Nexen N Blue 4 Season

The Nexen N Blue 4 Season is a Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 77%
Wear 77%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 92%
Snow Grip 84%
Ice Grip 83%

Tyre review data from 21 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 195,335 miles driven.

The N Blue 4 Season is ranked 16th of 71 All Season Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 10th of 17 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing winter qualities, exemplary mileage, cheap price level.
  • Negative - Understeering handling on wet and dry slopes, longer wet braking distances, increased rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Fair.
View Full Test >>

2022 All Season Tyre Market Overview - 14th of 37 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 All Season Tyre Market Overview - 12th of 34 tyres

View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nexen N Blue 4 Season

Questions and Answers for the Nexen N Blue 4 Season

2017-12-28 - I have 2 of these tyres on order. Until I can afford another 2 would you recommend fitting them to the front or rear of a standard front wheel drive car? The other axle will have summer tyres on. What's left of the continental eco contact 2. Approx 4/5mm tread.

Traditional advice is always put the newer tyres on the rear axle, which helps the car keep an understeer balance rather than an oversteer balance, and wears the older tyres out more quickly. In this case, this is what I would do.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/55 R15 £72.36 - £72.36 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £80.66 - £80.66 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £70.08 - £70.08 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £90.07 - £90.07 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/60 R16 £93.60 - £93.60 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £83.99 - £83.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 27 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Nexen N Blue 4 Season Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Chevrolet Lacetti (195/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
These tyres are a replacement for the original Hankook tyres that came with the vehicle (Chevrolet Lacetti purchased from new) which were excellent and have lasted 75K km. This is our second car and family workhorse used by several members of the family daily, we use a 7 seater for family transport and towing. So while we like the car, its run on a budget and I had no intention of buying separate winter and summer tyres. I explained the situation and he suggested all weather Vredsteins at some astronomical price per corner, he left to take a call and the young fitter recommended these at half the price.

Grip in all conditions is more than adequate for this vehicle, the extremely muddy lane where we go to walk the dogs is no longer a gamble with the worn Hankook summer tyres and I am confident that the coming snow will not be either. I have noticed that there has been a substantial reduction in tyre noise. I have had the car from new so that noise was just how it had always been. I will see how they fair over the winter but as it stands I will replace the 7 seater with the same tyres for the price.
Helpful 152 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2017
Given 76% while driving a Suzuki Swift (155/70 R13) on mostly country roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Overall a good tyre. Even when pushed ( snowdrifitng ) the handling stays predictable. Defining characteristic is the tendency of understeer in all conditions (cant tell if its due to the car or tyre).
This tyre likes cool temperatures. Handles snow, wet or just overall cold dry tarmac well. Understeer starts to appear above 20°C. Around 30°C it has apparent understeer..

Can recommend it to anyone who is just commuting with the car, does want to feel safe even in the winter but the yearly mileage does not justify having 2 sets of seasonal tyres. Especially now that there is barely any proper winter this is a great choice.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2023
Given 89% while driving a Ford Transit Custom (215/75 R16) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
I've got the 8 ply commercial version on a XLWB Ford Transit and driven 15000 miles on them in under a year with little wear which is great for an all season. Currently in Eastern Europe driving daily on snow and ice and I'm really impressed. I first used Nexan's on a BMW 330D M-Sport and was really impressed with them in the wet. Wet: I had Avon's on the van before which were very unpredictable in the wet. They'd only been on the van a year so barely worn, but in the wet there was no warning which is why I changed them. The Nexan's solved that problem. I'm still cautious due to how the Avon's performed, but so far I've not had this issue with the Nexan's after 10 months. Dry: It's a van so cant say much for dry performance. Fuel: On multiple 2000 mile trips across Europe, fuel consumption between the Avon's and Nexan's is about the same. 6 fuel stops for both tyres. Snow: Amazing. Lots of feel while braking, and steering is great. Front and Rear traction are well balanced with enough feel to be confident and enjoy the drive rather than worry. Any slide is progressive and controllable assuming normal driving speed. I'm honestly surprised how well an all-season does compared to a full winter. Ice: Nothing short of a studded tyre is going to work well on ice, but so far I've not got stuck on ice with the Nexans unlike the Avons. Moderate inclines are no problem, but I've not attempted from a standing start. On my drive with ice - not a problem unlike myself that fell. Buy Again: Yes - I already bought a second set of 5 for future use. Summary: For a van, these tyres give a lot of feel and confidence. On snow it almost becomes fun rather than stressful as the van is so predictable and controllable.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2023
Have you driven on the Nexen N Blue 4 Season tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nexen N Blue 4 Season? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nexen N Blue 4 Season >

Latest Nexen N Blue 4 Season Reviews

Given 83% while driving a SEAT ibiza 1.4 (185/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 38,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres, good price/value rate.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2024
Given 77% while driving a MINI Cooper S (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Used the N’Blue 4S tires for almost a year now. They replaced a set of summer and winter tires.

In dry conditions, the car handles well, allows for fun spirited driving on winding roads but you can find the limits even if you are not absolutely thrashing the car. Braking performance is the most noticably worse than a set of summer tires, keep that in mind. It’s alright, and I would say very good for the price.
It’s also confident enough in the wet.
I had some snow driving experience too, and it’s surprisingly good at that for a relatively cheap 4 season set.

I am very much satisfied. It replaced a set of higher-end 4 seasons I had on a different set of rims and I am happy with them.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 78% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
A good tyre overall, good wet and winter grip, understeers in summer great comfort, they wear out quick so they're the kind of tyre that you put in the beginning of winter and change again to new ones the year after, which is fine considering the low price
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2022
Given 61% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Estate 2.0 tdi 140 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Tires were great at the beggining although 3 out of 4 turned very curved and are impossible to balance. Have developed side cracks after 1 year of use. Although the tire is very quiet with good comfort. 2nd winter I climbed 1600m easily at -5 degree on snow and the car didn’t even caused me a problem. Its like a winter tyre. The back is very tricky on wet but predictable. They are quite weak in the dry especialy at 20degree and up and are not for fast drivers. Wear is normal but if you buy them before winter they might be ok for an absolute maximum of 3 winter and 3 summer seasons if you turn the weels from back to front. I drive them on my personal car. Great for the price if they ate not defective.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2021
Given 78% while driving a Mercedes Benz A (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Bought used Mercedes A160 W168 (as 3rd car in the family, for purpose of driving kid to the kindergarten) with, for me, weird tyre dimension, 195/50 R15 and I found these tyres for bargain, so less than 200€/set. I replaced ancient winter Pirellis which were on the car and I have to admit, although I got recommendation for N Blue 4 season, I have never driven 4 season tyres and never had any tyre brand than Michelin, Continental and Goodyear, so I did not know what to expect. It's been almost 6 months since then and I've driven them on dry road in the summer, wet road (here at my place we have lots of rain) and even snow. I am aware of limitation of allweather tyres, so I didn't even try to push them to a limits, but drive normally. Wow! I can recommend them. You won't have comfort like with premiums, but you will certainly get value for money. If your average mileage is approx 20.000-25.000 km/year, you might consider those tyres. Don't be snob. I would buy them again.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Peugeot 407 4 door sedan 2.0 petrol (215/60 R16 H) on mostly town for 6,200 average miles
10k km update after 2 winters and ran as rears one summer. So mostly colder weather running. I drive up to 10-20km above the speed limit. The tyre is comfortable and reasonably quiet. If you can hear a bit of noise and or feel a bit of a winter tyre squirm, you are probably underinflated. No, it is not a UHP summer, it gets you no feedback and average dry handling, but still good and can be driven sporty if you adjust. As it is soft, it tends to stick to the road. Over 20C though, they get vague and I would change or only run them as rears on a FWD. It is brilliant on ice. Snow and ice is on par with a Firestone Winterhawk 3. Wet is good, grippy and uneventful. Little wear. Can recommend for the average Joe, who values his comfort as much the occasional Italian tune-up.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2020
Given 88% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
I bought these XL tires, tired of the seasonal tire change. I was worried that the summer performance was bad and the noise was excessive. I was wrong, immediately the comfort offered surprised me. In autumn and winter you can appreciate the quality of the tire, even in summer it does not disappoint with excellent performance in the wet. I was so pleased with these tires that I also bought them for my mother-in-law's Fiesta.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2020
Given 85% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 linear sport 1.9TID (150) (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
Bought these Nexen N blue 4 seasons for my Saab 93. I wanted a All season tyre that was good value for money. I paid around £62 a tyre compared to £100 Plus for the premium tyres available. I drive around 20000 miles a year on mostly motorways but need a tyre that is capable of getting me home no matter the weather,I have previously had Michelin cross climates which were great tyres however the only part the cross climates were only slightly better at was dry handling, apart from that there’s nothing between them in my opinion. They have never let me down during heavy rain and seem very stable even in flooded motorways. Haven’t had the chance to use them in snow so cannot comment on snow performance, however I’m sure they will do the job. Currently driven 12000 miles and they have hardly worn at all. Fuel economy seems fine as-well as noise levels. In my opinion these are the best value All season tyre on the market and I will definitely buy them again. Bought these on the recommendation on a video from Tyre reviews so thanks mate.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2020
Volkswagen (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Update after 2000km an one winter... XL version is a bit noisier than standard, like a winter Tyre. Grip in snow is like with used winter Tyre. In wet...ok. In dry...ok.
Helpful 58 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2020
Volkswagen (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Just bought this (XL version) after a long reading of reviews and tests.
It replaced an aged Continental PremiumContact 5.
Tested as new in wet and dry.
So far, I am pleased with them.
I have immediately felt that they are more comfortable, maneuverable and quite tyres.
Did not tried yet in winter but based on profile and tests, it will not dissapoint.
My main conceurne was, grip in wet and dry and maneuvrability.
The only drawback ( but I knew about it) is the fuel efficiency. I do feel they are less efficient( mostly on starting the car, you have to push the pedal more).
Anyhow, giving the price/quality ratio is a great compromise. After 4 yrs even with 0,2 l/100 increased consumption, you are still on plus compared to a premium, more expensive tyre.
I do recommend them.
Wear is not a concern for me. For sure they will last 3 yrs.
I will update the review after winter driving.

Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2019
Given 80% while driving a Citroën C4 Picasso (2013 ) (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I use the tyres on a citreon c4 picasso II. Almost a year now i've driven on almost all conditions. I was impressed on the ice and snow performance. While on daily normal commute i never used snow chains except on heavy snowstorm at the mountains. I was really curious about the summer performance, because at my area gets really hot for a long period. The tyre performed really good even at high speeds while the temperature was above 38 Celsius. I noticed a little problem on aquaplaning,maybe more than i expected. Overall a really honest tyre that has nothing to be jealous from the high end brands. Definitely buy them again.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2019
Given 83% while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
I've had these fitted to a 4x4 yeti for the last 1 1/2 years and have seen 2 winters with snow with them.

Positive points
1. Quiet
2. Decent road handling in wet and dry, braking is good in both.
3. In snow these are great and in sub 4 degrees they seem to grip even better.
4. Grip on muddy roads/lanes much better than summer tyres
5. Good feedback from tyres

Negative
1. Fuel economy seems down on summer equivalents by 5-10%
2. Wear seems lightly greater than summer tyre - i'll get max 2 years out of these (24k miles) but that isn't too bad for a 4x4
3. Aquaplane - seems lower than summers/goodyear vector 4 seasons - Something to be aware of.

My wifes car has Goodyear Vector 4 seasons fitted. They seem to wear better but are very similar for wet, dry and snow abilities.

Will use these again purely as they are £76 each for my car, whereas Bridgestones A005's, Goodyear vector 4 seasons gen 2 or michelins are £115-135 each.

The difference in abilities between these and the Goodyear vector 4 seasons gen 2 does not warrant the price

Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2019