance in dry over standard tyres.
Wore out after 42,000km but I am heavy footed so actually not too bad.
Low noise, decent handling in wet and dry.
Good entry level sports tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-09 05:49:01
Writing about the Autogrip P308 given 70% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Got these on my 2006 caddy van for the money they are a good but not great tyre a little suspect in the wet but great in dry conditions
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-08 09:18:28
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre