Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

This tyre is also known as the Hankook Ventus S1 Evo 2 K117.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Ventus S1 evo and this tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 76%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 79%
Wear 67%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 64%

Tyre review data from 80 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 923,701 miles driven.

The Ventus S1 evo2 is ranked 45th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent tyre with a balanced performance in all tests, stable in the dry and wet, low noise, low fuel use, good price to performance ratio.
  • Negative - Slightly slow steering response.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tyre Test - 6th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning resistance, short dry braking, good levels of comfort.
  • Negative - Relatively long wet braking.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2019 Gute Fahrt Summer 18 Inch Tyre Test - 5th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - A well balanced tyre, good wet handling, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tyre Test (265/35 R19)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2019 Gute Fahrt Summer 18 Inch Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 6th: 2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2018 Auto Bild 19 inch Summer Tyre Test (265/35 R19)
  • 3rd: 2018 Sport Auto 19 inch UHP and Track Day Tyre Test (265/35 R19)
  • 4th: 2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 7th: 2018 Test World Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2017 Auto Bild Sports Cars Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 4th: 2017 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 4th: 2017 Auto Bild UHP Tyre Test (245/40 R18)
  • 5th: 2017 Motor Mag UHP Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 7th: 2017 EVO Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2016 AutoBild UHP Summer Tyre Test (255/35 R20)
  • 3rd: 2016 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test (235/40 R18)
  • 5th: 2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2016 Test World Performance Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 6th: 2016 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 8th: 2016 EVO Summer Performance Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 9th: 2016 GTU Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2015 Sport Auto 235/35 R19 UHP Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 3rd: 2015 Top 5 Summer Performance Tyres (235/35 R19)
  • 4th: 2015 Auto Review Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 4th: 2015 Auto Express Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2015 EVO Magazine Performance Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2014 Auto Review Max Performance Tyre Test (255/40 R19)
  • 8th: 2014 EVO Max Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 10th: 2014 ACE Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2013 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 6th: 2013 European Summer Sports Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 6th: 2013 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2012 Auto Bild Max Performance Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2012 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 7th: 2012 EVO Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    205/60 R16 92V OE C B 69 9.66kgs
    205/60 R16 92W OE C B 69 9.48kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL OE C B 70 9.78kgs
    245/40 R17 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.50kgs
    245/40 R17 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.12kgs
    255/40 R17 94W REP E A 71 13.12kgs
    255/40 R17 98Y XL REP C A 73 10.65kgs
    205/45 R17 84W REP E B 71 10.04kgs
    225/45 R17 91V OE C A 71 9.39kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL REP E A 71 9.90kgs
    225/45 R17 91W OE E C 70 9.68kgs
    225/45 R17 91V OE C A 71 9.70kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL REP E A 71 10.12kgs
    225/45 R17 91W OE C A 70 9.83kgs
    235/45 R17 97Y XL REP E A 71 10.78kgs
    235/45 R17 97Y XL REP E A 71 10.12kgs
    245/45 R17 95W OE B B 69 11.22kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL REP E A 71 11.37kgs
    245/45 R17 95Y OE E B 67 11.57kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL REP E A 71 10.88kgs
    205/50 R17 89W REP E B 71 11.83kgs
    205/50 R17 93Y XL REP E A 72 9.10kgs
    225/50 R17 94W OE E A 71 10.66kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL OE C B 65 11.33kgs
    225/50 R17 98W XL OE C A 71 10.71kgs
    225/50 R17 94W OE E B 71 11.17kgs
    225/50 R17 94Y OE C B 65 11.33kgs
    225/50 R17 94W OE B B 69 10.10kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL REP C A 71 10.66kgs
    205/55 R17 91W OE C A 69 9.32kgs
    205/55 R17 91W OE B A 68 9.57kgs
    205/55 R17 95W XL OE C B 70 9.32kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y OE C B 71 11.33kgs
    225/55 R17 97W OE E B 71 11.21kgs
    245/35 R18 92Y XL REP E A 71 10.22kgs
    255/35 R18 94Y XL REP E A 72 10.12kgs
    255/35 R18 94Y XL REP E A 72 9.72kgs
    255/35 R18 90Y REP E A 71 12.60kgs
    265/35 R18 97Y XL REP E A 72 11.22kgs
    265/35 R18 97Y XL REP E A 72 11.43kgs
    275/35 R18 99Y XL REP C A 72 11.76kgs
    285/35 R18 101Y XL REP E A 75 12.52kgs
    225/40 R18 88Y REP E A 71 11.41kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL OE C A 69 10.25kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL REP E A 71 9.81kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL OE C B 71 10.06kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.30kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL REP E A 71 9.91kgs
    245/40 R18 93Y OE E B 70 11.60kgs
    245/40 R18 93W REP E B 71 12.94kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL REP E A 71 10.85kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL REP E A 71 11.20kgs
    245/40 R18 93Y OE E B 66 11.72kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL OE E B 71 12.08kgs
    255/40 R18 99Y XL REP C A 72 11.51kgs
    265/40 R18 101Y XL REP C A 72 12.29kgs
    275/40 R18 103Y XL REP C A 72 12.51kgs
    215/45 R18 93Y XL REP E A 71 9.41kgs
    215/45 R18 93Y XL REP E A 71 9.12kgs
    225/45 R18 91W OE B A 69 9.59kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.49kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL REP E A 71 10.21kgs
    235/45 R18 98Y XL REP C A 71 11.25kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL REP E A 71 11.42kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL OE B A 70 12.02kgs
    245/45 R18 96Y REP F A 71 14.43kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL REP E A 71 11.89kgs
    245/45 R18 96W OE B B 68 11.88kgs
    245/45 R18 96W OE B B 68 12.17kgs
    255/45 R18 103Y XL REP C A 71 11.76kgs
    255/45 R18 103Y XL REP C A 71 12.31kgs
    275/45 R18 107Y XL REP C A 72 13.17kgs
    245/50 R18 100W REP F A 71 16.56kgs
    255/30 R19 91Y XL REP C A 73 10.77kgs
    265/30 R19 93Y XL REP E A 72 11.08kgs
    275/30 R19 96Y XL REP E A 72 12.06kgs
    285/30 R19 98Y XL REP E A 72 12.70kgs
    295/30 R19 100Y XL REP E A 72 12.67kgs
    305/30 R19 102Y XL REP C A 72 13.15kgs
    225/35 R19 88Y XL REP E A 71 9.89kgs
    225/35 R19 88Y XL REP E A 71 9.77kgs
    235/35 R19 91Y XL REP E A 71 10.36kgs
    235/35 R19 91Y XL REP E A 71 10.26kgs
    245/35 R19 93Y XL OE E B 72 11.95kgs
    245/35 R19 93Y XL REP C A 71 10.37kgs
    245/35 R19 93Y XL OE E B 67 12.16kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL OE E B 70 12.90kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL REP E A 72 11.08kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL REP E A 72 11.37kgs
    265/35 R19 98Y XL OE C A 72 12.89kgs
    265/35 R19 98Y XL REP E A 72 12.10kgs
    265/35 R19 98Y XL OE C A 72 12.45kgs
    275/35 R19 100Y XL REP E A 72 12.23kgs
    225/40 R19 93Y XL REP C A 71 10.29kgs
    235/40 R19 96Y XL OE C A 70 12.02kgs
    235/40 R19 96Y XL REP C A 71 11.04kgs
    245/40 R19 98Y XL REP C A 71 11.06kgs
    245/40 R19 98Y XL REP C A 71 11.57kgs
    255/40 R19 100Y XL REP C A 72 11.53kgs
    255/40 R19 100Y XL REP C A 72 12.04kgs
    275/40 R19 105Y XL REP C A 72 13.61kgs
    275/40 R19 105Y XL REP C A 72 13.33kgs
    245/45 R19 102Y XL REP C A 71 11.84kgs
    245/45 R19 102Y XL REP C A 71 12.42kgs
    255/45 R19 104Y XL REP C A 72 12.47kgs
    255/30 R20 92Y XL REP E A 73 11.56kgs
    265/30 R20 94Y XL REP C A 73 11.47kgs
    275/30 R20 97Y XL OE E A 72 13.22kgs
    275/30 R20 97Y XL REP C A 72 12.20kgs
    275/30 R20 97Y XL OE E A 72 13.69kgs
    295/30 R20 101Y XL REP C A 73 13.12kgs
    305/30 R20 103Y XL REP C A 73 13.75kgs
    225/35 R20 90Y XL REP E A 71 10.44kgs
    235/35 R20 92Y XL REP E A 72 10.76kgs
    245/35 R20 95Y XL REP E A 72 11.34kgs
    255/35 R20 97Y XL REP E A 72 11.99kgs
    275/35 R20 102Y XL REP C A 73 13.01kgs
    245/40 R20 99Y XL REP C A 72 11.92kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

    2016-10-06 - I've got the Hanhook Ventus S1 evo2 tyres on a new Mercedes GLC 4matic - what can I expect driving in snow / ice conditions? What would be a good alternative winter tyre?

    The Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 is a summer tyre, and as such will have very little snow and ice performance. There are many good winter tyres, depending on your tyre size and vehicle, have a read around TyreReviews!


    2017-06-20 - Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 SUV - Is it a run flat type of tire?

    There are both runflat and non-runflat versions of the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 SUV.


    2023-05-01 - Is the Hankook venous S1 evo2 SUV 235/50R19 99v the same as the Hankook ventus S1 evo2 three?

    Generally the SUV variants of tyres are the same or very similar to their non-suv version, but listed as SUV tyres in SUV size and load ratings.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    215/40 R18 £138.28 - £138.28 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £115.09 - £119.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £91.99 - £100.19 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R18 £137.59 - £176.29 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R19 £159.84 - £163.99 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 25 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 Reviews

    Given 89% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Hello you all :)

    I've bought these tires in March 2015 and finished the season in the starting of November 2015. So after 15k miles (22k km) i have to say that they are excellent ! My tire dimension in 225/45/ZR17 XL. They grip is excellent in every condition. The way the tire manages water is very good and in the heated summer days the tire has a system to dissipate heat from the interior. The tires are class E on fuel consumption but there is a big advantage here: the grip better than because there soft; the main disadvantage is that they wear faster. The next summer i think is going to be the last one for them and after that will buy a new pair.
    Helpful 138 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2016
    Given 74% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution X (275/35 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
    Very impressed for the cost of the tire. Wear is weak
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2023
    Given 50% while driving a BMW X1 2.0d Sdrive (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
    For such a premium expensive tyre I'd expect more than 4mm left after only 4,000 miles waste of money - won't be buying these again.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2023
    Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 >

    Latest Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 Reviews

    Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 1.5TSI 150HP (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 16,500 average miles
    I have this tires since 2020 and I drive with them around 27.000km and still they have 6mm tread thickness, but one tire is damaged, some wires inside him brake down and now I have an uneven rolling surface. At around 35kmh I have a bumpy ride and I have the feeling that the tarmac is waved and because of this problem, at 130kmh I have a vibration on the hole car. I would say that this tires are maximum OK. But I will go back to Continental and Michelin.
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2023
    Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (215/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
    They feel very hard and rough ride, and are very noisy, particularly on coarse bitumen.
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 73% while driving a SEAT Leon 5F 1.0 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    Overall good summer tyres. They are now probably halfway their lifespan and still performing well in the "warmer" months of the year here in northeastern Europa (Netherlands & Belgium). Since I use Michelin Crossclimate+ tyres from October to March I have been able to split the miles I've driven over two sets of tyres. That being said, they are still doing well even though they are now getting on in mileage. There is still around 5,5-6.0 mm tread left on them. I usually drive in quite a conservative manner, but occassionally do like to hook some corners and look for the limits on quiet roundabouts. Must say, they definitely give confidence when pushed a bit. Since the allseason Michelins are a different size (205/55 R16) and obviously used in the colder months of the year, it is hard to compare them in terms of fuel usage. On average they seem to do about the same. I used to have 16 inch summer tires (Vredestein Sportrac 5) and those did give about 5% better mileage. But nowhere near as nice to drive and in most summer conditions these 17 inch Hankooks allow for more fun and speed before the inevitable understuur kicks in. There are probably better summer tyres out there, but if you can get them relatively cheap (as I did) they're a great choice.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2022
    Given 51% while driving a Renault Laguna 3 (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
    Second Hankook tires and a big disappointment. Grip in the dry is average while in the wet they are catastrophic. They slide in corners both fast and slow, there is simply no grip. Winter tires have far more wet grip. Never again Hankook.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2022
    Given 64% while driving a Lancia (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,500 average miles
    After a bit more than 20.000 km these tires have noticeably less grip than at the start of their life. They have handled very strangely from the start. Car is acting like it was on rails on roads that are a bit tracked by heavy traffic. I've never felt this in my entire driving "career". These tires don't have wheel protection lip which, besides not having alloy wheel curb protection, also makes them look a bit strange. Not a bad tire, but I am much more satisfied with my winter set of Kleber Krisalps.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2022
    Given 64% while driving a Audi A5 2.0 TDi (2017) (255/35 R19) on mostly town for 15,534 easy going miles
    (AO) In the 4th year there were cracks on the tires, especially visible between the blocks. In general, the condition is good. At the tire fitting they said, after 4 years of operation, change it, as it began to crumble during dismantling. Didn't take risks.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2022
    Given 76% while driving a Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
    (fitted as default tyres by manufacturer) tyres provide excellent grip in dry + wet, good & sporty feedback on the steering. Tend to get a bit louder while aging over time
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2022
    Given 79% while driving a BMW 330i M Sport Coupe (265/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 23,000 spirited miles
    I’ve had these for about 35000km on the car and they were driven sporty, sometimes aggressively. Overall performance in the dry is very good, apart from road noise which could be even lower (it’s not bad at all!). Performance in the wet suffers from pronounced under steer in my setup with 245 at the front, 265 at the back. Never had any issues with that on the road, but trying to get the car into a controlled oversteer is not so easy with the lack of bite at the front in wet conditions. Furthermore the shoulder wears a lot quicker than the mid section of the tire which limits the lifespan. (Before you ask: yes I take a lot of highspeed ramps on and off the autobahn. And no, my chassis does not need alignment). Overall I think it’s been a good tire and I need a replacement by the end of this season. I’ll probably check the Ventus S1 Evo3
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2022
    Given 51% while driving a Audi S5 (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Fitted as stock to 2017 Audi S5, they’re ok performance wise (not great at anything in my view), but noisy on rough surfaces which is not great when driving a and B roads, I’m considering removing from the car before wear limit and replacing with eagle f1 asymmetric 5 which I’ve had on other and current cars without issues. I had hankook on a previous Skoda and regretted that purchase and changed to eagles again as soon as.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2021
    Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen 2.0 TDI 4Motion 16V (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 35,000 spirited miles
    A little bit noisy especially at 3 - 4 mm tread depth. When hot they have a good traction, but high noise level,
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021
    Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
    got them fitted by spec on an Audi A5 - very silent in the beginning, got a fair bit louder after passing 40k km. competes easily with continental, michelin and co, for a fraction of a prize. best value for the money.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2021
    Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B6 (235/45 R17) on mostly town for 18,000 average miles
    The grip is excellent on dry road, on wet is also good but felt a bit unstable. You can feel every dump and stone on the road, it's also noisy for me. They wear out very fast, I managed to use them 3 summers, less then 30000 km. Overall I felt it very responsive and excellent grip but noisy and does not last long. !!! Please consider this info as a my personal opinion based on my experience with these tyres, it is not a result of a testing process.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2021