Hankook Winter i cept RS2

The Hankook Winter i cept RS2 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Winter I cept RS3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 80%
Wear 86%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 81%
Snow Grip 82%
Ice Grip 75%

Tyre review data from 43 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 318,800 miles driven.

The Winter i cept RS2 is ranked 34th of 56 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test - 6th of 22 tyres

  • Positive - Top performance in snow and wet conditions, very good aquaplaning resistance, short wet braking distances, well priced.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry.
View Full Test >>

2021 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 3rd of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - the I*Cept RS2 is very good in the dry, wet and snow.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance and cabin noise.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Winter i cept RS2

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Winter i cept RS2

2017-10-10 - I would like to know when this mid-life update was implemented ... Which date code to look on tyres sidewalls ? Actually I m on a set of RS2 dating week 39of 2015 . I ll get another set for sure if i get an answer for this

Unfortunately we don't have any specific date information for a mid-life update for the Hankook Winter i cept RS2.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £50.59 - £90.30 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £48.99 - £104.00 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £47.99 - £134.80 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £65.69 - £136.30 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £88.29 - £102.10 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 42 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Hankook Winter i cept RS2 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 GT (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 39,000 easy going miles
Excellent grip of the tires. I expected more comfortable, and safe. I would recommend, quality tires
Helpful 279 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2016
Given 90% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 3,500 easy going miles
Very good traction and braking distance on wet and dry surfaces on a Dacia Logan PH1 without ABS or ESP.
Hardly no wear after driving 5600 km (~3500 miles) mainly on motorways and cities.
The only downside is that they are pretty noisy after 110 kmh (~60 mph).
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2017
Given 75% while driving a Mercedes Benz A (185/60 R15 T) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
On a 2004 W168, these are soft, easy to drive, have just enough feedback but are not a sport tyre. They grip very well in snow and have excellent traction off the line, as well as reasonably good brake performance. They are not as good in turns, but are in no way bad either. On wet they offer very reasonable performance and are very good at braking. They are worth well over their price tag and considering the quality of other tyres in the same range, the Hankooks are the winner.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2017
Have you driven on the Hankook Winter i cept RS2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Winter i cept RS2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Winter i cept RS2 >

Latest Hankook Winter i cept RS2 Reviews

Given 57% while driving a Fiat croma (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Used this tyre for two winter seasons couldn't feel tyres well like they were a bit loose.Awful in ice average in snow comparison is with Kumhi wp51 and Sava eskimo,Great on wet and dry expected more from Hankook
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2022
Given 81% while driving a Audi A3 (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
I am impressed with that tyre. The Contis I had before them are, hands down, the best winter tyre but these come close. Especially given that they are around 25% cheaper. However, they are not 25% less good in any case. I am skiing and go to the mountains early in the morning when roads are icy and parking lots snowy. Grip in snow is magnificent, FWD car coupled with these tyres simply cannot get stuck, unless you are excessively dump. Last year I was almost going to have big trouble as I was driving a high mountain road with deep frozen tracks from other cars and these tyres saved me from leaving the car there, or worse, crashing. They have exceptional grip on ice and snow. Wet is also pretty good but I never drive fast when it rains. Dry, no worries, no squeaking, perfect driveability. This is going to be their 4th or 5th season I cant remember and do not have any signs of excessive wear.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 80% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (185/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 300 easy going miles
Happy new year!! It is the the first time i buy Hankook tyres and my previous winter tyres were the Goodyear Ultragrip 9. Dry grip is very good and wet grip is excellent.The temperature in Greece is quite high,so i have no experience about snow and ice grip.It is too early to say something about the wear.The disadvantage of this set of tyres is the comfort which is below the average and the noise. I think it is the noisiest tyre i have ever had.The price is very good.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2022
Given 88% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
Very good quality@performance/price ratio. Very silent. I bought them based on very good reviews and I congratulate myself. In my opinion, they are best buy. Still not tested on snow/ice.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2021
Given 83% while driving a SEAT Leon 1.9TDi (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
For the price these tyres are amazing. Dry grip is really good, wet grip is phenomenal (really feel safe driving this tures), snow grip - can't say much there isn't a lot of snow in our country. Comfot is something that a I will point out as a good thing, don't expect this tyre to be quiet as Michelin ones, but the noise is not irritating. Feels like a tire made for Central European weather with wet and cold dry asphalt mostly in the winter. Will add more details at end of life of the tires.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 85% while driving a Ford Fiesta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I exchanged my summer tyres to Hankook tire and even on dry road i did not feel the difference. The car was virtually the same. Compared to summer tires of Michelin manufacturer that I had previously mounted on my vehicle, they are a little bit louder, but it is normal for any winter tyre. Larger differences appear wet or snow-covered roads. Of course, for the benefit of winter tires. You can feel confident that the car holds the road well, no problems with moving off, and even braking is satisfactory I think that these tires are the best choice if you want to buy good tires at an affordable price. I do recommend these tires to everybody.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2021
Given 59% while driving a Opel Astra J 1.7 CDTI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Good wet handling and breaking. The grip, handling and breaking on ice/ snow is bellow expected performance. Living in Latvia - maybe good option for city driving in winters but definitely would not recommend for areas with heavy and constant snow.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2021
Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,500 average miles
First of for I’d like to say for the price they are the best winter tires. Comfort is superb and wear is literally nonexistent, grip on wet and dry during doing some rough starts can be trouble the ABS pops up right away but afterwards it is great. The only issue I have had was like someone else mentioned in mixture of snow muddy surfaces it would go sideways but that was on a bit of steep road so it is understandable. Either way would definitely recommend cheap comfortable great tire overall.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2021
Given 73% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B5.5 1.9 TDi 130bhp highline (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Great quality-price. Very good in dry.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2021
Given 83% while driving a Dacia Sandero Stepway DCI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,500 spirited miles
I strongly recommend these tires. My previous ones were Pirelli. I can say the driving comfort is really good and very quiet on the road compared to Pirelli. Fuel consumption is not high, I feel that I can ride a little bit more than before. I believe that they are very economical. The Hankook tires never disappoint me. They are doing very well in snow, slush and really well on icy roads, plus other demanding winter conditions. They are very durable. Braking distance on a wet or ice surface is very good but if you start quickly, they sometimes squeal. If I had to purchase some winter tyres again, I would go for the Hankook tires again without any doubts. What is more, their price is really reasonable.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2021
Given 52% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,500 average miles
ABS kicks in easily with those tires in compare to Michelin Alpin A3. Athough on snow is on compare with Michelin A3. Black ice is killer for i*cept 2 (didn't have that with Michelin Alpin A3s, actually I didn't know what is black ice until Hankooks. You will understeer or oversteer (if you are lucky) in second. Oversteer is correctable on these, if you have snappy hands and car for that. Car is Fiesta mk7 1.25 82hp.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2021
Given 96% while driving a BMW 3 (215/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
This is my first winter season with these tyres. Bought them after reading all the good reviews they've received. They have excellent dry and wet grip. I haven't experienced extreme winter conditions with them yet, but there was no problem with the small amount of snow we've had. Feedback, comfort and wear is also good. I see some have mentioned noise issues, over my driving years I've used several high end makes of winter tyre including Goodyear, Michelin, Pirelli and I can honestly say these have been one of the quietest I've driven on, maybe lower tyre profiles makes the difference? I would have no issue buying these again.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2021