Cooper WeatherMaster WSC

The Cooper WeatherMaster WSC is a High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 76%
Wear 93%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 100%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 83%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 46,200 miles driven.

The WeatherMaster WSC is ranked 3rd of 6 Winter High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 Autocenter Studded Winter Tyre Test - 6th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet grip and handling
  • Negative - Poor ice grip and handling
View Full Test >>

2017 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2017 Autocenter Studded Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Cooper WeatherMaster WSC

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Cooper WeatherMaster WSC. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/65 R15 £59.50 - £80.70 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/65 R17 £130.69 - £156.60 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/70 R16 £130.69 - £136.60 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/55 R18 £163.20 - £166.50 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    265/65 R17 £142.90 - £145.70 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Cooper WeatherMaster WSC Reviews

    Given 84% while driving a Vauxhall 1.7 TD estate (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
    I bought these to rotate with some summer ones. Left them on as I've had health issuesand unable to change. they have performed just as good in the summer as winter! In winter they are fantastic.
    Helpful 84 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2016
    Given 100% while driving a BMW X3 (235/50 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    The average mileage for this car is around 6,000 per year and I made the decision to fit WINTER tyres for use all year round. The car is used for short runs into town and longer runs in the countryside.

    Fitted as replacements for perished Pirelli Scorpion Verde. These tyres are very chunky looking with holes for spikes - they suit the look of the X3 perfectly. I have used Avon tyres for many years and found them to be at least as good as OEM fitments from Dunlop, Michelin, Pirelli etc and superior to Continental. When looking for a set for the BMW it was clear that the parent company of Avon - Cooper - made very good tyres that are suitable for SUV usage. They do not have a huge marketing presence in the UK but I did a little research and discovered that David Coulthard was one of their development drivers. I thought that I would try a set based on my experience with Avon. The tyres cost £260 for a complete set (!) plus fitting. I know this was a very good price and I was obviously very lucky to find them at the time I needed a new set.
    In usage they are no noisier than the Pirelli and when the car only achieves 17-20mpg you won't notice much difference in fuel consumption anyway...but in terms of wet grip and snow...WOW!

    Effortless in cold weather - why does the UK not make it a legal requirement to use WINTER tyres? So much of the seasonal road problems would be alleviated instantly - it is unbelievable that the average UK road user has no idea of the concept of Winter tyres (and consequently - no idea of the benefits and safety gains that are made by using them).
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2018
    Given 83% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2 (255/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
    If I hadn't've had these on the car in the recent snowstorm, I may not have made it home. Suffice to say i am impressed.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2018
    Have you driven on the Cooper WeatherMaster WSC tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Cooper WeatherMaster WSC? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Cooper WeatherMaster WSC >

    Latest Cooper WeatherMaster WSC Reviews

    Given 82% while driving a Audi Q5 (235/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    These have been a great tyre on the Q5, when pushed in the dry warmer months, which in the NE of Scotland is rare, they start to struggle. But in snow ice and wet they have been excellent and the wear on them has been great, have ran them year round and they are holding up really well and not showing much sign of wear. Wouldn't hesitate to get them again if they were available in the size needed.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2022
    Given 77% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
    I carefully chose the tyres I fit on my car. Particularly, to me they have to be suitable for normal road driving and for some offroad. The car is 4x4 soft-roader but I often push her to the limits driving off the road. On road I like to drive fast but with these tyres I didn't want to push it so much to test their limits and to speed the treadwear. On my opinion these tyres are as good as any true winter tyres. Snow and ice performance is at high level. Wet performance too. And here I have to mention that when I drove trough several flooded patches of the road with quite high speed the aquaplaning didn't easily occur with these tyres – contrary to what could be expected of winter tyres. Another good characteristic is that the offroad performance on mud and other difficult slippery terrain is as good as one can ask for. So, to me, they are the best of both worlds – winter road and offroad tyres for the type of car I own.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2022
    Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
    Given 87% while driving a Vauxhall Mokka (245/55 R18) on for 7,000 average miles
    Excellent tyre,performs well in all conditions. Only problem is on the painted lines, really doesn't like them.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2022
    Given 89% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 easy going miles
    Replaced old road tyres on my disco 2. Thought I would take a chance with these and I am impressed. Road handling is very good and in the wet I was pleasantly surprised as my old girl is approaching 2 1/4 tons and comes out of the corners well. Not tried on snow but good in the mud. Wear is only v light as only done 3000 miles.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2020
    Given 90% while driving a Kia Motors Sorento EX 2.5 (245/70 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
    Very good performance on wet and dry. Although for rain Cooper Zeon 4XS Sport is unbeatable. I have them for summer season and I use them till temperature is above 5°C. Weathermaster is excellent on snow and ice. One of the best tyres for snow that I tried. Last winter I used them on temperature -15°C and they performed great. Because of that there is small downside on fuel usage and noise. They are little bit louder than my old tyers, but my opinion is that it shouldn't deal breaker for decision to buy these tyres. Regarding wear, it's early to say because I did around 4000 miles.
    Overall very good tyre, specially for snow conditions.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2019
    Given 88% while driving a Suzuki grand vitara (225/65 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
    Fitted to a Suzuki grand vitara, ran these tyres since November last year. Excellent in the wet and as good as any in the dry. Only complaint is they get noiser as it gets warmer, but that's no distraction as there winter tyres
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2019
    Given 96% while driving a Ford Ranger (265/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
    No contest fitting winter tyres like these - fantastic snow/slush/mud performance - did not even need 4 wheel drive in the recent snow storms unless exceptionally steep snowy slope or deep rutted mud. Best money ever spent on the car - felt very safe, turned and stopped on snow in completely predictable fashion. Why do all these rear wheel drive automatic car drivers think they can get away with it? Get some winter tyres!!! These are not expensive, wearing well, and worth every penny.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2018
    Given 40% while driving a Skoda Octavia (195/65 R15 T) on mostly town for 200 average miles
    I just fitted these... I still can not comment on dry and wet performance, but comparing to previously fitted Michelin A4, I have to say braking distances are a bit longer, not much, but you definitely notice it. Snow performance is great, as you expect from full winter tire :))
    I was unpleasantly surprised with tire comfort. Noise is OK, but suspension fill hard. You feel every bump on a road, these do not absorbs anything. Having so much tread and soft compound, I expected to be more comfortable than my summer tires. But I was wrong...
    If you live in area without lot of snow and low temperatures this tires are not for you. You would be better with regular winter tires. I still have to see snow and ice performance on very low temperatures (-10C and lower) to be more objective and give better feedback.
    For now, I can only score comfort.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2017