BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA

The BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 79%
Wear 88%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 90%

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 186,220 miles driven.

The Urban Terrain TA is ranked 15th of 135 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA

Questions and Answers for the BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA

2016-12-15 - What is the weight of this tire for the size 235/60 R16? Thanks!

13.02kg when new


2018-05-14 - I have tried investigating these tyres for my Tiguan 235/55r17 but not a lot of UK information. Would you be able to advise if they are descent for everyday driving, annually 10-12k miles. Blackcircles have them with interest free and I am curious if there is a reason for this?

They're intended for everyday driving, unfortunately I've no personal experience with these tyres so can't give them a personal recommendation. BFGoodrich are an excellent tyre manufacturer though so I expect them to be a good tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Urban Terrain TA Prices

Size Price Range  
215/65 R16 £116.52 - £123.60 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/70 R16 £118.89 - £123.60 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/65 R17 £124.37 - £134.90 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £125.39 - £158.50 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/65 R17 £133.60 - £138.60 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/55 R18 £157.28 - £181.70 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 17 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA Reviews

Given 78% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (235/55 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Just purchased and less than 100 miles on them so far. I will say they ride and grip much better than the stock tire that came on my RAV 4.
Helpful 183 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2015
Given 80% while driving a Dacia Duster 4x4 (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 miles
Sufficient traction in the snow, average braking distance.
Average traction on ice, poor braking.
On wet and dry ground.
Tire life is very high.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2019
Kia Motors Sportage (235/55 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Had these tyres on a sportage for around 20000 miles excellent grip on all kinds of surface but extremely impressed on snow and also ice, wear is minimal after 3 years, I was a bit reluctant to buy them at first as they were a fairly new tyre then but apart from a bit more road noise than the hankook tyres that were on previously I will certainly buy them again.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2018
Have you driven on the BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA >

Latest BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Dacia Duster 4x4 (215/65 R16) on for 50,000 miles
I used BF Urban Terrain throught 2 year on my Dacia Duster 4x4. I satisfied both winter and summer season. If you looking for a tire for using %80 road %20 offroad usage, BF Urban Terrain is good choise for you. I tried all terrain types but i didnt feel the same comfort beause of noisy.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 3, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Daihatsu Terios (235/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
These tires are the perfect compromise. They are not very expensive and they are above average at all aspects that matters for a regular driver. As long as you are not an enthusiastic driver, they perform decently on both paved and unpaved roads, in summer and in winter. There might be a little bit noisier than my old Korean tires, but the wear is much lower. Grip and handling are pretty good on dry and wet terrain if you do not push the tires to extreme. After all, we are talking about tires made for SUVs not for rally cars. On snow and ice they performs decently, but you must expect less reliability than from dedicated winter tires.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2022
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 89% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (235/55 R18) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
These tires feel great to drive, very responsive for what they are and have plenty of comfort, even though they have a hard sidewall. Offroading is also grear, overall really worth the money.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2022
Given 99% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (225/65 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
BFG Urban Terrains have lasted very well. Nice and even what ever the weather, handles it all. More than happy with the tyres in the snow & slush we get in the UK, no problem in the wet very sure footed, nice & comfortable in the dry. Fitted to a RAV4 these tyres are a good match.
Lasted about 20,000 miles @ 2 years, just starting to get a bit louder and noticed a drop off in economy, down to about 2.5mm across the front two, BFG Urban Terrains replacements on order.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2019
Given 80% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/65 R17 H) on for 0 miles
I bought for 1 year ago. a unique negative point is loudness. Dry, wet and snowy driving is comfortable. I do not suggest but at high speed driving one-hour duration was very safe and smooth but you must not drive fast. 20 cm snow driving and handling are very easy. unfortunately consumption is more than my previous summer tire 1-liter euro diesel per 100 km. I have no experience in the mud field. I can buy again definitely.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2019
BMW (255/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 7,000 easy going miles
Bmw x5 3.0d 18inch wheels
BF urban terrain front 7000 miles since new started with 9mm of tread now has 8mm of tread
so front tyres should last 7.4 x 7000 approx 50000 miles on front 62000 on rear if taken to legal minimum
michelin latitude sports lasted 20000 front 25000 rear
michelins have the edge on handling and steering response BFs have better comfort/ ice and snow /mud /tread wear at similar tyre purchase cost
For me overall I prefer the BFs and the extra tread life makes it a no brainer
but for the driver whose priority is steering response / handling the michelins perform better




Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2019
Given 94% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 25,000 average miles
Probably the best all round tyre I've used and have tried many over the years. Bought Urban Terrains because one of my Landcruisers clocked up 50,000 miles on BFG AT's and still had plenty of life left with superb off road and excellent on road characteristics. Now I drive a 2014 Subaru Outback. Found the UT's good for their type in the mud, excellent in the snow (acceleration, braking and cornering all good and predictable) and with extremely good on-road performance and manners. Done 25,000 miles and according to the MoT tester all four corners were between 5mm and 6mm remaining so plenty left. Had to fit 225/65/17 as no 225/60 available. Won't look at anything else now, am very pleased. For a compromise tyre (which all season must always be by definition) they come close to being the perfect tyre for me.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2019
Given 80% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (235/55 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
These tyres replaced OEM Bridgestone Dueler 687's. Handling and wet/dry braking massively improved. Much better grip on wet grass and muddy/rocky tracks. More control on icy roads and driving through flood water. Not driven on snow with them yet but the old Bridgestone's had great difficulty stopping on 15% decline in the snow earlier this year.

OEM Bridgestone's were only E rated in the wet, BFG's are C rated, a big difference that really shows on the road.

5K miles driven and no visible sign of wear yet. Side walls seem very strong with no visible shoulder wear.

The only negative is the fuel economy, I'm getting avg 25 miles per tank less than with the Dueler's. For me, the shorter braking distances, handling and off road traction make up for this.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2018
Given 100% while driving a Land Rover Discovery Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 400 easy going miles
I just moved away from Pirelli scorpion to a 100% much better tires, I would happily recommend this tires to any one

Snow grip excellent
Wading (rock / pebbles) excellent
Road excellent
Mud excellent

Noise a bit more nosier but not much

The car feels more soft which I like
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2018
Given 97% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (225/65 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 1,200 average miles
Very positive feel in the dry and much improved feedback in the wet. Feels a big improvement over the Yoko's previously fitted. So far has handled loose surfaces and wet grass with ease. Unknown on snow but tyre does list M+S on sidewall.
Time will tell on wear but happy with choice.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2018