Kleber Quadraxer

The Kleber Quadraxer is a Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 71%
Wear 89%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 88%

Tyre review data from 41 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 623,731 miles driven.

The Quadraxer is ranked 8th of 55 All Season Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 8th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Balanced safe driving in winter, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Weak performance in the wet, prolonged braking distances on wet and dry conditions. Low aquaplaning resistance.
View Full Test >>

2013 54 Tyre Braking Test - 52nd of 54 tyres

    View Full Test >>

    2012 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 7th of 10 tyres

    • Positive - Balanced safe driving characteristics and short braking distances on snowy slopes, pleasant ride comfort
    • Negative - Poor steering behavior and extended braking distances in wet and dry conditions
    View Full Test >>
    Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kleber Quadraxer
    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kleber Quadraxer. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Quadraxer Prices

    Size Price Range  
    Available in 6 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Kleber Quadraxer Reviews

    Given 77% while driving a Subaru Legacy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 26,000 spirited miles
    I was recommended these by my local tyre fitter, after a little research I decided they would probably be a good option for all year round driving. Well after 26000 miles of pretty spirited driving I have to say these are a good choice. they are not the best at any particular type of weather or road. However they are a good all-round tyre. Snow grip was very good, rain traction is ok, braking not so good in the wet. dry conditions traction is good, cornering nice and progressive braking good. However these tyres seem to get better the colder it is, almost like a switch, when it drops below 5 deg c is when they are at their best.I was expecting them to wear out in the summer months but they have really surprised me. I've had them on for 2 years now and they are still going strong (Maybe the 4 wheel drive is helping). I don't even think they are half worn yet.They are a little noisier than summer tyres that is my only criticism really . If you take them as a good all-round average tyre for all conditions you cant get a lot better for your money. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a good quality tyre.
    18 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2014   
    Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (185/65 R15 R) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
    Fitted just over a year ago, and with such a mild winter had no opportunity to try in adverse weather. This is the house runabout car with predominately shortish trips in variety of conditions.
    Definitely notice the handling difference in dry hot weather vs summer tyres with less precise turn in, but more than makes up for this when the temperature drops or the rain falls. Very quiet and smooth in all conditions. Very good at displacing water in flooded motorways.
    This winter had the opportunity to try in snow - what a transformation from summer tyres. Passed three cars who were attempting a hill and failing, had enough traction and steering to be able to safely negotiate my way around them and accelerate up the hill. The ability to brake in snow and to go downhill safely is a tremendous confidence booster. All in all an inexpensive but very capable set of tyres and I am surprised why they rate poorly in independent tests when they are very competent in real life.
    7 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2015   
    Given 79% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 2.3 SE Estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
    An excellent all round tyre that has lasted 4 years. Always felt safe especially on snow. Will replace all my tyres with quadraxers again on my Saab 95.
    5 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2014   
    Have you driven on the Kleber Quadraxer tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Kleber Quadraxer? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Kleber Quadraxer >

    Latest Kleber Quadraxer Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a Suzuki sx4 auto petrol. (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 45,000 spirited miles
    Great Performance on dry and wet road. And long endurance. Alter 50000 Kilometer back tires almoast as new front ones worn on the outside edges but still good for use, change front with rear .
    Plan to drive another 10000 kilometers and than change them. So I can say you can be peaceful for minimum 50000 kilometers.
    3 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2019   
    Given 77% while driving a Vauxhall Zafira 2.0 dti (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 36,000 spirited miles
    I had these fitted to a Zafira 2.0dti, not a performance car so the lack of turn-in and feedback wasn't an issue despite mixed urban/country (often spirited) driving. Excellent performance in snow and rain saved the day on many occasions over 'closed' Peak District roads. Quiet, comfortable and fuel economy seemed unaffected. I can't believe they were still legal after 36,000 miles!!! Whilst driving feedback scores low it simply isn't noticed 98% of the time. Definitely buy again.
    4 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2014   
    Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
    Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Passat (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 42,800 easy going miles
    I Bought these in December 2012 for winter use - didn't bother to change them in March 2013 as I had got used to the feel of them - I am still using them in March 2014 having done 42,800 miles on them and they still have 5mm on the front and 6mm on the back. They are not as good in the dry and hot conditions as summer tyres - but hey drive sensibly keep your distance and they are perfect - you will use less fue too (2011 Passat Estate 1.6 diesel LS model averaging 55.6mpg over total distance to date of 77,800). Will never buy another type of tyre.

    Oh yes - they are superb in the snow.
    5 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2014   
    Given 51% while driving a Peugeot 406 Coupe 2.2 Petrol (215/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 1,500 average miles
    the worst tire I had, no traction on dry and wet, and really bad braking. I do not recommend it!
    0 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2014   
    Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
    Uploaded my initial report 19th Dec 2012 with just 200 miles. Now one very snowy winter past, a summer and autumn plus another 8000 miles

    Winter snow and cold roads, around the mountains I visit in NE Scotland, they performed fantasitically. Could pull through everything even when intentionally off roading in 6 inches of untouched snow on flat car park. Only once had to dig out of a frozen park. Wet weather behaved very well

    Summer is the only time I can say I noticed they felt a bit soft going around tightish corners or roundabouts, with maybe a hint more speed than necessary. Not that the tyres slipped, rather it felt like the car deformed the tyre sideways more. Only noticed this on rear of car, for what is a front wheel drive

    Tyre wear is negligable

    Overall a sensible driving attitude, hazard anticipation and speed mean these tyres definetly work

    Motorway driving, 600 miles, high summer, average speed door to door 56mph, with 1.9 TDI Gold Estate, still got 57 mpg !
    More rural roads and city roads, Winter/Summer, still get 47-53 mpg


    0 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2013   
    Given 47% while driving a Mitsubishi Colt (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Marginally better than summer tyres in the snow, quiet and smooth, but in the cold and wet it gives no confidence at all: Feels like you are on top toes. Could not recommend and would not buy again.
    2 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2013   
    Given 81% while driving a Skoda Suberb MkII (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    I purchased 4 Kleber Quadraxer 205/55 R16 94V all-season tyres, fitted, in preparation for 2012 winter months and beyond. Eight months and 15,000+ miles later, here are my findings. Vehicle: 2010 Skoda Superb 1.4 TSi. 122ps.

    A good turn of performance in cold conditions and equally good in hot weather, but is the Kleber Quadraxer all-season tyre a real Jack of all Trades?

    Initial impressions reveal the ride is compliant and fairly supple, road noise is lower than my previous Continental Sport Contact 2 resulting in less fatigue on long (200+ mile) journeys. Many older road surfaces create roar noise but the Quadraxer manages to suppress it better than the SP2's. Dry weather turn-in and feedback is good enough, informing the driver of how the front end is behaving. Pulling away from junctions need a touch more care as it's easier to spin the wheels, wet or dry. They can chirp all to easily under mild acceleration.

    After 300+ miles the rear of the car still felt 'loose' and not as firmly planted as the front. I put this down to the sheer number of 'pimples' over the tread surface, which had yet to wear off.

    Cold weather performance.
    During winter 2012 in the UK, the tyres did not see temperatures lower than around -10 degrees C during which they performed fairly well. The Quadraxer’s certainly inspire confidence at lower temperatures though not by a huge margin. They are a ‘compromise’ between summer and winter tyres afterall. They do not, however, lend themselves to more spirited driving dry or wet, so you have to proceed accordingly. If you need a more dynamically capable tyre, you probably need to look elsewhere instead.

    In wet weather they perform quite well but lack the outright grip comparative to Continentals Sport Contact 2 in low speed corners or even if pressing on in medium speed corners, although not by much. However, the Quadraxers demonstrate excellent water clearing abilities, for example, when driving through deep standing water by the side of the road. Fears of having the steering wheel torn from your hands are mostly banished. Instead it's more like a gentle tug reminding you to be vigilant. Again, this inspires confidence when driving at night along unlit rural roads. Far superior to the SP2’s.

    Driving in snow I noted their performance was a tale of two halves. On snow/ice covered roads they gripped fairly well under mild acceleration, but not exceptionally. I was expecting better. Braking, however, was far more impressive and inspired great confidence on fresh and compacted snow. On the down-side their ability to turn-in and maintain the desired line in snow/ice covered roads, or even car parks, was mediocre in comparison. It seems they lack sufficient ‘bite’, which might be due to the tread design on the outer edge. Still, they are way, way better than summer tyre performance.

    Handling. Very good straight-line performance at motorway speeds. No weaving or tram-lining. Very good at high speed directional changes with small inputs. Also, they offer quick and precise reactions to steering wheel input on A and B roads without the need for mid-course corrections.

    All-round year useability?

    The acid-test for all-season tyres has to be how well or poorly they perform during summer months. Having trawled the web for real-life feedback and data before buying the Quadraxer, precious little was available, which is of no use if you plan to spend £300 on tyres that you might end up detesting for one or two years. After a recent spate of particularly hot weather I can conclude there appears to be no difference in their driving performance at +32 degrees of air temperature to that of -10 C. Bare in mind actual tarmac temperature would have been higher still. Grip levels appear to remain the same, which comes as a relief, and wear rate is quite modest if not fairly low. So, no complaints using them in both cold and very warm conditions. A very impressive act in my opinion.

    It is easy to be persuaded by the NEED to have a 4x4 version of your car in order to cope with unexpected snowfall, avoiding getting stuck on the school run, travelling to work or to make your next appointment with your client on time. (Towing, however, presents a different set of conditions.) I would now make a case for a well matched set of all-season tyres instead of 4x4 set-up because they actually work in cold conditions by giving you some traction and they also work in hot weather because they don't turn to mush and shed blocks of tread on hot tarmac. Another positive is maintaining or even an improvement in fuel economy. The only real downsides are reduced grip and less front and rear end 'bite' whilst scything down narrow country lanes. Under such conditions, fine directional changes and grip are a distant memory of previously owned summer-rated tyres, and something you really wish for - especially as the corner you are in tightens up. The solution and remedy is simple. Enter such corners at a slightly reduced velocity in the first instance.

    All-season tyres, such as the Kleber Quadraxer, generally speaking suit my style of driving and compliment the dynamics of the car, although I have learned to drive within their performance constraints. They offer good levels of comfort, a compliant ride and reduced tyre noise. Levels of grip are fine and they perform much better than summer tyres in the cold, wet and snow. As a very rough guide I estimate the wear rate at 5000 miles per mm on a front drive car. Front depth tread is 5mm and rear 7mm. More than satisfactory.

    The Quadraxer’s certainly inspire confidence at lower temperatures though not by a significant margin. These tyres do not lend themselves to more spirited driving dry or wet, so you have to drive accordingly. If you need a more dynamically capable tyre, you probably need to look elsewhere instead. Trying to objectively define the difference is not possible. However using rallying terms of effort and speed. If one were to drive the SP2's at 10/10ths, I estimate the Quadraxer would max out around 8 tenths in terms of cornering speed and precision.

    Braking is the only area where I tend to err on the side of caution and allow a good margin for safety and other drivers’ stupidity. During severe speed reductions one can feel the block pattern squirming against the forces, which gives an impression you don’t have full control of the situation. I sure you have, but it does not feel that way. This seems to occur only on the limit. Back off a bit and it never becomes an issue.

    To conclude, the Keber Quadraxer is a pretty good tyre overall. Certainly not a high performer, but one I am pleased with over the past 15,000+ miles and delighted with their performance envelope in cold and hot weather. Am I happy with them? Let me put it this way. They will remain on the car all year until the tread gets down to 3mm, or a tyre suffers damage. After that will be replaced the same or better tyre. All-seasons from now on. The Kleber Quadraxer - Jack of all trades and good one at that! And no, I do not have any association with any tyre manufacturer or retailer.
    4 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2013   
    Given 81% while driving a Skoda Octavia (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 16,000 easy going miles
    As a taxi driver I got over 16,000 miles from the front tyres after having these fitted, 4000 miles more than any other tyre. Ive been a taxi driver for 5 years and nothing has come close as far as longevity is concerned
    1 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2013   
    Given 80% while driving a Ford fusion (195/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 40,000 average miles
    Having run a set of four on a Ford Fusion (a tall Fiesta) I have been impressed. One of the few all-season tyres that have earned themselves the snowflake/peaked mountain symbol normally reserved for dedicated winter tyres.

    Handling wise, I remember the car feeling a tad spongier in dry warm weather over the previous summer tyres when first fitted, but this is no bad thing as it has also calmed the overly firm and fidgety ride.

    They have worn exceptionally well considering occasional spirited driving, at 40,000 miles both front tyres have got close to the limit. The rears are fine so in hindsight I should have rotated them earlier and perhaps got 60,000/three winters although they are probably well past their best at 4mm tread remaining.

    Over two winters they have proved themselves when unexpected snow has turned a 50 minute commute into a six hour slog. Leaving the clogged motorway, they allowed my wife to drive on untreated country roads and pass many unfortunate souls in their summer tyre'd 4x4s on the hills! This alone cheered her up no end after spending all afternoon/evening stuck in traffic. Many others spent a cold night parked on the motorway whilst she got home at midnight. We live on a 1 in 8 hill and they have not been stopped from reaching the house yet.

    During some 'soft-roading' on an unmade access road, they were pretty much unstoppable until encountering some clear ice, resulting in sliding backwards into a hedge. After fitting some cheap Lidl snowchains, the car turned into an unstoppable monster, freeing itself and then parking in deep snow over mud whilst several 4x4's guided themselves downhill by using a bank. (not very successfully as the hedge will attest) Once they were out of the way we continued (up!) without a struggle and took the long way back to have some fun.

    One thing to note, the front nearside has been the first to go as expected, once down to the tread wear indicators the shoulders scrubbed off in a matter of days, and quite unexpectedly I found the threads/carcass just peeping through on the inside edge, so don't run them too close to the limit. The result was a 150 mile trip at 50mph on the space saver. Oops. Possibly wheel alignment related seeing as it went so fast.

    Two new tyres ordered, and as always, new tyres on the back obviously to keep the tail in check, rotating part worn rears to the front :)
    2 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2013   
    Given 89% while driving a Jaguar X Type Estate 2.0D (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 18,000 easy going miles
    Fitted to my X-type estate and have been very nice to drive on generally as well as good in the snow. They have lasted amazingly well
    0 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2013   
    Given 93% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector 2.2TiD (225/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
    There are very few choices for All Season Tyres at 225/45/17 profile, so went for the Quadraxer's based on reviews and others. I have them fitted to my SAAB 9-3 as a good all rounder, with the peace of mind that I am not going to get stuck in any snow fall.

    So far, they have been astonishing in the rain and no issues with surface water, feels like you are still driving on a dry road. Looking forward to driving them on snow. Comfortable tyre and handles well for normal usage, as you would expect and should achieve a good high mileage.

    Highly recommended for 17" rims.
    1 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2013   
    Given 93% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 167,000 easy going miles
    Fiesta 1.4Tdci. My local tyre fitter is having problems with the supply of Vredestein (I've put my last pair of half-worn Snowtrak on the back wheels) and so he recommended Quadraxer saying that he and others had used them in snow the previous winter and found them to be 'brilliant'. I live on a hill in Ramsbottom.In the heavy snow of a couple of days ago, I turned into the street to find a group of my neighbours pushing a small hatchback up the street, with its wheels spinning on the compacted snow. I got out, helped them push for a few yards, got back into mine and drove up behind them. I couldn't see the problem! The grip on snow and ice is indeed comparable to the Vredestein Snowtrak 3. As other reviewers have said, theses are not a performance tyre and I wouldn't like to go screaming around at high speeds on them, but on my little diesel I would happily use them all year round.
    0 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2013