Continental Premium Contact 5

The Continental Premium Contact 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 116 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 1,261,188 miles driven, and 40 tests with an average result of 4th.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 77%
Wear 58%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 65%

First On MarketFebruary 2012
Wheel Size14 - 17"
Width165 - 235mm
Profile55 - 70
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)70 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Premium Contact 5 is ranked 76th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental Premium Contact 6.

Tests Included

40

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

13th

Average Result

4th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test
5th of 11 tyres
  • Safe handling balance in the dry and wet.
  • Long dry braking, average rolling resistance.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>
2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15
9th of 16 tyres
  • Good in the dry and wet.
  • High wear.
View Full Test >>
2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test
7th of 11 tyres
  • Short wet braking, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Long dry braking, high levels of understeer in the dry.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

Reports

  • Continental Premium Contact 5 - Launched
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    14 inch
    185/70 R 14 88 HCA70
    185/70 R 14 88 HCB70
    165/70 R 14 81 TDA70
    185/70 R 14 88 HCA70
    15 inch
    195/65 R 15 91 HCA71
    185/65 R 15 88 HCA70
    195/65 R 15 91 HCA71
    185/65 R 15 88 HBB70
    185/65 R 15 88 HCB70
    185/65 R 15 88 HCA70
    16 inch
    205/60 R 16 92 HCB71
    205/55 R 16 91 HBB71
    205/55 R 16 91 VDA71
    205/60 R 16 96 V XLCA72
    205/55 R 16 91 HBB71
    205/55 R 16 91 WCB71
    215/60 R 16 95 HCA71
    205/60 R 16 92 HCA71
    215/60 R 16 99 V XLCA72
    205/55 R 16 91 HCA71
    205/55 R 16 91 VCA71
    205/55 R 16 94 V XLCA71
    215/60 R 16 99 H XLCA72
    215/60 R 16 95 VCA71
    205/60 R 16 96 V XLCA72
    205/60 R 16 96 V XLBB72
    215/70 R 16 100 HCB71
    205/55 R 16 94 V XLCA71
    17 inch
    225/60 R 17 99 HCA71
    235/65 R 17 104 VBB71
    215/55 R 17 94 VCA71
    215/55 R 17 94 VCA71
    215/55 R 17 94 VCA71
    215/55 R 17 94 VCA71
    215/55 R 17 94 VCA71
    215/55 R 17 94 WCA71
    215/55 R 17 94 WCA71
    235/65 R 17 104 VCB71
    225/60 R 17 99 HCA71
    215/55 R 17 94 VCA71
    215/55 R 17 94 WDA71
    225/60 R 17 99 VCA71
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental Premium Contact 5 >>

    Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 5

    2018-05-26 - Why does the Continental Premium Contact 5 have a different tyre label rating in the size 195/50r15 when compared to more popular/conventional sizes? Is this an indication that in the less popular size 195/50r15 continental are supplying the last generation tyre? I recall that the previous generation tyre did not rate so well in Autoexpress's 2016 summer tyre test.

    The tyre manufacturers update their patterns in staged rollouts. Like you suggest, it's most likely the fact the 195/50 R15 is a low volume size and hasn't had the latest updates the more popular sizes have had.


    2018-09-02 - Just noticed on my Premcontact 5's that there are several "TWI" and "x" markings on the circumference of the sidewall. These mark the levels of the 1.6 mm TWI bars and another higher bar respectively. I am now down to the "higher" bar and have around 2.5 mm of tread left. Can't find info as to what these secondary "x" markings signify but seems to be a secondary TWI perhaps set at 2.6 mm or even 3 mm. Anyone know about this and what the depth is??

    I don't know officially but I know Continental do recommend changing tyres at 3mm due to the reduction in aquaplaning resistance so it would make sense it's somewhere around this depth.


    2018-11-04 - Is there any difference between Continental Premium Contact 5 205/55/16 91V and 205/55/16 91H ? Also why's there more than one 205/55/16 91V tyre for the same manufacturer ?

    There might be some construction differences in order for the V rated tyre to have the higher rating. Sometimes there is more than one option due to OE specific fitments or an updated version of the tyre with a newer part number.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/55 R16 £84.99 - £107.38 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/55 R17 £123.01 - £157.30 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 17 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental Premium Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
    Great grip on dry roads, acceptable car grips in the wet but with a negative part about wear.
    Helpful 340 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2016
    Given 93% while driving a BMW 325i (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
    +: 1)Komfort 1)Soft 2)Road Grip 3)Braking distances 4)All is well in the wet 5)A little better for premium. //// -: 1)Noisy 2)Easy to cut 3)swinging 4)easily deformed 5)no choice R17-R18
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2022
    Given 61% while driving a Renault Clio II 1.2 16v (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    Driven for 33.000km and down to 4mm. Progressive tyre in the dry not so in the wet.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2022
    Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental Premium Contact 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental Premium Contact 5 >

    Latest Continental Premium Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen jetta 1.6 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Wet and Dry grip is not noticeable, very well made tyre for the price. Too much negative understeer and swinging on the road. Feels like I'm driving on an air bubble, won't buy this ture again.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2024
    Given 46% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 easy going miles
    Original Equipment on all Kia Stonic models since 2017. Mine is a 2021 Stonic with a mild hybrid engine, but I mostly drive on Eco mode so acceleration is very gentle even with a heavy foot. I have done just under 2,500 miles with these and they reminded me immediately of the old Bridgestone RE040 I had as OE on my Mazda RX-8 over 16 years ago now... really precise and quick to respond in the dry and when up to temperature (track days were fun) but a deadly on cold and wet tarmac. The OW Conti Premium Contact 5 lose grip suddenly under braking, without warning. The ABS in particular struggles to keep them from skidding even at low speeds. They feel skittish in all but the driest of conditions. The ride is also uncomfortable compared to softer compound tyres, as you would expect from a tyre that was probably not really meant for this car, yet it's original equipment. I am so unhappy with them that I have already purchased a suitable replacement thanks to reviews from other Stonic owners.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2021
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 77% while driving a Honda CRV (255/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
    These are great tyres and made me feel safe and comfortable driving in any weather conditions here in Western Australia. Driving in the heavy winter rain is often challenging, and the summer sun makes the tarmac extremely hot and tough on any rubber. If it wasn't for the minimal mileage - 12,000miles (18,000km) and they are done - I would undoubtedly fit them again on my CR-V. My next set will be again a Continental, but I will test a set of UltraContact UC6.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2021
    Given 94% while driving a Opel Astra G (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
    I am already at the second set of CPC5, I took the first set in 2015 and they lasted 4 years and about 40k km. I have never been disappointed by them regardless of the road and abuse :) I recommend them with confidence to those who want to go on a well-established model that offers you security and a smile on your face when necessary.
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2021
    Given 74% while driving a Nissan Juke (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 50 average miles
    2nd set of conti`s i bought for this car. I choose with conti seal because my Nissan doesn´t have a spare tyre. Very strong tyres, good for SUV. You forget the price you paid on the first emergency brake...
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2021
    Given 41% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
    This is a review after 25kkm and 2 years of usage. I feel that after front had worn down to 5mm (4,8mm to be exact) and rear to 7mm (6,6mm to be exact) I can submit a good mid-life review. I believe these tyres will be rotated next year and worn down to 3mm. I'll provide and end-use unless they get trashed before that. Short version of this review? These are the worst summer tyres I have ever used. Period. They are worse than 8-year old 5mm used Fulda's I bought second-hand in 2009. They offered poor grip even when they were new, but with time their grip is getting even worse. These tyres had been the factory fit for Kia Stonic. Maybe normal non-OEM are better but with a brand like Continental this should not be. Driving in wet conditions is straight-on dangerous. I am keeping extra distance, and get skidding on basically most cornering. Braking? Forget about it. I never, ever had a car that had constantly had ABS go off. Even with very, very worn used old tyres! And I am driving less intensively in Stonic then with other cars - just because I know the grip is so lacking and the car is outrageously noisy at higher speeds (engine noise). In dry conditions these tyres provide adequate grip only with sun-heated asphalt. With September colder weather the dry grip deteriorated - at 13 degrees Celsius in the morning. Basically I will have to rotate to winter tyres sooner than later, since I believe with colder weather their dry grip will be even worse. Wear? Wear is outrageous. My driving style should bring the tyres to wear down way slower. I have managed to get 110kkm out of Pirelli Cinturato P4 to 2,5-3mm thread and 60kkm out of Bridgestone ER300 to 4,5-5,5mm thread. Getting the mentioned wear in Continental tyres is outrageous given that the Stonic has less HP and weight than other cars I used with the mentioned above tyres. I drive mostly highways with little braking and stable speed to get the best mileage. I'd expect to be on the 6,5-7 mm at this level. I provide good notes for handling and comfort. They are not noisy and in general the handling is OK. They are predictable when skidding, but honestly this might be the Kia TC kicking in - I see the light flicker every single day I drive this car. Because of poor grip I do sometimes feel that the car is floating like a hovercraft with wet braking.
    Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2020
    Given 77% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 5 door (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 21,000 easy going miles
    Overall happy with the tyres. Good grip in dry, excellent in the wet. Handling ok. Seem to be a bit more noisy when driving in the dry. Used all year on different types of roads, mostly motorways at moderate speed. Once, sometimes twice a year we drive on the German autobahn(2-4k miles) and only then the speeds are a bit higher. The pair at the front is worn down to the markers after 21k miles, the pair at the rear will last a bit longer. Firestones tz300 lasted 32k miles, however, weren't as good in the wet as the continentals.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2020
    Given 87% while driving a Toyota (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Excellent frame Dry and wet grip High stability rate Comfort and quiet control No gravel No Gasoline I have driver 50,000 km Its flaw is increased ductility
    Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2019
    Given 66% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Bought this premium range tyre and what a mistake. These tyre are forever slipping in dry or wet conditions in dry weather handling is ok handling is sloppy as side walls are softer to reduce rolling resistance. In rain it’s fairly similar but you get a kick of under steer and forever fighting it much preferred the set of Avon zv7’s that came with the motor when i purchased it
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2019
    Given 57% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
    Tyres fitted from car manufacturer. 13000 km so far, basic tyre. They don' t justify the "premium" (I imagine only the price is premium). Very good in dry conditions. Stong tyre without damages. On the other hand they are noisy and in wet conditions not a trustworthy tyre. ABS is energised very soon in rainny conditions. Slippery and no good in turns (wet). I think the most accurate review will be on 30000km
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019
    Given 46% while driving a Peugeot 307 (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 11,000 average miles
    Had them on for approximately 15.000km for four years on mostly city driving. They were always inflated to 2,4bars all around as recommended by the vehicle manufacturer

    They came down to 3,8mm of tread with no particular harsh driving or load for that matter.

    I replaced them mainly due to comfort issues.

    The pros:
    - excellent grip in the dry
    - excellent grip in the wet
    - predictable handling
    - normal price for a premium manufacturer

    The cons:
    - feedback, the steering wheel felt like it was sitting on an air bubble, regardless of road conditions.
    - comfort, as after two years and about 7.500km they became rock solid, with no impact on grip, though
    - aquaplanning, they were simply adequate, no exciting moments here
    - wear, I guess there is a price to pay for excellent grip and here it comes. It's APPALING. Be prepared to see
    rubber vanishing into thin air even with a mild driving style.

    Conclusion : I wouldn't recommend them, mainly because of extremely high wear and lack of comfort
    Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2019
    Given 60% while driving a Mercedes Benz E 200 ( W210 ) (205/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 31 average miles
    I drive in a conservative way,using my car mostly in town and motorways. But after 2.5 years and 30.000km, it is extremely difficult to control my car on wet road. The Continental dealer in my region told me that this is a common problem for this tyre since their wear is low and suggested me to buy new.
    ( I live in Greece and the car is parked in a garage )
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2019