SUV and 4x4 Winter High Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed suv and 4x4 winter high performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Avon Ranger Ice (3) 100% 100% 97% 97% 100% 87%
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (5) 94% 96% 98% 98% 96% 92%
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC (8) 86% 89% 84% 87% 92% 80%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM80 (3) 63% 70% 77% 70% 90% 80%
Kumho Izen RV KC15 (4) 83% 75% 63% 58% 65% 73%

SUV and 4x4 Winter High Performance Tyres with no reviews

Cooper Discoverer MS Sport, Landsail Winter Star, Michelin Latitude Alpin HP, Semperit Speed Grip 3 SUV, Syron Everest SUV, Westlake SW658, Zeetex WH1000 SUV

SUV and 4x4 Winter High Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme rated 78% while driving a Mercedes Benz GL320 CDI
Driving on a combination of roads for 31000 average miles
The tyres are very good throughout winter working well in all weather conditions. They can seem a bit vague on a dry road however makeup for this with good wet, snow and ice grip. The tyres also work well doing some minor off-roading. Last for a long time I do a lot of driving and the tyres wear very slowly. Have been using this model of tyre since I bought my car in 2008 during the winter.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-20 15:45:23
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC rated 89% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 easy going miles
Replaced old road tyres on my disco 2. Thought I would take a chance with these and I am impressed. Road handling is very good and in the wet I was pleasantly surprised as my old girl is approaching 2 1/4 tons and comes out of the corners well. Not tried on snow but good in the mud. Wear is only v light as only done 3000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 11:32:18
Continental 4x4 WinterContact rated 94% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Best winter tires I have had on an SUV. Handle all winter conditions, especially harsh ones, with ease. Very confidence inspiring in slush.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-03 15:26:58
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC rated 90% while driving a Kia Motors Sorento EX 2.5
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Very good performance on wet and dry. Although for rain Cooper Zeon 4XS Sport is unbeatable. I have them for summer season and I use them till temperature is above 5°C. Weathermaster is excellent on snow and ice. One of the best tyres for snow that I tried. Last winter I used them on temperature -15°C and they performed great. Because of that there is small downside on fuel usage and noise. They are little bit louder than my old tyers, but my opinion is that it shouldn't deal breaker for decision to buy these tyres. Regarding wear, it's early to say because I did around 4000 miles.
Overall very good tyre, specially for snow conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-25 18:13:51
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC rated 88% while driving a Suzuki grand vitara
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 miles
Fitted to a Suzuki grand vitara, ran these tyres since November last year. Excellent in the wet and as good as any in the dry. Only complaint is they get noiser as it gets warmer, but that's no distraction as there winter tyres
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-08 21:09:39
Cooper Discoverer MS Sport rated 81% while driving a Toyota Hilux Surf (1KZ TE)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
Had these on my Surf a while now, but can't fault the tyre. Good grip in dry, wet, snow, off road.
Never got stuck whilst towing caravan across muddy or wet fields. Did a day green laning through forest, water, rocks etc and not once lost traction and needed rescuing by my colleagues who were running aggressive off road tyres.
Very little road noise from them and wear is above average. Would certainly buy for my other vehicle but not available in the size I want now.
Overall a very capable tyre for the application.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-12 14:04:07
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC rated 100% while driving a BMW X3
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
The average mileage for this car is around 6,000 per year and I made the decision to fit WINTER tyres for use all year round. The car is used for short runs into town and longer runs in the countryside.

Fitted as replacements for perished Pirelli Scorpion Verde. These tyres are very chunky looking with holes for spikes - they suit the look of the X3 perfectly. I have used Avon tyres for many years and found them to be at least as good as OEM fitments from Dunlop, Michelin, Pirelli etc and superior to Continental. When looking for a set for the BMW it was clear that the parent company of Avon - Cooper - made very good tyres that are suitable for SUV usage. They do not have a huge marketing presence in the UK but I did a little research and discovered that David Coulthard was one of their development drivers. I thought that I would try a set based on my experience with Avon. The tyres cost £260 for a complete set (!) plus fitting. I know this was a very good price and I was obviously very lucky to find them at the time I needed a new set.
In usage they are no noisier than the Pirelli and when the car only achieves 17-20mpg you won't notice much difference in fuel consumption anyway...but in terms of wet grip and snow...WOW!

Effortless in cold weather - why does the UK not make it a legal requirement to use WINTER tyres? So much of the seasonal road problems would be alleviated instantly - it is unbelievable that the average UK road user has no idea of the concept of Winter tyres (and consequently - no idea of the benefits and safety gains that are made by using them).
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-28 13:03:32
Continental 4x4 WinterContact rated 100% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Used on my Volvo XC60 D5 AWD after reading lots of reviews. In the UK we had heavy snowfall this year and I was one of the few unaffected. At times I even got looks of envy from struggling drivers sliding around in lane 1 while I made my own tracks through the fresh snow in lane 2.

These cut through snow without any hassle at all, on country lanes which were ungritted and across inclines/declines they didn’t flinch. Better than sottozero’s which were my favourite winter rubber, until now that is. Even took for some light off-road action across a soggy field and they coped well.

I do plenty of mileage around 25-30k per annum. These tyres are also reassuring on both dry and wet surfaces in low temperature. There have been a few odd warm days around 12 degrees but the tyres don’t fell overly soft or sloppy when the temperature climbs (there have been 15 degree swings in temperature this year!). However it is time to put summers back on but can’t wait to get these out the garage again in winter.

The wear has been great too still plenty left for next year and my mpg was slightly better than the summer tyres. Also quieter. It’s a glowing review from me for these tyres, exceptional.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-24 07:08:49
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme rated 93% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 3
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 average miles
Used all the time since December 2009. first set lasted 45000 miles+, next set lasted 68000 miles, 2 replaced after another 52000. Just about to put two more on - odometer now reads 256746.
As another said when less than 4mm - not good on clay based mud.
excellent in this 17/18 winter.
Launching heavy boat on Cornish granite beach - you could make a plaster cast from the tread pattern - sharp - no sign of any slippage.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-12 22:17:38
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC rated 96% while driving a Ford Ranger
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
No contest fitting winter tyres like these - fantastic snow/slush/mud performance - did not even need 4 wheel drive in the recent snow storms unless exceptionally steep snowy slope or deep rutted mud. Best money ever spent on the car - felt very safe, turned and stopped on snow in completely predictable fashion. Why do all these rear wheel drive automatic car drivers think they can get away with it? Get some winter tyres!!! These are not expensive, wearing well, and worth every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-03 17:15:30
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC rated 83% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
If I hadn't've had these on the car in the recent snowstorm, I may not have made it home. Suffice to say i am impressed.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-02 14:11:52
Continental 4x4 WinterContact rated 100% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Used on my XC60 D5 In snow and ice, where other people have been crawling along or stranded, I’ve had no such issues. The traction in fresh snow is admirable and in ice is reassuring.

My wife and kids use this car, I have no hesitation with them going out in the snow when fitted with these. My current tyre of choice.

Mixture of A roads, B roads and motorway driving as well as still being fine on the mild days, not sloppy and actually increased mpg!
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-12 07:08:08
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre