Audi S5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi S5.

Do you Drive a Audi S5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a S5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (26) 91% 90% 85% 82% 87% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (112) 94% 84% 90% 88% 84% 85%
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 (10) 92% 94% 81% 84% 90% 77%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (135) 93% 88% 86% 87% 81% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (236) 93% 90% 86% 88% 79% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Blacklion Champoint BU66 (21) 88% 84% 81% 82% 81% 85%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS (12) 90% 93% 82% 89% 64% 83%
General Altimax Sport (32) 80% 79% 79% 78% 87% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 (14) 72% 74% 71% 70% 63% 88%
General Altimax One S (14) 87% 77% 75% 76% 86% 75%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (80) 84% 76% 76% 79% 67% 72%
Goodyear Eagle Exhilarate (10) 88% 81% 78% 83% 76% 76%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (214) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S007 (6) 86% 76% 85% 70% 54% 54%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (71) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%
Nitto Invo (19) 79% 67% 73% 75% 65% 67%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Davanti Protoura Sport (16) 74% 54% 68% 67% 70% 71%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%

Audi S5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo3 given 91% (245-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 average miles
After reviewing Tyre Review data I selected the Hankook tires, and it helped the dealership was having a winter sale… $1800CAD including factory rims was a great deal.

It’s been two seasons now with three conditions being dry, then wet, then snow by the number of driving days. On dry roads to ride is comfortable with stable handling and the grip is assured and precise with on ramps, long and medium corners. They lose some composure with sharp turning, and the braking takes a little longer than I’d like. This is probably the least inspiring aspect of all the parameters. Wet performance is very good, with turn and corners being very assured. And the wet braking feels better in the wet than the dry? Not sure how but that’s the way it feels. The best part now… The snow is just a blast with these Hankooks. Very grippy whether braking, accelerating or turning the vehicle; this tire does it all in the snow.

After just under 10,000 km the tread looks unused, with more than 7mm across each tire.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-16 11:22:10
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS given 87% (255-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6200 average miles
The DWS06+ I’d buy again if in the market for a fun and sporty all-season tire. The wet performance is superb - confident handling with responsive braking. On our latest road trip we had a stretch of curvy motorways after rainfall and the car felt like with was suctioned to the surface. Even with a full acceleration from stop there is no spin or slip. Dry performance is enjoyable also, the grip on the road road can be felt right through the seat, it transfers well in cornering and is thrilling with on-ramps. In essence, whether it’s by throttle or wheel, what the car is commanded to do this tire follows the order (with a grin!).

The responsiveness and feedback is quite satisfactory, I can’t really say what it’s like as it’s the only tire I’ve driven (other than the Hankook icept evo3 winter tires). But when the tires are set to the manual-recommended pressures of 38F/32R, driving experience is truly enjoyable. Small imperfections and bumps in the road are soft and dull but you certainly know it, larger imperfections leave it on you but the tire takes the first edge off nicely. At -2psi, the ride is sluggish and cornering has soft feel, and at the max load pressures (41/38) the ride is uncomfortably harsh and vague.

When car was acquired the tires had 7mm tread height, and now after 10,000km driven the blocks are at 5mm (new is 7.8mm). Seems acceptable given a general low-risk driving style and never testing the limits of grip when my lady is in the car, but having the occasional fun drive on the country roads in Sport mode :)

Overall, very satisfied with the tire, and would definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-09 07:03:57
Writing about the Davanti Protoura Sport given 89% (255-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Fitted to 2018 Audi S5. Bought these on the advice from my local tyre shop. They had recently started selling them and he said he’d been very impressed by a set he put on his own car. Price was a lot lower than other brands quoted, Falken and Michelin. The car is my daly drive so gets a mix of road types as I commute in to work down both the motorway and A roads. The grip is excellent in dry and also seems very good in the wet, even when pushed hard on the country roads, no loss of control or any noticeable slip. Only slight negative would be a little more road noise but that’s minor and definitely would not put me off. Did some digging online and feedback seems really good in general, very good option if you don’t want to pay for the top end premium brands. Can’t comment too much on wear yet, but looking at them I’ve done a few thousand miles and they still look almost new so can’t see that being an issue
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-20 23:29:51
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle Exhilarate given 73% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I have 2018 Audi S5 Sportback, i drive fast, test all road conditions and speed a lot. Tires are great on dry conditions, but almost terrible on wet/snow conditions, you have to be very careful on wet conditions. So i may say this is not an all season tire, its mostly a summer tire. Dry weather, sry road, handles great, very comfortable, not noisy, and looks really durable.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-14 15:14:41
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S007 given 86% (225-30-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I drive an Audi S5 boosted to 440hp and needed a tyre to cope. The Potenza performs extreamly well. I'm not sure about wear rates yet but its a soft tyre so not expecting high miles.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-10 20:35:57
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 84% (255-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Just a brilliant tyre all round, The rim protector does not really seem to be large enough to do anything I must say. the tyre isnt as comfortable as its competitors due to the more rigid sidewall but it is worth it for the improved feedback and handling.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-10 12:48:58
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 89% (245-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Upgraded to 19" wheels. First tyre bought was michelin Ps4s. Immediately notice the lack of confort. Everything was good but since i upgraded from 18" i can feel the harshness. Rough road surface vibrates thru the whole car. After using for 2 weeks, i changed to goodyear asymmetric 5. No difference. Still very uncomfortable. 1 month later decided to change to this Falken FK510. Best decision ever. Immediately roads become smoother and quieter. So much difference. Been using for 6 months now. Grip and steering feel is extremely awesome. N tyres still smooth as hell. Lucky i tried, if not i would never know such smooth n comfortable high performance tyre exist. Most people would just settle for ps4s or asymmetric 5. Trust me. Get this u would never regret. U can even google "fk510 most comfortable" it'll show a tyre test reviewer saying the fk510 is the best in absorbing road imperfections. Dream tyre!
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-30 03:42:54
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 89% (255-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Replaced OEM fit Pirelli Pzero Rosso with the PS4S and have before noticed a bigger improvement. It actually felt like I have fitted a different suspension setup. The Pirellis wore well but had dramatic tramlining and not the best dry grip. The PS4S immediately gave better steering feedback. They raised the levels of a sporty drive all round like I had replaced my S5 with a new model with no steering or suspension wear that comes with miles. The ride did firm up, like a new feel rather than harsh. when you first drive at speed through corners, it does feel unstable at first, but you realise it is the steering input is more direct and you realise with other tyres you over input as the feedback is dampened, so the Ps4S just give a sharper more direct feeling. They stay centred on the motorway and wander or tramline. I don't do a lot of miles so can't really comment on tyre wear, but I have done a several thousand and they still look like new and now abnormal wear. It can loose traction under heavy acceleration, but with over 450bhp it i to be expected. Not noticed any issues in wet grip and is as good as the dry. To sum up, a sporty feeling, confidence inspiring tyre that does what a good summer tyre should.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-18 06:49:26
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 51% (255-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Fitted as stock to 2017 Audi S5, they’re ok performance wise (not great at anything in my view), but noisy on rough surfaces which is not great when driving a and B roads, I’m considering removing from the car before wear limit and replacing with eagle f1 asymmetric 5 which I’ve had on other and current cars without issues. I had hankook on a previous Skoda and regretted that purchase and changed to eagles again as soon as.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-17 06:30:41
Writing about the Blacklion Champoint BU66 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
My S5 came with 'Blacklion Champoint' all round when I got it, rears needed replaced and I went with Goodyear Eagle F1s on the back, keeping the Blacklion on the front. I'm a tyre snob having worked for Michelin many years ago and always disregard budget tyres when shopping for my own vehicles, but I genuinely can't fault these Blacklion tyres after 5k miles in summer, rain and snow. I'd never even heard of them before.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-05 15:50:13
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 83% (255-35-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
These were the original tyres fitted to the car on delivery from new. They have covered 20k miles. Mostly motorway driving. They are good in both dry and wet conditions. Wear has been reasonable albeit 75% of the miles have been covered on motorways, so relatively low stress driving. Performance is predictable but then again the Audi has quattro so it's difficult to be absolutely sure. The only criticism is that they are quite noisy.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-25 10:04:46
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 94% (255-40-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Great winter tyres, highly recommend. Amazing traction in the Scottish winter and snow. Good handling balance at the limit and provides plenty of feedback of the road surface. Corners and grips well in temperatures under 0 degrees Celsius. A must buy for any performance vehicle if looking to drive spiritedly in the colder months. Driving a stage 2 Audi S5 with 485 Bhp, a good tyre is a must even with Quattro to put the power down when the road is slippery, wet and cold. The tyre is vary predictable at the limit when driving on an dry road and provides confidence when braking. Would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-12 15:36:30
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre