Continental Premium Contact 5

The Continental Premium Contact 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental Premium Contact 6.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 77%
Wear 57%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 65%

Tyre review data from 114 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 1,256,188 miles driven.

The Premium Contact 5 is ranked 79th of 139 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Safe handling balance in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Long dry braking, average rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test - 7th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Short wet braking, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Long dry braking, high levels of understeer in the dry.
View Full Test >>

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 9th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - High wear.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test (195/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 9th: 2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 3rd: 2018 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 6th: 2018 AMS All Season Tyre Test (225/45 R16)
  • 7th: 2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 9th: 2018 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 175/65 R14 (175/65 R14)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2017 ACE SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R17)
  • 1st: 2017 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 3rd: 2017 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 3rd: 2016 AutoBild Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2016 Market Overview - Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2015 European Tyre Test 185/60R14 (185/60 R14)
  • 1st: 2015 Test World Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2015 Auto Bild Top 18 Summer Tyre Test (185/60 R15)
  • 2nd: 2015 ACE Summer Touring Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2015 Market Overview - Braking Test (185/60 R15)
  • 3rd: 2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2015 Auto Bild 215/55 R16 Technical Tyre Test (215/55 R16)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2014 Test World Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2014 AMS Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2014 Auto Review Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2014 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 13th: 2014 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2013 European Summer Touring Tyre Test (185/60 R15)
  • 2nd: 2013 Test World Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2013 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2013 ACE Summer Touring Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 6th: 2013 54 Tyre Braking Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2012 ACE Touring Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2012 Autoreview Touring Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    0/0 R0 0         11.26kgs
    185/60 R14 82H   E A 70 7.02kgs
    175/65 R14 82T   C A 70 6.23kgs
    165/70 R14 81T   E A 70 6.42kgs
    185/70 R14 88H XL   C A 70 7.61kgs
    195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 7.04kgs
    195/50 R15 82H   E A 71 7.04kgs
    185/55 R15 82V   C A 70 6.87kgs
    185/55 R15 82H   C A 70 7.27kgs
    195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 7.00kgs
    195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 7.00kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 71 7.54kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   C A 71 7.44kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   C A 71 7.55kgs
    205/60 R15 91H   C A 71 8.69kgs
    205/60 R15 91V   C A 71 8.34kgs
    175/65 R15 84H   C A 70 6.63kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   C A 70 6.88kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   C A 70 7.18kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 7.88kgs
    195/65 R15 91T   C A 71 7.88kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   C A 72 7.95kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 8.37kgs
    205/65 R15 94H   C A 71 8.46kgs
    205/65 R15 94V   C A 71 8.46kgs
    215/65 R15 96H   C A 71 9.34kgs
    225/50 R16 92W   C A 71 9.26kgs
    195/55 R16 87T   C A 71 7.77kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 72 7.97kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.78kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   C A 71 7.77kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.13kgs
    205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 72 9.30kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.20kgs
    205/55 R16 91W AO C B 71 8.90kgs
    205/55 R16 91W   C A 71 8.04kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.80kgs
    215/55 R16 93W   C A 71 9.14kgs
    215/55 R16 93H   C A 71 8.63kgs
    215/55 R16 93Y   C A 71 9.00kgs
    215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.62kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 72 8.63kgs
    225/55 R16 95W   C A 71 9.25kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 72 8.94kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL * C B 71 12.34kgs
    205/60 R16 92V * C B 71 9.03kgs
    205/60 R16 92H   C A 71 8.42kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 72 10.33kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL * B B 72 9.03kgs
    205/60 R16 92V * C B 71 12.34kgs
    215/60 R16 95H   C A 71 9.57kgs
    215/60 R16 95V XL   C A 71 10.26kgs
    215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 72 10.02kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 72 9.30kgs
    215/60 R16 95W XL   C A 71 10.85kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   C A 71 9.87kgs
    215/70 R16 100H   C B 71 10.47kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   C B 72 9.02kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL REN C B 72 9.02kgs
    205/55 R17 95Y XL J B B 72 10.04kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 11.46kgs
    215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 10.18kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 10.18kgs
    215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 11.46kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y AO C A 71 10.95kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 9.95kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 9.39kgs
    225/55 R17 97W * B B 70 9.81kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y *MO B B 70 9.89kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y AO1       10.11kgs
    225/55 R17 97V VOL C B 71 11.15kgs
    225/55 R17 97W XL   C A 71 10.46kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL J C B 72 11.13kgs
    225/55 R17 97W XL   C A 71 11.86kgs
    235/55 R17 99V AO C A 71 11.27kgs
    235/55 R17 103W XL   E A 72 10.93kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   C A 71 9.61kgs
    225/60 R17 99H XL   C A 71 11.88kgs
    225/60 R17 99V   C A 71 11.19kgs
    225/65 R17 102V   B A 71 11.47kgs
    235/65 R17 104V XL   C B 71 13.19kgs
    235/65 R17 104V AR B B 71 12.24kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 5

    2018-05-26 - Why does the Continental Premium Contact 5 have a different tyre label rating in the size 195/50r15 when compared to more popular/conventional sizes? Is this an indication that in the less popular size 195/50r15 continental are supplying the last generation tyre? I recall that the previous generation tyre did not rate so well in Autoexpress's 2016 summer tyre test.

    The tyre manufacturers update their patterns in staged rollouts. Like you suggest, it's most likely the fact the 195/50 R15 is a low volume size and hasn't had the latest updates the more popular sizes have had.


    2018-09-02 - Just noticed on my Premcontact 5's that there are several "TWI" and "x" markings on the circumference of the sidewall. These mark the levels of the 1.6 mm TWI bars and another higher bar respectively. I am now down to the "higher" bar and have around 2.5 mm of tread left. Can't find info as to what these secondary "x" markings signify but seems to be a secondary TWI perhaps set at 2.6 mm or even 3 mm. Anyone know about this and what the depth is??

    I don't know officially but I know Continental do recommend changing tyres at 3mm due to the reduction in aquaplaning resistance so it would make sense it's somewhere around this depth.


    2018-11-04 - Is there any difference between Continental Premium Contact 5 205/55/16 91V and 205/55/16 91H ? Also why's there more than one 205/55/16 91V tyre for the same manufacturer ?

    There might be some construction differences in order for the V rated tyre to have the higher rating. Sometimes there is more than one option due to OE specific fitments or an updated version of the tyre with a newer part number.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    185/65 R15 £68.39 - £106.16 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £66.69 - £156.00 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R17 £130.00 - £147.10 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 19 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental Premium Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
    Great grip on dry roads, acceptable car grips in the wet but with a negative part about wear.
    Helpful 312 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2016
    Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 TSI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
    Golf 1.4tsi DSG 2013, tyres are originals, f/rear swap at 10k miles, just under 6mm tread left at 12'600 miles but I am easy driver, 48mpg overall since new. Will buy these again.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2016
    Mercedes Benz (225/50 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
    The tyres are been fited on clk w209 200 compressor they were performing well on dry and wet surfaces but after 8000 km they start behave strangely especially when cornering on dry surface and in some places the road has a bit of moisture then sundenly the rear tyres soon loose grip dangerously that happens in meny acasions and in different type of asphalt surfaces

    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2017
    Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental Premium Contact 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental Premium Contact 5 >

    Latest Continental Premium Contact 5 Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a BMW 325i (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
    +: 1)Komfort 1)Soft 2)Road Grip 3)Braking distances 4)All is well in the wet 5)A little better for premium. //// -: 1)Noisy 2)Easy to cut 3)swinging 4)easily deformed 5)no choice R17-R18
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2022
    Given 61% while driving a Renault Clio II 1.2 16v (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    Driven for 33.000km and down to 4mm. Progressive tyre in the dry not so in the wet.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 46% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 easy going miles
    Original Equipment on all Kia Stonic models since 2017. Mine is a 2021 Stonic with a mild hybrid engine, but I mostly drive on Eco mode so acceleration is very gentle even with a heavy foot. I have done just under 2,500 miles with these and they reminded me immediately of the old Bridgestone RE040 I had as OE on my Mazda RX-8 over 16 years ago now... really precise and quick to respond in the dry and when up to temperature (track days were fun) but a deadly on cold and wet tarmac. The OW Conti Premium Contact 5 lose grip suddenly under braking, without warning. The ABS in particular struggles to keep them from skidding even at low speeds. They feel skittish in all but the driest of conditions. The ride is also uncomfortable compared to softer compound tyres, as you would expect from a tyre that was probably not really meant for this car, yet it's original equipment. I am so unhappy with them that I have already purchased a suitable replacement thanks to reviews from other Stonic owners.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2021
    Given 77% while driving a Honda CRV (255/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
    These are great tyres and made me feel safe and comfortable driving in any weather conditions here in Western Australia. Driving in the heavy winter rain is often challenging, and the summer sun makes the tarmac extremely hot and tough on any rubber. If it wasn't for the minimal mileage - 12,000miles (18,000km) and they are done - I would undoubtedly fit them again on my CR-V. My next set will be again a Continental, but I will test a set of UltraContact UC6.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2021
    Given 94% while driving a Opel Astra G (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
    I am already at the second set of CPC5, I took the first set in 2015 and they lasted 4 years and about 40k km. I have never been disappointed by them regardless of the road and abuse :) I recommend them with confidence to those who want to go on a well-established model that offers you security and a smile on your face when necessary.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2021
    Given 74% while driving a Nissan Juke (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 50 average miles
    2nd set of conti`s i bought for this car. I choose with conti seal because my Nissan doesn´t have a spare tyre. Very strong tyres, good for SUV. You forget the price you paid on the first emergency brake...
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2021
    Given 41% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
    This is a review after 25kkm and 2 years of usage. I feel that after front had worn down to 5mm (4,8mm to be exact) and rear to 7mm (6,6mm to be exact) I can submit a good mid-life review. I believe these tyres will be rotated next year and worn down to 3mm. I'll provide and end-use unless they get trashed before that. Short version of this review? These are the worst summer tyres I have ever used. Period. They are worse than 8-year old 5mm used Fulda's I bought second-hand in 2009. They offered poor grip even when they were new, but with time their grip is getting even worse. These tyres had been the factory fit for Kia Stonic. Maybe normal non-OEM are better but with a brand like Continental this should not be. Driving in wet conditions is straight-on dangerous. I am keeping extra distance, and get skidding on basically most cornering. Braking? Forget about it. I never, ever had a car that had constantly had ABS go off. Even with very, very worn used old tyres! And I am driving less intensively in Stonic then with other cars - just because I know the grip is so lacking and the car is outrageously noisy at higher speeds (engine noise). In dry conditions these tyres provide adequate grip only with sun-heated asphalt. With September colder weather the dry grip deteriorated - at 13 degrees Celsius in the morning. Basically I will have to rotate to winter tyres sooner than later, since I believe with colder weather their dry grip will be even worse. Wear? Wear is outrageous. My driving style should bring the tyres to wear down way slower. I have managed to get 110kkm out of Pirelli Cinturato P4 to 2,5-3mm thread and 60kkm out of Bridgestone ER300 to 4,5-5,5mm thread. Getting the mentioned wear in Continental tyres is outrageous given that the Stonic has less HP and weight than other cars I used with the mentioned above tyres. I drive mostly highways with little braking and stable speed to get the best mileage. I'd expect to be on the 6,5-7 mm at this level. I provide good notes for handling and comfort. They are not noisy and in general the handling is OK. They are predictable when skidding, but honestly this might be the Kia TC kicking in - I see the light flicker every single day I drive this car. Because of poor grip I do sometimes feel that the car is floating like a hovercraft with wet braking.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2020
    Given 77% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 5 door (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 21,000 easy going miles
    Overall happy with the tyres. Good grip in dry, excellent in the wet. Handling ok. Seem to be a bit more noisy when driving in the dry. Used all year on different types of roads, mostly motorways at moderate speed. Once, sometimes twice a year we drive on the German autobahn(2-4k miles) and only then the speeds are a bit higher. The pair at the front is worn down to the markers after 21k miles, the pair at the rear will last a bit longer. Firestones tz300 lasted 32k miles, however, weren't as good in the wet as the continentals.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2020
    Given 87% while driving a Toyota (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Excellent frame Dry and wet grip High stability rate Comfort and quiet control No gravel No Gasoline I have driver 50,000 km Its flaw is increased ductility
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2019
    Given 66% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Bought this premium range tyre and what a mistake. These tyre are forever slipping in dry or wet conditions in dry weather handling is ok handling is sloppy as side walls are softer to reduce rolling resistance. In rain it’s fairly similar but you get a kick of under steer and forever fighting it much preferred the set of Avon zv7’s that came with the motor when i purchased it
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2019
    Given 57% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
    Tyres fitted from car manufacturer. 13000 km so far, basic tyre. They don' t justify the "premium" (I imagine only the price is premium). Very good in dry conditions. Stong tyre without damages. On the other hand they are noisy and in wet conditions not a trustworthy tyre. ABS is energised very soon in rainny conditions. Slippery and no good in turns (wet). I think the most accurate review will be on 30000km
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019
    Given 46% while driving a Peugeot 307 (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 11,000 average miles
    Had them on for approximately 15.000km for four years on mostly city driving. They were always inflated to 2,4bars all around as recommended by the vehicle manufacturer

    They came down to 3,8mm of tread with no particular harsh driving or load for that matter.

    I replaced them mainly due to comfort issues.

    The pros:
    - excellent grip in the dry
    - excellent grip in the wet
    - predictable handling
    - normal price for a premium manufacturer

    The cons:
    - feedback, the steering wheel felt like it was sitting on an air bubble, regardless of road conditions.
    - comfort, as after two years and about 7.500km they became rock solid, with no impact on grip, though
    - aquaplanning, they were simply adequate, no exciting moments here
    - wear, I guess there is a price to pay for excellent grip and here it comes. It's APPALING. Be prepared to see
    rubber vanishing into thin air even with a mild driving style.

    Conclusion : I wouldn't recommend them, mainly because of extremely high wear and lack of comfort
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2019