Volvo XC70 D5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo XC70 D5.

Do you Drive a Volvo XC70 D5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XC70 D5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (5) 94% 96% 98% 98% 96% 92%
Avon AX7 (11) 93% 88% 88% 91% 91% 93%
BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA (18) 89% 86% 83% 79% 89% 85%
Achilles Winter 101 (9) 84% 84% 86% 83% 84% 84%
Nankang ROLLNEX SP9 (2) 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (37) 83% 85% 79% 78% 87% 83%
Continental AllSeasonContact (32) 83% 87% 83% 84% 77% 82%
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (25) 86% 79% 82% 82% 85% 86%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (99) 89% 85% 82% 84% 75% 80%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (17) 85% 86% 86% 86% 81% 80%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 SUV (2) 70% 80% 70% 45% 90% 75%
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (11) 82% 89% 79% 71% 65% 81%
Vredestein Quatrac 3 (48) 81% 86% 78% 75% 76% 76%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (58) 81% 65% 75% 74% 75% 69%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (11) 78% 65% 63% 71% 65% 75%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (52) 77% 70% 68% 67% 59% 70%
Continental 4x4 Contact (32) 80% 74% 69% 53% 50% 75%
Primewell VALERA TOURING (29) 72% 60% 38% 40% 47% 49%

Volvo XC70 D5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 92% (235-50-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 100000 average miles
Have used Scorpion tyres for many years now and have found the all season tyres excellent. Have never managed to break traction, even when giving full throttle on wet road surface. Driven in fresh snow and icy roads without any issues, passing many cars who miserably failed to get anywhere. Overall they might be a little noisy, but my current set of front tyres lasted 60,000 miles and the rears are still going after 100,000 miles!
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-24 12:16:38
Writing about the Avon AX7 given 83% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 average miles
Ran these on my xc70 for 18k. They replaced some road biased Michelins. First positive was how quiet they were on the road, and secondly the grip both in the wet and dry always inspired confidence. They also had some mild off road use and they performed reasonably well. Both on and off road they provided a very comfortable ride. I found that they were quite sensitive in very wet conditions and i would take care to avoid aquaplaning. Despite their mud and snow rating I would only rate them average in snow, and they're not confidence inspiring on ice. They have worn very well, with roughly half of the useable tread left. Overall very quiet and great handling road tyre with reasonable off road capability offering long life, but not so great in wintery conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-17 10:57:30
Writing about the Avon AX7 given 83% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 average miles
Ran these on my xc70 for 18k. They replaced some road biased Michelins. First positive was how quiet they were on the road, and secondly the grip both in the wet and dry always inspired confidence. They also had some mild off road use and they performed reasonably well. Both on and off road they provided a very comfortable ride. I found that they were quite sensitive in very wet conditions and i would take care to avoid aquaplaning. Despite their mud and snow rating I would only rate them average in snow, and they're not confidence inspiring on ice. They have worn very well, with roughly half of the useable tread left. Overall very quiet and great handling road tyre with reasonable off road capability offering long life, but not so great in wintery conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-12 22:04:28
Writing about the BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA given 89% (235-55-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
These tires feel great to drive, very responsive for what they are and have plenty of comfort, even though they have a hard sidewall. Offroading is also grear, overall really worth the money.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-02 01:05:35
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 P given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
I have used 215/65 R16 on XC70 for 10 years, winter only on separate alloys. Balanced feedback from the road, no understeer (as had with Pirellis). Very good on snow, wet and dry, okay on ice. Good contol at speed and stable on mixed surfaces. Comfortable ride, slight noise on some surfaces. Will be replacing them with the same again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-18 01:58:08
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 43% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
As a professional driver and ex Motor Technician these tyres are the worst I can remember ever having fitted. The car has spent more time off the ground checking and double checking the wheel bearings because of the excessive road noise. This latest version of this tyre seems to have an unforgiving hard compound, sounding more like an out and out off road tyre. Will not revisit this tyre in the future, and for once I'm hoping they wear out quickly.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-21 10:45:54
Writing about the Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 SUV given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I do not know about dry grip as much but i would say as good as any all season or studless tire could be, i am basing this of course on sub zero temperatures on a cold dry road, and the wet grip is excellent aswell as the grip on ice and snow as i have tested it in 9,8 inces of untracked snow it does the job well, as for the wear they are still good after a year of solid use with what i would guess 10.000 km, the comfort isn't so bad at all but they are really noisy tires when it comes to dry and wet roads as they are studded tires, the only winter tires i have bought so far were cheap chineese tires wich was the worst of those that i've bought, second ones were a set of yokohama tires and their grip was amazing aswell
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-01 23:38:17
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof SUV given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Now on my second set of these. excellent wet, mud and snow grip, average on a dry. For an SUV tyre they are also pretty good on the motorway especially low reverberation and low noise level. Good value for money only drawback is that they do wear comparatively quickly but at the price that is not too important. i would definitely buy again for my kind of use and have already recommended to friends
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-05 13:02:31
Writing about the Nankang ROLLNEX SP9 given 83% (235-50-18-V)
Driving on track for 20000 average miles
Balanced choice. Good product from Taiwan. Buy again for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-23 05:02:52
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 100% (235-50-18-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30 spirited miles
I have just replaced the three different tyres on my recently purchased Volvo XC70 for the Continental Premium Contact 6 and the transformation is nothing short of amazing. Can’t comment on wet grip or longevity but I can honestly state these are the best tyres I have ever used on any vehicle. Handling, dry grip, road noise and comfort are 10/10 for me. Bought four of them for £508 inc vat which makes them outstanding value for money whilst delivering a sensational driving experience. Early days but I have been driving a wide range of cars for the last 36 years and I am regretting never having used a Continental tyre before. My previous cars have been VW Beetle, Triumph, Ford Cortina Mk111, Vauxhall Cavalier x 2, Vauxhall Carlton x 2, Audi A4, Nissan 200 SX, Peugeot 405 x 2, Mercedes CLK 230 Kompressor, Mercedes C Class Estate, Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressor, Nissan Navara Aventura, Mitsubishi Outlander, Ford Transit Connect, Land Rover Freelander, Land Rover Discovery 3, Land Rover Defender, Range Rover Sport 3.0 TDV6 x 2, Volvo XC70 x 3 and I wish I had fitted Continentals years ago on all of them.............if I could have.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-27 19:33:35
Writing about the Achilles Winter 101 given 82% (235-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 250 spirited miles
Early days but after the Pirelli's that came with my car these tyres have transformed the car! Feels very sure footed along sweeping country back roads. Nice & quiet and economy seems no worse than before. At this early stage i am really pleased more so that they cost half the price of some mid range tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-28 20:34:22
Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 94% (215-65-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Have just replaced a set of crossclimates for these contis and very impressed so far. Very good feedback, less sidewall roll than the michelins and altogether giving more confidence in cornering speed in both dry and wet. what bit of snow slush and ice driven on still gives positive grip and feedback. very difficult to spin out with 4wd and uprated ecu map.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-09 17:53:11
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre