Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 80%
Wear 53%
Comfort 70%
Buy again 48%

Tyre review data from 34 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 551,657 miles driven.

The ContiSportContact 5 SUV is ranked 21st of 28 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 All Road 265/60 R18 4x4 Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent balanced performance, accurate steering, short braking in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Average traction in mud.
  • Overall - Test winner.
View Full Test >>

2016 Autobild 4x4 / SUV Tyre Test - 1st of 7 tyres

  • Positive - A well balanced tyre with short braking in the dry and wey, and surprisingly good traction on grass
  • Negative - High noise level, expensive and relatively low lateral stability on wet surfaces
  • Overall - Exemplary
View Full Test >>

2015 Off Road SUV 4x4 Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Good results on dry and wet surfaces
  • Negative - High noise level
View Full Test >>

2018 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2018 All Road 265/60 R18 4x4 Tyre Test (265/60 R18)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2016 Autobild 4x4 / SUV Tyre Test (255/55 R19)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2015 Off Road SUV 4x4 Tyre Test (255/55 R18)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2013 Auto Review Sports SUV Summer Test (255/55 R18)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    235/50 R18 £148.93 - £168.61 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/55 R18 £140.83 - £140.83 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/60 R18 £137.98 - £157.14 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV Reviews

    Given 46% while driving a Audi Q5 (245/45 R19) on mostly motorways for 16,000 average miles
    Initially I thought the tyres would be fine but shocked at 16k to see just about legal. This on a new 2021 Q5 diesel. On my previous A4 Quattro cars usually got around 24k. £608 for the four tyres. Any other longer wearing SUV tyres suitable?
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2022
    Given 73% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 21,000 spirited miles
    Overall well balanced tyre. Dry grip on smooth roads limited, Traction control comes on regulary with acceleration in first gear on country roads that have a bit of blown dust on.
    Never had a puncture in two sets that lasted average 34000 km each.. The tyres are noisy on smooth roads. Lateral traction very good. Good load carry capacity with limited pressure growth with load.
    Cornering well balanced - overall happy with their performance.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2023
    Given 73% while driving a Audi Q5 (255/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
    Had these tyres on my Audi Q5 since new. Tyres are AO Equipment and done 16k miles and fronts down to 2m and rears to around 3.5mm. Been impressed with the tyre wear and the performance of them on all characteristics. First 4x4 so changing tyres all to a different brand for set up so will see how they go and report on them.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2022
    Have you driven on the Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV >

    Latest Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (245/45 R19) on mostly motorways for 29 easy going miles
    I bit noisy. It reaches it's legal limit at 20,000km Make steering a bit heavy. Overpriced Overall good grip both dry and wet conditions
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2022
    Given 76% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLA180 (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 45,900 spirited miles
    The wear rate is impressive, end of life is around 74000km. Comfort is good,
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2022
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Hyundai Tucson (245/45 R19) on mostly country roads for 11,000 easy going miles
    Fitted to Hyundai Tucson Premium - lasted no more than 11,000m and I am a careful driver who rarely gets over 70mph on the motorway - it’s is my age - 70! Will never fit these tyres again!
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2022
    Given 39% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (225/60 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
    Supplied new on car, shocking wear
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2022
    Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace 2.0 BiTDi 240HP (255/40 R20) on mostly motorways for 27,000 spirited miles
    I have driven these tyres for 45.000 Km's on a VW Tiguan Allspace 2.0 BiTDi 240HP DSG7 R-Line 7seater. Very satisfying tyre, factory fitment as oem tyre. Only negative is the rather fast wear of it, you can calculate around 1mm wear every 8-9.000 Km's. Max life is 40-45.000 Km's. Also, the Seal Inside technology of Continental, gives you a rather peace of mind state on the road.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2021
    Given 76% while driving a Opel Insignia B (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 19,200 average miles
    This is just a mid-life update. At 31,000 km the tread si worn to 5 mm (= 1 mm per 10,000 km). So, they might get to 55,000-60,000 km until worn down to 2 mm. My driving is mostly city with occasional longer motorway trips. The tyres feel a bit noisier but otherwise still great in all aspects. Nowadays I would probably buy some newer tyre since SportContact 5 is slightly old but otherwise I would recommend them anytime.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2021
    Given 64% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (245/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 easy going miles
    Very good in the dry, good in the wet , a smooth ride , but have to say only 14000 miles on a set on the front hardly seems value to me, also I believe these only come with 7 mm tread on them compared to 8 mm on most other brands. I still have the same original tyres on the rear of car and now the second set on the front are due to be replaced...I would love to know what tyres others have found that work better or last longer,
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2021
    Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 50,000 average miles
    My 66 plate Tiguan came with these tyres. The front tyres were swapped out at 27,000 miles (with Avon ZX7's). I put the Contisports on the back axle and they are still there at c.3mm and just over 50,000 miles! I am now looking at whether to replace the front ZX7's (which will have done c.23,000 miles) with Contisports again, though I think the extra mileage from them doesn't justify the extra £30 a tyre.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2020
    Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 28 average miles
    Great tyre - handles really well. Very little road noise. Good comfortable ride. Very good breaking - have had to pull up sharply a couple of times and the tyre has really responded. For an expensive tyre though, I am a little disappointed with the total kilometers (just 45,000km). I have regularly rotated the tyres, kept them balanced and front end aligned. I don't think they have had any tough driving conditions, and so the only reason I probably won't buy them again, is I'd like a tyre with better mileage.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2020
    Given 57% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 116,000 easy going miles
    We bought a brand new VW Tiguan (pre-registered late 2017) which came fitted with these Continental ContiSport v tyres. Within less than 3 years of very conservative and careful driving (my wife and I are both retired NHS staff), we noticed significant wear on the front two tyres. The car had clocked up just 11,600 miles from new. Our local garage confirmed significant wear, one of the tyres verging on being dangerous. We had both tyres replaced immediately. On contacting Continental to comment, they wanted me to return to the garage, fill-in a form and have the Garage do so too. They then wanted me to ask the garage to keep the tyres for their collection. There offer was to report back once they'd had chance to actually see the two failed tyres themselves. Continental clearly wouldn't take my word, our Garage's word or want to contact our VW Dealership. We'd always previously considered Continental to be a decent brand - but never, never again.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2020
    Given 90% while driving a Lexus RX270 (235/60 R18 V) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
    Amazing tyres. put them on my Lexus RX and well out do the original bridgestones the car came with when I bought it brand new. Can hardly hear any road noise unless driving on rough or unsealed concrete road and even then very quiet. Very comfortable.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2020
    Given 93% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/55 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Fitted the tyres to our Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander when the original Hankook tyres needed replacing. This will be the third time I have fitted Continentals when available and they don't disappoint. Steering, braking, feel and comfort are all superior to the others I have owned, and I couldn't see myself buying any other brand regardless of price.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2019