Volvo XC70 D5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo XC70 D5.

Do you Drive a Volvo XC70 D5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XC70 D5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (6) 90% 97% 92% 95% 96% 90%
Avon AX7 (13) 92% 87% 88% 84% 93% 92%
Continental PremiumContact 7 (15) 95% 95% 91% 87% 85% 78%
BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA (18) 89% 86% 83% 79% 89% 85%
Achilles Winter 101 (9) 84% 84% 86% 83% 84% 84%
Blacklion Champoint BU66 (21) 88% 84% 81% 82% 81% 85%
Nankang ROLLNEX SP9 (2) 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (40) 82% 84% 78% 78% 87% 83%
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (25) 86% 79% 82% 82% 85% 86%
Continental AllSeasonContact (35) 82% 87% 81% 83% 75% 82%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (111) 89% 85% 83% 85% 75% 79%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (18) 84% 86% 86% 86% 81% 79%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 SUV (2) 70% 80% 70% 45% 90% 75%
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (11) 82% 89% 79% 71% 65% 81%
Vredestein Quatrac 3 (48) 81% 86% 78% 75% 76% 76%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (12) 80% 67% 64% 73% 68% 75%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (64) 80% 65% 75% 74% 72% 69%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (55) 77% 69% 68% 68% 59% 71%
Continental 4x4 Contact (34) 80% 75% 70% 55% 50% 75%
Primewell VALERA TOURING (29) 72% 60% 38% 40% 47% 49%

Volvo XC70 D5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Blacklion Champoint BU66 given 90% (235-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 spirited miles
Vehicle - 2015 Volvo XC70 AWD D5 with a D5T5.com remap.
Average annual miles - 32 / 35k 70% of that is motorway, dual carriage way and fast A roads. When I do get onto B roads I do press on......yes you can hustle along 2 tonnes of wallowing volvo quite nicely.
These are my 3rd full set of Blacklions although now they have changed their name to Dynamo which to me sounds a bit naff!....but still the same great tyre. Mine have a load rating index of 101 which is correct for the cars weight and how I load it, added advantage is it makes a stiffer tyre also.

It came fitted with Pirelli tyres when I bought the car, my long standing tyre dealer offered me 30% discount to try the Blacklions as he'd just started to sell them and knew I'd give him straight talking feed-back.

Honest opinion, unless they cease manufacture, I'll not be changing the brand at all. They are excellent tyres, their performance does not match their low price, it totally blows it out of the water. On my car they totally out-classed the previous Pirelli tyres on all fronts.

I appreciate that the XC70 is AWD, however, I've really tried to get them to 'let go' and only succeeded in the wet and then the stability control took over.
They give great ride quality, not skittish over white lines, low road noise, long lasting - average of 35k for a set but I do change before the wear indicator so probably 38k ish.

I have driven on them over three European road trips including on the Autobahn and they didn't falter even during extended periods of high speed (110 +)

So in summary - don't be put-off by their name or the low price or a reference of a budget tyre - They are far from it and are a very capable, safe and long lasting tyre.


Another strange point is that they appear to need less weights when balancing???
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-24 17:11:57
Writing about the Continental PremiumContact 7 given 62% (215-65-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Continental say they did put effort on making this a comfortable tyre but i have to disagree.
Great grip, feedback etc but comfort is rubish, and i personally look out for comfort.
They are actually harder than pirelli scorpion verde which are know for being hard!
Cannot recomend.
tyre reviewed on 2023-10-13 15:33:01
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 92% (235-50-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 100000 average miles
Have used Scorpion tyres for many years now and have found the all season tyres excellent. Have never managed to break traction, even when giving full throttle on wet road surface. Driven in fresh snow and icy roads without any issues, passing many cars who miserably failed to get anywhere. Overall they might be a little noisy, but my current set of front tyres lasted 60,000 miles and the rears are still going after 100,000 miles!
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-24 12:16:38
Writing about the Avon AX7 given 83% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 average miles
Ran these on my xc70 for 18k. They replaced some road biased Michelins. First positive was how quiet they were on the road, and secondly the grip both in the wet and dry always inspired confidence. They also had some mild off road use and they performed reasonably well. Both on and off road they provided a very comfortable ride. I found that they were quite sensitive in very wet conditions and i would take care to avoid aquaplaning. Despite their mud and snow rating I would only rate them average in snow, and they're not confidence inspiring on ice. They have worn very well, with roughly half of the useable tread left. Overall very quiet and great handling road tyre with reasonable off road capability offering long life, but not so great in wintery conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-17 10:57:30
Writing about the Avon AX7 given 83% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 average miles
Ran these on my xc70 for 18k. They replaced some road biased Michelins. First positive was how quiet they were on the road, and secondly the grip both in the wet and dry always inspired confidence. They also had some mild off road use and they performed reasonably well. Both on and off road they provided a very comfortable ride. I found that they were quite sensitive in very wet conditions and i would take care to avoid aquaplaning. Despite their mud and snow rating I would only rate them average in snow, and they're not confidence inspiring on ice. They have worn very well, with roughly half of the useable tread left. Overall very quiet and great handling road tyre with reasonable off road capability offering long life, but not so great in wintery conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-12 22:04:28
Writing about the BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA given 89% (235-55-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
These tires feel great to drive, very responsive for what they are and have plenty of comfort, even though they have a hard sidewall. Offroading is also grear, overall really worth the money.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-02 01:05:35
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 P given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
I have used 215/65 R16 on XC70 for 10 years, winter only on separate alloys. Balanced feedback from the road, no understeer (as had with Pirellis). Very good on snow, wet and dry, okay on ice. Good contol at speed and stable on mixed surfaces. Comfortable ride, slight noise on some surfaces. Will be replacing them with the same again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-18 01:58:08
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 43% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
As a professional driver and ex Motor Technician these tyres are the worst I can remember ever having fitted. The car has spent more time off the ground checking and double checking the wheel bearings because of the excessive road noise. This latest version of this tyre seems to have an unforgiving hard compound, sounding more like an out and out off road tyre. Will not revisit this tyre in the future, and for once I'm hoping they wear out quickly.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-21 10:45:54
Writing about the Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 SUV given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I do not know about dry grip as much but i would say as good as any all season or studless tire could be, i am basing this of course on sub zero temperatures on a cold dry road, and the wet grip is excellent aswell as the grip on ice and snow as i have tested it in 9,8 inces of untracked snow it does the job well, as for the wear they are still good after a year of solid use with what i would guess 10.000 km, the comfort isn't so bad at all but they are really noisy tires when it comes to dry and wet roads as they are studded tires, the only winter tires i have bought so far were cheap chineese tires wich was the worst of those that i've bought, second ones were a set of yokohama tires and their grip was amazing aswell
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-01 23:38:17
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof SUV given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Now on my second set of these. excellent wet, mud and snow grip, average on a dry. For an SUV tyre they are also pretty good on the motorway especially low reverberation and low noise level. Good value for money only drawback is that they do wear comparatively quickly but at the price that is not too important. i would definitely buy again for my kind of use and have already recommended to friends
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-05 13:02:31
Writing about the Nankang ROLLNEX SP9 given 83% (235-50-18-V)
Driving on track for 20000 average miles
Balanced choice. Good product from Taiwan. Buy again for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-23 05:02:52
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 100% (235-50-18-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30 spirited miles
I have just replaced the three different tyres on my recently purchased Volvo XC70 for the Continental Premium Contact 6 and the transformation is nothing short of amazing. Can’t comment on wet grip or longevity but I can honestly state these are the best tyres I have ever used on any vehicle. Handling, dry grip, road noise and comfort are 10/10 for me. Bought four of them for £508 inc vat which makes them outstanding value for money whilst delivering a sensational driving experience. Early days but I have been driving a wide range of cars for the last 36 years and I am regretting never having used a Continental tyre before. My previous cars have been VW Beetle, Triumph, Ford Cortina Mk111, Vauxhall Cavalier x 2, Vauxhall Carlton x 2, Audi A4, Nissan 200 SX, Peugeot 405 x 2, Mercedes CLK 230 Kompressor, Mercedes C Class Estate, Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressor, Nissan Navara Aventura, Mitsubishi Outlander, Ford Transit Connect, Land Rover Freelander, Land Rover Discovery 3, Land Rover Defender, Range Rover Sport 3.0 TDV6 x 2, Volvo XC70 x 3 and I wish I had fitted Continentals years ago on all of them.............if I could have.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-27 19:33:35
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre