Yokohama BluEarth AE01

The Yokohama BluEarth AE01 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 68%
Wear 59%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 68%

Tyre review data from 22 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 213,712 miles driven.

The BluEarth AE01 is ranked 87th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2015 Auto Bild Top 18 Summer Tyre Test - 16th of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Safe dry handling, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Understeer and long braking in the wet. Moderate comfort.
View Full Test >>

2015 Market Overview - Braking Test - 18th of 52 tyres

View Full Test >>

2015 European Tyre Test 185/60R14 - 12th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Quite well on dry roads, low fuel consumption
  • Negative - Weaknesses in the wet
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Yokohama BluEarth AE01
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Yokohama BluEarth AE01. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


BluEarth AE01 Prices

Size Price Range  
175/70 R13 £46.18 - £46.18 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 11 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Yokohama BluEarth AE01 Reviews

Given 75% while driving a Nissan (175/70 R13 T) on mostly country roads for 22,000 average miles
I fitted 4 new Yokohama BluEarth AE01's on my Nissan Almera 1392cc hatchback 12 months and 22k miles ago, and they transformed the grip and handling of the car. Prior to fitting, the car had a selection of different branded tyres with varied tread depths and ages. Prior to fitting the Yoko's it would easily spin the front tyres up in the wet and felt skittish on wet roundabouts even at low speeds.

With the Yoko's fitted it is all but impossible to spin up the front wheels and it feels very planted and stable when cornering, even on greasy roundabouts. Obviously the car is not a high-powered vehicle, but swiftly accelerating from a standstill is now much safer.

I have no idea about the progressiveness of the tyres as I have never attempted to breach the limits of the Nissan's modest handling.

Road noise was drastically reduced on fitting these tyres, they have worn evenly but are now looking like they could do with being changed as the tread is getting to around 3mm all round. I swapped the front and rear tyres over after approximately 6 months as the fronts were wearing quicker than the rears, though this is only to be expected with a FWD car. The road noise has increased as the tread has worn down, though the appalling state of UK roads does this no favours at all.

I think I will need to replace the tyres in the next 5000 miles (3 months) due to tread wear, I will probably try a different tyre in the same price bracket (£50 - £60 per tyre) to compare the grip and longevity to the Yokos. I have had positive experience with Avon ZV5s in the past, so will probably try those next.

Overall I would recommend these tyres, though be aware they are only moderately durable. I would suggest that these fall further towards the grip end of the grip - durability scale, certainly I cannot speak highly enough of the difference they made to my Nissan's road manners but have worn quicker than I'd have liked.
37 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2013   
Given 54% while driving a Ford Fiesta (155/80 R13) on mostly motorways for 8,000 easy going miles
A wear fest for my Fiesta. Lasted a year and only 8000 miles.

Economy, handling etc was good, but the wear!
8 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2019   
Given 61% while driving a Volvo S40 2.0d (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
These tyres are on the front axle. They are quiet and comfortable. Grip is only average in dry, slightly worse in wet- but still ok. Wear rate isn't good either. Wouldn't buy them again.
8 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2016   
Have you driven on the Yokohama BluEarth AE01 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama BluEarth AE01? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama BluEarth AE01 >

Latest Yokohama BluEarth AE01 Reviews

Given 82% while driving a Suzuki 2000 vatari jx2.0 (155/65 R14) on mostly town for 50 average miles
This to fit to our 2nd car to replace the OEM Falken tyres. My current first impression are:
- comparing to the falken, the tyres felt softer, but noisier
- the grip and handling in the wet and dry condition is just as good if not better than the Falken - subjectively, i like to think it's better. They are quite reassuring.
- given the current street price for a japanese made tyres, i think they are excellent value for money.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2018   
Given 71% while driving a Nissan Micra (165/70 R14 T) on mostly town for 12 easy going miles
I replaced all four tyres with Yokohama BlueEarth AE01. Excellent grip wet and dry but very disappointing wear. Original tyres supplied by Nissan lasted over 20,000 miles but these are down to their legal wear limits at just over 12,000. Will try another brand next time.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2018   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Mazda (195/50 R15) on mostly motorways for 50 average miles
I fitted a set of Bluearth AE01 A tyres to a Mazda Demio and now 2 years later I have just topped the 80,000km (50,000 miles) mark on the tyres and its just reached the the wear indicators. I could say these are the best tyres I have come across so far. I fill up with nitrogen to the manufacturers recommended pressure so that it maintanes the uniform pressure for longer than ordinary air and with tyre rotations at every 10,000kms with alignments checks I have been able to get this milage with which I am very satisfied. No complaints at all. Handles very well in wet and dry weather particularly at high motorway speeds, remarkably reduced road noise compared to the Dunlops I had on eearlier. Very smooth ride. Good work Yokohama, keep them rolling!!!!
2 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2018   
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta Mk2 1.8 (175/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 5,000 easy going miles
These tires have a great ride quality, cornering is great, they grip very well. Tried them moderately on race tracks too, the handling is great. Noise is probably above average but that's to be expected I think. Fuel economy was unbelieable, I was usually close to (if not below!) the factory figures. Absolutely recommend.
6 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2017   
Given 79% while driving a Honda Jazz (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 9,000 easy going miles
I got these for my mother's car which had really nasty Accelera and Event branded tyres on it. The Jazz isn't the ideal platform for a tyre test but here goes...

Noise rating was a factor when choosing and these Yokohamas have not dissapointed. Ride has improved also. However, the biggest improvement these tyres provide is wet braking. Worn budget tyres were truly terrible for this but the Blu-Earths mean I can once again relax knowing that stopping no longer needs planning permission.

Handling? It's ok. Feedback has improved and the Jazz can now be set up to corner at it's limits when rarely desired. At the limit it is now manageable, balanced and recoverable but still far from rewarding.

Cold weather performance does not reduce too much either so winter tyres are not needed. Unfortunately I cannot rate wear but after 30 months and 9000 miles, all tyres still have a minimum 6mm on them.

All in all a good tyre which was bought for noise and wet braking rating. In that, they do not disappoint but I'd prefer a little better wet roadholding but they are predictable and easily manageable.
I considered the Conti Premium Contact 5 but my previous experiences with Contis has never been good which explains the Yokohamas
4 stars.
4 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2017   
Given 32% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I replaced the original Continental Eco tyres with these and immediately wished I had stayed with the Contis. the OK points are the grip in the dry and possibly the wet ( wet roads have been very rare where live in South Australia this year!)
Bad points are many - Noise is bad, with a annoying vibration from some part of the bodywork.
Fuel consumption seems to have increased
Wear is bad - I got 70,000kms from the Contis, but will probably get only half that from these.
So, while they may be OK even good, on some cars they are not suitable for a series 6 Golf.
5 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2015   
Given 100% while driving a Vauxhall (165/70 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Really happy with the tyres...
5 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2015   
Given 54% while driving a Mercedes Benz A (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
After 10,000 miles these tyres have performed on a average basis. Wear on a Mercedes A160 has been poor overall. Previous tyres were Nexen N3000 and performed much better, will be going back to them or the latest equivalent.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2015   
Given 84% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
I bought these two years ago to replace a set of Sava Intensa HP that came with the car. I normally purchase Dunlop tyres but cash was a bit tight and these were £25 a tyre cheaper.
Over the last two years I have been seriously impressed by these tyres. The grip in the wet and dry is excellent and tyre roar is not anywhere near what came from the Sava's.
The car has been mostly driven on motorways and the fuel consumption is significantly less. It has changed from around 60mpg to 67mpg.
Overall, if you are looking for a decent set of boots that are not too expensive I'd heartily recommend these. I've just bought my second set of them!
6 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2015   
Given 30% while driving a Hyundai elantra (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
I bought these tyres on May, 2013. I wrote a comment about 1 year ago as you can see below. It was then i was satisfied with these tyres. I totally changed my mind after about 22000 kms. This brand makes a lot of noise which caused me visit service lots of time to find the source of this strange noise. Finally in my last visit we thought it was the brake brake calipers which made this strange noise and scheduled a date for caliper replacement. Today I bought a new set of tyres for winter driving. Incidentally, I noticed that after setting up new set of tyres the strange noise was no more. Besides, my car gripped really well and there was less noise on high speeds. So i've found the culprit: Guess what!

Grips: Awful, Wet performance: Sucks - Don't trust this tyre while driving in rainy conditions, Wear: Average, Dry performance: Under average, Brake distance: Long, Buy again: Definitely NO!

Although it has just been about 18 months, I'm gonna buy a new set of summer tyres on April and dump my "old" set of BluEarth tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2014   
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (190/50 R15 V) on mostly motorways for 35,000 average miles
I do around 30k a year in my small van and these tyres have been a blessing. I'm on my 3rd front pair now and will continue to fit them while they are available. They last, on average, 2-3k longer than previous Kuhmo or Falken tyres. Wet grip is great although the dry grip does not feel quite so steady under very heavy braking but it is still more than acceptable. Fantastic branded tyre at almost budget prices! Very quiet compared to previous tyres also.
4 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2014   
Given 66% while driving a Suzuki (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Thought these would be good value tyres from previous reviews. Unfortunately they are nearly worn out within a year (approx 15k miles) which ends up costing more in the long run. Now looking for a good value alternative which will last.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2013