Blacklion Champoint BU66

The Blacklion Champoint BU66 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 21 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 290,555 miles driven.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 82%
Wear 81%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 92%

The Champoint BU66 is ranked 12th of 231 Summer Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Blacklion Champoint BU66

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Blacklion Champoint BU66

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Blacklion Champoint BU66. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Blacklion Champoint BU66 Reviews

Given 99% while driving a Jaguar XJ (X351) SWB 3.0d (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Superb tires! I was persuaded to go for the Blacklion Champoint by my tyre centre based on their high labelling scores, A rated grip was what I was looking for after my previous set of 'Premium' tires let me down once too often. Instant improvemnt in my grip and handling after switching. Can't recommend highly enough
Helpful 139 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2019
Given 90% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 35,000 spirited miles
Vehicle - 2015 Volvo XC70 AWD D5 with a D5T5.com remap.
Average annual miles - 32 / 35k 70% of that is motorway, dual carriage way and fast A roads. When I do get onto B roads I do press on......yes you can hustle along 2 tonnes of wallowing volvo quite nicely.
These are my 3rd full set of Blacklions although now they have changed their name to Dynamo which to me sounds a bit naff!....but still the same great tyre. Mine have a load rating index of 101 which is correct for the cars weight and how I load it, added advantage is it makes a stiffer tyre also.

It came fitted with Pirelli tyres when I bought the car, my long standing tyre dealer offered me 30% discount to try the Blacklions as he'd just started to sell them and knew I'd give him straight talking feed-back.

Honest opinion, unless they cease manufacture, I'll not be changing the brand at all. They are excellent tyres, their performance does not match their low price, it totally blows it out of the water. On my car they totally out-classed the previous Pirelli tyres on all fronts.

I appreciate that the XC70 is AWD, however, I've really tried to get them to 'let go' and only succeeded in the wet and then the stability control took over.
They give great ride quality, not skittish over white lines, low road noise, long lasting - average of 35k for a set but I do change before the wear indicator so probably 38k ish.

I have driven on them over three European road trips including on the Autobahn and they didn't falter even during extended periods of high speed (110 +)

So in summary - don't be put-off by their name or the low price or a reference of a budget tyre - They are far from it and are a very capable, safe and long lasting tyre.


Another strange point is that they appear to need less weights when balancing???
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2023
Given 91% while driving a BMW 330D Touring (275/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 21,000 average miles
I had a full set of these with some replica BMW M2 competition alloys as they were cheap. Can honestly say these have been impressive given the cost. Have done approx 21k miles on these, the Fronts are only about 50% worn, the rears about 70% but given the geometry of the rear the insides are wearing quicker but still doing well given the 320bhp/700nm going through them!
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2022
Have you driven on the Blacklion Champoint BU66 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Blacklion Champoint BU66? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Blacklion Champoint BU66 >

Latest Blacklion Champoint BU66 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Audi Q7 (295/35 R21) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
These replaced the Pirelli that come as standard, but to be totally honest i rate these just as highly as the Pirelli maybe not just as much mileage but at half the price, it a no brainer !
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2022
Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI (275/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 10 easy going miles
First time I have bought these tyres for my vw touareg and last time. I fit a pair on the front and the car will not drive straight , they follow all the groves in the road and just wanders all over. I thought the tracking was out so I had it check and it was out a touch but nothing to moan about so I swapped the rear tyres to the front and all was sorted. Awful tyres that wear quickly.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 83% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I reviewed these tyres in 2020 after fitting 2 to the front of my 3.0 XF ,have since fitted another 2 to the rears ,had replaced these with dunlops before as serious money and i really cant tell the difference, low road noise,good wear and good grip wet and dry,will be buying again when needed.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2022
Given 76% while driving a Audi S5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
My S5 came with 'Blacklion Champoint' all round when I got it, rears needed replaced and I went with Goodyear Eagle F1s on the back, keeping the Blacklion on the front. I'm a tyre snob having worked for Michelin many years ago and always disregard budget tyres when shopping for my own vehicles, but I genuinely can't fault these Blacklion tyres after 5k miles in summer, rain and snow. I'd never even heard of them before.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2021
Given 94% while driving a Audi A3 TDI SLine Quattro 181bhp (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
Best tyres in the world !!! And cheap! Bought 4x 235 35 R19 in 2019 for £200 all four for my Audi A3 2015 quattro and I have still 5mm thread so another 2 years to go Unfortunately had small accident, the massive pot hole destroyed the front left tyre and had to buy replacement. So I got 2x 245 ones and DAMN !! What a massive GRIP increase !!! Simply the BEST !
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2021
Given 24% while driving a BMW 330d M Sport (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
These are the worst tires I've ever ridden ! I'd even say they're dangerous! At fast acceleration on wet the car is unpredictably dangerous especially in a corner! I've driven Continental, Pirelli, Dunlop ..., last time I had a Nexen which are great ... but Black Lyons are dangerous!
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2021
Mercedes Benz (225/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Done lots of research on these tyres and went for them in the end, I wanted the runflats off my C43 as I hated them, wanted something comfortable but not to soft but with good performance without spending a lot of money as I had only just replaced a full set of conti runflats. I can honestly say they are absolutely brilliant tyres, I cannot fault them in any way at all, it’s a 4wheel drive car and sticks far better than the Continental’s ever did wet and dry, the road noise is minimal and they have completely transformed my car for the better. I have had all leading manufacturers over the last 5 years I used to be a tyre snob and these will match and out perform most of them hand on heart. I have done launches and emergency stops to test them and they performed perfectly no wheel spin or skidding. 10/10 from me.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2020
Given 86% while driving a (225/35 R19) on for 0 miles
Bought a set of these for my yeti. Had Primacy 3s on original and always felt a littl skitty in the wet on bends, you never knew when they would give up cos they always felt like they would however hard you pushed them. The Blacklions are great. Had a pair on another car when purchased and since I’ve always had brand names decided to give them a few miles as they were new. Wow! I’m glad I did. They’ve covered 8,000 miles and hardly show any wear. They’re predictable and grippy in the dry and no different in the wet. You can really throw them about. I’ve just put 4 on my yeti 4x4 140bhp and it’s a different car. Easy to drive and feels totally safe on the road. It’s a more comfy ride and feels so much quieter and takes bends with ease at all speeds in all conditions. It’s a quiet, lazy drive now. Honestly, give them a try you won’t regret it!
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2020
Given 80% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (235/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
I had these on the front of my BMW X3 when purchased. Never heard of them so thought I'd give them a go as they were new. Now done around 7000, wear is even with plenty of tread left. No issues but mostly dry driving in Southern Spain. Again no issues when it is wet even though the roads tend to be quite greasy.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2020
Jaguar (245/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 56,000 spirited miles
Was recommend these by a friend who fitted them on his Jaguar XF 2.2 so iv just fitted 2 on the front of my 3.0 Diesel XF .last tyres i put on was Jaguar recommend Dunlops at great expense over 600 for set of 4. Tyres only been on a week and got to say i cannot see any difference in dry or wet grip, may be very slightly more road noise but nothing tp loud.i comment on wear yet as still new.would definitely recommend them and will be putting them on the rears when they are due.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2020
Given 99% while driving a BMW 530d F10 (235/45 R19) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
These tyres are amazing for the price & so grippy in the wet & dry. Better than major brands by far that are double the price.& very quiet.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2020
Given 84% while driving a Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT Wagon (225/40 R19) on mostly town for 126,000 average miles
had them on my Subaru legacy when the importer replaced them before i got the car. I had doubts as usually dealers only put on cheaper tyres, so i planned to change into better ones after they wear out. To my surprise, after a year now, I actually like them. They are good and handle well. Did a few road trips, and not a problem! I am purchasing another set for the civic turbo for my wife.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2020