SUV and 4x4 Winter Premium Touring Tyres

Below are all the reviewed suv and 4x4 winter premium touring tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian WR SUV 4 (5) 92% 96% 95% 93% 85% 88%
Goodyear UltraGrip plus SUV (4) 90% 98% 85% 90% 95% 97%
General Snow Grabber Plus (3) 90% 87% 80% 87% 95% 77%
Michelin Latitude Alpin (4) 90% 85% 80% 83% 93% 83%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 SUV (8) 87% 93% 76% 60% 90% 84%
Pirelli Scorpion Winter (12) 83% 81% 78% 78% 74% 83%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 SUV (5) 72% 68% 70% 70% 76% 78%

SUV and 4x4 Winter Premium Touring Tyres with no reviews

Bridgestone Blizzak LM80 EVO, Cooper Discoverer Snow Claw, Cooper Discoverer Winter, Dunlop Grandtrek SJ6, Dunlop Grandtrek Winter M3, Dunlop Grandtrek WT M3, Falken Eurowinter HS01 SUV, Firestone Destination Winter SUV, General Grabber Arctic, General Grabber AS 365, Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus SUV, Goodyear WinterCommand, Kumho WinterCraft WS51 SUV, Maxxis Premitra Snow WP6 SUV, Michelin X Ice North 4 SUV, Michelin X Ice Snow SUV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10 SUV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 7 SUV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 SUV , Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 SUV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta R5 SUV, Nokian Nordman 7 SUV, Nokian Nordman 8 SUV, Nokian Snowproof 2 SUV, Pirelli Scorpion Winter 2, Uniroyal MS PLUS 77 SUV, Yokohama Geolandar IT G072

SUV and 4x4 Winter Premium Touring Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10 SUV rated 80% while driving a Mercury Grand marquis
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Whily noisy because of the studs, it's a low pitch that you can easily tune out. I found the tires to be, for an extreme snow tire, excellent in the dry, and good in the wet. I also found that I had good control in slush. In normal turning, the tire can feel a bit vague due to sidewall flex, however under heavier corners I can feel the tire "sit" over the sidewall, and it becomes very stout. In a RWD car (with an aftermarket LSD), I never got stuck this winter, even living on a dirt road with an uphill driveway. I've driven about 3,000 miles on the tires in a quite warm winter (mostly between 20 and 40 degrees fahrenheit), and they look just about new as of now. I've hit some notable potholes and the tires did not pop or bubble, which pleased me. Despite being a sedan, I figured the SUV tire was a good fit due to the body roll, and weight capacity, and this has proven true. Overall, an extremely safe, durable tire, with impressive snow and ice traction. I will be purchasing these again, or their successors in a few years time.
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-25 15:26:48
Nokian Snowproof 2 SUV rated 94% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 average miles
Driving these tyres on my Volvo XC60 D5 AWD in Switzerland since October 2023 for 13000 km.
What amazed me with those tyres is the grip and security they give during heavy raining or slush. They provided excellent control at high speed during a heavy snow storm in Germany in December while the highway was not properly cleaned. And they are always secure through water puddles on the highway or when driving through heavy rain.
One drawback is the increased fuel consumption (~1 liter/100 km) while driving on rain.
There is noticeable tread wear on the front axle but I did not measure the remaining tread depth, yet.
One characteristic is the noticeable noise and steering wheel vibration during cornering at low speeds (10-20 km/h).
The highway driving noise is particularly high pitched, but not disturbing.
I am satisfied with these tyres and would recommend them for anyone driving through snow, slush or rain.
Dry braking seems a bit worse than with the summer Continental Premium Contact 6 tyres, but was never a practical issue.
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-07 12:49:21
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10 SUV rated 77% while driving a Volkswagen Caravelle
Driving on mostly country roads for 12400 average miles
I have the hakkapelitta 10 on my 2014 VW Caravelle (only front wheel drive) as a dedicatet winter tyre. Here in northern Norway the roads are covered with hard packed snow and ice for almost 5 months of the year. Occasionally we get a change in the weather pattern and it dumps a lot of rain on the icy roads.

After two winters i can now say that the hakkapelitta 10 is the best option for those extrem conditions. They grip well on the slippery surfaces in high speeds and loose traction in a slow and controlled manner. Before, i lived in the southern parts of Norway, where i had the hakkapelitta R8, which is a non studded winter tyre. It felt like that the non studded winter tyre was better in digging itself throug deep snow and it was quieter when cornering, but that where the only advantages of the non studded winter tyre to the hakkapelitta 10.

It is hard to judge how the treadwear is after now 20.000km of winter driving. The tyres get only driven on mostly hard packed snowy and icy country roads and in the town. There is not that much driving on bare asphalt in the winter months, so the rubber of the tyres almost doesn`t wear at all. Like 1mm after two winters. And the studs are still all there, still looking like new. Here in the nordics we usually buy new winter tyres when the old ones get so old that the rubber hardens. The last studded winter tyres i had to change had still 6mm of depth in the profile and all the studs where still there, but they were 8 years old which hade made the rubber hard.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-21 20:51:04
Nokian Snowproof 2 SUV rated 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4 matic
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Nokian excellent on snow, also excellent on wet surfaces, but what was surprising was in the dry. The Kevlar reinforced sidewall significantly reduces body roll and steering angle. The tire is direct and precise, at high performance summer levels, making the handling fantastic. This driving pleasure has not been declared by the tests carried out so far, not even the aramid reinforced sidewall which reduces the risk of punctures and dents or bubbles, very important for an off-road vehicle. Unthinkable for an SUV winter tire until recently. I had the WR SUV3, which lasted 10 years, excellent on snow, but here the step forward is very big. Well done.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-21 08:42:43
Pirelli Scorpion Winter rated 84% while driving a Porsche
Driving on mostly motorways for 4400 average miles
Fitted these by the end of February 2023, and then again in November 2023. Car has staggered set-up with 285/40 R20 rears, 245/45 R20 fronts.

Although a fairly old design which has now been replaced by Scorpion Winter 2, I must say I have really enjoyd them so far. Have about 7000 km on them now, in various conditions. So far they have not let me down, and I would say that dry handling as well as wet performance have been very good. They are quiet and provides good feedback when pushed to the envelope of their grip. Performance on ice is where they struggle the most, so this is something to take into consideration if you drive in harsh conditions. Most of my driving is on wet/salted highways (legal limit 110 km/h), and this is were I need performance the most. But even going into the mountains, on snow and in cold temperatures (-15 C) they deliver as expected.

All in all, a well balanced performance winter tyre suitable for heavy cars.
tyre reviewed on 2023-12-20 10:33:41
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 SUV rated 97% while driving a Kia Motors
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Excellent all around winter tire, i never buy anything else but Nokian
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-15 02:15:50
Pirelli Scorpion Winter rated 89% while driving a Volvo XC60
Driving on mostly town for 10000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-12 13:03:26
Pirelli Scorpion Winter rated 67% while driving a Audi Q8
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
The tire is comfortable to drive and I was satisfied until the rear tire on my Audi Q8 exploded at 160 km/h. The tire completely disintegrated after only 30,000 and 3 years of use, without damage.
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-16 22:47:31
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 SUV rated 83% while driving a Skoda
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
These Studded winter tyres from finish Nokia were rather quiet and I used them for about 4 vinters in both snowy and icy conditions with no bad experience. The studs had completely worn out at the end of the tire's life, but the tread were still legal.
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-12 12:04:19
Nokian Nordman 7 SUV rated 78% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
These studded winter tires are a must in areas where you have ice, compact snow and ice or other such conditions. Complete confidence while driving. Studless tires are no comparison on wet ice types of roadway like when the sun comes out. All northern states should allow these modern studded tires from Finland. They are a bit worse on dry pavement and wet bare pavement. One gets used to taking it easy and not slamming brakes on. They are quite and are tuned to be quieter than older style damaging stud systems.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-05 01:05:36
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 SUV rated 90% while driving a Subaru Outback
Driving on mostly country roads for 50 spirited miles
Northern Ontario, Canada 2015 Subaru Outback Good winter tires. No issues. Had 2 sets. Lasted 4 seasons each, about 10,000km in winter per year. Daily driver. Rough roads, snow, ice. No issues. Replaced with new set of Nokian R5 this year.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-29 18:13:04
Pirelli Scorpion Winter rated 80% while driving a Skoda
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Good handling, great wet & dry grip. Drove through pouring rain at high speeds on German autobahn upwards of 200, gripped very well, gave a lot of confidence. Have used it on track as well and they performed very well. Very comfortable tyres cruising on motorways. Down to 5mm after 3 seasons, probably due to warmer temperatures the last winters. Very impressed with them and would want to buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-29 16:39:34
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre