Pirelli Scorpion STR

The Pirelli Scorpion STR is a Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 77%
Wear 68%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 67%

Tyre review data from 26 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 834,761 miles driven.

The Scorpion STR is ranked 9th of 19 All Season Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Pirelli Scorpion STR
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/80 R15 96T   F C 71 11.43kgs
215/65 R16 98H   E C 71 11.31kgs
255/65 R16 109H   F C 71 15.61kgs
235/55 R17 99H (*) E C 71 11.98kgs
235/50 R18 97H (*) E C 71 11.81kgs

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli Scorpion STR

2016-05-03 - What is the correct normal tyre pressure for Pirelli Scorpion STR tyres size 235/55 R17 99H? Thank you

The correct pressure for your tyres is governed by your vehicle and load - the vehicle handbook should have all the details! You usually also find these details in the vehicle door shut, on a sticker.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Scorpion STR Prices

Size Price Range  
235/50 R18 £114.49 - £131.14 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R17 £123.59 - £177.60 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/50 R20 £120.47 - £120.47 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 4 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Pirelli Scorpion STR Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Nissan X Trail 2.2 DCi Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 39,000 average miles
Had a set of four 225/55/17's on my X-Trail Columbia for 39,000 MILES and they are still legal - MOT'd yesterday. I don't drive like an idiot (hopefully) but I don't potter around either. These have had a good work out and will reach 40,000 very soon. Great tyre.
25 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2012   
Given 57% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Tyres are noisy on lot road surface's just had xc70 for 5 weeks
14 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2017   
Given 63% while driving a BMW X3 3.0dA (235/55 R17 H) on mostly motorways for 30,000 spirited miles
inherited these almost new with car. H speed (up to 130mph) was a bit optimistic for a BMW X3 and in due course it blew out on the motorway - not sure why, maybe hit a sidewall. Had previously had 2 other punctures - not on the tyre that blew out. Overall impression they were ok - but questionable wear after blow out, so wouldn't buy again.
7 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2016   
Have you driven on the Pirelli Scorpion STR tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli Scorpion STR? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli Scorpion STR >

Latest Pirelli Scorpion STR Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Honda CRV (215/65 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Very grippy, not too noisy and gave me a very secure feeling on the road. Lasted well, too!
2 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2016   
Given 93% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (215/60 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 100,000 average miles
Pirelli Scorpion str durability are fantastic !! I put these tires on the car with 56,000 km in June 2011. The car currently has 156,000 kilometers made ​​in June 2015. The rear tires are still the same ! 100,000 km !! and still have half the floor !! amazing! I'm not joking !!! 4 years! The front tires have been changed in the past year. Easily explained ! It is a front wheel drive car . They made 76,000 km ! amazing! I drive on asphalt and dirt track at moderate speeds(100-150) and high speed(180-210)... In wet conditions I advise not reach the limit only if you are an adventurous driver and very good driver but the tire fulfills its duty ! In dry conditions is an excellent ally and best friend! Floors with snow is not the best but not the worst !
3 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2015   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 86% while driving a Land Rover freelander (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Had these on my freelander td4 have lasted 3.6 yrs and 40,000 miles plus fronts need changeing rears 5mm left should last another year good in the wet good in the snow good in the dry have ordered two more will stay with these had them on my disco, and they have survived back roads beaches dirt tracks gravel tracks the farm pot holes motorway trips of 500 miles and more at a time used on work drive 6 days a wk sun rain or snow they get me there. Will stay with the pirelli scorpian str very good tyre I'm happy
2 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2014   
Given 88% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (215/65 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
dry traction is fine, in the wet on asphalt, this "4 season" lacks compared to top summer tyres, as can be expected. Wear is very low.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2014   
Given 96% while driving a Volvo (215/65 R16) on mostly country roads for 60 average miles
USED PIRELLI TYRES ON MY LORRIES YEARS AGO. MY VOLVO XC70 53 year WAS FITTED WITH 215 65 16. JUST CHANGED THE FRONTS AT 30.000 MILES
TONY BEVAN
0 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2014   
Given 60% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (215/60 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 18,641 average miles
I bought the Pirelli Scorpion STR after researching them which they stated you would get heaps of mileage out of them. Well, I only got 30,000 km out of them. I did look after them. I rotated my tyres. Did everything right. I must admit the tyres did wear evenly. I would not by them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 5, 2014   
Given 74% while driving a Honda crv (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 31,000 spirited miles
Got exactly 50km on current set, Honda CRV with 95% tar road travel. Hard driver, but expected 60km due to good maintenance, however I'm satisfied.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2013   
Given 41% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2 (255/65 R16 S) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I had these on my Disco II as all year tyres, but ended up binning them after 14 months due to wear!
0 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2012   
Given 79% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (235/55 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 44,000 average miles
Very good tyre. Had these on my X3 since new and they are now on 44K and they still all have a tad over 3mm left. The other surprising thing is they are really good in the snow (unlike the Bridgestone original fit on my last X3!). Only point to note is as the tread gets low they get a little noisier but I can live with that. Will buy again.

0 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2012   
Given 61% while driving a Mazda CX9 (245/50 R20) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
Had those tyres for two years and drove smoothly and quitely for 50,000km now they are very noisy and rough with little cracks .
Their proce was very reasonable compared to other brands but i expected them to last longer.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2012   
Given 100% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 1 1996 (235/70 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
Probably the best tyres I've ever bought, had the last set for 4 years on 3 cars over all types of terrain and motorway. Taking into account the fact that the tyre is 70/30 on to off road rating a very good all round tyre. Extremely tough. I'm on my second set.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 3, 2012   
Given 86% while driving a Nissan X Trail 2.2 DCi Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
Bought the STR to replace the original Dunlop SP200s on my X-Trail. The SP200 lasted for 20,000 miles on the front. The STR has been on for 60,000. No negative comments at all. Plus I have put at least 10k towing miles on these.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2012