Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 72%
Wear 68%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 58%

Tyre review data from 62 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 870,195 miles driven.

The SP Sport Maxx GT is ranked 24th of 29 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 AutoBild UHP Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 6 tyres

  • Positive - SHort braking in the wet and dry
  • Negative - Poor handling and oversteer balance in the wet
  • Overall - Satisfactory
View Full Test >>

2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling and excellent braking on dry roads, high precision steering with good feedback. Quiet pass by noise.
  • Negative - Weakness in curved aquaplaning.
View Full Test >>

2012 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 9 tyres

  • Overall - As far as the safety-relevant test such as braking or aquaplaning so, the Dunlop Sport Maxx GT the best in the field.

    Not the fastest tyre in the dry but the Dunlop has a good balance, in the wet there is understeer.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         13.76kgs
0/0 R0 0         15.39kgs
255/45 R17 98Y XL MO C B 68 11.17kgs
235/65 R17 104W AO F B 66 15.66kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL MO E B 68 11.44kgs
285/35 R18 101Y XL   E B 70 12.63kgs
285/35 R18 97W MO F B 70 13.17kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO F A 68 11.49kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO F A 68 11.49kgs
235/40 R18 91Y XL MO F B 68 11.01kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL AO F B 68 11.10kgs
255/40 R18 95Y XL MOEXTENDED E B 68 13.18kgs
255/40 R18 95W MO F B 69 12.25kgs
275/40 R18 99Y XL *RSC F B 68 15.22kgs
235/45 R18 94Y XL N0 E C 69 10.92kgs
245/45 R18 96Y *RSC F B 65 14.16kgs
245/45 R18 96Y *RSC E B 65 14.16kgs
245/45 R18 96Y AO F B 68 11.95kgs
245/45 R18 96Y XL AO F B 68 11.95kgs
245/45 R18 96Y XL *RSC F B 69 14.16kgs
265/45 R18 101Y XL N0 E C 69 13.17kgs
275/45 R18 107Y XL J E B 70 14.50kgs
235/50 R18 97V XL MOEXTENDED C B 69 13.56kgs
235/50 R18 97V XL MO C B 70 11.78kgs
245/50 R18 104Y XL J E B 67 12.93kgs
245/50 R18 100Y XL *RSC F B 69 16.00kgs
245/50 R18 100Y *RSC F B 67 16.00kgs
245/50 R18 104Y XL J N-CCC E B 69 12.93kgs
245/50 R18 100W XL *RSC E B 67 16.15kgs
245/50 R18 104Y XL J E B 69 13.34kgs
235/60 R18 103W AO F B 68 15.82kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   F B 69 12.52kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL RO1 F B 70 14.78kgs
315/30 R19 100Y XL   F B 71 14.39kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   F B 67 10.42kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL *RSC E B 69 11.09kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL *RSC E B 66 11.09kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL AO E C 69 12.39kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL AO E B 70 13.39kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO E C 69 12.48kgs
275/35 R19 96Y XL *RSC E B 69 15.05kgs
285/35 R19 99Y   F B 70 13.90kgs
225/40 R19 89W XL *RSC F C 67 12.97kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL RO1 E B 68 12.82kgs
245/40 R19 94Y XL *RSC F C 66 13.34kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL RO1 E C 69 12.40kgs
255/40 R19 96V   E B 67 12.38kgs
255/40 R19 96V XL   E B 69 12.38kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL *RSC E B 67 17.10kgs
245/45 R19 98Y XL *RSC E B 67 15.40kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C B 67 12.65kgs
235/55 R19 101W AO F C 68 15.18kgs
275/25 R20 91Y XL   F B 72 11.78kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   F A 69 10.40kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   F B 69 10.40kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 68 11.40kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL *RSC E C 70 12.60kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E B 68 13.15kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL RO1 F B 71 13.26kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL *RSC E B 66 14.42kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL MO F C 70 14.10kgs
325/30 R20 102Y   F B 71 16.35kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL *RSC E C 67 11.53kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL *RSC E B 66 13.70kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL MO E A 70 11.59kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL AO E C 71 13.77kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL MO E B 70 14.35kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL J E B 70 13.93kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL RO1 F C 72 13.59kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL MO E B 69 14.35kgs
315/35 R20 110W XL *RSC C B 70 19.62kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL J E C 69 12.48kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL J E B 68 12.48kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL B E B 70 15.20kgs
275/40 R20 106W XL *RSC C B 68 17.01kgs
255/45 R20 101W XL AO F C 69 14.95kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL B E B 68 15.69kgs
265/45 R20 104Y XL MO E C 70 14.79kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL B E B 68 15.97kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL   F A 69 12.50kgs
275/30 R21 98Y XL RO1/NON-DOT E B 70 13.46kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL RO1 F C 71 13.73kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL RO1 F C 71 13.85kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL *RSC C B 70 19.27kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL RO1 E B 71 14.10kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL RO1 E B 71 14.46kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL *RSC C B 68 16.59kgs
255/40 R21 102Y XL RO1 E B 69 14.08kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL B E B 70 15.90kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL B E B 70 16.17kgs
295/25 R22 97Y XL   F A 70 14.37kgs
295/25 R22 97Y XL   F A 70 14.37kgs
265/30 R22 97Y XL   F A 70 12.75kgs
305/40 R22 114Y XL   E A 72 18.49kgs
315/25 R23 102Y XL   E A 71 15.50kgs
315/25 R23 102Y XL   F B 71 15.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT

2016-09-05 - Hi, could i buy a full set of these in the exact size as my pireli pzero on my bmw x3 3.0d xdrive 2012? Would these cause a problem with the xdrive?

Yes, as long as you match the size and load rating, there will be no problem swapping P Zeros for Dunlop SportMaxx GT


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SP Sport Maxx GT Prices

Size Price Range  
245/45 R19 £172.00 - £204.71 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £128.59 - £148.66 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £196.00 - £236.99 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT Reviews

Given 96% while driving a Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro (255/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 21,000 average miles
These were the OE fitment for my Audi A5 Quattro.

I have had ~21,000 miles out of the fronts, with a mixed style of driving.

I would have expected much less, due to being low profile tyres, being on a relatively big / heavy car and a mix of driving style. I am very impressed with the wear rates.

I have no complaints with the grip levels provided in wet or dry. They are a great combination with Audi's quattro system.

I would have been tempted to change to the Michelin Pilot Super Sports as the fronts have recently worn out. However from reading up on the Quattro system and mixing patterns front and back, I have decided to keep the keep the front and rear tyres the same. Do your research and make your own decision on this...

Great tyres!
43 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2014   
Given 56% while driving a Nissan GT R (285/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Oem on gtr 2015.. ok for the first 1800 miles then starts to wear the inside wall as they are runflats .. admittedly they are runflats at 127 mph so extremely safe but you pay the price as they wear so quickly.. only lasted 8000 miles and nissan wanted 2500 smackers to replace.. no way! I replaced them with michelin pilot sport 4s.. what a difference.. not nitrogen (i never had to inflate the dunlops ever.. amazing they never lost any pressure in 18 months)..
19 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2018   
Given 21% while driving a Jaguar F Type coupe (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
I had the Dunlop Sport 01 prior to this and only had these fitted because I left the dealer to fit new tyres at a service. This was a poor decision as these are the worst performing tyres I have ever had. They have no grip in the dry let alone the wet. I now have no confidence in the cornering of my F-Type, which prior to these being fitted, went round corners like it was on rails.
DO NOT BUY THESE.!
11 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2019   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT Reviews

Given 51% while driving a BMW 640 d gran coupe (245/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I have these tyres fitted to a BMW 6 series this was the OEM spec that the car was purchased with , i really do not recommend these tyres as at present the car is on its tenth tyre be it a combo of front and rear regardless of the size the issue is exactly the same the tread separates from the tyre, a vehicle with less than 55000 miles. I have no confidence in traveling too far as it seems that every long journey these tyres do not withstand consistent driving yes tyre pressures are checked on a regular basis , tracking and balance checked and all checks out.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2021   
Audi (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 13,000 miles
Had new tyres fitted all round. Fronts are now in need of replacing after 13,000 miles. Great grip but they wear out like cheese. Rears are okay. I drive a Remapped 2.7 A5. I don't drive like an imbecile. Very disappointed with such a well known Brand
0 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 63% while driving a Audi A7 Bi Turbo black edition (275/30 R21) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
I drive a Audi A7 Quattro. These tyres are good when new but are lasting not even a year and around 5000 miles. Have so far replaced 7 tyres due to inner side wall splits. These are the most dangerous tyres I have ever purchased. The splits show no sign of coming they just happen when driving. The car is totally standard. They are now being replaced with Continentals.
8 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Audi Q5 (255/40 R21) on a combination of roads for 29,000 average miles
These were fitted from new and have 29k on them. I have a new set ordered and am about to put them on again. I was particularly impressed with how well they handled but also how comfortable the vehicle was considering it’s weight on these tyres. Tyre feedback was excellent but the main factor for buying them again was the performance they gave over such a long life of 29k
9 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2018   
Given 66% while driving a Audi A4 1.8T S Line (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Good performance tyres, they look very nice. excellent grip on motorways, occasionally skidding on quick start, need to be cautious in wet weather, and a big No No on snow. they are hard and not comfortable in bad city roads. after 14000 miles from brand new car 3mm remains in front and 4mm back
9 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2018   
Given 43% while driving a BMW X3 (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Got them with my BMW X3 2016 factory fitted.
Stiff from the start and began chipping at 16,000 km. Had to have them replaced on 20,000 km. Will never buy them again. Held the road but wore out and deteriorated way too early with no off-roading.
Disappointing tire quality, worn out way too soon and too stiff.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2017   
Given 70% while driving a Audi A5 (245/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
These tyres were the OE fitment for my Audi A5 TFSI 1.8. Tyre size 245/40R18 93Y
Good performance until haIf worn especially on dry but I found them aging really bed, just after 2 years sides and outer treads started showing cracks. Now 3.5 years old and less than 19.000 miles, still has about 3 mm tread on them. Now rubber compound really hard, lost most of its flexibility and looks like an 8-10 year old tyre. Found it really unsafe on wet or in low temp. I looked after them well, rotated them regularly and store them properly in wintertime. Not sur if I would buy
it again. Looking for alternatives...
3 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2017   
Vauxhall (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Had these on my Insignia and they offer a fairly reassuring drive experience. Nothing really to shout about but they just do the job in wet or dry that i would expect a brand name tyre to do. Steering is sharp enough, wear not too bad as i'm a spirited driver and its a heavy car.....managed 12,000miles on the front and now moved to the rear at about 4mm.
Certainly a better tyre than anything budget,mid range or economy but they also cost more than better Premium tyres.
You do hear and feel the road but I'd fit them again if nothing else was available
0 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2017   
Given 66% while driving a Audi A5 (245/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Got them new mounted 1 year ago. In 2 summers, the wear have gone under half and already I feel the grip going. Driven about 15-20000 km, hard, love cornering very fast. Drip grip is very good, wet grip also good, braking - not so much. They tend to be poor if the weather is lower than 15*. Mostly driven outside of town, highways rarely, the wear is awful. Would not buy again, as I want to get Bridgestone S001, being more easy with the wear and the better grip.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2017   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 530D M sport (275/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 28,500 easy going miles
I purchased a BMW 530d M Sport fitted with the Dunlop SP Sport maxx GT and I have just got 28,500 miles out of the rear tyres with still 4mm on the front. I do not drive harshly but often accellerate hard now and again. I cannot fault the tyres and have replaced with the same, the tyres are designed for the car and would recommend them.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2017   
Given 83% while driving a Jaguar XJ (X351) SWB 3.0d (275/40 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
These are OEM fitment for the XJ. I drive pretty hard and still managed 10k on the rears. At 4mm i noticed a slight lack of adhesion which by 3mm had become more pronounced. I always change my tyres with at least 3mm remaining but with these tyres I had to in order to maintain a acceptable level of grip. Don't get me wrong these are a great tyre and i have replaced like for like. They are the quietest by far, wet grip is high and they communicate well when pushed. Price wise they are on par with other premium brands. Get the 'J' suffix for rim protection. Recommended
5 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2017   
Given 83% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (275/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 24,000 average miles
Have had these on my BMW as OE, I've covered 24k miles so far and still have 5mm tread on the fronts and just over 4mm on the rears, the wear is very even. The tyres perform very well when warmed up and provide great feedback when driving in a spirited manner. I have had no problems in the wet when driving in a normal manner, they are progressive when wanting to initiate a drift.
So far i think i can get another 4000-5000 miles out of them which i think is pretty good. The comfort can be better, but that comes at a cost as I've used other tyres on similar large saloons e.g. Continentals Sport contact 5p and they wear far faster then dunops so its your choice.

Overall a great tyre and would consider buying again.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2016