Pirelli Scorpion Winter

The Pirelli Scorpion Winter is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 95,530 miles driven, and 9 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 78%
Wear 74%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 77%
Snow Grip 79%
Ice Grip 75%

First On MarketDecember 2011
Wheel Size16 - 22"
Width215 - 325mm
Profile30 - 70
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - D
Noise (dB)67 - 75
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Scorpion Winter is ranked 6th of 7 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Pirelli Scorpion Winter 2.

Tests Included

9

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

8th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 AZ SUV Winter Tyre Test
8th of 10 tyres
  • The Pirelli Scorpion Winter is very good in the dry but weaker in the wet and snow, with high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
2018 Auto Bild Winter SUV / 4x4 Tyre Test
2nd of 11 tyres
  • Balanced performance, dynamic handling, excellent steering, low rolling resistance.
  • High price.
View Full Test >>
2018 AZ SUV Winter Tyre Test
5th of 9 tyres
  • Good in the dry and on snow. Slight weakness in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
215/70R16 104 H XLCC71
215/70R16 104 H XLCC71
17 inch
265/65R17 112 HCC72
235/65R17 108 H XLCB72
225/60R17 103 V XLCC72
235/65R17 104 HDB71
235/65R17 108 H XLCC72
235/65R17 104 HCC72
18 inch
235/60R18 107 H XLCB71
235/60R18 103 HCC72
235/60R18 107 V XLCB72
235/60R18 103 VDB70
235/60R18 103 HDC71
235/60R18 103 VCC72
235/60R18 103 HCB69
20 inch
255/45R20 105 V XLCB71
255/45R20 105 V XLCB72
255/45R20 101 WCB72
255/45R20 105 V XLCB71
275/55R20 117 V XLBA73
255/45R20 105 V XLCB72
255/45R20 101 HDB72
255/45R20 101 VCB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Pirelli Scorpion Winter >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Pirelli Scorpion Winter. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
235/55 R18 £187.78 - £187.78 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/40 R20 £312.99 - £347.41 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 31 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Pirelli Scorpion Winter Reviews

Given 23% while driving a Renault 12 (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
Simply DANGEROUS tyres!! Worst tire I ever had. can't get grip on even dry roads.. on wet roads they are dangerous!! Do not EVER buy these!

throwing mine away after using them for 2 months. I value the life of my family higher than the price of a new set of tires!
Helpful 300 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2017
Given 67% while driving a Audi Q8 (285/45 R21) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
The tire is comfortable to drive and I was satisfied until the rear tire on my Audi Q8 exploded at 160 km/h. The tire completely disintegrated after only 30,000 and 3 years of use, without damage.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2023
Given 89% while driving a Toyota (265/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 11,000 easy going miles
Fantastic snow and ice grip. Also, aqua planning is wonderful. Saved my life. Only con is mud performance.
Helpful 71 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2019
Have you driven on the Pirelli Scorpion Winter tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli Scorpion Winter? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli Scorpion Winter >

Latest Pirelli Scorpion Winter Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Porsche (245/45 R20) on mostly motorways for 4,400 average miles
Fitted these by the end of February 2023, and then again in November 2023. Car has staggered set-up with 285/40 R20 rears, 245/45 R20 fronts.

Although a fairly old design which has now been replaced by Scorpion Winter 2, I must say I have really enjoyd them so far. Have about 7000 km on them now, in various conditions. So far they have not let me down, and I would say that dry handling as well as wet performance have been very good. They are quiet and provides good feedback when pushed to the envelope of their grip. Performance on ice is where they struggle the most, so this is something to take into consideration if you drive in harsh conditions. Most of my driving is on wet/salted highways (legal limit 110 km/h), and this is were I need performance the most. But even going into the mountains, on snow and in cold temperatures (-15 C) they deliver as expected.

All in all, a well balanced performance winter tyre suitable for heavy cars.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Skoda (235/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Good handling, great wet & dry grip. Drove through pouring rain at high speeds on German autobahn upwards of 200, gripped very well, gave a lot of confidence. Have used it on track as well and they performed very well. Very comfortable tyres cruising on motorways. Down to 5mm after 3 seasons, probably due to warmer temperatures the last winters. Very impressed with them and would want to buy again.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 79% while driving a Opel Antara 2.2 4x4 184HP (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
How I have chose this tire?! Well, I do like run-flat tires and, for the original 18" rims of my car, it was a good choice. The pandemic has coming and summer time as well and guess what?! Using first time in 2018's winter and again in 2019's winter I do not changed my Pirelli Scorpion Winter run-flat in 2020's summer. Their behaviour it was just awesome except the fuel consumption: good grip on wet, good grip on grass, good grip on dust, good grip on highway, in the real circumstance of a little aggressive driving style which I have. Now, in Transilvania winter has coming and the first snow as well. I already was on mountain area for outdoor activities and, on snow and snow & mud the grip it was good as usual. In conclusion, on my car, with 4x4 system and almost 1.9 tones weight, the Pirelli Scorpion Winter run-flat gave me a good and complete predictable behaviour of my running car, on all road circumstances.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2020
Given 81% while driving a Skoda Kodiaq 2.0TDi (235/55 R18 H) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Bought them as a winter tyre set for a brand new Kodiaq RS. Good handling, great wet & dry grip. However, had one instance in snowy slush at very low speed, it lost complete grip and the car moved side ways. Did not get a chance to drive through much snow & ice as the winter was quite mild this season.
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2020
Given 76% while driving a Dodge Challenger (245/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
These tyres were great in the snow. Never got stuck even in quite deep snow and braking was good. Had to stop pretty hard before they would skid in the snow. Also in heavy rain they felt good and didn't aquaplane going through deeper puddles.
They feel confident up to about 110mph. Above 130 mph they feel really vague.
I've had mine for 3 winters and that's enough. Even though they have a good bit of tread left they don't grip the snow so well. On cold frosty day, down to -12 I've had, they still work well. Just not in the snow anymore so much.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2015
Given 83% while driving a BMW X5 (255/60 R17 H) on mostly motorways for 30,000 spirited miles
Great tire, used multiple seasons, provides excellent snow grip until I wore out the tread over 5 winter seasons (the last two were a bit marginal). As expected more noise than summer tires, and obviously cannot push as hard in the dry turns with that much tread, but these provide a lot of confidence in snow, ice and wet conditions; I often just easily drove through where everyone else struggled.
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2014