Continental Sport Contact 3

The Continental Sport Contact 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental Sport Contact 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental Sport Contact 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 77%
Wear 62%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 68%

Tyre review data from 243 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 3,243,837 miles driven.

The Sport Contact 3 is ranked 35th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 EVO Max Performance Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The ContiSportContact 3s only weakness was a little subjective feel on the road. It dominated the wet tests and was extremely strong in the dry. EVO commented as "an impressively complete performance". The Sport Contact 3 has now been replaced by the Sport Contact 5, which should be an even more impressive tyre.
View Full Test >>

2011 Autobild Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - All round talent with balanced handling in all weather conditions. Good steering precision and cornering stability on dry roads. Short braking distances on wet track, encouraging low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Moderate ride comfort
View Full Test >>

2011 EVO Winter Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

    View Full Test >>
    Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    0/0 R0 0         10.50kgs
    0/0 R0 0         9.22kgs
    195/45 R16 80V   E B 71 7.25kgs
    195/45 R16 80V REN F B 71 7.18kgs
    195/40 R17 81V XL   E B 71 7.25kgs
    215/40 R17 87Y XL   E B 72 8.36kgs
    255/40 R17 94W MO E B 72 10.10kgs
    255/40 R17 94Y   C B 72 10.22kgs
    195/45 R17 81W   E B 71 7.99kgs
    195/45 R17 81W   E B 72 7.99kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL   E B 72 8.49kgs
    205/45 R17 84V * E B 71 8.38kgs
    205/45 R17 84W * E B 71 9.71kgs
    205/45 R17 84V * F B 71 9.49kgs
    205/45 R17 84V * E B 71 9.71kgs
    205/45 R17 84V * F B 72 9.65kgs
    205/45 R17 84V * F B 71 8.74kgs
    205/45 R17 84W * F B 71 9.49kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y * E B 72 11.70kgs
    225/45 R17 91W * F B 72 9.35kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y * E B 71 11.98kgs
    235/45 R17 94W MO E B 71 9.91kgs
    235/45 R17 97W XL   E B 72 13.14kgs
    235/45 R17 94W MO E B 72 9.92kgs
    205/50 R17 89V   F B 71 9.18kgs
    205/50 R17 89V REN F B 72 9.17kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   C B 72 9.31kgs
    225/50 R17 94V OPE E B 71 9.42kgs
    225/50 R17 94Y AO C B 72 9.66kgs
    235/50 R17 96Y N2 E A 71 10.69kgs
    205/55 R17 91Y N2 E B 71 9.40kgs
    205/55 R17 91Y N2 F A 71 10.10kgs
    255/35 R18 94Y XL MO F B 73 10.69kgs
    265/35 R18 97Y XL MO E B 73 11.26kgs
    265/35 R18 97Y XL MO E B 74 11.16kgs
    275/35 R18 95Y MO E B 73 11.22kgs
    275/35 R18 95Y MO E B 72 11.30kgs
    275/35 R18 99Y XL   E B 74 11.54kgs
    285/35 R18 101Y XL MO F B 76 12.80kgs
    285/35 R18 101Y XL MO E B 75 12.90kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL         9.59kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL FIA E B 73 9.41kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL RO1 E B 72 9.98kgs
    235/40 R18 91Y N1 F A 71 9.87kgs
    235/40 R18 95W XL FOR E B 72 10.18kgs
    235/40 R18 91Y N1 E A 71 9.98kgs
    235/40 R18 91Y MO E B 71 9.95kgs
    245/40 R18 93Y MO E B 71 10.97kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MO E B 72 11.01kgs
    245/40 R18 93Y AUD F B 71 12.77kgs
    255/40 R18 99Y XL MO F B 73 10.61kgs
    255/40 R18 99Y XL MO E B 73 11.07kgs
    265/40 R18 101Y XL N1 E A 73 11.45kgs
    265/40 R18 101Y XL N1 F A 74 11.66kgs
    275/40 R18 99Y * E C 72 16.58kgs
    275/40 R18 99Y * F C 72 16.39kgs
    235/45 R18 94V XL   E B 71 10.77kgs
    245/45 R18 96Y * E C 71 14.59kgs
    245/45 R18 96Y * F C 72 14.65kgs
    245/45 R18 96Y * F C 71 14.83kgs
    245/50 R18 100Y * E B 71 16.00kgs
    245/50 R18 100Y * F B 72 16.01kgs
    245/50 R18 100Y * F B 71 16.00kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL N0 E B 73 14.08kgs
    295/30 R19 100Y XL N1 E A 75 12.04kgs
    235/35 R19 91Y XL VW F B 72 10.39kgs
    235/35 R19 87Y N1 E A 71 10.05kgs
    235/35 R19 91Y XL   E B 72 11.50kgs
    235/35 R19 91Y XL   E B 72 10.22kgs
    245/35 R19 93Y XL * F B 72 11.10kgs
    265/35 R19 94Y N1 F A 72 11.39kgs
    265/35 R19 94Y N1 E A 72 11.71kgs
    265/35 R19 98Y XL * F B 73 12.44kgs
    265/35 R19 98Y XL * F B 74 12.88kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL         10.47kgs
    235/40 R19 92W OPE E B 72 10.37kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL PEU E B 73 10.51kgs
    235/40 R19 92W   E B 71 10.39kgs
    275/40 R19 101W * F B 73 16.76kgs
    275/40 R19 101W * E B 72 16.61kgs
    275/40 R19 101W * F B 72 16.52kgs
    285/40 R19 103Y N0 E A 74 14.17kgs
    285/40 R19 103Y N0 F A 74 13.76kgs
    245/45 R19 98W * E B 71 14.49kgs
    245/45 R19 98W * F B 71 14.60kgs
    255/45 R19 100Y N0 E A 72 11.61kgs
    255/45 R19 100Y AO E B 72 11.77kgs
    265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 F B 73 11.69kgs
    265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 F B 74 11.57kgs
    285/30 R20 99Y XL   E B 76 12.36kgs
    245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 72 11.22kgs
    275/35 R20 102Y XL J E B 74 12.24kgs
    275/35 R20 102Y XL J E B 73 12.28kgs
    285/35 R20 104Y XL   E B 73 13.54kgs
    245/40 R20 99Y XL J E B 72 12.01kgs
    265/40 R20 104Y XL AO C B 73 12.65kgs
    265/40 R20 104Y XL AO C B 74 12.52kgs
    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Continental Sport Contact 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Sport Contact 3 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    225/45 R17 £99.80 - £106.08 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/40 R18 £110.09 - £144.90 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 29 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental Sport Contact 3 Reviews

    Given 47% while driving a Audi A4 Quattro 220 bhp TFSI (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
    These tyres came standard on my 2015 A4 S Line, very disappointed, at 22000 km the road noise is unbearable, they are not worn out but i'm so over the noise i'm prepared to drop 2k to get rid of them. (Australian review)
    145 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2016   
    Given 70% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport (235/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    OK here's the schizzle - I have a Ford Mondeo 2 ltr diesel TCDi Titanium X-Sport. it is a family car, not a sports car no matter what the badging says (and a rear spoiler is not a performance enhancer), but here it is with 235/40/19s on each corner - tyres that are standard fit for the likes of Porsche Caymans. I've tried Conti Sport Contact 2s, and 3s. I've tried Michelin Pilot Sport 3s. I've tried Hankook Ventus Evo2s. They all grip like the proverbial to a blanket. They all have tremendous reassurance. They all perform well when I have been driving on my own and tried to break traction (only to test you understand and only once each). They all cost similar amounts (£lots). They all wear at a frightening rate.
    In short, I have a shopping trolley shod with sports car boots. So time to try something a little less expensive, and a little more appropriate - I want good efficiency
    23 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2017   
    Given 81% while driving a Audi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 15 miles
    Very agressive sporty tyre.I have never seen such a good grip on the wet.I had them in december in Germany and it very cold,time for winter tires but they surprised me,they were very good.For people who like sporty agresive drive I would recomend.They are little bit noisy and sidewalls are very stiff but dry braking and grip unseen before.Wear is quite high but nothing special
    14 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2018   
    Have you driven on the Continental Sport Contact 3 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental Sport Contact 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental Sport Contact 3 >

    Latest Continental Sport Contact 3 Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI 160 (245/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
    the best all round premium tyres that ive ever bought , great grip in all weathers , good tread ware last for years
    11 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2020   
    Given 83% while driving a Vauxhall Astra GTC (240/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 52,000 spirited miles
    They were great tyres for the rear of a front wheel drive car. They only lasted 12000 miles on the front but have lasted 52,000 on the rear. Fantastic tyres. Would buy again but only for the rear axle.
    2 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2020   
    Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
    Given 40% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Got a puncture and when having it replaced found a bubble in another tyre, at such short notice, there where the only "premium " tyre that were available I could afford...

    I usually only use pilot sport tyres (recently started using eagle f1)

    I was expecting them to be close to the mps.
    I was very disappointed in the dry they are decent but nothing special the comfort road noise and rim protection are all in the same level as budget tyres, the wet performance is beyond appalling... yes the car is 300bhp + fwd but it has an lsd and Renault rs cars are the best handling cars point blank ... it was amusing sliding about and good practice for car control but for the price and brand these tyres are a joke and I would not recommend anyone using them for anything but off road tyre shredding....
    They lasted 6k miles on front wheels
    Pay the extra for pilot sports or the same for eagle f1.... if you cant afford these tyres god old rainsports will serve u well.

    I will use another continental tyre again... avoid
    5 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2020   
    Renault (205/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    This tyres have not enough grip specially in curve, you can feel how the tire moves on the road outside of curve does not exactly a sport tyre
    10 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2019   
    Given 69% while driving a Honda Prelude 2.2vtec (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    Bought them used for my vehicle, but despite that they have showed great wet and especially dry grip. For normal everyday driving wear was OK. If you would push them everytime they would go out very quick.
    3 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2019   
    Given 76% while driving a Renault Clio 172 Cup (195/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    These came on my Clio when I bought the car. They are a great all round tyre.

    They did not last a very long time however, around 9,000 miles on the front. However, they were very good up front, and gripped very well in the dry, with a good subjective feel. Clios don't tend to be great with steering communication and these Contis weren' too bad.

    The wet performance was interesting. It felt like it wouldn't grip in the wet at all, especially when they wore close to the limit. However, push on with them and the tyres would surprisingly grip very well in the wet, alot better than the Toyo T1-Rs did with plenty of tread left.

    195/45R16 is a size that has a limited choice for tyres, so for that reason, I'd buy these again. I would next try Uniroyal RainSport 3s in 195/50R15 guise and preferred the car on the Contis straight away.
    1 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2018   
    Given 74% while driving a Opel Vectra C GTS (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
    So as i was looking for some new tyres on my opel vectra c gts, searched ar checked diferent tyres, found these continental contisport contact 3 tyres. Checked some reviews and made a decision to buy it, because of the performance they make. Tyres perform very well on dry and specially on wet road (had aquaplaning at 120-130 km/h and almoust hadn't felt, no steering wheel pulling). The grip is very well, at sharp corners goes without any squeek or scream, accelerating from a green light (depending on an engine) will make some spin but immediately grips and pulls away. Now searching for some pilot sport 4's, but would defenitely recommend and buy again.
    1 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2018   
    Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk4 V6 4Motion (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    12k on my Golf V6 - they will need replacing at round about 15k - cant fault them - surefooted even in the wet. Probably the best car tyre I have used.
    0 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2017   
    Given 71% while driving a Toyota Mark X (240/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
    Decent UHP tire but already old model and therefore comparatively not as good performance anymore compared to F1D5, F1A2, and CSC5. Dry & wet performance is not as good as those others I've used/am using now, but still pretty decent and still is a true UHP tire and better than many other tires in the lower performance categories or those cheapo brands, certainly still well beyond most normal drivers ability to push, and reasonably well controlled over the limit. Comfort wise, it's good ride quality, maybe a bit noisy only. Wear rate is the same as CSC5, so it wore out a bit faster, lasting over 40k km for my driving but with minimal chipping only, not as much as the F1D5.
    1 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2017   
    Given 61% while driving a Audi A4 Quattro 220 bhp TFSI (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Tyres were fine when new but over time because way too noisy as they wore down. Ended up changing them early due to noise.
    1 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2017   
    Given 50% while driving a Audi Audi A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro (255/45 R19 W) on for 10,000 easy going miles
    Almost down to the indicators after 10k on an Audi A6 Allroad and not driven hard. About half motorway miles. Tramlines alarmingly on road markings and odd cambers.

    Would not buy these again.
    1 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2017   
    Given 53% while driving a BMW m2 (265/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
    Had these fitted on my car from new ,not many are .i can say these just about do the job .I am now needing to change and i am not happy with 7000 miles from 2 rear tyres i am a 'spirited driver' but these are not great on any level.Front tyres have possibly 2000 left in them, the car now tramlines terribly i would not recomend or buy again conti sport6 or mich 4s for me.
    2 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2017