Hankook Ventus Prime2

The Hankook Ventus Prime2 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 71%
Wear 67%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 58%

Tyre review data from 59 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 818,624 miles driven.

The Ventus Prime2 is ranked 79th of 206 Summer Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2015 Test World Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distance on wet surfaces. Stable handling
  • Negative - High rolling resistance
  • Overall - The Hankook Ventus Prime2 brakes effectively and maintains good grip when cornering on wet surfaces. Predictable behaviour during emergency manoeuvres in the dry. With noise and comfort there are no problems, but they have a high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16 - 8th of 19 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry
  • Negative - A little weak in the wet, slightly high fuel consumption
View Full Test >>

2014 Auto Bild Top 15 Summer Tyre Test - 12th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing handling qualities on wet and dry roads, pleasant ride comfort
  • Negative - Very high wear, high cost considering performance
View Full Test >>

2015 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2015 Test World Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 3rd: 2014 Auto Review Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2014 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2014 AMS Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2014 Test World Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 12th: 2014 Auto Bild Top 15 Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2013 Test World Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 10th: 2013 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R16)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2012 Autoreview Touring Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2011 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2011 Finnish ECO Touring Tyre Test (205/55 r16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    195/45 R15 78V REP E B 70 6.84kgs
    185/55 R15 86V XL REP C B 70 7.42kgs
    205/55 R15 92V XL REP C B 70 8.61kgs
    195/60 R15 88V REP C B 70 8.14kgs
    215/45 R16 90V XL OE C B 70 8.82kgs
    225/45 R16 89W REP C B 70 8.46kgs
    225/50 R16 96W XL REP B B 71 10.05kgs
    195/55 R16 87W OE E B 71 8.50kgs
    195/55 R16 87V OE C C 69 8.46kgs
    195/55 R16 87V REP F C 69 11.03kgs
    195/55 R16 87V OE C C 69 8.42kgs
    205/55 R16 91V OE C C 71 9.05kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL OE B B 69 9.57kgs
    205/55 R16 91W OE C C 69 9.04kgs
    205/55 R16 91W REP F C 69 12.16kgs
    205/55 R16 91H OE C C 71 8.40kgs
    205/55 R16 91W OE C C 69 8.95kgs
    205/55 R16 91W REP F C 69 12.29kgs
    205/55 R16 91V OE B B 70 8.59kgs
    205/55 R16 91H OE E B 71 8.96kgs
    235/60 R16 100W REP B B 70 11.47kgs
    215/70 R16 100H OE B C 71 11.43kgs
    215/40 R17 87W XL OE C B 70 8.76kgs
    215/45 R17 87H OE C C 69 8.59kgs
    225/45 R17 91V OE C E 70 9.53kgs
    225/45 R17 91V OE E C 71 9.24kgs
    225/45 R17 91W OE E C 71 9.49kgs
    225/45 R17 91V OE E A 70 9.66kgs
    225/45 R17 91V OE       10.08kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL OE B B 69 8.85kgs
    215/50 R17 95V XL OE E B 70 10.45kgs
    215/50 R17 91V OE E C 71 9.76kgs
    215/55 R17 94V OE C A 69 12.05kgs
    215/55 R17 94W OE C B 68 11.81kgs
    215/55 R17 94V OE C C 71 10.33kgs
    215/55 R17 94W OE C B 68 10.50kgs
    225/55 R17 101V XL OE B B 71 12.30kgs
    225/55 R17 97W OE E B 71 11.62kgs
    225/55 R17 101V XL OE B B 71 12.16kgs
    245/55 R17 102W OE B C 70 11.88kgs
    225/60 R17 99H OE C B 71 12.32kgs
    235/65 R17 104H OE C B 70 13.10kgs
    215/40 R18 85V OE E C 70 8.97kgs
    225/40 R18 88V OE E C 70 10.03kgs
    225/40 R18 88V OE E A 70 9.63kgs
    225/45 R18 95V XL OE E B 71 10.45kgs
    225/45 R18 95V XL OE E B 71 10.74kgs
    235/45 R18 94V OE C C 71 10.68kgs
    235/45 R18 94V OE C C 71 10.87kgs
    235/45 R18 94W OE C A 67 11.11kgs
    235/45 R18 94W OE C A 67 12.52kgs
    245/45 R18 96W OE E B 71 12.41kgs
    245/45 R18 96V OE C C 69 11.73kgs
    255/45 R18 103H XL OE B B 71 12.92kgs
    255/45 R18 103W XL OE C C 71 12.46kgs
    235/60 R18 103H OE C B 71 13.60kgs
    235/60 R18 103V OE C B 71 13.59kgs
    245/40 R19 94V OE C E 70 11.76kgs
    245/45 R19 98V OE C C 71 12.42kgs
    235/55 R19 101H OE E B 71 13.63kgs
    235/55 R19 101V OE C B 71 13.66kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus Prime2

    2016-04-15 - Please could you give me rough estimate on how many miles I should be fit to get out of front tyres on 2016 Hyundai tuscon 2016 ? , best regards

    Tyre mileage is extremely variable based on driving style, conditions and load. Looking at the reviews, if you have an average driving style, the Hankook Prime 2 should see around 20,000 miles on the front.


    2017-12-14 - Is this type of tyre how much does it take the cold weather? I use it now in winter. But here is no snow only rainy weather. Should I change to all-season or winter tyres or it will be okay?

    As the temperature drops the rubber compound will harden and offer less grip, however if you're confident you won't need to use the car in snow and ice, the Hankook Ventus Prime 2 will be suitable for cold wet and dry motoring.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Ventus Prime2 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    205/50 R17 £102.99 - £120.30 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £51.89 - £87.50 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £71.00 - £186.30 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Hankook Ventus Prime2 Reviews

    Given 31% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (225/60 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
    CAN NOT WAIT FOR THESE TYRES TO WEAR OUT THIS IS THE THIRD HYUNDAI I HAVE HAD ALL WITH HANKOOK TYRES ON MUST BE OWNED BY HYUNDAI HAS THEY ARE THE WORST TYRES I HAVE EVER HAD
    Helpful 232 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2017
    Given 90% while driving a Volvo V70 2.5 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 12 average miles
    have these in XL format on the front of an ageing Volvo V70 auto, maybe it's the XL variant making the difference but they have been fantastic... quiet, sure footed and lasted over 12k on a car that normally requires new tyres after about 7-8k..... they have done a mixture of dual / motorway and very wet Welsh country roads and are about to be replaced with 2.5-3mm left on them..... and just because it's a Volvo I do not drive like the pipe and trilby brigade
    couple of things that may contribute towards my success with them, as said previous, XL variant used, which for some reason carries a double B rating whereas the 91s are higher... car is always fully geo-tracked on a hunter machine, wheels also balanced on Hunter equipment and tyres nitrogen filled, that said have used other tyres with lesser results.....
    they seem well suited to my vehicle and that could also be part of the success, have had some tyres which were great on one car and awful on another
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2015
    Given 50% while driving a Mazda 6 2.0 D (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    Solid tire without any sporty intentions, no shine no big issues, tire for normal straight driving limousins. Can’t compare with previous Sport Contact 5, cause this is touring tire, unlike Conti is UHP. The biggest different is from the road feedback where Conti was top. Tire is comfortable, no special noise. I took Hankook because of the price and comparing quality among similar price level. But, definitely i am driver for UHP and Continental is in my top. Now, for BMW 3 no touring tires.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2017
    Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus Prime2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus Prime2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Hankook Ventus Prime2 >

    Latest Hankook Ventus Prime2 Reviews

    Given 35% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 22,000 easy going miles
    According to Hankook website these tyres are usable for around 50000 miles and 7 to 8 years old. Unfortunately these tyres were fitted as orriginal equipment to my golf reg oct 2017. Tyres manufacture end August 2017. At 4 years old 22000 miles mot failed because perished. Sent rear tyre back to Hankook under complaint as less than 50% worn. Their technical dep t rejected claim as it was over 4 years old and they therefore rejected claim. WARNING IF YOU DRIVE A LOW MILEAGE CAR BE VERY WARY ABOUT ABOUT FITTING Hangkook tyres . High mileage cars are ok as they will be worn out before any fault shows.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2022
    Given 64% while driving a Hyundai Veloster Turbo 1.6 TGDi (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 20,000 spirited miles
    Was surprised they wore out as quick as they did.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2021
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 61% while driving a Skoda (235/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 75,000 easy going miles
    Not impressed. These tyres were factory fitted and now have done 7500 miles from new on urban roads. No heavy braking or harsh acceleration.Always maintain correct recommended tyre pressures.I took it for a service and first MOT test to the Skoda dealer where I purchased it new.They sent me a video report and pointed out serious crazing and cracks on tyre walls and between tread wear bars.There was plenty of tread left (5mm) as one would expect from a 3 year old tyre that has only run 7500 miles.I was asked if I wished to have them exchanged at my expense.Apart from my cynical view that the garage may of wanted to make a further sale from me I can assume that the technicians thought this was an abnormal condition and worthy of my attention although they conceded it wasn't an MOT failure but I should keep an eye on them.I will never willingly buy these tyres and if I were to buy another top of the range model in future I shall ensure they are not fitted with Hankook tyres. One tyre damaged in this manner may be excuseable but all four is not!
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2020
    Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
    With tyre's that have only done 12000mls on my wife's eco sport fitted on her new car when delivered, the service plan has just failed them at MOT . The reason given was tread to side wall crazing on all tyre's. Shorley they should last longer than this. Any idears ?
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2020
    Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 37,000 average miles
    This was an OEM tyre on my car for 4 years. I have expected some other premium brand on my new car for OEM tyre but Hankook surprised me in a very positive way. This tyre is problem-free in the dry grip. A little bit weak in the wet grip. Especially, when the green light appears on a wet road, tyre immediately starts skidding and this confuses the DSG transmission and then DSG shift from 1 to 2 with a deep shake. This phenomenon was very unnoticeable at first 3 years but in last year this made me annoyed. No problem with the wear. Road feedback is decent. Handling is not sporty but fairly enough. However, comfort and noise topic turned me to look into another brand. Since my car is not famous for its sound insulation I went for a super-silent and comfy tyre. Finally, this is a budget tyre with a surprisingly good performance.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019
    Given 76% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
    All around very good tire. Sometimes tends to struggle for grip on smooth asphalt surfaces during wet conditions.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2019
    Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7.5 1.0 TSI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    Tyres spin very easily, especially on a slight incline or in damp conditions. 12000 miles on these and have been very disappointed, new purchase is Michelin Primacy 4 and already enjoy the experience much more.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2019
    Given 84% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    After 16.000 km low wear.Very good handling both dry and wet roads.The only negative is noise and consumption (maybe from high resistance).Next tyre will be ventus prime 3.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2019
    Given 93% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Great tyres

    In the mountains on dry in the summer i coudnt make them to loose grip at all. Amazing grip on dri and wet. I have th RUNFLAT ones wich i think it counts on curves.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2018
    Given 67% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (225/60 R17 R) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
    In many respects I cannot fault these tyres, they were factory fitted to the Tuscon. But having completed just 12000 miles I'm appalled that the tread has all but gone and I've been advised to replace the rear (more tread and well within legal limits) as they are PERISHED! Yes, perished - they look like they've been on an old caravan for 30 years. 2 years old and 12ooo miles is unacceptable. No more Hankook for me, back to Michelin.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2018
    Given 81% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Bought these years ago to replace two front Michelin Primacy tyres. After 15,000 miles daily commuting and lots of roundabouts the tyres still have 3mm of tread left. The massive pro for these tyres is the A rated wet handling, definitely a rating it lives upto as these tyres give bucket loads of grip in the rain. I’ve driven in some appalling wet weather and they have never slid once, no ABS, no ESP lights or anything. The ride is pretty firm and the sidewalls hold up well when pushed. The only con is that Hankooks have shot up in price over time for this size which will probably make me look at alternatives when they’re nearing replacement.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2018
    Given 79% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2TSI 77KW(stage 1 to 100KW) (155/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 1,100 average miles
    bought tyres on fitters recommendation not disappointed a good mid range tyre. There wearing well
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2017