Hankook Winter I cept RS3

The Hankook Winter I cept RS3 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Winter i cept RS2.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 86%
Wear 85%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 84%
Snow Grip 91%
Ice Grip 74%

Tyre review data from 10 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 18,700 miles driven.

The Winter I cept RS3 is ranked 34th of 64 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Reviews All Season Tyre Test - 11th of 12 tyres

View Full Test >>

2023 ADAC 16 Inch Tyre Test - 5th of 16 tyres

  • Overall - The Hankook Winter i*cept RS3 shows minor deficiencies in steering precision and feedback on dry roads but earns a good overall rating due to its safety reserves in sudden evasive maneuvers and braking performance rated as "still good." On wet roads, the tyre performs well in braking, longitudinal aquaplaning, and handling, but falls short in lateral aquaplaning with a satisfactory rating. On winter roads, it ranks second-best in the test, excelling in braking and acceleration, and offering secure and precise handling on snow. Its ice braking performance is also above average. Environmentally, the tyre misses a good rating due to its below-average projected lifespan, although its wear and efficiency are rated as good.
View Full Test >>

2023 ADAC 17 inch Winter Tyre Test - 7th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Safe properties on wet roads, safe properties on winter roads, low weight, low fuel consumption.
  • Negative - Slight weaknesses in precision and behavior at the limit on dry roads.
  • Overall - The Hankook Winter i*cept RS3 tyre exhibits minor weaknesses on dry roads, particularly in steering precision and driving safety, with a tendency to oversteer during sudden maneuvers. However, its braking distance is rated as good. On wet roads, the tyre performs well across all metrics, including precise handling and good safety reserves. It also ranks third in winter road performance, excelling in braking and acceleration on snow and offering precise and safe handling. Its ice braking performance is average. Environmentally, the tyre scores well with good predicted mileage and wear. Its efficiency is also commendable due to its low weight and fuel consumption.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2023 ADAC 16 Inch Tyre Test (205/60 R16)
  • 7th: 2023 ADAC 17 inch Winter Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 11th: 2023 Tyre Reviews All Season Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2022 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2022/23 Tyre Reviews Winter Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2022 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Winter I cept RS3

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Hankook Winter I cept RS3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Hankook Winter I cept RS3 Reviews

    Given 82% while driving a Audi 3.2 v6 Quattro (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
    This is an initial review having just fitted them (15th November in Scotland). The temperatures have just dropped below 7 deg C and there's been heavy rain and local flooding. The tyres handle very well in standing water and give a lot of confidence. Swapping to these from Continental Sport Contact 7's has been interesting as they are a lot more comfortable both in terms of cabin noise and feedback from the road. In terms of dry handling etc it's a bit difficult to tell as the Quattro drivetrain would probably make a budget tyre look decent, however they feel great on the windy stuff, no issues there at all. Alternating between spirited driving on country roads and monthly drives down the M74/M6 to England I was expecting to see a large increase in fuel consumption (previous experience with winter tyres) however on the 600 mile drive down south I averaged 34 mpg* which was much the same as with the Conti's. Even better was that the road noise was much, much less which surprised me as they weren't rated very highly for that in the test. I'll be updating this after we get some snow. * cruise control 7x mph, all the way!
    Helpful 73 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2022
    Given 90% while driving a Suzuki Swift (185/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    I am very happy with Hankook Winter I cept RS3 on my Suzuki Swift 2017. I had a chance to try them on dry, wet and snow. Tyres perform excellent. I was the most amazed with snow grip. I wanted to "play" on empty parking lot, but I could not as the tyres were gripping to the snow covered surface so well that the car did not want to slide. Tyres perform great on the wet also. I can start almost like in dry with summer tyres. Dry grip is also excellent as expected. They grip well, but the feeling on the steering wheel is a bit soft, but afterall, it is winter tyre. Noise is ok, there is some extra on cca 100 km/h, but it goes away at 110 km/h. Consumption is also good, I did not notice some extra compared to summer. All in all, one of the best winter tyres I had in my life.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B5.5 1.9 TDi 130bhp highline (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
    A very good tire from Hankook. Very good in all weather conditions and on all surfaces. Very stable on dry and wet surfaces. Very good and stable on snow.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2023
    Have you driven on the Hankook Winter I cept RS3 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Winter I cept RS3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Hankook Winter I cept RS3 >

    Latest Hankook Winter I cept RS3 Reviews

    Given 86% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
    The grip in dry and wet is really good, i had an opportunity to drive on a snow-ice covered highway lateral grip is great, no slip while accelerating and braking. Aquaplaning resistance is high, I drove on the highway in pouring rain and didn't feel unstable or like it was aquaplaning, overall great in wet. Ice grip is as accepted for a non studded winter tire, drove up a icy driveway with stopping in the middle to check the grip, and it climbed with no difficulty and bit of wheel spin. Overall i recommend the Hankook Winter i*CEPTrs3 strong in dry, wet and snowy. Handling is like you would expect from a soft 15" winter tire, not direct but also not unusable.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2024
    Given 88% while driving a Saab Automobile Saab 93ss Aero 250bhp (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
    Fitted these as it was getting too cold for my summer tyres (Bridgestone Turanza T001), but haven't hit any snow with them. After fitting them, it completely transformed my car, in a very positive way. On my summer tyres it was very easy to start spinning in second gear in the wet, when just mashing the throttle, but now it's an absolute acceleration monster. These tires proved to me, I really need to get rid of my summer tyres, even tho they have enough thread left, they are just done age wise (about 10 years old). Fuel economy is pretty good, didn't notice any decrease from the summer tires, but those might have been bad aswell. Cornering in both dry and wet is really good. It gives plenty of confidence you're gonna make the corner, even at silly speeds for wet conditions. In all fairness, it almost feels like driving on dry roads, when it's wet out. Haven't noticed any form of aquaplaning, even in insane rain which made me float on summers. Even tho I do enjoy sporty driving from time to time, I have a hard time getting to the limit of the tires, it keeps impressing me by handling more then I would imagine it can do while staying very neutral. Braking is also very impressive on both wet and dry. The couple of times I had to do an emergency stop, the tires wouldn't stop gripping and just stopped the car, making me look backwards so to not outbreak the person behind me instead of being scared of hitting the person in front of me. All in all, very recommended tire. It might be priced a little below premium tires, but they perform just like (if not better) then premium tires.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 97% while driving a BMW (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    I did some serious research before buying this tire. I oscillate between several brands, including the Hankook RS3. The reviews on Tyrereviews led me to opt for the RS3 in the end. I recommend the ones with rim protection, as long as it not only protects the curbs, but also the gravel that bounces off the roads. On the other hand, the tire seems much more robust than the one without rim protection. In RO there is a difference of 15 euros / tyre.
    To begin with, I say that I did not test the tires in conditions of heavy snow because in Romania the first serious snow has just arrived, but I drove with them over 2000 km on roads with mud, rain and, of course, dry conditions. What surprised me the first time was the noise, which is almost non-existent in my car, although they are registered in the 72 dB category. In terms of mud traction, I've been to the mountains and climbed a steep incline with no problem, while my friends with 4x2 traction didn't budge from the bottom of the slope. Yes, we're talking about a 4x4 car, but it's not just about that as long as the tires you had before didn't offer the safety that they do. In fact, I had the opportunity to drive 1000 km continuously, along several relief zones, and I was impressed both on mountain serpentines and in the rain, on the plains, where I constantly went over 100 km/h, without being disturbed by the noise that the tire makes when draining the water.
    I'm curious how long they will last as the BMW E60 530xd (235hp) wears out the tires faster than other cars I've had. If they pass the endurance test, I'll put them on again, maybe even RS4, in case they show up in the meantime. Anyway, they are above my expectations considering I had Continental before these. I wouldn't say they are lower, although the price is 35-40% lower. In the morning we encountered the first snow of this winter but the streets were clear so I can't give clear feedback on this surface but I'm sure it wouldn't disappoint. In Romania, a set of 4 tires 225/50/17 94H costs about 460 euros (with rim protection included). I installed them in December 2022, with DOT October 2022 (made in Hungary).
    Originally, having 4x4 traction, I wanted to put all season, but I'm glad I didn't as long as you don't enjoy driving fully you play in summer or winter. Safety comes first.
    I recommend the Hankook RS3.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2023
    Given 49% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 2.0 TDI 140bhp (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
    The loudest winter tyre I´ve ever had. Disappointed with noise level and rolling resistance. I drive 90% on a highway and don´t feel very comfortable at speed 130km/h and continuous rain. Fuel consumption higher in compare to Conti TS860 (previous tyres). Dry grip and handling good. Wear N/A, made around 2500 km.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2023
    Given 75% while driving a MINI JCW 2020 (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
    Very good new tires from Hankook. They are budget friendly and I chose them because I was happy with previous winter tires from Hankook. They make great winter tires apart from their summer which I would never buy again. Back to these tires. I was surprised by how much dry grip they provide, nice feedback. Same thing on the wet, they are outstanding. Much better than winter Pirelli I had before. Can’t wait to try them on snow. They are a bit noisier, but the pattern and texture of the tire is the cause. I would buy them again.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2022