Hankook Ventus Prime2

The Hankook Ventus Prime2 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 70%
Wear 68%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 58%

Tyre review data from 57 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 746,624 miles driven.

The Ventus Prime2 is ranked 77th of 202 Summer Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2015 Test World Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distance on wet surfaces. Stable handling
  • Negative - High rolling resistance
  • Overall - The Hankook Ventus Prime2 brakes effectively and maintains good grip when cornering on wet surfaces. Predictable behaviour during emergency manoeuvres in the dry. With noise and comfort there are no problems, but they have a high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16 - 8th of 19 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry
  • Negative - A little weak in the wet, slightly high fuel consumption
View Full Test >>

2014 Auto Bild Top 15 Summer Tyre Test - 12th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing handling qualities on wet and dry roads, pleasant ride comfort
  • Negative - Very high wear, high cost considering performance
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R15 78V REP E B 70 6.84kgs
185/55 R15 86V XL REP C B 70 7.42kgs
205/55 R15 92V XL REP C B 70 8.61kgs
195/60 R15 88V REP C B 70 8.14kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL OE C B 70 8.82kgs
225/45 R16 89W REP C B 70 8.46kgs
225/50 R16 96W XL REP B B 71 10.05kgs
195/55 R16 87W OE E B 71 8.50kgs
195/55 R16 87V OE C C 69 8.46kgs
195/55 R16 87V REP F C 69 11.03kgs
195/55 R16 87V OE C C 69 8.42kgs
205/55 R16 91V OE C C 71 9.05kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL OE B B 69 9.57kgs
205/55 R16 91W OE C C 69 9.04kgs
205/55 R16 91W REP F C 69 12.16kgs
205/55 R16 91H OE C C 71 8.40kgs
205/55 R16 91W OE C C 69 8.95kgs
205/55 R16 91W REP F C 69 12.29kgs
205/55 R16 91V OE B B 70 8.59kgs
205/55 R16 91H OE E B 71 8.96kgs
235/60 R16 100W REP B B 70 11.47kgs
215/70 R16 100H OE B C 71 11.43kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL OE C B 70 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 87H OE C C 69 8.59kgs
225/45 R17 91V OE C E 70 9.53kgs
225/45 R17 91V OE E C 71 9.24kgs
225/45 R17 91W OE E C 71 9.49kgs
225/45 R17 91V OE E A 70 9.66kgs
225/45 R17 91V OE       10.08kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL OE B B 69 8.85kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL OE E B 70 10.45kgs
215/50 R17 91V OE E C 71 9.76kgs
215/55 R17 94V OE C A 69 12.05kgs
215/55 R17 94W OE C B 68 11.81kgs
215/55 R17 94V OE C C 71 10.33kgs
215/55 R17 94W OE C B 68 10.50kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL OE B B 71 12.30kgs
225/55 R17 97W OE E B 71 11.62kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL OE B B 71 12.16kgs
245/55 R17 102W OE B C 70 11.88kgs
225/60 R17 99H OE C B 71 12.32kgs
235/65 R17 104H OE C B 70 13.10kgs
215/40 R18 85V OE E C 70 8.97kgs
225/40 R18 88V OE E C 70 10.03kgs
225/40 R18 88V OE E A 70 9.63kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL OE E B 71 10.45kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL OE E B 71 10.74kgs
235/45 R18 94V OE C C 71 10.68kgs
235/45 R18 94V OE C C 71 10.87kgs
235/45 R18 94W OE C A 67 11.11kgs
235/45 R18 94W OE C A 67 12.52kgs
245/45 R18 96W OE E B 71 12.41kgs
245/45 R18 96V OE C C 69 11.73kgs
255/45 R18 103H XL OE B B 71 12.92kgs
255/45 R18 103W XL OE C C 71 12.46kgs
235/60 R18 103H OE C B 71 13.60kgs
235/60 R18 103V OE C B 71 13.59kgs
245/40 R19 94V OE C E 70 11.76kgs
245/45 R19 98V OE C C 71 12.42kgs
235/55 R19 101H OE E B 71 13.63kgs
235/55 R19 101V OE C B 71 13.66kgs

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus Prime2

2016-04-15 - Please could you give me rough estimate on how many miles I should be fit to get out of front tyres on 2016 Hyundai tuscon 2016 ? , best regards

Tyre mileage is extremely variable based on driving style, conditions and load. Looking at the reviews, if you have an average driving style, the Hankook Prime 2 should see around 20,000 miles on the front.


2017-12-14 - Is this type of tyre how much does it take the cold weather? I use it now in winter. But here is no snow only rainy weather. Should I change to all-season or winter tyres or it will be okay?

As the temperature drops the rubber compound will harden and offer less grip, however if you're confident you won't need to use the car in snow and ice, the Hankook Ventus Prime 2 will be suitable for cold wet and dry motoring.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Ventus Prime2 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/50 R17 £98.40 - £108.50 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £52.99 - £79.20 (26 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £68.14 - £132.00 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Hankook Ventus Prime2 Reviews

Given 31% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (225/60 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
CAN NOT WAIT FOR THESE TYRES TO WEAR OUT THIS IS THE THIRD HYUNDAI I HAVE HAD ALL WITH HANKOOK TYRES ON MUST BE OWNED BY HYUNDAI HAS THEY ARE THE WORST TYRES I HAVE EVER HAD
228 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Volvo V70 2.5 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 12 average miles
have these in XL format on the front of an ageing Volvo V70 auto, maybe it's the XL variant making the difference but they have been fantastic... quiet, sure footed and lasted over 12k on a car that normally requires new tyres after about 7-8k..... they have done a mixture of dual / motorway and very wet Welsh country roads and are about to be replaced with 2.5-3mm left on them..... and just because it's a Volvo I do not drive like the pipe and trilby brigade
couple of things that may contribute towards my success with them, as said previous, XL variant used, which for some reason carries a double B rating whereas the 91s are higher... car is always fully geo-tracked on a hunter machine, wheels also balanced on Hunter equipment and tyres nitrogen filled, that said have used other tyres with lesser results.....
they seem well suited to my vehicle and that could also be part of the success, have had some tyres which were great on one car and awful on another
28 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2015   
Given 50% while driving a Mazda 6 2.0 D (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Solid tire without any sporty intentions, no shine no big issues, tire for normal straight driving limousins. Can’t compare with previous Sport Contact 5, cause this is touring tire, unlike Conti is UHP. The biggest different is from the road feedback where Conti was top. Tire is comfortable, no special noise. I took Hankook because of the price and comparing quality among similar price level. But, definitely i am driver for UHP and Continental is in my top. Now, for BMW 3 no touring tires.
13 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2017   
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus Prime2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus Prime2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus Prime2 >

Latest Hankook Ventus Prime2 Reviews

Given 64% while driving a Hyundai Veloster Turbo 1.6 TGDi (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 20,000 spirited miles
Was surprised they wore out as quick as they did.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2021   
Given 61% while driving a Skoda (235/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 75,000 easy going miles
Not impressed. These tyres were factory fitted and now have done 7500 miles from new on urban roads. No heavy braking or harsh acceleration.Always maintain correct recommended tyre pressures.I took it for a service and first MOT test to the Skoda dealer where I purchased it new.They sent me a video report and pointed out serious crazing and cracks on tyre walls and between tread wear bars.There was plenty of tread left (5mm) as one would expect from a 3 year old tyre that has only run 7500 miles.I was asked if I wished to have them exchanged at my expense.Apart from my cynical view that the garage may of wanted to make a further sale from me I can assume that the technicians thought this was an abnormal condition and worthy of my attention although they conceded it wasn't an MOT failure but I should keep an eye on them.I will never willingly buy these tyres and if I were to buy another top of the range model in future I shall ensure they are not fitted with Hankook tyres. One tyre damaged in this manner may be excuseable but all four is not!
1 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
With tyre's that have only done 12000mls on my wife's eco sport fitted on her new car when delivered, the service plan has just failed them at MOT . The reason given was tread to side wall crazing on all tyre's. Shorley they should last longer than this. Any idears ?
12 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2020   
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 37,000 average miles
This was an OEM tyre on my car for 4 years. I have expected some other premium brand on my new car for OEM tyre but Hankook surprised me in a very positive way. This tyre is problem-free in the dry grip. A little bit weak in the wet grip. Especially, when the green light appears on a wet road, tyre immediately starts skidding and this confuses the DSG transmission and then DSG shift from 1 to 2 with a deep shake. This phenomenon was very unnoticeable at first 3 years but in last year this made me annoyed. No problem with the wear. Road feedback is decent. Handling is not sporty but fairly enough. However, comfort and noise topic turned me to look into another brand. Since my car is not famous for its sound insulation I went for a super-silent and comfy tyre. Finally, this is a budget tyre with a surprisingly good performance.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
All around very good tire. Sometimes tends to struggle for grip on smooth asphalt surfaces during wet conditions.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2019   
Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7.5 1.0 TSI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Tyres spin very easily, especially on a slight incline or in damp conditions. 12000 miles on these and have been very disappointed, new purchase is Michelin Primacy 4 and already enjoy the experience much more.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
After 16.000 km low wear.Very good handling both dry and wet roads.The only negative is noise and consumption (maybe from high resistance).Next tyre will be ventus prime 3.
10 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Great tyres

In the mountains on dry in the summer i coudnt make them to loose grip at all. Amazing grip on dri and wet. I have th RUNFLAT ones wich i think it counts on curves.
7 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2018   
Given 67% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (225/60 R17 R) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
In many respects I cannot fault these tyres, they were factory fitted to the Tuscon. But having completed just 12000 miles I'm appalled that the tread has all but gone and I've been advised to replace the rear (more tread and well within legal limits) as they are PERISHED! Yes, perished - they look like they've been on an old caravan for 30 years. 2 years old and 12ooo miles is unacceptable. No more Hankook for me, back to Michelin.
8 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2018   
Given 81% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Bought these years ago to replace two front Michelin Primacy tyres. After 15,000 miles daily commuting and lots of roundabouts the tyres still have 3mm of tread left. The massive pro for these tyres is the A rated wet handling, definitely a rating it lives upto as these tyres give bucket loads of grip in the rain. I’ve driven in some appalling wet weather and they have never slid once, no ABS, no ESP lights or anything. The ride is pretty firm and the sidewalls hold up well when pushed. The only con is that Hankooks have shot up in price over time for this size which will probably make me look at alternatives when they’re nearing replacement.
8 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2018   
Given 79% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2TSI 77KW(stage 1 to 100KW) (155/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 1,100 average miles
bought tyres on fitters recommendation not disappointed a good mid range tyre. There wearing well
1 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2017   
Given 74% while driving a Hyundai i30 CRDi (225/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
These tyres came as OE fitment to the car; My 2012 Hyundai i30 1.6 CRDi Elite came with Hankook Ventus Prime 2 K115 205/55 R16 91 H tyres (EAN: 8808563330099). Its factory default values are Class E for fuel efficiency and Class A for wet grip and 69 dB external rolling noise according to official company website. I had almost 80.000 kms (ie. 50.000 miles) with the very same tires. The wear is extremely low, I had been told that I could use them for another 15.000 kms (~9.000 miles) due to authorized service. Of course the wear is closely related to driving style and the road conditions. But, I could assure you the tyres even stand for the harsh road conditions in Turkey and my aggressive driving style with lots of immediate brakes and fast pace changes. Anyway, I am far from glad about the wear condition of this tire comparing it to the ones I used so far. However, on the contrary; the comfort, the road feedback and the overall feeling of the tires are far from average, making it one of the worst I could ever experience. They are noisy, cannot respond well on almost all surfaces except dry and paved roads. They are especially useless on wet grip and winter conditions where any amount of snow cause serious trouble. I will not prefer to buy these tires although they are cheap and endurable. I will definitely opt for buying a more secure and comfortable one rather than this. But this one is still an economical choice for those using it mainly on paved roads and dry conditions.

7 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2017