Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

This tyre is also known as the Hankook Ventus S1 Evo 2 K117.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Ventus S1 evo and this tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 79%
Wear 68%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 67%

Tyre review data from 70 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 738,167 miles driven.

The Ventus S1 evo2 is ranked 36th of 64 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent tyre with a balanced performance in all tests, stable in the dry and wet, low noise, low fuel use, good price to performance ratio.
  • Negative - Slightly slow steering response.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tyre Test - 6th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning resistance, short dry braking, good levels of comfort.
  • Negative - Relatively long wet braking.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2019 Gute Fahrt Summer 18 Inch Tyre Test - 5th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - A well balanced tyre, good wet handling, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/60 R16 92V OE C B 69 9.66kgs
205/60 R16 92W OE C B 69 9.48kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL OE C B 70 9.78kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.50kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.12kgs
255/40 R17 94W REP E A 71 13.12kgs
255/40 R17 98Y XL REP C A 73 10.65kgs
205/45 R17 84W REP E B 71 10.04kgs
225/45 R17 91V OE C A 71 9.39kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL REP E A 71 9.90kgs
225/45 R17 91W OE E C 70 9.68kgs
225/45 R17 91V OE C A 71 9.70kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL REP E A 71 10.12kgs
225/45 R17 91W OE C A 70 9.83kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL REP E A 71 10.78kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL REP E A 71 10.12kgs
245/45 R17 95W OE B B 69 11.22kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL REP E A 71 11.37kgs
245/45 R17 95Y OE E B 67 11.57kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL REP E A 71 10.88kgs
205/50 R17 89W REP E B 71 11.83kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL REP E A 72 9.10kgs
225/50 R17 94W OE E A 71 10.66kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL OE C B 65 11.33kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL OE C A 71 10.71kgs
225/50 R17 94W OE E B 71 11.17kgs
225/50 R17 94Y OE C B 65 11.33kgs
225/50 R17 94W OE B B 69 10.10kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL REP C A 71 10.66kgs
205/55 R17 91W OE C A 69 9.32kgs
205/55 R17 91W OE B A 68 9.57kgs
205/55 R17 95W XL OE C B 70 9.32kgs
225/55 R17 97Y OE C B 71 11.33kgs
225/55 R17 97W OE E B 71 11.21kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL REP E A 71 10.22kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL REP E A 72 10.12kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL REP E A 72 9.72kgs
255/35 R18 90Y REP E A 71 12.60kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL REP E A 72 11.22kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL REP E A 72 11.43kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL REP C A 72 11.76kgs
285/35 R18 101Y XL REP E A 75 12.52kgs
225/40 R18 88Y REP E A 71 11.41kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL OE C A 69 10.25kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL REP E A 71 9.81kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL OE C B 71 10.06kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.30kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL REP E A 71 9.91kgs
245/40 R18 93Y OE E B 70 11.60kgs
245/40 R18 93W REP E B 71 12.94kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL REP E A 71 10.85kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL REP E A 71 11.20kgs
245/40 R18 93Y OE E B 66 11.72kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL OE E B 71 12.08kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL REP C A 72 11.51kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL REP C A 72 12.29kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL REP C A 72 12.51kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL REP E A 71 9.41kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL REP E A 71 9.12kgs
225/45 R18 91W OE B A 69 9.59kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.21kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL REP C A 71 11.25kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL REP E A 71 11.42kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL OE B A 70 12.02kgs
245/45 R18 96Y REP F A 71 14.43kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL REP E A 71 11.89kgs
245/45 R18 96W OE B B 68 11.88kgs
245/45 R18 96W OE B B 68 12.17kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL REP C A 71 11.76kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL REP C A 71 12.31kgs
275/45 R18 107Y XL REP C A 72 13.17kgs
245/50 R18 100W REP F A 71 16.56kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL REP C A 73 10.77kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL REP E A 72 11.08kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL REP E A 72 12.06kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL REP E A 72 12.70kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL REP E A 72 12.67kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL REP C A 72 13.15kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL REP E A 71 9.89kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL REP E A 71 9.77kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL REP E A 71 10.36kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL REP E A 71 10.26kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL OE E B 72 11.95kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL REP C A 71 10.37kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL OE E B 67 12.16kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL OE E B 70 12.90kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL REP E A 72 11.08kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL REP E A 72 11.37kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL OE C A 72 12.89kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL REP E A 72 12.10kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL OE C A 72 12.45kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL REP E A 72 12.23kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL REP C A 71 10.29kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL OE C A 70 12.02kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL REP C A 71 11.04kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL REP C A 71 11.06kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL REP C A 71 11.57kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL REP C A 72 11.53kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL REP C A 72 12.04kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL REP C A 72 13.61kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL REP C A 72 13.33kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL REP C A 71 11.84kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL REP C A 71 12.42kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL REP C A 72 12.47kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL REP E A 73 11.56kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL REP C A 73 11.47kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL OE E A 72 13.22kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL REP C A 72 12.20kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL OE E A 72 13.69kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL REP C A 73 13.12kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL REP C A 73 13.75kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL REP E A 71 10.44kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL REP E A 72 10.76kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL REP E A 72 11.34kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL REP E A 72 11.99kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL REP C A 73 13.01kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL REP C A 72 11.92kgs

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

2016-10-06 - I've got the Hanhook Ventus S1 evo2 tyres on a new Mercedes GLC 4matic - what can I expect driving in snow / ice conditions? What would be a good alternative winter tyre?

The Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 is a summer tyre, and as such will have very little snow and ice performance. There are many good winter tyres, depending on your tyre size and vehicle, have a read around TyreReviews!


2017-06-20 - Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 SUV - Is it a run flat type of tire?

There are both runflat and non-runflat versions of the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 SUV.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Ventus S1 evo2 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £78.00 - £111.12 (26 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £68.29 - £132.40 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £83.18 - £124.98 (69 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £125.00 - £161.58 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £134.80 - £157.70 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £120.00 - £147.60 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 60 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Hello you all :)

I've bought these tires in March 2015 and finished the season in the starting of November 2015. So after 15k miles (22k km) i have to say that they are excellent ! My tire dimension in 225/45/ZR17 XL. They grip is excellent in every condition. The way the tire manages water is very good and in the heated summer days the tire has a system to dissipate heat from the interior. The tires are class E on fuel consumption but there is a big advantage here: the grip better than because there soft; the main disadvantage is that they wear faster. The next summer i think is going to be the last one for them and after that will buy a new pair.
115 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2016   
Given 25% while driving a BMW X5 4.4i (255/50 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
These are the absolute worst tires I have ever purchased. They handle on dry roads like old bias ply tires. and if the weather turns, forget it! My old worn out Michelin's out performed these.
29 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Lexus IS350 (255/35 R18 W) on mostly town for 13,000 average miles
After i fit theme on my 2011 ISF , i did fit theme on my 2014 is 350 which come in different size for rear and front... and I am so happy with Hankock product's quality / performance / price & wear ... I am looking for the s1 evo 3 next time
22 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2019   
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 >

Latest Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 Reviews

Given 51% while driving a Audi S5 (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Fitted as stock to 2017 Audi S5, they’re ok performance wise (not great at anything in my view), but noisy on rough surfaces which is not great when driving a and B roads, I’m considering removing from the car before wear limit and replacing with eagle f1 asymmetric 5 which I’ve had on other and current cars without issues. I had hankook on a previous Skoda and regretted that purchase and changed to eagles again as soon as.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen 2.0 TDI 4Motion 16V (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 35,000 spirited miles
A little bit noisy especially at 3 - 4 mm tread depth. When hot they have a good traction, but high noise level,
1 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
got them fitted by spec on an Audi A5 - very silent in the beginning, got a fair bit louder after passing 40k km. competes easily with continental, michelin and co, for a fraction of a prize. best value for the money.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2021   
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B6 (235/45 R17) on mostly town for 18,000 average miles
The grip is excellent on dry road, on wet is also good but felt a bit unstable. You can feel every dump and stone on the road, it's also noisy for me. They wear out very fast, I managed to use them 3 summers, less then 30000 km. Overall I felt it very responsive and excellent grip but noisy and does not last long. !!! Please consider this info as a my personal opinion based on my experience with these tyres, it is not a result of a testing process.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2021   
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Passat CC (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
Behavior is prediable. Grip in both dry and wet are good, after approx 500 KM.The most strange thing is I feel heavy aquaplaning at the first brand-new 500 KM but gone after. Maybe this tyre need certain mileage to warm itself up? If you take it as UHP tyre, wear is good actually. I drove this tyre for 50,000 KM and should no problem to 60K, beside the small cracking. Strong feedback which is good. At the same time, noice is really unacceptable after 20,000 driving, at least for my ear. I have to replce it even there are 2 mm left to the worn. Considering the price, you should replace it every 20,000... this will keep you in the best performance. LOL. If you don't care about noice, comfort but perfromance, I suggest you take it. If you are looking for a more balance tyre as me, I may not recommend this tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2021   
Given 34% while driving a Mazda RX 7 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Absolutely miserable tire. No grip whatsoever in the rain, lets go in the dry with no indication whatsoever, braking is borderline dangerous.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2021   
Given 64% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia grand sport 1.5t petrol (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I purchased a 2017 Insignia Grand Sport with these tyres fitted from the factory. Initially I thought they were a good tyre. Decent grip on wet and dry, reasonable feedback and not too harsh. I also discovered that these are the sound absorber tyres with a foam lining which reduces noise - this is where things went downhill. The car began to develop a vibration through the steering which I put down to a balancing issue or possibly damage to a wheel on our lovely UK roads. I took the car to a local tyre fitter, who attempted to balance the wheels up, but kept getting differing reading every time the wheel was spun. We agreed that it may be better to swap front wheels to rear and see how that goes. Initially, this worked and the car drove smoothly again for a few weeks, then began to vibrate (this time at the rear of the car) at 55mph+ to the point where it was impossible to sit at anything above 60mph - not ideal on a motorway run. Did some searching online and found a few reports of the foam liners moving/distorting and causing balance problems. At this point the car was becoming undrivable on anything other than a trip to the local shop, so I changed to Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5 all round, which although are noisier than the Hankook, I can now use the car properly again. To sum up, I would avoid these tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2021   
Given 10% while driving a Audi A4 Avant (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
My 2019 Audi A4 avant has these tyres (245/35/ZR190 fitted as new. I've done 6300 miles and the front tyres have only 3mm left on them and rear 4/5mm left.Won't be buying them again when the time come for replacements.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2021   
Given 86% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X (245/40 R18) on track for 10,000 spirited miles
I've had these tyres on multiple cars, but I will only focus now on my experience with the Evo X. My car is standard, with the expection of a tune, so I am running just over 350hp. I have bought these tyres because of their reputation and very good price. I have paid around 450 euros for a set of them and I have had an excelent experience with them, both on track and on road. Road feedback is good, dry grip and handling while not on par with maybe a Michelin PS4S have been very good. I was very impressed with them on track, as they have been very consistent and comunicative. Wear on track has been exceptional, even after long, high heat sessions. I have never seen a road tyre to cope so well. Truth be told though, that after about 3 track days and a lot of very spirited driving in the mountains, the Hankooks have lost a lot of their grip from new, and that is because of the intense heat cycles they have been through, even if (surprisingly) they still have good tread on them. That is to be expected with any kind of tyre. In my opinion, these are THE BEST UHP TYRE for the money. Incredible performance for the money.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2020   
Given 64% while driving a BMW 530D (255/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
Fitted on the rear. Very good levels of grip in dry and wet, absolutely no complaints about that. As a drawback, the wear was terrible. After 13k kilometers I had slicks in the rear. I drive 120km a day and most of the time on a highway. Sometimes I hit the throttle but most of the I cruise very relaxed. Disappointed in the fast wear at this size.
3 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2020   
Given 64% while driving a BMW 530D (255/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
Fitted on the rear. Very good levels of grip in dry and wet, absolutely no complaints about that. As a drawback, the wear was terrible. After 13k kilometers I had slicks in the rear. I drive 120km a day and most of the time on a highway. Sometimes I hit the throttle but most of the I cruise very relaxed. Disappointed in the fast wear at this size.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a Mercedes Benz B200 (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
Trusted tyre. Always have these on my Mercedes..
2 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2020