General Altimax Sport

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 78%
Wear 87%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 82%

The General Altimax Sport is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the General Altimax One S

Show All

Tyre review data from 29 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 265,917 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 23rd of 45 tyres

2016 Market Overview - Braking Test - 34th of 50 tyres

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the General Altimax Sport

Questions and Answers for the General Altimax Sport

2018-10-20 - Do these tyres have rim protection?

While it does not look like the General Altimax Sport has significant rim protection, it is possible certain sizes of the tyre do offer rim protection. It's worth asking General about your specific tyre size.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £111.20 - £113.90 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 14 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 General Altimax Sport Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Bora (205/55 R16 V) on track for 80 miles
Low price, comfortable tyre.
176 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2016   
Given 49% while driving a Audi A6 S line (245/45 R18) on for 40,000 average miles
Very hard wearing tyre but very average.
The road noise is so loud when they wear off.
Personally i dont like these.
60 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2018   
Citroën (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
I put these no my C5 to replace the Michelin Primacy HP which were OEM.
A revelation!
They are Quiet, Comfortable, Grippy, soooooo much better than the Michelins.

.
34 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2019   
Have you driven on the General Altimax Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the General Altimax Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your General Altimax Sport >

Latest General Altimax Sport Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Ford Focus ST 225 (2003 2007) (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I’ve had these for quote some time on my car and have bought them a couple of times now as they are a great tyre given the price. Now that power has increased from 225bhp to 384bhp with over 400lbft of torque on a front wheel drive car with an LSD, they struggle to perform when under hard acceleration. They have worn extremely well and lasted over 2 years on the front and nearly 4 years on the rear, but they are on a car that is not used every day. They do grip well around corners when I go out for a spirited drive, but when they go past the limit, you know about it pretty quickly. If you are on a budget and want something that is better than budgets, then look no further. These are worth trying.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Subaru (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
I like the Altimax and One both good. Also had no issues with Avons. also very good.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2020   
Skoda (205/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 4 average miles
I've had Avons, Kumho's, Hankooks and now the Generals on my 1.2 Fabia htp. The Avons and Kumhos were very noisy ( the Avons sounded like a worn wheel bearing) and tram lined over any rough surface, the Hankooks were much better but still noisy and only lasted 15k miles on the front. My usual tyre dealer had started stocking Generals as Kumho were no longer the bargains they were and he highly recommended them. I can report they are excellent all round tyres for my Fabia and so quiet! They are not quite up to the Hankooks for road feedback but as good as the others in all other respects and much cheaper, and they are looking like being long lived. General have been owned by Continental for many years so I have confidence in them and will definitely buy them again
8 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2019   
Citroën (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
I put these no my C5 to replace the Michelin Primacy HP which were OEM.
A revelation!
They are Quiet, Comfortable, Grippy, soooooo much better than the Michelins.

.
34 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2019   
Given 49% while driving a Audi A6 S line (245/45 R18) on for 40,000 average miles
Very hard wearing tyre but very average.
The road noise is so loud when they wear off.
Personally i dont like these.
60 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2018   

See all 22 customer reviews of the General Altimax Sport (newest first) >>