General Altimax Sport

The General Altimax Sport is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 32 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 318,917 miles driven, and 4 tests with an average result of 31st.

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 78%
Wear 87%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 82%

First On MarketAugust 2013
Wheel Size14 - 20"
Width185 - 275mm
Profile35 - 55
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)70 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Altimax Sport is ranked 33rd of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the General Altimax One S.

Tests Included

4

Best Result

23rd

Worst Result

34th

Average Result

31st

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
185/55 R 14 80 HDC70
15 inch
195/45 R 15 78 VDC71
205/55 R 15 88 VDC71
16 inch
205/45 R 16 87 W XLDC72
205/50 R 16 87 YDC71
225/50 R 16 92 YDC71
225/55 R 16 99 Y XLDC72
185/55 R 16 87 H XLDC71
17 inch
245/40 R 17 91 YDC71
245/50 R 17 99 YDC71
245/45 R 17 95 YDC71
225/55 R 17 97 YDC71
215/40 R 17 87 Y XLDC72
18 inch
235/45 R 18 98 Y XLDC72
275/40 R 18 99 YDC72
19 inch
225/35 R 19 88 Y XLDC72
245/45 R 19 98 YDC71
275/40 R 19 101 YDC72
235/40 R 19 96 Y XLCB72
20 inch
245/45 R 20 103 Y XLDC72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the General Altimax Sport >>

Questions and Answers for the General Altimax Sport

2018-10-20 - Do these tyres have rim protection?

While it does not look like the General Altimax Sport has significant rim protection, it is possible certain sizes of the tyre do offer rim protection. It's worth asking General about your specific tyre size.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 General Altimax Sport Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Bora (205/55 R16 V) on track for 80 miles
Low price, comfortable tyre.
Helpful 208 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2016
Given 49% while driving a Audi A6 S line (245/45 R18) on for 40,000 average miles
Very hard wearing tyre but very average.
The road noise is so loud when they wear off.
Personally i dont like these.
Helpful 91 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2018
Given 70% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (205/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 25,000 average miles
This tyre is just a good average tyre, I have been use 205/55/15 on my audi a4 b5 with 116ps and this tyre i doesn't show me some awesome perfromance what and i don't have expected. After 2 years of using the tyre is losing their performance for grip on wet and comfort.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2023
Have you driven on the General Altimax Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the General Altimax Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your General Altimax Sport >

Latest General Altimax Sport Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Toyota Avensis (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Good tyres , decent price Handles fine in dry and wet
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2022
Given 59% while driving a Ford Focus ST 225 (2003 2007) (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I’ve had these for quote some time on my car and have bought them a couple of times now as they are a great tyre given the price. Now that power has increased from 225bhp to 384bhp with over 400lbft of torque on a front wheel drive car with an LSD, they struggle to perform when under hard acceleration. They have worn extremely well and lasted over 2 years on the front and nearly 4 years on the rear, but they are on a car that is not used every day. They do grip well around corners when I go out for a spirited drive, but when they go past the limit, you know about it pretty quickly. If you are on a budget and want something that is better than budgets, then look no further. These are worth trying.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Subaru (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
I like the Altimax and One both good. Also had no issues with Avons. also very good.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2020
Skoda (205/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 4 average miles
I've had Avons, Kumho's, Hankooks and now the Generals on my 1.2 Fabia htp. The Avons and Kumhos were very noisy ( the Avons sounded like a worn wheel bearing) and tram lined over any rough surface, the Hankooks were much better but still noisy and only lasted 15k miles on the front. My usual tyre dealer had started stocking Generals as Kumho were no longer the bargains they were and he highly recommended them. I can report they are excellent all round tyres for my Fabia and so quiet! They are not quite up to the Hankooks for road feedback but as good as the others in all other respects and much cheaper, and they are looking like being long lived. General have been owned by Continental for many years so I have confidence in them and will definitely buy them again
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2019
Citroën (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
I put these no my C5 to replace the Michelin Primacy HP which were OEM.
A revelation!
They are Quiet, Comfortable, Grippy, soooooo much better than the Michelins.

.
Helpful 63 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2019
Given 83% while driving a Alfa Romeo Spider (205/50 R16 W) on mostly town for 100 average miles
Just fitted a pair of General Altimax sport tyres to the front of my Alfa Spider 916 T. Spark which replaced a pair of Autogrip P308 tyres fitted for the past three years.

The Autogrips look a decent tyre and indeed have not proven to be robust not suffering from any punctures, but driving the car they never inspired any confidence in me, especially in damp or wet conditions they scared the hell out of me.

Decided to replace these with the General Altimax Sport as a mid way house between budget rubbish and premium. I have to say the handling of the car has been transformed ! these tyres are smooth riding, handle beautifully and grip very well. I can imagine ten years ago they would easily have been considered premium tyres and their heritage being a Continental brand is very clear and shows in the tyres performance.

for the extra £20 a corner for these over the Autogrip and similar budget rubbish, please don't scrimp and buy budget. They are easily worth the extra money.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2018
Given 83% while driving a Audi S5 (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
These Altimax Sports were fitted new on my S5 when I bought it - wasn't too sure about them as usually I have had Michelins or Contis on my previous Audis (TT 3.2 - A5 3.0TDI). After about a years driving and about 14k miles on UK roads I have been impressed by the performance given the price. Drive mainly A/B roads with occasional Motorway trips and have never had any issues which gave me concern about the tyres performance, good in the dry and as good as Michelin/Conti in the wet. I don't drive on the 'ragged edge' of tyre limits but I do use the power of the S5 quite frequently (why wouldn't I !!) and at no time have I ever felt the tyres were problematic. Comfort is good - firm but not too 'thumpy' on bad surfaces - have taken some major potholes and the tyres have survived with no damage. From the wear so far, reckon good for 20k+ miles.
Overall, for the cost these tyres, they are as good/or better than some of the Premium brands I've used in past and I will be using them again.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2018
Given 74% while driving a Ford S Max (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Excellent performance especially at the price! A little on the noisy side compared with previous makes and fuel consumption seems lower, but grip in wet and dry has been good and they have lasted very well!!
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2018
Given 79% while driving a Renault Megane II Break 1.5dCI 105Hp (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
Now driving with this set of Tires and very happy with them.
Not yet any view on wear but it seems to be good.
Had some continentals before and these are equal but cheaper, also my thoughts are they are less noisy than the continentals I had before.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 23, 2017
Given 100% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
VERY GOOD TYRE PERFORMANCE GOOD ALL ROUNDER
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2017
Volkswagen (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 22,000 average miles
nice sporty tyre reliable and long lasting 22000 mile on my vw golff i now have a new set of general altimax sport tyres im good for 2 more years!
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2017
Given 100% while driving a BMW 320D (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,500 spirited miles
I CAN CONFIDENTIALLY SAY THEESE TYRES ARE GREAT REPLACED MY GOODYEAR EFFICIENT GRIP AND RATE GENERALS BETTER
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2017