Mercedes Benz A Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mercedes Benz A.

Do you Drive a Mercedes Benz A? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 5 (23) 93% 95% 79% 81% 93% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (40) 97% 86% 92% 95% 68% 77%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (65) 88% 84% 82% 81% 87% 84%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (290) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Yokohama BluEarth 1 (3) 90% 83% 77% 80% 83% 73%
Nokian H (11) 92% 77% 86% 74% 83% 86%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (57) 84% 83% 82% 83% 86% 82%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (43) 86% 86% 76% 80% 86% 77%
Nexen N Blue 4 Season (16) 76% 81% 73% 74% 72% 87%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (78) 85% 79% 79% 80% 76% 81%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (171) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Michelin Energy Saver (134) 83% 72% 74% 71% 85% 80%
Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco (49) 83% 77% 77% 74% 72% 77%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (114) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 78%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Continental Eco Contact 3 (54) 80% 78% 73% 68% 74% 78%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (196) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Barum Brillantis 2 (31) 77% 60% 68% 67% 78% 77%
Yokohama BluEarth AE01 (22) 79% 73% 76% 68% 59% 75%
Pirelli P Zero (139) 85% 70% 77% 73% 60% 65%
Continental Eco Contact 5 (86) 79% 67% 68% 68% 74% 68%
Tracmax X Privilo TX3 (5) 78% 60% 70% 72% 58% 76%
ESA Tecar Super Grip 7 (1) 70% 60% 60% 60% 80% 90%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (135) 77% 68% 62% 60% 70% 70%
Landsail LS388 AS (44) 76% 70% 72% 68% 72% 76%
Continental EcoContact 6 (54) 76% 64% 58% 63% 52% 72%
Davanti DX390 (21) 67% 57% 59% 57% 61% 64%
Pirelli P6000 (173) 66% 47% 55% 49% 67% 61%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (60) 68% 39% 55% 53% 66% 61%
Semperit Comfort Life (4) 58% 43% 55% 45% 63% 53%
Autogrip F101 (15) 61% 42% 43% 34% 54% 49%

Mercedes Benz A Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 given 97% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Coming from F1 Supersports on the front, they needed changed just after 8 months..But, I do have a heavy right foot so that explains that I suppose. One thing I noticed about the Supersports is that when the tread depth went below 3.5mm the grip reduced, quite noticeable loss of grip too! My car, a Mercedes A220d is a fwd car with a torque converter gearbox and has immense torque from fairly low revs. As a result, the F1 Supersport would struggle for traction for a good 3-4 seconds on the wet when flooring it. Dry was OK, but no more than that. However, it's a whole different case with the PS5. Minimal loss of traction on wet greasy roads and then it's just grip and go. I'm actually amazed at the difference as I didn't think there would be much in it between the F1 Supersports and and the PS5. At high speed, both the F1 SS and the PS5 inspire confidence in the bends, however once again the PS5 feels more direct and as a result has the edge. The PS5 is also more comfortable, and a lot less noisy. And, it has a beautiful sidewall and just seems to fill the wheel arch gaps so much better. There's a reason why Michelin is chosen by Bugatti. Conclusion...until the PS5s is released some time next year, the PS5 is simply the best option for 18' tyres at the moment as a summer tyre. If you want the best tyres for size 18' and under, look no further. PS5 is king.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-08 19:43:52
Writing about the Tracmax X Privilo TX3 given 49% (235-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9320 miles
This tire in dry goes very well, yes it is true that the sidewall is a bit soft so if you go fast they flank but nothing to bother about, the problem is in the wet it hardly grabs anything if you go a little fast, if you go at legal speed no problem on the road, the issue of the wet road is why I would not buy them again and especially the wear and tear that is the tire that has lasted the least of all the ones I have used.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-25 08:54:53
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 97% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Picked up my new car - A220d - from Mercedes recently. Car came with Continental EcoContact which for the life of me I couldn't figure out why Mercedes would fit crappy Eco tyres on a car that churns out 400 NMs of torque from 1.5k rpm..Anyway, that's Mercedes for you. On to the tyres now..I basically complained to Mercedes and threatened to hand the car back unless they changed all 4x EcoContact tyres on the car. They asked me what tyres I would like. I had heard about Eagle F1 Supersports online and watching a couple of Tyre Reviews videos on Youtube. I was going to stick to the default choice of Michelin PS4, however since the PS4s don't come in 18's I thought I would give the Supersports a try. I've had PS4 tyres on my previous car (GTD 184) and they were great tyres, so I was expecting, and hoping, for similar type of performance and grip from the Supersports. I've had the Supersports for about 500 miles now, so they are definitely bedded in. My opinion: It feels like I'm different car now, and whilst this may not seem to hard to believe given the EconContact crap tyres my A220d came with, I am also comparing the grip level to my GTD 184 with Michelin PS4 tyres on. Wet handling - The wet grip on these tyres inspire an unbelievable amount of confidence in the bends. Have went through numerous deep puddles at speed and have not had the car aquaplaning. They make you feel safe regardless of how wet the road is. Dry Grip - These tyres almost redefine physics when it comes to dry grip. I have never had a a tyre grip more and more the faster I went. These tyres don't alive until over 70 mph, and my god do they grip. There were times where I was like "Right, surely they will lose grip, surely they can't grip at this speed anymore"...But no, these tyres would not let go. I will go as far as saying that you're likely to rip the tarmac surface of the road first before the Supersports concede and accept defeat. Wear - Unfortunately, since I've only had them on for 500 miles so far, I can't comment yet. But I will come back in the future with a further update. Conclusion - The Eagle F1 Supersports are basically PS4s but for 18's wheels. Furthermore, I would go as far as saying that even if Michelin started to sell PS4s for 18's wheels I would still choose the F1 Supersports of the PS4s. I had a great experience in my Michelin PS4 tyres in my GTD 184, however there is a big difference between good grip and unreal grip, and that is what the Eagle F1 Supersport from Goodyear offer. Don't hesitate. If you want outstanding and unbeatable wet and dry grip, the F1 Eagle Supersports are your only choice. There are comparable tyres obviously, such as the PS4, SportContact 5, Potenza etc...However, if you want the best without any obvious compromise then choose the F1 Supersports.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-07 09:37:07
Writing about the Nexen N Blue 4 Season given 78% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Bought used Mercedes A160 W168 (as 3rd car in the family, for purpose of driving kid to the kindergarten) with, for me, weird tyre dimension, 195/50 R15 and I found these tyres for bargain, so less than 200€/set. I replaced ancient winter Pirellis which were on the car and I have to admit, although I got recommendation for N Blue 4 season, I have never driven 4 season tyres and never had any tyre brand than Michelin, Continental and Goodyear, so I did not know what to expect. It's been almost 6 months since then and I've driven them on dry road in the summer, wet road (here at my place we have lots of rain) and even snow. I am aware of limitation of allweather tyres, so I didn't even try to push them to a limits, but drive normally. Wow! I can recommend them. You won't have comfort like with premiums, but you will certainly get value for money. If your average mileage is approx 20.000-25.000 km/year, you might consider those tyres. Don't be snob. I would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-01 20:56:08
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 76% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
On a A-class 220 with 560NM torque this tyre is a problem in wet conditions and simply unreliable. Maybe the problem lies in the AMG sportline shocks. For the rest it's good value for money.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-24 19:54:25
Writing about the Davanti DX390 given 22% (195-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Part way through lockdown found that one of my firestone tyres had an egg in the sidewall so went to a local garage to have them changed - the only garage I could find open at the time (was a bit reluctant to go that garage as I'd been there before and had a bad experience where they tried to claim all my tyres were beyond the limit when they were nowhere near, but backtracked when I pointed out they were nowhere near the rubber markers, this time funny enough they said all my other tyres were also beyond the limit, but only backtracked on one that I said had only been fitted just before lockdown - hmmm... - certainly wouldn't go back to them charlatans - also they were a bit of a joke too laughing about this covid-19 crisis, not keeping social distance at all or anything and finding this covid-19 all one big joke - I was just like let me get the heck out of here - the first thing the guy said to me when I arrived for the tyre change was "I've not got it, you've not got it so we're good" - erm... yeah it takes 2 weeks to show up so how do either of us know that??). Asked the guys what premium tyres they had in - asked if they had any firestones, bridgestones, goodyear, etc.... nope - all they had was these davanti's which they claim were their premium tyres. Never heard of Davanti's before but they did have a number of adverts up in the window for davanti's and pictures of them on rally cars so I guessed if they're good enough for rally cars then we'll see how they go on the merc. They are so bad. In the past I've always had decent low-noise tyres on my vehicle, being autistic I hate too much noise. These things are noisy as anything and handling is anything but premium - prior to this I had some firestone roadhawks, and on my old car I had goodyear efficientgrip performance. Both are reasonably good tyres - my favourite out of them two has to be the efficientgrips - they were something else, and they certainly changed the handling of a zafira! Fuel efficiency of these tyres is absolutely appalling too - it feels like I'm dragging lead weights around. At the moment not going very far in the car, only to go get shopping and that's it so they'll do for now, but once this virus threat is fully lifted and things getting back to proper normality then I'll consider buying some new goodyears to replace these davantis.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-30 09:52:38
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 90% (195-60-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30 average miles
I like to change tyres within 2 years of purchase. I own a Mercedes A160 blue efficiency. This time i will not change the tyres as soon as before because they are AMAZING and when i change them i will buy the same. They are really quite on the road, have very good fuel consumption (very efficient), they brake very well on wet and dry. I can't comment on lateral grip in turns because my tyres are not low profile, but overall they are predictable in turns. After 30k miles and 3 years of use they have a lot of thread left and they feel like new. I really love these tyres. Give them a try, i think they worth every penny. Drive carefully, always use seat belt in your car and helmet if you ride a bike. Enjoy life.
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-19 21:39:27
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 22000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-22 11:15:57
Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-22 11:09:05
Writing about the Landsail LS388 AS given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 spirited miles
Garage recommendation for my Mercedes A150. I do a lot of motorway driving and these tyres were absolutely terrible. Car felt unresponsive and wobbly. After a month I have had enough. Replaced today with Pirelli’s which feel so much safer.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-29 19:02:26
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 66% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Good dry performance and good road feedback. Very good behaviour under hard braking.
In the wet i've found them average (continentals probably better in dry), probably due to "XL" and low profile size tire.
Front tires were in the marks after 25000Km, replaced them by a new set of Dunlop Sport max rt MO.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-25 20:23:59
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept RS2 given 75% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
On a 2004 W168, these are soft, easy to drive, have just enough feedback but are not a sport tyre. They grip very well in snow and have excellent traction off the line, as well as reasonably good brake performance. They are not as good in turns, but are in no way bad either. On wet they offer very reasonable performance and are very good at braking. They are worth well over their price tag and considering the quality of other tyres in the same range, the Hankooks are the winner.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-07 23:02:07
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre