Audi Q5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi Q5.

Do you Drive a Audi Q5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Q5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Momo A Lusion M9 (3) 100% 93% 83% 87% 65% 83%
Accelera Iota ST68 (6) 90% 80% 90% 72% 87% 86%
Michelin Latitude Sport 3 (19) 88% 84% 84% 84% 78% 73%
Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus (16) 84% 79% 83% 84% 81% 75%
Michelin Latitude Tour (6) 88% 78% 85% 66% 78% 80%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (70) 92% 88% 86% 83% 53% 78%
Giti GitiSport S1 SUV (1) 80% 80% 70% 70% 0% 80%
Avon ZX7 (29) 87% 85% 77% 77% 58% 80%
Michelin Latitude Sport (9) 86% 86% 79% 83% 63% 76%
Rotalla RU01 S Pace (20) 84% 76% 71% 69% 77% 78%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (198) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (62) 86% 67% 76% 72% 68% 68%
Accelera Iota (37) 80% 66% 65% 65% 70% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (120) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (45) 77% 70% 68% 67% 60% 69%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (69) 79% 64% 67% 62% 71% 62%

Audi Q5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 63% (225-45-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
Dry grip is great, comparable with Michelin LS3 SUV. Wet is so so tho, had ABS on and aquaplane at 60km turning right when it was a month old , never happened on F1A3 SUV doing the same turn, nor LS3. Wear on this is horrendous , much worse than the above 2 sets I had. Its quieter than the other 2, which was the initial reason of purchase, but the wear is so bad its just not worth it.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-24 01:53:08
Writing about the Avon ZX7 given 53% (255-45-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11000 average miles
Having had Avon tyres on other cars I went with them on my Audi Q5 when they ended replacing. After 2 years and 11000 miles the outside edges on the front Avon ZX7 tyres have wore down to where I need to replace them. I thought there was a issue with the tyre pressures or tracking and so got them checked out at two separate garages which both found there were no issues and put it down to the tyres. For the cost of them I’ve been very disappointed and won’t by Avon’s again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-21 09:02:14
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 91% (235-65-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
Very good tyre and very durable. I have still about 3 mm in front and 3,5 mm in the rear axle, but its became unsteerable in the vet.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-03 16:29:52
Writing about the Giti GitiSport S1 SUV given 77% (255-45-20-W)
Driving on mostly town for 200 average miles
Too soon for wear rate.
Low noise and more comfortable (softer sidewall) than previous 5 year old Goodyear's. But they're new and pliant.
Lack of sidewall protection for alloys is noticeable. No protective rib.
Stopped sharpish in the wet after 1 week, good grip, straight. They are A rated for wet braking.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-05 07:29:14
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 60% (235-55-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 easy going miles
Comfortable tyre with good handling characteristics in both wet and dry. Did not have the opportunity to drive in snow. Would not buy again however due to very poor wear (front tyres in particular) which barely lasted 10,000 miles despite a gentle driving style.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-08 19:37:42
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Sport 3 given 81% (235-60-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8600 spirited miles
A good overall tyre, for my test ugly design, still they have good confort and good overall grip. Also for me is not a sport tyre but a good overall one. Not the greatest feedback. Above average wet grip and excellent wear. If you want a good overall tyre for a SUV this one is for you, if you want a sporty tyre go look elsewhere.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-13 12:30:28
Writing about the Rotalla RU01 S Pace given 82% (255-50-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-09 05:47:48
Writing about the Accelera Iota ST68 given 97% (265-35-22-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 spirited miles
After a 1600km motorway trip these tires have fared very well so far. The terrain consisted of dry, wet and ice and at no time did I feel like I was losing control of the car. They are very quiet and comfortable and mine are 22s. Early days but so far so good.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-02 13:15:39
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 47% (235-55-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 easy going miles
Tyres came fitted on a new Audi Q5, having just had a previous Audi Q5 which done 30,000 miles on a set of tyres I was stunned when an inspection at only 12,000 miles declared the front passenger ILLEGAL and the front driver at 80% worn whilst the rears were both 4.5mm+

These tyres are not cheap, typically my wife drives the car and like previous reviews does not thrash the car. No way I will be replacing these and instead I'll be moving back to Michelin Latitude Sports which I had on the previous Audi Q5.

Can't really complain about the handling in wet or dry but there's a definite road noise from these tyres, but just cannot believe how badly they've worn out
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-18 23:13:41
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 90% (255-40-21-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 29000 average miles
These were fitted from new and have 29k on them. I have a new set ordered and am about to put them on again. I was particularly impressed with how well they handled but also how comfortable the vehicle was considering it’s weight on these tyres. Tyre feedback was excellent but the main factor for buying them again was the performance they gave over such a long life of 29k
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-04 15:46:59
Writing about the Accelera Iota ST68 given 81% (255-45-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Accelera Iota R20 Iota-1 & Iota- st68
The Iota have 2 different types of tread the Iota-1 and the Iota- st68. http://www.acceleratireusa.com/ made by EPtyres in Indonesia (not china)
I bought a Q5 sline+ with the chunker Iota-1 on it and was surprised at how good & quiet they were for a non premium tyre. No issues with steering, ride and grip. Also they looked good on the car. Only slight negative was fuel economy witch you’d expect with the chunky tread. Unfortunately this vehicle was written off after a stolen car rammed into the side of it at 65mph. I went and brought another Q5 sline+ as I consider this car saved mine & my family’s life.
This one had Michelin lattitudes on it 4-5mm tread. I immediately felt the difference the car felt more prone to movement and absolutely hated white lines causing the car to skate. Ride was pretty good and I know the grip was there but I just wasn’t as confident driving on these tyres. I didn’t like them. I have recently changed the tyres to Iota- st68. Thought id give them ago as I couldn’t easily find the Iota-1. They also have a more normal summer tread for fuel eco. And are amazing cheap compared to the £250 premium per corner.
The Iota- st68 have massively improved the driving on normal roads, no skating on white lines or veering, grip seems good. No real under/over steer. However this is at ride cost. I found this really not much of an issue on normal roads & quite like the feel of the road, but on the motorway there is more shaking on bad road surfaces. The Iota- st68 are defiantly much stiffer on the side wall, maybe this may soften slightly in time to give a better motorway ride. Indecently the rubber on the tyres feels fairly soft & they had a 68db sticker on them and they are quiet to go with that, another reason for buying. Both Iota treads have all season written on them however, looking at the tread pattern I doubt the st68 actually are. The Iota-1 may offer more winter traction. I drove these on wet grass a few times no issues. The ST-68 Braking doesn’t seem as good as the Michelins but maybe that’s expected also im possibly driving faster with more confidence now. There’s also the new tyre breaking in factor where you need to get rid of the mould lubricant. Both my sline Q5 had standard suspension (Code 1BA) rather than sports (1BE) I would suggest the Iota- st68 are too stiff for sports suspension considering I have standard and if you do a lot of motorway driving I would necessarily recommend them at the moment however fuel eco is very good.
All in all for the price the Iota is very good in either pattern depending on requirements. If you want premium then I wouldn’t recommend the old Michelins, but they have just brought out the Lats 3 which don’t have a smooth centre tread so may overcome the issues of its predecessor. I hear Bridgestone’s are too hard, but good year eff-grip are somewhere in the middle so these maybe the best all-round suited Q5 tyre and the’re OEM as well. Hope this has been some help but realise it may be no help at all!!
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-28 15:02:08
Writing about the Accelera Iota given 81% (255-45-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Accelera Iota R20 Iota-1 & Iota- st68
The Iota have 2 different types of tread the Iota-1 and the Iota- st68. http://www.acceleratireusa.com/ made by EPtyres in Indonesia (not china)
I bought a Q5 sline+ with the chunker Iota-1 on it and was surprised at how good & quiet they were for a non premium tyre. No issues with steering, ride and grip. Also they looked good on the car. Only slight negative was fuel economy witch you’d expect with the chunky tread. Unfortunately this vehicle was written off after a stolen car rammed into the side of it at 65mph. I went and brought another Q5 sline+ as I consider this car saved mine & my family’s life.
This one had Michelin lattitudes on it 4-5mm tread. I immediately felt the difference the car felt more prone to movement and absolutely hated white lines causing the car to skate. Ride was pretty good and I know the grip was there but I just wasn’t as confident driving on these tyres. I didn’t like them. I have recently changed the tyres to Iota- st68. Thought id give them ago as I couldn’t easily find the Iota-1. They also have a more normal summer tread for fuel eco. And are amazing cheap compared to the £250 premium per corner.
The Iota- st68 have massively improved the driving on normal roads, no skating on white lines or veering, grip seems good. No real under/over steer. However this is at ride cost. I found this really not much of an issue on normal roads & quite like the feel of the road, but on the motorway there is more shaking on bad road surfaces. The Iota- st68 are defiantly much stiffer on the side wall, maybe this may soften slightly in time to give a better motorway ride. Indecently the rubber on the tyres feels fairly soft & they had a 68db sticker on them and they are quiet to go with that, another reason for buying. Both Iota treads have all season written on them however, looking at the tread pattern I doubt the st68 actually are. The Iota-1 may offer more winter traction. I drove these on wet grass a few times no issues. The ST-68 Braking doesn’t seem as good as the Michelins but maybe that’s expected also im possibly driving faster with more confidence now. There’s also the new tyre breaking in factor where you need to get rid of the mould lubricant. Both my sline Q5 had standard suspension (Code 1BA) rather than sports (1BE) I would suggest the Iota- st68 are too stiff for sports suspension considering I have standard and if you do a lot of motorway driving I would necessarily recommend them at the moment however fuel eco is very good.
All in all for the price the Iota is very good in either pattern depending on requirements. If you want premium then I wouldn’t recommend the old Michelins, but they have just brought out the Lats 3 which don’t have a smooth centre tread so may overcome the issues of its predecessor. I hear Bridgestone’s are too hard, but good year eff-grip are somewhere in the middle so these maybe the best all-round suited Q5 tyre and the’re OEM as well. Hope this has been some help but realise it may be no help at all!!
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-25 19:13:16
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre