Dunlop SP Sport 9000

The Dunlop SP Sport 9000 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 64%
Handling 60%
Wear 65%
Comfort 62%
Buy again 52%

Tyre review data from 58 tyre reviews averaging 63% over 1,281,195 miles driven.

The SP Sport 9000 is ranked 60th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop SP Sport 9000
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/50 R16 81V   F A 67 7.86kgs
265/40 R18 97Y MO F C 69 13.54kgs
285/50 R18 109W   F B 69 17.20kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Dunlop SP Sport 9000. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport 9000 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Mitsubishi lancer (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
These are fitted to my Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 on the front wheels , I drive a 50/50 mix of motorway and B roads generally, with a varied driving style - steady to get to work and pushing on to get back Home! They were a good price £54 each fitted for a quality brand with excellent ratings I had high hopes. Braking , handling and acceleration were the best I had experienced in my current car in the dry , they perform very well in the wet too, real confidence in braking. I would think that they are the best performance style tyres in the size available, I like the look of the tyres , the brand and the noise is comparable to my previous bridgestone turanzas. I had these on the front for around 4000 miles when I swapped them to the rear, they seemed to wear quite quickly on the front which was a shame so I switched them to the rear, they currently have around 15000 on them with 4/5mm remaining. Bridgestone turanza lasted 40000m from new on the rear. So I think the wear is a little high, however if you demand max performance or cover slightly less mileage I would strongly recommend these tyres, as I do higher mileage now my may try something else with fuel saving claims / longer life.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2012   
Given 36% while driving a Mazda Mazda Miata (195/40 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I tried these tyres thinking they would be great as they were the most expensive in the size im restricted too, for daily driveing they were ok but when pushed they would let go pretty quickly and the wear rate was pretty poor. I used them on the front of my turbo mx5 drift car that i also daily, on the road and pottering about they were go but once on the track and started pushing they were really bad, iv used alot of other tyres that were far cheaper and far superior, they would loose grip with little warning and would wear quickly but in chucks of tyre, most tyres wear evenly as they scrub up but these fell apart, wasnt impressed, i know i pushed them hard but they juat didnt hold up to their reputation.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2016   
Given 77% while driving a Nissan GTiR (215/35 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I don't know what's wrong with the people who slate these tyres unless they've bought Chinese fakes. These tyres have been awesome in the dry and wet on my little 4x4 but they are crap in the snow. Drag racing on an airfield at over 100mph though a standing car sized puddle and not even the slightest hint of aquaplaning. Tyres were a lot newer then though. It's just a shame they've stopped making them in my size.
I've never reached the limit of these tyres as the speed required would probably have killed me if it went wrong.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2015   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport 9000 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport 9000? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport 9000 >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport 9000 Reviews

Given 21% while driving a Toyota Supra (275/35 R18) on mostly town for 2,500 spirited miles
Terrible tyres, absolutely terrible, no grip on them at all. I'm running 275s on the rear and 245s at the front, they feel like they are detached from the road, and don't get me started about wet conditions, would never buy these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2014   
Given 37% while driving a Jaguar X Type 3.0 SE auto (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
I drive a jaguar x-type awd. I changed my tyres to a new set Dunlop sp sport 7000d 225/45/17 about 15000km ago and I am very disapointed with them. The tread is ok-"ish" but I have had two blow-outs(or lets say ripped open on the inside) with them. This tyre can not handle the suspension of the jaguar x-type.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 19, 2014   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a BMW 328cI (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
I find it strange reading all of the comments, particularly those about poor grip in the wet and poor wear. I drive a BMW 328Ci with 235BHP and I'm no slouch in my driving style. I'm really impressed with these tyres, their handling in wet is very good and predictable and as for the dry I've really pushed them on(quiet) roundabouts and have never made them loose grip, as for the dry they stick to the road as good as any of the best/more expensive tyres. Also they have done over 14,000 miles and the rears still have 3.5mm of tread and the fronts around 5mm. They are difficult to get hold of now so they next tyres will be the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx; I'll let you know how they compare?
1 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2014   
Given 80% while driving a Mercedes Benz C200k (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Have recently fitted a set of SP 9000's to my car. Amid stories of unusual noise levels, the noise in my Merc's cabin is the same, if not less, than when I had a set of budgets on the car. I use the car for daily commuting and do not participate in any form of racing. Will update after 5000km.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2013   
Given 76% while driving a Hyundai Coupe 2.0L (225/35 R18) on mostly town for 11,000 average miles
Was impressed by these tyres. They were fitted to a set of alloys I purchased with 6mm+. I dont do many miles (5k a year) and im currently on 4.3mm on each tyre and ive just had my 2nd MOT done so very good wear rate for a front wheel drive car. I dont drive very hard but every now and again comming off a roundabout I will push them a little bit. Being run flats and on a 35profile Ive currently got they are quite bumpy. they have out lasted my 225/40/18 bridgstone potenza 002 which ive done 15k miles on a diffrent car.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2013   
Given 83% while driving a Hyundai Coupe 2.0L (225/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I only use the car for local commutes and havnt had a chance to try the limit in the wet. They came on a set of alloys I bought with over 6mm left on each tyre. In the dry they stick very well and in corners squeal alot but have yet to let go. I think my car set up is weaker than the tyres limit which is a good thing. Only had them on the car a few hundread miles so cant comment on wear. I must say the road noise has increased quite alot since having these on. Had budget tyres on previously.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2013   
Given 39% while driving a Holden Monaro (235/40 R18) on mostly town for 20,000 spirited miles
The worst tyres I have ever had. Dry conditions aren't too bad - but they are downright scary in the wet. I feel like I'm driving on ice, just simply cannot rely on them for straight line traction or cornering grip. Negotiatiting roundabouts inspire terror. And, did I mention road noise - I thought my diff was on the way out the drone was so bad at 80kph + speeds. I had better wet weather grip in the 1970's with a set of Dunlop cross ply's.
Please, do not risk your or your families life with these tyres (unless you live in the desert & never experience rain).
0 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2013   
Given 80% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
A very good tyre which gives me lots of feedback in both dry and wet conditions.
When I need some more I will be replacing like for like.
For a run flat on standard rims I can zoom around roundabouts at 70+ thats not just the car but you can feal when a tyre wants to give out and these are stable and predictable.
They wear slowly, the ride is a little harsh but that is because these are runflats and have sturdy side walls.
We have drag raced these and seriously cannot fault them apart from the fact they are heavier than what I would normally use for our tuned R53.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2012   
Given 44% while driving a Suzuki cappuccino (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8 average miles
you would think a manufacturer with the reputation of dun lop would produce a great sport Tyre, especially with the name sp sport 9000, but sadly just like reading a book by its cover it tells you very little,
this tyres are like plastic with low grip property's in the dry and wet what you will get is loads of smoke!,they will last you a long time but unfortunately this just prolongs the time you have to suffer with them,
i used them on my tuned Suzuki cappuccino 195/50/16 on the front,and have nothing but trouble with them,as the cappuccino is rear wheel drive and doesnt have abs this just adds up to trouble if you do decide to push it,
i have toyo t1rs on the back and for the money they are many times better.
you have been warned!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2012   
Given 59% while driving a BMW (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 350,000 spirited miles
very noisy, hard ones.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2011   
Given 100% while driving a Toyota Corolla (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Amazing Grip!! Suprised how well they handle in the wet! , Very good grip for all high performance cars, dry grip is absolutely excellent. Tyre noise is very low, silica Compund makes they tyres glue to the road surface (",) Goes well on my FWD CTS 200 BHP . Premium Tyres for the money you can't go wrong. Would buy again . Overall i think these tyres are superb!!!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2011   
Given 67% while driving a BMW 330CI M Sport (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 18,000 spirited miles
I must say I'm surprised at the number of negative reviews. I have used the SP Sport 9000's for the last 4 years on the same BMW 330 Ci M Sport (now on second set), and they've performed well. This has however been predominantly high speed motorway driving, not country roads. At motorway speeds the grip is reasuring, and noticably good on bends - in particular going over 'bumps' in the motorways on the bends, which can easily make a car step sideways. With these tyres this doesn't happen (perhaps due to the more longitudinal 'fan' tread pattern giving excellent sideways stability). Basically, the car does not lose its footing meaning you stay in the correct lane, regardless of speed! The performance in the wet is similar i.e. very good, and in particular, I have never aquaplaned, even when accidentally going through unseen standing water at speed. Wet performance is indeed reasuring. Braking performance is even better, wet or dry, and is an area of performance that has impressed on many occasions, regardless of tyre age/wear. Slightly noisy, but I don't hear that in the BMs cabin, so not too concerned there. I would say they aren't the most comfortable tyres ever used. Road feedback is good, but in my experience that detracts from the comfort. Can't have it all, I suppose. Very good wear, but most likely due to motorway miles and not country lane racing. They also look great. One major negative - don't bother attempting to drive in even the smallest amount of snow. Zero grip and endless sliding! Would buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2011