Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

This tyre is also known as the Hankook Ventus S1 Evo 2 K117.

Tyre review data from 80 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 923,701 miles driven, and 41 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 76%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 79%
Wear 67%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 64%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size16 - 20"
Width205 - 305mm
Profile30 - 60
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)65 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Ventus S1 evo2 is ranked 45th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Ventus S1 evo and this tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3.

Tests Included

41

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

10th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tyre Test
4th of 10 tyres
  • Excellent tyre with a balanced performance in all tests, stable in the dry and wet, low noise, low fuel use, good price to performance ratio.
  • Slightly slow steering response.
  • Recommended.
View Full Test >>
2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tyre Test
6th of 11 tyres
  • Good aquaplaning resistance, short dry braking, good levels of comfort.
  • Relatively long wet braking.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>
2019 Gute Fahrt Summer 18 Inch Tyre Test
5th of 12 tyres
  • A well balanced tyre, good wet handling, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • None mentioned.
  • Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

Reports

  • Hankook product line update
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    16 inch
    205/60R16 92 WCB69
    205/60R16 96 V XLCB70
    205/60R16 92 WCB69
    205/60R16 92 VCB65
    205/60R16 92 VCB69
    205/55R16 91 WCA71
    17 inch
    225/50R17 94 WBB69
    225/50R17 94 YCB69
    225/50R17 98 W XLCA71
    225/45R17 91 WCA70
    225/45R17 91 WCA71
    225/45R17 91 WDC70
    225/50R17 98 Y XLCB69
    225/50R17 94 WDA71
    225/50R17 94 WCB71
    225/50R17 98 Y XLCB70
    225/45R17 91 VCA71
    18 inch
    245/45R18 96 WBB68
    245/45R18 100 Y XLBA67
    245/45R18 100 Y XLBA70
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCA70
    245/45R18 96 WBB68
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCA72
    225/40R18 92 Y XLCB71
    245/45R18 96 WCB68
    245/40R18 93 YDB70
    245/40R18 97 Y XLDB71
    245/40R18 97 Y XLCC68
    245/40R18 93 YDB70
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 >>

    Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

    2016-10-06 - I've got the Hanhook Ventus S1 evo2 tyres on a new Mercedes GLC 4matic - what can I expect driving in snow / ice conditions? What would be a good alternative winter tyre?

    The Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 is a summer tyre, and as such will have very little snow and ice performance. There are many good winter tyres, depending on your tyre size and vehicle, have a read around TyreReviews!


    2017-06-20 - Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 SUV - Is it a run flat type of tire?

    There are both runflat and non-runflat versions of the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 SUV.


    2023-05-01 - Is the Hankook venous S1 evo2 SUV 235/50R19 99v the same as the Hankook ventus S1 evo2 three?

    Generally the SUV variants of tyres are the same or very similar to their non-suv version, but listed as SUV tyres in SUV size and load ratings.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/40 R18 £115.09 - £119.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £91.99 - £113.29 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/35 R19 £154.00 - £177.99 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R18 £145.90 - £153.40 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R19 £148.07 - £163.99 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 25 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 Reviews

    Given 89% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Hello you all :)

    I've bought these tires in March 2015 and finished the season in the starting of November 2015. So after 15k miles (22k km) i have to say that they are excellent ! My tire dimension in 225/45/ZR17 XL. They grip is excellent in every condition. The way the tire manages water is very good and in the heated summer days the tire has a system to dissipate heat from the interior. The tires are class E on fuel consumption but there is a big advantage here: the grip better than because there soft; the main disadvantage is that they wear faster. The next summer i think is going to be the last one for them and after that will buy a new pair.
    Helpful 139 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2016
    Given 74% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution X (275/35 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
    Very impressed for the cost of the tire. Wear is weak
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2023
    Given 50% while driving a BMW X1 2.0d Sdrive (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
    For such a premium expensive tyre I'd expect more than 4mm left after only 4,000 miles waste of money - won't be buying these again.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2023
    Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 >

    Latest Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 Reviews

    Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 1.5TSI 150HP (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 16,500 average miles
    I have this tires since 2020 and I drive with them around 27.000km and still they have 6mm tread thickness, but one tire is damaged, some wires inside him brake down and now I have an uneven rolling surface. At around 35kmh I have a bumpy ride and I have the feeling that the tarmac is waved and because of this problem, at 130kmh I have a vibration on the hole car. I would say that this tires are maximum OK. But I will go back to Continental and Michelin.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2023
    Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (215/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
    They feel very hard and rough ride, and are very noisy, particularly on coarse bitumen.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 73% while driving a SEAT Leon 5F 1.0 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    Overall good summer tyres. They are now probably halfway their lifespan and still performing well in the "warmer" months of the year here in northeastern Europa (Netherlands & Belgium). Since I use Michelin Crossclimate+ tyres from October to March I have been able to split the miles I've driven over two sets of tyres. That being said, they are still doing well even though they are now getting on in mileage. There is still around 5,5-6.0 mm tread left on them. I usually drive in quite a conservative manner, but occassionally do like to hook some corners and look for the limits on quiet roundabouts. Must say, they definitely give confidence when pushed a bit. Since the allseason Michelins are a different size (205/55 R16) and obviously used in the colder months of the year, it is hard to compare them in terms of fuel usage. On average they seem to do about the same. I used to have 16 inch summer tires (Vredestein Sportrac 5) and those did give about 5% better mileage. But nowhere near as nice to drive and in most summer conditions these 17 inch Hankooks allow for more fun and speed before the inevitable understuur kicks in. There are probably better summer tyres out there, but if you can get them relatively cheap (as I did) they're a great choice.
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2022
    Given 51% while driving a Renault Laguna 3 (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
    Second Hankook tires and a big disappointment. Grip in the dry is average while in the wet they are catastrophic. They slide in corners both fast and slow, there is simply no grip. Winter tires have far more wet grip. Never again Hankook.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2022
    Given 64% while driving a Lancia (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,500 average miles
    After a bit more than 20.000 km these tires have noticeably less grip than at the start of their life. They have handled very strangely from the start. Car is acting like it was on rails on roads that are a bit tracked by heavy traffic. I've never felt this in my entire driving "career". These tires don't have wheel protection lip which, besides not having alloy wheel curb protection, also makes them look a bit strange. Not a bad tire, but I am much more satisfied with my winter set of Kleber Krisalps.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2022
    Given 64% while driving a Audi A5 2.0 TDi (2017) (255/35 R19) on mostly town for 15,534 easy going miles
    (AO) In the 4th year there were cracks on the tires, especially visible between the blocks. In general, the condition is good. At the tire fitting they said, after 4 years of operation, change it, as it began to crumble during dismantling. Didn't take risks.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2022
    Given 76% while driving a Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
    (fitted as default tyres by manufacturer) tyres provide excellent grip in dry + wet, good & sporty feedback on the steering. Tend to get a bit louder while aging over time
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2022
    Given 79% while driving a BMW 330i M Sport Coupe (265/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 23,000 spirited miles
    I’ve had these for about 35000km on the car and they were driven sporty, sometimes aggressively. Overall performance in the dry is very good, apart from road noise which could be even lower (it’s not bad at all!). Performance in the wet suffers from pronounced under steer in my setup with 245 at the front, 265 at the back. Never had any issues with that on the road, but trying to get the car into a controlled oversteer is not so easy with the lack of bite at the front in wet conditions. Furthermore the shoulder wears a lot quicker than the mid section of the tire which limits the lifespan. (Before you ask: yes I take a lot of highspeed ramps on and off the autobahn. And no, my chassis does not need alignment). Overall I think it’s been a good tire and I need a replacement by the end of this season. I’ll probably check the Ventus S1 Evo3
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2022
    Given 51% while driving a Audi S5 (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Fitted as stock to 2017 Audi S5, they’re ok performance wise (not great at anything in my view), but noisy on rough surfaces which is not great when driving a and B roads, I’m considering removing from the car before wear limit and replacing with eagle f1 asymmetric 5 which I’ve had on other and current cars without issues. I had hankook on a previous Skoda and regretted that purchase and changed to eagles again as soon as.
    Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2021
    Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen 2.0 TDI 4Motion 16V (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 35,000 spirited miles
    A little bit noisy especially at 3 - 4 mm tread depth. When hot they have a good traction, but high noise level,
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021
    Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
    got them fitted by spec on an Audi A5 - very silent in the beginning, got a fair bit louder after passing 40k km. competes easily with continental, michelin and co, for a fraction of a prize. best value for the money.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2021
    Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B6 (235/45 R17) on mostly town for 18,000 average miles
    The grip is excellent on dry road, on wet is also good but felt a bit unstable. You can feel every dump and stone on the road, it's also noisy for me. They wear out very fast, I managed to use them 3 summers, less then 30000 km. Overall I felt it very responsive and excellent grip but noisy and does not last long. !!! Please consider this info as a my personal opinion based on my experience with these tyres, it is not a result of a testing process.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2021