Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 70 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 894,895 miles driven, and 11 tests with an average result of 6th.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 72%
Wear 66%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 57%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size17 - 23"
Width225 - 325mm
Profile25 - 50
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripA - D
Noise (dB)68 - 74
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The SP Sport Maxx GT is ranked 28th of 33 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

Tests Included

11

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

8th

Average Result

6th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 AutoBild UHP Summer Tyre Test
6th of 6 tyres
  • SHort braking in the wet and dry
  • Poor handling and oversteer balance in the wet
  • Satisfactory
View Full Test >>
2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tyre Test
3rd of 8 tyres
  • Good handling and excellent braking on dry roads, high precision steering with good feedback. Quiet pass by noise.
  • Weakness in curved aquaplaning.
View Full Test >>
2012 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test
5th of 9 tyres
  • As far as the safety-relevant test such as braking or aquaplaning so, the Dunlop Sport Maxx GT the best in the field.

    Not the fastest tyre in the dry but the Dunlop has a good balance, in the wet there is understeer.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
18 inch
255/35R18 94 Y XLDB70
20 inch
245/35R20 95 Y XLDB70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT >>

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT

2016-09-05 - Hi, could i buy a full set of these in the exact size as my pireli pzero on my bmw x3 3.0d xdrive 2012? Would these cause a problem with the xdrive?

Yes, as long as you match the size and load rating, there will be no problem swapping P Zeros for Dunlop SportMaxx GT


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
255/35 R19 £140.46 - £171.99 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £212.99 - £271.99 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 28 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT Reviews

Given 85% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
This is an initial impressions review of the Sport Maxx GT on my Golf GTI so unable to comment on wear. Will focus mainly on performance and feel during warm weather driving.

Dry grip is very good. No complaints whatsover. Slightly better than the Falken FK510, another popular UHP summer tyre. The tyres turn well without much understeer and the car darts into corners. Feedback is perhaps not the best but the tyres are predictable and placing the car is easy.

Wet grip is very good as well. Drove on these tyres through a tropical storm and they felt planted and never hydroplaned even with puddles all over the roads. Of course, this is dependent on driving sensibly. Drive like a hooligan in the rain and you’ll crash regardless of whatever tyres you fit.

Comfort and noise level is decent. The tyre isn’t harsh over bumps and noise level is acceptable by UHP standards. If this is your priority, get touring tyres instead!

Overall, very good first impressions when fitted on a FWD hot hatch. Price wise, it undercuts all the big brands by quite some margin. Does everything reasonably well, at least in warm climates.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2023
Given 86% while driving a BMW 640 d gran coupe (275/30 R20) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
I bought my bmw 640d GC with 34,985 miles on it and thrt had 7mm all round. As of todays review 10.01.23 the car is on 50,800 miles and thr tyres are down to 5mm all round. Now thats 1mm of wear per 7,500 miles which is excellent. They are runflat and the wear rate is amazing. I will probably get 20,000 miles and more out of these and so far thet are excellent.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2023
Given 37% while driving a Audi TT S (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
These tyres were fitted to my Audi TTS Roadster . I purchased the car 2nd hand in Feb 2023 and these were the tyres fitted. I found the ride very harsh and would get a pronounced shimmy . Turn in felt very slow. I checked the manufacture date on the tyres and found they were from early 2018. They were very dry and cracked on the shoulders, they felt almost brittle . I just didnt have any confidence in them. During heavy braking ABS seemed to cut in earlier than i would have thought they should.
I have replaced all 4 tyres now with Goodyear eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 and the difference is night and day
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2023
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT Reviews

Given 46% while driving a Jaguar XJ (X351) SWB 3.0d (275/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Had these as OE fit on a Jaguar XJ, and while they were fine in the dry the car was like Bambi on ice in the wet, huge slides available at will which is fun but not really safe. Threw them in the bin with most of the life left in them. I can see why the supercharged Jaguars have a reputation for randomly spinning out in the rain with these as OE fit.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Audi A5 (/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I had those tires on my 2008 Audi A5 V6 manual transmission for 12 years. I’m not a daily driver , average around 5K a year. First time I had to replace the tires was when they were too old and started to fall apart. I think they are rated for max 6 years which is normal. Next time I had to replace tires was when I hit big potholes created after snow removals on the streets. I hit some serious potholes and they still held pretty well surprisingly but they’re not indestructible ( I had to replace 3 or 4 not -in the same season). Tires would break when the rim bent from impact. Understandable. One thing that pulls me back to them is grip. I was braking really hard couple of time because people are idiots, and not once did I feel my anti-lock brakes activate. It was a solid hard glued to the road stop! One car behind me had to go into emergency lane while braking to avoid hitting me. On wet surface it had pretty good grip but I wasn’t pushing it in the rain. Snow driving: while it’s not a snow tire it did get me in and out of snowy situation. Front wheel sedans were getting stuck while going up the hill in the snow but I was able to manage to keep moving because my car is quattro. My current 2015 audi S5 has Continental ultra-high performance all seasons tires , and while they’re great overall tires I already felt anti-lock brakes activate when suddenly I had to stop (it wasn’t that hard of a braking I must say). I’m currently looking to get the Dunlops as replacement. Braking>Acceleration.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 82% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLA 250 (245/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 700 average miles
Done the first 1000km on this set and it's much more comfortable and quiet ride compared to the Continental Contact 5 (RFT) that came with the Mercedes GLA 250 (managed to get ~50K kms out of them). Will be good to see the mileage of these Dunlops RFT.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2022
Given 54% while driving a Audi A7 3.0TDi Auto (245/45 R21) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Had these in 21 inch on my A7. Generally ok with no grip or traction issues. The main issue was the known fault of the side wall splitting. One nearly new tyre failed an MOT and had to be replaced. And one that still had a few mm left virtually disintegrated and could have killed me. Tried to raise the issue with Dunlop but the couldn't care less. Disgusted with their complete lack of ownership. Needless to say they were all replaced with other brands. Will never buy Dunlop again.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on February 9, 2022
Given 61% while driving a Mercedes Benz S65 AMG (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 easy going miles
Put them on a S63 AMG, Thread lasted less than 3000 miles. Good looking tires and confortable ride but wear is horrible.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2022
Given 51% while driving a BMW 640 d gran coupe (245/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I have these tyres fitted to a BMW 6 series this was the OEM spec that the car was purchased with , i really do not recommend these tyres as at present the car is on its tenth tyre be it a combo of front and rear regardless of the size the issue is exactly the same the tread separates from the tyre, a vehicle with less than 55000 miles. I have no confidence in traveling too far as it seems that every long journey these tyres do not withstand consistent driving yes tyre pressures are checked on a regular basis , tracking and balance checked and all checks out.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2021
Audi (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 13,000 miles
Had new tyres fitted all round. Fronts are now in need of replacing after 13,000 miles. Great grip but they wear out like cheese. Rears are okay. I drive a Remapped 2.7 A5. I don't drive like an imbecile. Very disappointed with such a well known Brand
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2021
Given 63% while driving a Audi A7 Bi Turbo black edition (275/30 R21) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
I drive a Audi A7 Quattro. These tyres are good when new but are lasting not even a year and around 5000 miles. Have so far replaced 7 tyres due to inner side wall splits. These are the most dangerous tyres I have ever purchased. The splits show no sign of coming they just happen when driving. The car is totally standard. They are now being replaced with Continentals.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2020
Given 21% while driving a Jaguar F Type coupe (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
I had the Dunlop Sport 01 prior to this and only had these fitted because I left the dealer to fit new tyres at a service. This was a poor decision as these are the worst performing tyres I have ever had. They have no grip in the dry let alone the wet. I now have no confidence in the cornering of my F-Type, which prior to these being fitted, went round corners like it was on rails.
DO NOT BUY THESE.!
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2019
Given 90% while driving a Audi Q5 (255/40 R21) on a combination of roads for 29,000 average miles
These were fitted from new and have 29k on them. I have a new set ordered and am about to put them on again. I was particularly impressed with how well they handled but also how comfortable the vehicle was considering it’s weight on these tyres. Tyre feedback was excellent but the main factor for buying them again was the performance they gave over such a long life of 29k
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2018
Given 66% while driving a Audi A4 1.8T S Line (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Good performance tyres, they look very nice. excellent grip on motorways, occasionally skidding on quick start, need to be cautious in wet weather, and a big No No on snow. they are hard and not comfortable in bad city roads. after 14000 miles from brand new car 3mm remains in front and 4mm back
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2018
Given 56% while driving a Nissan GT R (285/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Oem on gtr 2015.. ok for the first 1800 miles then starts to wear the inside wall as they are runflats .. admittedly they are runflats at 127 mph so extremely safe but you pay the price as they wear so quickly.. only lasted 8000 miles and nissan wanted 2500 smackers to replace.. no way! I replaced them with michelin pilot sport 4s.. what a difference.. not nitrogen (i never had to inflate the dunlops ever.. amazing they never lost any pressure in 18 months)..
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2018