Honda Civic 1.8 5 door Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Honda Civic 1.8 5 door.

Do you Drive a Honda Civic 1.8 5 door? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Civic 1.8 5 door better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (129) 94% 93% 88% 91% 88% 83%
Nokian zLine (79) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (271) 83% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (166) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Davanti DX640 (69) 80% 72% 78% 77% 66% 80%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (109) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 79%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (183) 83% 77% 77% 72% 77% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (124) 85% 73% 78% 76% 69% 64%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (54) 82% 86% 79% 73% 64% 73%
Fulda Carat Exelero (16) 74% 79% 69% 73% 72% 69%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (56) 78% 73% 72% 70% 68% 71%
Pirelli P 7 (81) 79% 69% 71% 68% 74% 66%
Radar RPX800 (6) 75% 62% 68% 53% 88% 67%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (58) 74% 65% 64% 60% 65% 62%
Pirelli P6000 (172) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Haida HD919 (9) 39% 26% 30% 28% 36% 23%

Honda Civic 1.8 5 door Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
I've experimented with a lot of tyres in my 6 years of driving, across many different cars and these Goodyear AS5s are the champions by a long shot. My Civic is no speed demon but it corners well, so exposes bad tyres easily on tight country roads. I had the factory Bridgestones on the rear and some Nexens up front when I bought the car and finding the limit was very easy, it'd even spin the front wheels if I took off quickly (with the mighty 140bhp on tap), but I haven't had a single example of wheelspin or loss of grip with the Goodyears. Wet or dry, hot or cold; the grip is just immense in all scenarios and gives me 100% confidence when driving the car hard. The Goodyears are noisier and slightly harsher than the tyres I had before, which is to be expected with performance tyres, but the driving feel, steering response, braking performance and wet/dry ability they offer in return is worth every bit. And they were only £70/corner fully fitted for 225/45/17 - chump change in exchange for my family's safety in an emergency and the fun I can have when I'm in the car alone. I've covered 1500 miles since they were fitted and can see no wear yet, which is also nice. Don't cheap out on tyres, they're the only thing sticking you to the road. I can recommend these Asymmetric 5s wholeheartedly.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-15 08:43:24
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 spirited miles
Easily the best tyres I've ever used on any car I've owned. My Civic's no speed demon but it does corner hard. The car had some ancient factory Bridgestone Turanzas and cheapo Nexens when I bought it and found it super sketchy on tight bends and wet roads. Fitted some Goodyear Asymmetric 5s and I haven't lost grip once, even flooring it in 1st in the pouring rain. The cornering and handling is dramatically improved, greatly reduced understeer, pleasantly predictable behaviour on the limit. I'm seriously impressed considering I paid £70/corner fully fitted. The road noise is surprisingly minimal too compared to tyres I've used in the past. Pilotsport 4s are likely even better but would have also cost me £90 more in total to buy and fit. Price/performance, you cannot beat the Goodyears. Rainsport 3s used to be my go-to tyre but as good as they are in the wet, there's no denying they're squishy and floaty; the Asymmetric 5s match their wet performance but also drive like proper performance tyres at speed. Can't comment on wear; I've done 1000 miles and they look identical to when they were fitted. I have no doubt they'll outlast my ownership by many years, as I don't tend to keep cars long.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-02 09:56:16
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 66% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4800 easy going miles
Fitted these as a replacement for the OEM Bridgestone Turanza, based on 4 & 5 star reviews. Liked the wet weather safety performance so after quite a lot of research ordered these through Halfords online and had them fitted at a local Halfords autocentre. They had performed really well as a daily tyre, with no real noticeable concerns. Clearly a 1.8 Honda Civic is never going to really push tyres to any limits so across 12 months (all of the seasons) they have done as expected and safely ferried the kids, the shopping, the dogs etc... However very disappointingly exactly 1 year and day after being fitted the car had its annual MOT and was failed because the tyres on the driven wheels had started to fall apart. 12 months and 4800 miles after being fitted! The tread blocks were split and flaps of tread were hanging off. The tyres have been returned to Bridgestone for examination and replaced at our cost to pass the MOT. I'm very disappointed in the short life of these tyres and what I'm more concerned about is that after contacting both Halfords and Bridgestone UK they advise that they wouldnt recommend fitting these tyres in the UK unless living up north or in Scotland where its apparently colder or has more chance of snow. I've checked several websites and have yet to find this information in the usage guidance. So in summary I wouldn't recommend the A005 Weather Control tyre if you're expecting a reasonable level of wear from your tyres. They apparently cannot cope with one of the seasons. The heat of a summer!
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-12 07:04:25
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 37% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Just another review to confirm what everyone else is saying. Hopefully this can actually save someone’s car/life. These tyres were fitted to a set of wheel that I purchased and I decided to keep them as they had some amount of thread left so I get my money’s worth. I had them on for about 10 days in the dry and thought they are alright. Nothing special but will get the job done. Oh how wrong I was... These tyres are outright dangerous in the wet. I nearly crashed my car 3 times with these tyres. I don’t have a powerful car or an aggressive driving style. Incident one was in a large roundabout doing about 20mph - the rear end just went. No warning whatsoever. I put it to me going too fast or an oil patch. Incident two was once again a roundabout - I again thought I’m going too fast. Incident three is what made me decide these are coming off - B class road where I make a slight turn - the rear of my front wheel drive Civic simply slid out. VSA (Honda ESC) managed to save me and the car. Overall if you take one thing from this, please get rid of these tyres ASAP. Even if you only do the grocery run with them. Don’t be a cheapskate and wait for the thread. You might just save your life and your car. No idea how these are legal.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-12 23:47:29
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 25000 average miles
These really impressed me. The 1st thing i noticed about them is how quiet they are. Very good grip too. They are quite inexpensive too.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-14 02:22:15
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 21000 easy going miles
Overall happy with the tyres. Good grip in dry, excellent in the wet. Handling ok. Seem to be a bit more noisy when driving in the dry. Used all year on different types of roads, mostly motorways at moderate speed. Once, sometimes twice a year we drive on the German autobahn(2-4k miles) and only then the speeds are a bit higher. The pair at the front is worn down to the markers after 21k miles, the pair at the rear will last a bit longer. Firestones tz300 lasted 32k miles, however, weren't as good in the wet as the continentals.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-16 13:18:29
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-15 07:34:22
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 86% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 average miles
Fantastic longevity - factory fitted on 2012 Civic done around 45k miles and although it's a last season will probably last for another 5 (MOT last month showed 4mm left). Very good grip on dry and no nasty surprises on wet or while cornering so all good. Has rim protection which is always a bonus.

The bad side is the noise and the ride is rather on the firm side.

Still would buy again!
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-23 10:12:03
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Perfect performance at wet roads.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-24 22:11:21
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 32000 average miles
Great Tyre in the dry and wet. Hard wearing and lasted well 32000 miles. However absolutely horendous in the snow, very little control and grip.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-09 10:32:24
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 14% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 average miles
I dont know where to start. Ok worst tyre Iv purchased in 15 years.

Got them fitted and tracked and on the first drive it bobbed around like new tyres will (the rubber isnt fully cured until you heat cycle them for a few hundred miles max). So I waited and waited hoping that my tyres that felt like marsh mellow would firm up. 800 miles later they still havnt.

I got these for wet performance and now I believe these score well in the wet due to the 160cm tread width. I feel conned already as I paid for 205's and imagine this is why they do well at economy on the tests. Anyway do they feel good in the wet, no way its like driving on ice. My ABS now cuts in, my traction control is blinking and Im turning the wheel and still going straight on. My gf said I know Im a silly girl but it feels like the car is fighting you. So they cut through puddles great but do not grip when braking or cornering, be clear about this misrepresentation of wet performance benchmark.

So the first 500 miles felt ok if I ignored the fact it feels like they are folding over onto the sidewall as you turn. Iv just checked the wear and Im half way through both inner edges after 800 miles (theres only about 6mm on the edges from new?).

Economy is the same or worse than my cheap budget tyres I took off (with 5mm still on), hoping for some improvements in my 57mpg previous best. The only way these will save me money is id rather walk to the gym now.

As I go round the bend to accelerate onto a motorway it feels like the tyres are twisty and twanging back on itself over and over like they are made or 200 rubber bands. I put an extra 4psi in them and it improved maybe 10 percent.

I bought these as my last ones were the Dunlop SP fast response ones and was amazed by them on a celica. But to put the word sport on this tyre makes me want to start a law suit against them. If you drive like a prius owner they might be ok but if you like to push a torquey 140bhp civic from time to time go with absolutely anything else.

Oh yes they are quiet but you feel every bump with a bang and they continue to moan about it 2 revolutions after as it stabilises. On bends it feels a bit like when you twist your ankle but you dont quiet go down.

These days it seems the tyres are made to get high marks in unrealistic tests, not to perform for a drivers needs.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-24 05:07:18
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
These tyres are so good for the money. They are a real step up from budget brand tyres and in the wet they are at least an equal to any high end tyre out there. I'll probably never buy another tyre again.
Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-22 10:22:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre