Volvo XC70 D5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo XC70 D5.

Do you Drive a Volvo XC70 D5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XC70 D5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (5) 94% 96% 98% 98% 96% 92%
Continental AllSeasonContact (20) 87% 94% 87% 89% 81% 86%
Achilles Winter 101 (9) 84% 84% 86% 83% 84% 84%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (32) 86% 87% 81% 81% 86% 83%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (67) 93% 88% 86% 89% 77% 81%
Nankang ROLLNEX SP9 (2) 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (22) 86% 80% 82% 83% 84% 88%
Vredestein Quatrac 3 (48) 81% 86% 78% 75% 76% 76%
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (10) 83% 90% 79% 70% 62% 80%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 SUV (1) 80% 80% 0% 0% 80% 60%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (9) 80% 67% 71% 74% 66% 77%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (43) 78% 71% 68% 68% 62% 71%
Continental 4x4 Contact (31) 80% 75% 69% 52% 51% 75%
Primewell VALERA TOURING (27) 70% 60% 41% 41% 49% 46%

Volvo XC70 D5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 SUV given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I do not know about dry grip as much but i would say as good as any all season or studless tire could be, i am basing this of course on sub zero temperatures on a cold dry road, and the wet grip is excellent aswell as the grip on ice and snow as i have tested it in 9,8 inces of untracked snow it does the job well, as for the wear they are still good after a year of solid use with what i would guess 10.000 km, the comfort isn't so bad at all but they are really noisy tires when it comes to dry and wet roads as they are studded tires, the only winter tires i have bought so far were cheap chineese tires wich was the worst of those that i've bought, second ones were a set of yokohama tires and their grip was amazing aswell
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-01 23:38:17
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof SUV given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Now on my second set of these. excellent wet, mud and snow grip, average on a dry. For an SUV tyre they are also pretty good on the motorway especially low reverberation and low noise level. Good value for money only drawback is that they do wear comparatively quickly but at the price that is not too important. i would definitely buy again for my kind of use and have already recommended to friends
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-05 12:02:31
Writing about the Nankang ROLLNEX SP9 given 83% (235-50-18-V)
Driving on track for 20000 average miles
Balanced choice. Good product from Taiwan. Buy again for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-23 04:02:52
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 100% (235-50-18-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30 spirited miles
I have just replaced the three different tyres on my recently purchased Volvo XC70 for the Continental Premium Contact 6 and the transformation is nothing short of amazing. Can’t comment on wet grip or longevity but I can honestly state these are the best tyres I have ever used on any vehicle. Handling, dry grip, road noise and comfort are 10/10 for me. Bought four of them for £508 inc vat which makes them outstanding value for money whilst delivering a sensational driving experience. Early days but I have been driving a wide range of cars for the last 36 years and I am regretting never having used a Continental tyre before. My previous cars have been VW Beetle, Triumph, Ford Cortina Mk111, Vauxhall Cavalier x 2, Vauxhall Carlton x 2, Audi A4, Nissan 200 SX, Peugeot 405 x 2, Mercedes CLK 230 Kompressor, Mercedes C Class Estate, Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressor, Nissan Navara Aventura, Mitsubishi Outlander, Ford Transit Connect, Land Rover Freelander, Land Rover Discovery 3, Land Rover Defender, Range Rover Sport 3.0 TDV6 x 2, Volvo XC70 x 3 and I wish I had fitted Continentals years ago on all of them.............if I could have.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-27 19:33:35
Writing about the Achilles Winter 101 given 82% (235-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 250 spirited miles
Early days but after the Pirelli's that came with my car these tyres have transformed the car! Feels very sure footed along sweeping country back roads. Nice & quiet and economy seems no worse than before. At this early stage i am really pleased more so that they cost half the price of some mid range tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-28 20:34:22
Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 94% (215-65-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Have just replaced a set of crossclimates for these contis and very impressed so far. Very good feedback, less sidewall roll than the michelins and altogether giving more confidence in cornering speed in both dry and wet. what bit of snow slush and ice driven on still gives positive grip and feedback. very difficult to spin out with 4wd and uprated ecu map.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-09 17:53:11
Writing about the Dunlop Winter Sport 5 given 90% (235-50-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 700 spirited miles
The quality of this tyre (load factor 101) matches that the Conti Winter Contact TS830 P. Driven on Volvo XC70 D5 AWD manual, on A54 (Congleton-Buxton, on ice), A537 and A53 (sludge, wet snow) and A57 Snake Pass (1 1/2" dry snow). I could do 45 mph w/o any slipping and sliding. Road noise is limited. Fuel economy good.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-28 22:58:21
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico given 80% (235-45-19-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
I drive a Volvo XC70 D5 AWD with Polestar on New Zealand roads. No back country off road yet tried. Tires are as awesome for evrything - wet, dry, conversation and never had an issue there - but they wear so badly. First three months replaced the back two as inside wall failed! A year later chunks of front tire shredded off after a rim rub while daughter was learning to drive - not a severe rub - I was in the car at the time. Today, 2 months after rim job, the rear tire replaced after the first three months is now showing strain on outer wall. Car is not used for anything other than touring, so why so much strain. My son has a Mazda 6, he does worse things than me and hasn't changed a tire in two years!! Looking for alternatives - maybe the AWD is a tough one for tires to handle,
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-19 10:17:50
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion STR given 57% (215-65-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Tyres are noisy on lot road surface's just had xc70 for 5 weeks
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-14 11:08:17
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
I often drive to the north end of Vancouver Island where the road conditions change from -4C to +8C in a matter of 250 km turning HEAVY rain (30 mm in a 12 hour period) to black ice and the nastiest ice near 0C and cold grippy snow at higher elevations (rarely). For this season I bought a set of Winter Icept Evo. Aside from driving an all-wheel drive Volvo the Hankook blew me away. Twice I drove at nearly 100 km through half or wholey flooded roads and the car didn't flinch. The rest of the time when the roads are bare and dry the Hankooks are quiet and smooth - every bit as good as my Michelin all-seasons. Would I buy Hankook again? Absolutely. As far as tread wear goes I haven't had them long enough to judge.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-17 21:38:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre