Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel.

Do you Drive a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Assurance ComfortDrive (3) 90% 100% 75% 90% 95% 100%
Avon AX7 (11) 93% 88% 88% 91% 91% 93%
Nexen Winguard Snow G3 (6) 88% 90% 85% 85% 78% 92%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (212) 93% 91% 87% 89% 82% 81%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (142) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle Exhilarate (6) 92% 88% 85% 88% 95% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (292) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Falken Azenis FK510 (134) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (287) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 79%
Michelin CrossClimate 2 (62) 87% 85% 75% 69% 82% 87%
Avon ZZ5 (93) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (43) 86% 86% 76% 80% 86% 77%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (235) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (283) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Kumho Winter Craft WP52 (1) 70% 80% 90% 90% 60% 80%
Nankang N 605 (2) 80% 60% 75% 70% 95% 95%
Tristar SportPower (1) 90% 70% 70% 70% 60% 80%
Michelin Primacy 3 (182) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Rapid p309 (6) 85% 70% 65% 78% 74% 82%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (191) 83% 77% 77% 73% 78% 71%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (114) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 78%
Federal 595RSR (50) 87% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (54) 75% 86% 68% 70% 74% 79%
Three A P606 (47) 79% 73% 69% 69% 72% 76%
Barum Bravuris 3 (9) 77% 68% 80% 73% 72% 69%
Accelera X Grip 4S (3) 70% 50% 67% 63% 87% 83%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (206) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (59) 78% 73% 72% 71% 67% 71%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (33) 84% 80% 76% 80% 52% 70%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (68) 82% 85% 77% 72% 57% 73%
Pirelli P Zero (141) 85% 70% 77% 73% 60% 65%
Viatti Strada Asimmetrico (2) 75% 65% 65% 65% 75% 80%
Nankang Noble Sport NS20 (31) 72% 57% 66% 59% 77% 72%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Hifly VIGOROUS AT601 (14) 74% 66% 65% 63% 53% 59%
Mohawk M105 (7) 71% 62% 60% 56% 83% 53%
Autogrip P308 (25) 68% 54% 58% 51% 62% 63%
Durun A One (18) 63% 40% 52% 45% 47% 48%
Goodride RP28 (2) 70% 10% 40% 40% 60% 55%
Powertrac CityRacing (6) 28% 17% 22% 25% 15% 30%

Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 90% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 27000 spirited miles
High dry performance, high mileage, good road feedback and wet handling. To buy again for sure
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-16 17:24:50
Writing about the Kumho Winter Craft WP52 given 79% (195-55-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Nice grip both on snow and on dry/wet roads. Wear seems a little high, but we'll see how long they'll last.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-16 17:16:51
Writing about the Nankang Noble Sport NS20 given 83% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
If you read up about these tyres, you’ll find a lot of unsavoury reviews. However they all seem to be from some time ago and I’m wondering if they’ve changed the compound or something in recent years. I’ve just come from a set of Michelin PS4 tyres on my Fiesta ST, fantastic tyres, but longevity is not their strong suit and they are very very expensive. So I thought about giving these a go as these are less than 50% of the cost of a set of PS5s now. So far I am very very happy with them. Not so much road noise, great grip in the dry with decent feedback, not quite as good as the Michelins but pretty close. Wet grip is absolutely fine, you drive to the conditions anyway but i feel confident it’s not going to fling me off the road. Decent with standing water too. Overall I am very impressed with these especially considering the price, I do wonder about all the negative reviews and their ability to drive their cars according to the conditions! But I would definitely recommend these after about 2000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-11 15:52:55
Writing about the Accelera X Grip 4S given 57% (235-40-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
Accelera X Grip 4S tyres purchased from new. Recently replaced after 25k miles and fronts still had 4mm and rears 6mm, which was surprising. Tyres were starting to crack on tread and were nearly three years old. I paid £300 for the set on line then got them fitted locally. They balanced up pretty well and didn’t need too much weight and don’t lose their shape at all. Dry handling was fine as was braking. However they screeched going round and corner or roundabout- not at speed! It was embarrassing because people would stop and stare thinking you were speeding. Wet handling they were scary with the whole car would slide sideway or under acceleration lose grip. It was the wet handling performance that made me want to replace them for Michelin Cross Climates. Snow handling (when we had it) was amazing and ok in slush and ice. This was the only time the car felt truly safer than average. I accept they were cheap and affordable all season tyres were not widely available in my size. All I can say is don’t put a price on the safety of your vehicles occupants, buy the best you can afford and avoid these, if you can.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-09 16:45:42
Writing about the Powertrac CityRacing given 14% (225-35-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 miles
I recently bought a brand new transit custom with 20inch rims. I’m Totally aware that the sizes arnt ideal however after 5000 miles I had 2 blowouts on the fronts. Costing me over £700 to call out emergency tyre replacements. I don’t drive erratically or fast ( luckily ) and am disgusted with the situation. On both occasions I was driving on normal road surfaces and well under speed limits ( luckily ). I’ve since read reviews on the powertrac tyres and reviews are very concerning about this manufacturer. On both tyres the inner side wall has literally just popped. I’ve not even done 5000 miles yet. Stay away from this manufacturer. I’ve also contacted my van supplier and suggested they don’t fit their vehicles with this product. It turns out the tyres are relatively cheap but look good. Which is no hood to anybody if they randomly pop and breakdown with minimal use. Awful
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-16 09:10:15
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 36% (225-60-18-)
Driving on for 4000 average miles
Had these on a hired Ford Kuga, utterly useless in the snow/ice/slush and way too much understeer in the dry, not driven in wet so no comment on that aspect. However the incredibly poor winter performance shows that the "snowflake" mark on a tyre is unfortunately still no indication whatsoever of any kind of acceptable performance in these conditions - Avoid, if you must fit all-season tyres then go with Goodyear or Michelin.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-15 00:57:17
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 100% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15200 average miles
Best tyres I have ever brought for this price range
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-30 22:20:56
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate 2 given 94% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 11500 average miles
Great touring tyre with very predictable handling characteristics in all weather conditions. The quietest tyre I've ever had with the exception of a few different cement surfaces.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-25 03:04:29
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Had them fitted in my Mondeo mk4 and vw polo. They’re incredibly good on wet and muddy surfaces also grip very well on dry. Can’t complain about the noise or fuel efficiency they’re are all round good tyres that last long. I would very highly recommend! Personally I think those tyres are one of the best on the market
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-02 22:34:20
Writing about the Avon AX7 given 84% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
I haven't had chance to test them in the snow or ice, however in the cold/rain they grip well enough for the price. very progressive feel, with plenty of feedback, and again decent enough grip concidering the price. only thing is they are wearing slightly quicker than i would expect, and they are slightly noiser - especially when it's cold.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-27 10:51:40
Writing about the Goodyear Assurance ComfortDrive given NAN% (-50-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
This new Goodyear series “Comfortdrive” is the best tire I have ever owned, and I was a tire dealer for over 20 years. Smooth, quiet ride. Very nice road manners and handling. First day we had flooded roads and great traction with standing water on the road. A measurable difference from the OEM Michelin latitude
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-15 02:14:30
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle Exhilarate given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Really good UHP All season tyre, replaced Michelin Pilot All Season 3s and these feel more sporty. They're not amazing in the snow compared to a winter tyre but seem better than the Michelins I've taken off. Very happy. Highly recommended and will be buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-22 21:10:01
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre