Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS

The Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS is a Ultra High Performance All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental Extremecontact DWS 06.

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 90%
Wear 64%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 88%
Snow Grip 83%
Ice Grip 58%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 49,520 miles driven.

The ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS is ranked 7th of 23 All Season Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Reviews UHP All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 7 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in both wet and dry conditions with good handling and a solid warranty.
  • Negative - Slightly higher price point.
  • Overall -
View Full Test >>

2022/23 UHP All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 4 tyres

  • Positive - Best wet handling, fastest wet circle, good in snow, good levels of comfort.
  • Negative - Average snow performance.
  • Overall -
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2023 Tyre Reviews UHP All Season Tyre Test (275/40 R20)
  • 2022 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2022/23 UHP All Season Tyre Test (245/40 R18)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS

    Questions and Answers for the Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS

    2023-04-26 - 2022/23 UHP All Season Tyre Test Results Table lists the Rolling Resistance for this tire as .975kg / t. I believe this may be an error as it appears the decimal may be a place off. Can you please confirm one way or the other? Rolling resistance is a factor in my tire decision that can tip the scale one way or the other with regard to the otherwise nearly identically rated Michelin PSAS4. Thanks!

    You are of course correct, that error has now been fixed. Thank you for sharing.


    2023-10-03 - Is this a 3pmsf tire? I realize its all season but I’m living in Germany and we are required to have 3pmsf tires as our all season tires

    No it's not a 3PMSF sadly, plus it's not sold in Europe!


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS Reviews

    Given 91% while driving a BMW 435d (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
    Even better in the snow than the DWS06!
    Helpful 79 - tyre reviewed on February 18, 2021
    Porsche Cayenne GTS (/35 R21) on mostly motorways for 1,800 spirited miles
    I bought these tyres to replace my Pirelli Pzero’s. I had these before on my CLK550 and figured I’d buy the latest versions due to their excellent wet grip which I prioritize highly and the ability to use them in the winter months and long life. These won’t blow you away in the dry and they’re very nervous under hard braking and hard turns in the dry. But I’ve driven In damn near a monsoon and not once did the car twitch or feel nervous at all. I’ll gladly buy these again or put them on another car even if they’re not as good in the dry.
    Helpful 64 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Audi S5 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,200 average miles
    The DWS06+ I’d buy again if in the market for a fun and sporty all-season tire. The wet performance is superb - confident handling with responsive braking. On our latest road trip we had a stretch of curvy motorways after rainfall and the car felt like with was suctioned to the surface. Even with a full acceleration from stop there is no spin or slip. Dry performance is enjoyable also, the grip on the road road can be felt right through the seat, it transfers well in cornering and is thrilling with on-ramps. In essence, whether it’s by throttle or wheel, what the car is commanded to do this tire follows the order (with a grin!).

    The responsiveness and feedback is quite satisfactory, I can’t really say what it’s like as it’s the only tire I’ve driven (other than the Hankook icept evo3 winter tires). But when the tires are set to the manual-recommended pressures of 38F/32R, driving experience is truly enjoyable. Small imperfections and bumps in the road are soft and dull but you certainly know it, larger imperfections leave it on you but the tire takes the first edge off nicely. At -2psi, the ride is sluggish and cornering has soft feel, and at the max load pressures (41/38) the ride is uncomfortably harsh and vague.

    When car was acquired the tires had 7mm tread height, and now after 10,000km driven the blocks are at 5mm (new is 7.8mm). Seems acceptable given a general low-risk driving style and never testing the limits of grip when my lady is in the car, but having the occasional fun drive on the country roads in Sport mode :)

    Overall, very satisfied with the tire, and would definitely buy again.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2023
    Have you driven on the Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS >

    Latest Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS Reviews

    Given 85% while driving a Mazda (215/45 R18) on mostly town for 6,500 average miles
    Purchased a new set of Continental DWS06+ back in May 2023, extremely confident during Canadian summer and fall for wet and dry conditions. During winter, I delayed switching them for my winter tires just want to test the snow conditions. I didn’t get a chance to test a heavy snow conditions but during winter weather (cold temperatures at -5 Celsius) and cold wet weather I have no complaints. The only surprise is, it’s now end of December and my tread wear is now at 8/32nd after only 8 months of driving (10,742kms), by no means I am pushing them, just occasion spirit driving in the back roads during summer. Now swapped a new set of Continental WinterContact SI plus, will write a review after this winter. Cheers!
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2023
    Given 79% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution X (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Continental have yet to disappoint me
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 85% while driving a Honda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
    Very quiet and comfortable tire, seems to be wearing well but too early to give a score. They were very good in the snow over the winter however on very hard snow / ice they're a fair bit behind a full winter tire. Will buy again.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2022
    Given 74% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (245/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
    This OEM Tyre for my '18 Type R has sensational grip and response that take full advantage of the brilliant chassis. That said, they are a nail magnet, easily get out of alignment after a few potholes or bumps in the road, and while less than some alternatives are still dear. The ride and comfort level are quite good for a 30 sidewall, and they have not let me down in the rain. The good news? They are so rewarding to push hard you'll want to buy them again. The bad news? You will get to do that much sooner than you planned.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2022
    Given 69% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    DWS06 + are very good on my Mazda 6 turbo except for rolling resistance. I have lost approximately 10% in fuel range and mpg. Previous generation DWS06 tires did not have this issue. This time I changed from Michelin Pilot Sport AS3's and noticed the mileage drop immediately after DWS06+ installation. Pressures have been confirmed as spec'd. Contacted Continental to enquire about this and did not get a response, as expected. Tires are great otherwise.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2022
    Given 88% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 2.0tdi Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    This is the first premium tire that I have purchased and as well worth it I had summer tires on prior to this winter 2021 and I decided to go ahead and purchase an all season ultra high performance tires since my car will get up there on the highway. Little road noise great handling good in the wet snow and slush great for Ohio weather ☁️. I still need to find out what these are like on a really hot day.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Hyundai Elantra GT Sport (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    These tires have a decent amount of dry grip, I can still get them to spin a bit on a hard launch, but they excel in the wet, which is why I bought them. I live in central Maine, which can have very varied weather conditions, especially in spring and fall. I haven't had them in snow or ice yet, and will update this review when the time comes.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2021