BMW 520i Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 520i.

Do you Drive a BMW 520i? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 520i better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Uniroyal MS Plus 77 (7) 88% 96% 78% 88% 78% 88%
Nokian Line (65) 92% 90% 89% 89% 82% 86%
Nokian zLine (82) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (35) 85% 87% 80% 77% 85% 84%
Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE004 (10) 88% 81% 83% 86% 81% 82%
Michelin Primacy 4 (133) 86% 82% 75% 78% 82% 86%
Linglong Green Max HP010 (13) 80% 76% 79% 81% 82% 78%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (122) 84% 77% 75% 78% 74% 82%
Michelin Primacy 3 (182) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Platin RP 420 (2) 90% 80% 75% 80% 75% 50%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Sailun Atrezzo Elite (16) 86% 76% 77% 66% 69% 75%
Sailun Atrezzo ZSR (41) 81% 69% 73% 76% 72% 74%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (42) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63%
Landsail LS588 UHP (88) 81% 75% 70% 68% 75% 80%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (169) 83% 73% 73% 75% 70% 73%
Fulda Kristall Control HP2 (6) 92% 80% 83% 73% 75% 90%
Landsail LS988 (37) 76% 52% 59% 54% 72% 66%
Goodride SW608 (9) 76% 71% 68% 60% 59% 68%
Haida HD921 (37) 59% 40% 46% 45% 50% 38%

BMW 520i Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE004 given 83% (245-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3100 average miles
Using front 245/40/19 & rear 275/35/19 Satisfied with the performance it gave. Price is reasonable, Dry and wet grip both good, Suitable for daily driving
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-18 06:24:01
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 83% (225-55-16-)
Driving on for 50000 miles
I own among other vehicles a BMW e39 520i wearing the NEXEN N FERA SU1 for almost 5 years now. I am an experience driver, careful but also enjoying fast steady driving in highways. NEXEN tyres proved to be surprisingly reliable, comfort not noisy and they performed just like premium brands the car sit on the past 20 years of it's live. My Tyre shop owner suggested these tyres prompting me to go for it without any doubt considering back then the deal as a very clever one. Cheap and trustworthy. He showed confidence to suggest that NEXEN will be a respectable player in the market for the years to come. As of today that proved to be the truth indeed. Dry, wet, cornering and above all the wear are nothing less than "super". Nowadays though the brand turned to be much more expensive which is a disappointing development. I recommend though these tyres without any concern. i put them on my other BMW520D E60 a couple of days ago expecting them to be as good as they should. Perfect tyres
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-27 11:55:25
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo ZSR given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Very good tyres for money with some troubles in wet. High wear...
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-22 20:12:14
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo ZSR given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Not bad tyre but wars very fast
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-14 19:53:52
Writing about the Nokian Line given 40% (215-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Two seasons without any problem. The surprise came the third season. The tires worn down from 6.5 to 4.5mm only for 2500km. Then they became bad on dry and dangerous on wet. Even on a little wet the car became slippery. Performance was so poor, that i got an emergency suspension check and everything was ok, so the problem was only Nokian! Bye again - never ever Nokian.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-06 21:05:15
Writing about the Platin RP 420 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
Fitted on front axle only. My driving style is absolutely normal. On dry surface they are very good and quite good on wet as well, despite the tarmac of the roads where I live is not water draining at al. Handling and steering are not very precise because the shoulder of the tyre is not stiff enough, despite it's XL rated. Even if inflated at max load pressure and XL, the tyre feels the weight of the car. But the BIG downside is the noise. They are extremely noisy, even more than previous Riken that I replaced because old and noisy due to too hard and cracked compound. I would by these Platin only if much less noisy, because I like the grip they have on tarmac.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-16 17:57:34
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 93% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 easy going miles
Had the Dunlop Veuro 303 previously. This tire has uneven wear on all tires and also had step wear on all tires for some reason. This made the ride noisy and felt as though my wheel bearings had gone bad. I decided to go with the Primary 4 after 3 months of reviewing and must say what a difference this makes. The ride comfort is amazing and the road noise is nearly gone fully. I can't comment on the wet grip as we live in a desert (Dubai). I will update this review after a few months on the tire wear. But from the reviews, it looks as though they will last me 60k km.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-20 14:32:30
Writing about the Goodride SW608 given 47% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
So. After 6000 miles time to change! The worst tyres that I have!
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-21 10:25:25
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE001 given 86% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
This set of 4 tires was my third, fitted to my BMW E39. It is much better than the Michelin PS3 EU made I had before. The latter tended to crack and chip after 2 years (60% used) and a bit hardened. I then switched to PS3 Japan, and this set was better than the EU set. But for Malaysian road, the Potenza RE001 is superior.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-22 12:22:38
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 79% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
I have BMW 5 Series F10, I had Bridgestone Potenza Er300 RFT tyres at 21000Km. When I was breaking a bit hard on pedal ABS was kicking in instantly. Then I bought a set of Michelin Primacy 4 (225/55/r17) non run flat tyres. I like P4 because it is quite, well handling and breaking compare to Potenza.
When I am driving at higher speeds tires gives me confidence.
I would buy it again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-06 12:30:01
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 64% (225-60-15-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
These were initially very good and provided good grip on wet/dry. After around 5000miles the noise started to increase but the performance remained. I have driven on different road conditions and the tyre kept up very well. I have used Michelins, Bridgestone & Pirellis prior. They are still better as I bought this due to unavailability of those at the time of purchase.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-22 07:19:29
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 58% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 22000 average miles
My car is BMW 520i 2002 model.I bought new tyres production date 2015 and installed in 2015 Marchl.I had no issues with handling and speed up to 220 km/h.Tyre rubber quality is OK.Dry and wet grips are OK.Noise rating and comfort is OK.My main concern is just defelction of all 4 tyres treads after 30 000 km mileage.Car started vibrating at low speeds like riding a horse but not a car.I replaced all 4 tyres with Dunlop Winter Sport 4D and vibrating issue has gone.I generally drive on asphalt roads(City,Highways) and driving style is average, with escaping any potholes on asphalt. Who needs economy tyres and ready for replacing with new tyres after 30 000 km can purchase this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-23 10:00:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre