SUV and 4x4 Winter Premium Touring Tyres

Below are all the reviewed suv and 4x4 winter premium touring tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian WR SUV 4 (5) 92% 96% 95% 93% 85% 88%
Goodyear UltraGrip plus SUV (4) 90% 98% 85% 90% 95% 97%
Michelin Latitude Alpin (4) 90% 85% 80% 83% 93% 83%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 SUV (8) 87% 93% 76% 60% 90% 84%
Pirelli Scorpion Winter (8) 81% 80% 76% 75% 76% 80%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 SUV (3) 60% 53% 60% 60% 73% 63%

SUV and 4x4 Winter Premium Touring Tyres with no reviews

Bridgestone Blizzak LM80 EVO, Cooper Discoverer Snow Claw, Cooper Discoverer Winter, Dunlop Grandtrek SJ6, Dunlop Grandtrek Winter M3, Dunlop Grandtrek WT M3, Falken Eurowinter HS01 SUV, Firestone Destination Winter SUV, General Grabber Arctic, General Grabber AS 365, General Snow Grabber Plus, Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus SUV, Goodyear WinterCommand, Michelin X Ice Snow SUV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10 SUV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 7 SUV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 SUV , Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 SUV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta R5 SUV, Nokian Nordman 7 SUV, Nokian Nordman 8 SUV, Pirelli Scorpion Winter 2, Uniroyal MS PLUS 77 SUV, Yokohama Geolandar IT G072

SUV and 4x4 Winter Premium Touring Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 SUV rated 72% while driving a Mercedes Benz EQC
Driving on a combination of roads for 9300 average miles
Fitted in a staggered setup, tyres are good when there’s snow and ice but perform average in slush/wet conditions. Don’t get me wrong, you won’t drive off the road when there’s rain, you just have to adjust your speed a bit more. I had the LM005 on my bmw and they are superior on wet tarmac compared. Tyres are a bit soft in corners and there is a weird resonance noise when driving at 55-65kmph in our car. Have had these for 2 winters and there’s almost no wear (car has driven about 60% on these tyres). Nokian has never let me down, but they are not necessary the right tire for my use (as they usually come fitted by default when you buy a new car here and there’s only 2-3 weeks of snow on the road, then it’s just wet and salty).
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-02 15:07:53
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 SUV rated 97% while driving a Mazda cx5
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
Really disappointed to see these tires are no longer available. They are great tires and have purchased several sets for multiple vehicles. It doesn't look like the replacement models are getting as good of reviews. Might be time to look for a different brand.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-08 15:02:36
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 SUV rated 78% while driving a Toyota 2014 Highlander
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I have been using this set of tires for 4 winters and they grip very well in the snow, the comfort is also good, wear out very low. My car is a HIGHLANDER 3.5 AWD, lock the center diff, I can start up with more than 80% throttle in the snow, without skid, and brake confidently, but for snowless surfaces, this is not a good model. If the temperature rises above 7°C and you haven't switch back to all-season tires, the R2 will wear out faster than you thought, and the noise is also noticeable. I think it's only suitable for users in areas with heavy snow. Snow-covered road conditions, the R2 makes your 4WD unstopable. If you live in a temperate region and have limited average annual snowfall, don't waste this great set of snow tires, you should save a lot of money by buying a set of all-season tires.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-27 04:54:51
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 SUV rated 93% while driving a Honda 2009 CRV
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
I have these tires on my 2nd generation Honda CRV. I live in British Columbia, Canada where we have 5 to 6 months of Winter with snow and ice and temperatures of down to -50 C plus windchill. These were my first Nokian tires but I have been so pleased with their performance I now have three different sets for two vehicles. These tires work with the AWD of the CRV to deliver a feeling of real security on bad winter roads. Tire wear has been minimal, I expect to get at least 10 years use out of mine because I drive less than average each year and change over to all season Nokian’s in the Spring.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-16 06:56:30
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 SUV rated 93% while driving a Honda 2009 CRV
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
I have these tires on my 2nd generation Honda CRV. I live in British Columbia, Canada where we have 5 to 6 months of Winter with snow and ice and temperatures of down to -50 C plus windchill. These were my first Nokian tires but I have been so pleased with their performance I now have three different sets for two vehicles. These tires work with the AWD of the CRV to deliver a feeling of real security on bad winter roads. Tire wear has been minimal, I expect to get at least 10 years use out of mine because I drive less than average each year and change over to all season Nokian’s in the Spring.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-14 23:27:08
Michelin X Ice Snow SUV rated 83% while driving a Audi E Tron 55 Quattro
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Outstanding winter tire. Ride comfort, noise and handling is superior to the OEM summer tires (Goodyear Eagle Sport All-Season) but obviously unsuitable for year-round use as they get too soft in warm temperatures. Tread noise is completely absent which is remarkable for a winter tire and treadwear is excellent so far. No meaningful impact on EV range.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-15 06:15:56
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 SUV rated 59% while driving a Citroën C5 Aircross 1.5 BlueHDI 130
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-04 20:52:43
General Grabber Arctic rated NAN% while driving a Chevrolet silverado 1500
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
I have these on my 2012 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 Crew Cab 4wd. I'm know a lot of people think "why snow tires on a 4wd?" Because 5,600 lbs! That's why! I got them for stability and braking control. Sure, getting up to speed is easy enough but I'd rather have the ability to stay on the road and stop. These tires do a remarkable job. They are a little noisy on slightly wet and dry pavement but not unbearable. For the price they're hard to beat (~$150 ea at the time of this review, 11/2021). I've had them for exactly one year (one season) and I was literally anxious to have them reinstalled before the first snowfall. They added so much more stability to my truck, even with the StabiliTrak garbage GM put on the truck. I'd highly recommend these as a great budget winter/snow tire!
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-11 14:18:31
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 SUV rated 72% while driving a Volvo XC60
Driving on mostly town for 8000 easy going miles
Seems to have better dry and wet grip in colder temperatures, is a good allround tire for scandinavian conditions. Feels a bit soft and unprecice compared to continental, but not too much in it. Comfertable and seems to wear ok.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-09 21:31:26
Nokian WR SUV 4 rated 86% while driving a Toyota RAV4
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
I've been using these tires for several years on my winter wheels. Since I only put them on during the snow season, I can't comment precisely on longevity, but overall they show very little wear. Snow grip is excellent, and ice grip seems good too. Fuel consumption is about 4% higher than on summer tires. Ride quality is excellent, even on dry asphalt. Handling is good and very predictable, including at highway speeds. On dry pavement, they are a bit noisier than summer tires and don't have the same grip, but that is to be expected due to the softer rubber. I would definitely recommend these winter tires.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-12 16:45:54
Michelin Latitude Alpin rated 84% while driving a
Driving on for 0 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-26 19:59:58
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 SUV rated 89% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Aero 2.8T V6
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-07 07:24:08
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre