Continental Premium Contact 5

The Continental Premium Contact 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental Premium Contact 6.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 77%
Wear 57%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 65%

Tyre review data from 110 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 1,218,688 miles driven.

The Premium Contact 5 is ranked 67th of 125 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Safe handling balance in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Long dry braking, average rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test - 7th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Short wet braking, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Long dry braking, high levels of understeer in the dry.
View Full Test >>

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 9th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - High wear.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         11.26kgs
185/60 R14 82H   E A 70 7.02kgs
175/65 R14 82T   C A 70 6.23kgs
165/70 R14 81T   E A 70 6.42kgs
185/70 R14 88H XL   C A 70 7.61kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 7.04kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E A 71 7.04kgs
185/55 R15 82V   C A 70 6.87kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C A 70 7.27kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 7.00kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 7.00kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 71 7.54kgs
195/60 R15 88H   C A 71 7.44kgs
195/60 R15 88V   C A 71 7.55kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C A 71 8.69kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C A 71 8.34kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C A 70 6.63kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C A 70 6.88kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C A 70 7.18kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 7.88kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C A 71 7.88kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   C A 72 7.95kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 8.37kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C A 71 8.46kgs
205/65 R15 94V   C A 71 8.46kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C A 71 9.34kgs
225/50 R16 92W   C A 71 9.26kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 71 7.77kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 72 7.97kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.78kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 71 7.77kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.13kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 72 9.30kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.20kgs
205/55 R16 91W AO C B 71 8.90kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 71 8.04kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.80kgs
215/55 R16 93W   C A 71 9.14kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C A 71 8.63kgs
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 71 9.00kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.62kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 72 8.63kgs
225/55 R16 95W   C A 71 9.25kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 72 8.94kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL * C B 71 12.34kgs
205/60 R16 92V * C B 71 9.03kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C A 71 8.42kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 72 10.33kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL * B B 72 9.03kgs
205/60 R16 92V * C B 71 12.34kgs
215/60 R16 95H   C A 71 9.57kgs
215/60 R16 95V XL   C A 71 10.26kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 72 10.02kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 72 9.30kgs
215/60 R16 95W XL   C A 71 10.85kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C A 71 9.87kgs
215/70 R16 100H   C B 71 10.47kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C B 72 9.02kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL REN C B 72 9.02kgs
205/55 R17 95Y XL J B B 72 10.04kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 11.46kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 10.18kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 10.18kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 11.46kgs
225/55 R17 97Y AO C A 71 10.95kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 9.39kgs
225/55 R17 97W * B B 70 9.81kgs
225/55 R17 97Y *MO B B 70 9.89kgs
225/55 R17 97Y AO1       10.11kgs
225/55 R17 97V VOL C B 71 11.15kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL   C A 71 10.46kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL J C B 72 11.13kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL   C A 71 11.86kgs
235/55 R17 99V AO C A 71 11.27kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   E A 72 10.93kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C A 71 9.61kgs
225/60 R17 99H XL   C A 71 11.88kgs
225/60 R17 99V   C A 71 11.19kgs
225/65 R17 102V   B A 71 11.47kgs
235/65 R17 104V XL   C B 71 13.19kgs
235/65 R17 104V AR B B 71 12.24kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 5

2018-05-26 - Why does the Continental Premium Contact 5 have a different tyre label rating in the size 195/50r15 when compared to more popular/conventional sizes? Is this an indication that in the less popular size 195/50r15 continental are supplying the last generation tyre? I recall that the previous generation tyre did not rate so well in Autoexpress's 2016 summer tyre test.

The tyre manufacturers update their patterns in staged rollouts. Like you suggest, it's most likely the fact the 195/50 R15 is a low volume size and hasn't had the latest updates the more popular sizes have had.


2018-09-02 - Just noticed on my Premcontact 5's that there are several "TWI" and "x" markings on the circumference of the sidewall. These mark the levels of the 1.6 mm TWI bars and another higher bar respectively. I am now down to the "higher" bar and have around 2.5 mm of tread left. Can't find info as to what these secondary "x" markings signify but seems to be a secondary TWI perhaps set at 2.6 mm or even 3 mm. Anyone know about this and what the depth is??

I don't know officially but I know Continental do recommend changing tyres at 3mm due to the reduction in aquaplaning resistance so it would make sense it's somewhere around this depth.


2018-11-04 - Is there any difference between Continental Premium Contact 5 205/55/16 91V and 205/55/16 91H ? Also why's there more than one 205/55/16 91V tyre for the same manufacturer ?

There might be some construction differences in order for the V rated tyre to have the higher rating. Sometimes there is more than one option due to OE specific fitments or an updated version of the tyre with a newer part number.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Premium Contact 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
185/65 R15 £66.49 - £81.10 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R15 £80.98 - £80.98 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £63.39 - £89.00 (40 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 20 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental Premium Contact 5 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Great grip on dry roads, acceptable car grips in the wet but with a negative part about wear.
305 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2016   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 TSI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
Golf 1.4tsi DSG 2013, tyres are originals, f/rear swap at 10k miles, just under 6mm tread left at 12'600 miles but I am easy driver, 48mpg overall since new. Will buy these again.
27 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2016   
Mercedes Benz (225/50 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
The tyres are been fited on clk w209 200 compressor they were performing well on dry and wet surfaces but after 8000 km they start behave strangely especially when cornering on dry surface and in some places the road has a bit of moisture then sundenly the rear tyres soon loose grip dangerously that happens in meny acasions and in different type of asphalt surfaces

25 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2017   
Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental Premium Contact 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental Premium Contact 5 >

Latest Continental Premium Contact 5 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Honda CRV (255/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
These are great tyres and made me feel safe and comfortable driving in any weather conditions here in Western Australia. Driving in the heavy winter rain is often challenging, and the summer sun makes the tarmac extremely hot and tough on any rubber. If it wasn't for the minimal mileage - 12,000miles (18,000km) and they are done - I would undoubtedly fit them again on my CR-V. My next set will be again a Continental, but I will test a set of UltraContact UC6.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Opel Astra G (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
I am already at the second set of CPC5, I took the first set in 2015 and they lasted 4 years and about 40k km. I have never been disappointed by them regardless of the road and abuse :) I recommend them with confidence to those who want to go on a well-established model that offers you security and a smile on your face when necessary.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 74% while driving a Nissan Juke (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 50 average miles
2nd set of conti`s i bought for this car. I choose with conti seal because my Nissan doesn´t have a spare tyre. Very strong tyres, good for SUV. You forget the price you paid on the first emergency brake...
1 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2021   
Given 41% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
This is a review after 25kkm and 2 years of usage. I feel that after front had worn down to 5mm (4,8mm to be exact) and rear to 7mm (6,6mm to be exact) I can submit a good mid-life review. I believe these tyres will be rotated next year and worn down to 3mm. I'll provide and end-use unless they get trashed before that. Short version of this review? These are the worst summer tyres I have ever used. Period. They are worse than 8-year old 5mm used Fulda's I bought second-hand in 2009. They offered poor grip even when they were new, but with time their grip is getting even worse. These tyres had been the factory fit for Kia Stonic. Maybe normal non-OEM are better but with a brand like Continental this should not be. Driving in wet conditions is straight-on dangerous. I am keeping extra distance, and get skidding on basically most cornering. Braking? Forget about it. I never, ever had a car that had constantly had ABS go off. Even with very, very worn used old tyres! And I am driving less intensively in Stonic then with other cars - just because I know the grip is so lacking and the car is outrageously noisy at higher speeds (engine noise). In dry conditions these tyres provide adequate grip only with sun-heated asphalt. With September colder weather the dry grip deteriorated - at 13 degrees Celsius in the morning. Basically I will have to rotate to winter tyres sooner than later, since I believe with colder weather their dry grip will be even worse. Wear? Wear is outrageous. My driving style should bring the tyres to wear down way slower. I have managed to get 110kkm out of Pirelli Cinturato P4 to 2,5-3mm thread and 60kkm out of Bridgestone ER300 to 4,5-5,5mm thread. Getting the mentioned wear in Continental tyres is outrageous given that the Stonic has less HP and weight than other cars I used with the mentioned above tyres. I drive mostly highways with little braking and stable speed to get the best mileage. I'd expect to be on the 6,5-7 mm at this level. I provide good notes for handling and comfort. They are not noisy and in general the handling is OK. They are predictable when skidding, but honestly this might be the Kia TC kicking in - I see the light flicker every single day I drive this car. Because of poor grip I do sometimes feel that the car is floating like a hovercraft with wet braking.
8 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2020   
Given 77% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 5 door (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 21,000 easy going miles
Overall happy with the tyres. Good grip in dry, excellent in the wet. Handling ok. Seem to be a bit more noisy when driving in the dry. Used all year on different types of roads, mostly motorways at moderate speed. Once, sometimes twice a year we drive on the German autobahn(2-4k miles) and only then the speeds are a bit higher. The pair at the front is worn down to the markers after 21k miles, the pair at the rear will last a bit longer. Firestones tz300 lasted 32k miles, however, weren't as good in the wet as the continentals.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Toyota (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Excellent frame Dry and wet grip High stability rate Comfort and quiet control No gravel No Gasoline I have driver 50,000 km Its flaw is increased ductility
4 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2019   
Given 66% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Bought this premium range tyre and what a mistake. These tyre are forever slipping in dry or wet conditions in dry weather handling is ok handling is sloppy as side walls are softer to reduce rolling resistance. In rain it’s fairly similar but you get a kick of under steer and forever fighting it much preferred the set of Avon zv7’s that came with the motor when i purchased it
3 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2019   
Given 57% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Tyres fitted from car manufacturer. 13000 km so far, basic tyre. They don' t justify the "premium" (I imagine only the price is premium). Very good in dry conditions. Stong tyre without damages. On the other hand they are noisy and in wet conditions not a trustworthy tyre. ABS is energised very soon in rainny conditions. Slippery and no good in turns (wet). I think the most accurate review will be on 30000km
4 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019   
Given 46% while driving a Peugeot 307 (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 11,000 average miles
Had them on for approximately 15.000km for four years on mostly city driving. They were always inflated to 2,4bars all around as recommended by the vehicle manufacturer

They came down to 3,8mm of tread with no particular harsh driving or load for that matter.

I replaced them mainly due to comfort issues.

The pros:
- excellent grip in the dry
- excellent grip in the wet
- predictable handling
- normal price for a premium manufacturer

The cons:
- feedback, the steering wheel felt like it was sitting on an air bubble, regardless of road conditions.
- comfort, as after two years and about 7.500km they became rock solid, with no impact on grip, though
- aquaplanning, they were simply adequate, no exciting moments here
- wear, I guess there is a price to pay for excellent grip and here it comes. It's APPALING. Be prepared to see
rubber vanishing into thin air even with a mild driving style.

Conclusion : I wouldn't recommend them, mainly because of extremely high wear and lack of comfort
6 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2019   
Given 60% while driving a Mercedes Benz E 200 ( W210 ) (205/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 31 average miles
I drive in a conservative way,using my car mostly in town and motorways. But after 2.5 years and 30.000km, it is extremely difficult to control my car on wet road. The Continental dealer in my region told me that this is a common problem for this tyre since their wear is low and suggested me to buy new.
( I live in Greece and the car is parked in a garage )
2 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2019   
Given 67% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (195/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Less than 15000km,mostly in town-and i need a new tyres!
2 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a Toyota Sienta (185/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 12,400 average miles
I've just went through my 3rd set of CPC5. This time, I changed them just after 20000km of usage because I was itching to try out the new EcoContact 6. I reckon it can last at least another 5000km more before the wet grip wear indicators are reached, and then another 7000km more before the legal limit of 1.6mm.,. Over the 3 sets (12 tyres) I've owned, I can see the wear rate is very consistently 1mm loss per 5000km of travel. Will miss them because I'm told by my local distributor they aren't bringing them in anymore and they have saved me from near misses by their excellent grip. Never had a slip going up wet slopes. Was quiet in the beginning but nearing half-life is rather noisy. Comfort (absorption of shocks) is noticeably good vs some OEM tyre that came with my car from factory.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2019