Land Rover Discovery Sport Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Discovery Sport .

Do you Drive a Land Rover Discovery Sport ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Discovery Sport better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA (18) 89% 86% 83% 79% 89% 85%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (107) 87% 86% 83% 74% 88% 87%
Yokohama Geolander AT G015 (18) 86% 82% 75% 79% 79% 88%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV (7) 83% 87% 70% 67% 67% 90%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (122) 84% 77% 75% 78% 74% 82%
General Grabber AT3 (17) 83% 76% 77% 73% 85% 83%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (34) 85% 77% 74% 78% 79% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (58) 81% 65% 75% 74% 75% 69%
Continental Cross Contact LX Sport (11) 82% 73% 69% 56% 42% 78%
Continental CrossContact LX Sport (7) 74% 66% 60% 66% 25% 71%

Land Rover Discovery Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the General Grabber AT3 given 71% (225-70-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Very pleased on dry roads, good grip on wet surfaces. Never had issues with aquaplaning, not too loud. On good surfaces very comfortable. On off road very grippy, on stones too. The bad side is on snow. Poor grip on compacted snow, specially on cornering. On ice is a disaster, even if this tire is rated 3PSF. Never again on snow, but for sure again for the rest.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-05 07:57:57
Writing about the General Grabber AT3 given 71% (225-70-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Very pleased on dry roads, good grip on wet surfaces. Never had issues with aquaplaning, not too loud. On good surfaces very comfortable. On off road very grippy, on stones too. The bad side is on snow. Poor grip on compacted snow, specially on cornering. On ice is a disaster, even if this tire is rated 3PSF. Never again on snow, but for sure again for the rest.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-04 14:08:02
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 28% (245-45-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
These came on my recent purchase of a Discovery Sport, on the rear. They are fairly new and therefore plenty of tread. I've found them a hard compound and quite harsh and noisy. Grip in the dry seems OK - for what dry weather we've had in the last week or so. But to be honest the wet weather handling is quite shocking! Find I'm having to dither around corners and roundabouts in the wet to stop the back end sliding out and that really shouldn't happen. Last time I had that was when I bought a previous car which came with a cheap wheel a tyre package on where you couldn't even steer it in the rain! It's less than 2 weeks of ownership and I'm looking at replacing the rears for something that will grip the road and be much safer, Would not recommend these at all.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-30 11:41:24
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV given 76% (235-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
A "no dramas" tyre, good comfort and low noise, very good wet grip and aquaplaning resistance. Good dry grip, heavy dry braking lacks positivity (i.e., you always stop where you expect, but pedal feel is poor). Wear is excellent, almost 30k miles and only just dropping to around 4mm (rotated once at 20k miles) which means they will be changed before this winter. Some tread damage during this year's heatwaves with small chunks missing near sipes, however this might be tracking related as well as heat build-up. Nothing to cause concern.

Snow performance is on par for an all season, good traction and braking with some hesitancy on turning. Can feel like its squirming on slush but that is consistent on ever all season or full winter I have driven. Very much more snow and ice performance than is really needed for the UK, unless you beach your car on a drift, you will always get home. (Tested in the Pennines on steep hills)
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-22 16:32:16
Writing about the Yokohama Geolander AT G015 given 84% (235-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
I come from a set of Pirelli Scorpion Verde allseason (very comfortable tire, 90% onroad 10% offroad), but the Geolandar is more grippy in soft/mid offroad. It gives a lot of confidence. Very quiet tire on highways, good feeling on wet roads. On asphalt in good conditions, it performs as a good road tire. In comparison with Pirelli, they are less comfy on bumps onroad, because the sidewalls are stiffer. Not a great performer on wet grass (as the 80% of the A/T tires). Good performance in winter, as a good snow tire. I will for sure buy it again. Great job from Yoko. This is a great all purpose tire with very good capabilities in mild offroad and great comfort onroad. Price very good too.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-22 08:57:25
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact LX Sport given 34% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15500 easy going miles
These were fitted to the car from new and the fronts are completely worn after 15k miles. the rears are not that far behind, we will not be replacing with the same make / type of tire.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-03 11:26:09
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given NAN% (235-55-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
Absolutely brilliant tyres for road handling and comfort. Could last a bit longer but not willing to compromise safe feeling and confidence for an extra few miles. Will be buying them again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-28 22:42:23
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 58000 average miles
58000 on the fronts, 62000 on the rear. Drive like you want to get there normally .They last,grip and last again. Drive like a fool and no tyre lasts.. Been on grass mud snow etc as well as motorways
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-26 15:24:47
Writing about the Continental CrossContact LX Sport given 57% (225-45-21-V)
Driving on track for 13000 average miles
Tyre wear is terrible would never buy these tyres again went to Continental for reason why tyres wear was so bad and no satisfactory reason given Have had to replace 4 tyres in less than 2 years with less than 13,000 miles completed Fitted new on land rover discovery sport would not buy this model next time if these are the standard fit to tyres
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-04 09:05:21
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact LX Sport given 66% (245-45-20-V)
Driving on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
These were on my discovery sport since new and I only done 16k miles! Need to replace the front two!! When I took my car to Land Rover for check up they told me I got 2.3mm on both front two! Back two still got about 5mm left! Not going bother buying these again!!
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-31 22:11:02
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact LX Sport given 66% (245-45-20-V)
Driving on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
These were on my discovery sport since new and I only done 16k miles! Need to replace the front two!! When I took my car to Land Rover for check up they told me I got 2.3mm on both front two! Back two still got about 5mm left! Not going bother buying these again!!
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-31 22:08:22
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 91% (245-45-20-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5800 spirited miles
Fitted Michelin CrossClimates on my previous 4x4 and now CC+'s on my Discovery Sport MY2017 2Litre 180 HSE Dynamic. I have owned and driven a range of big 4x4s in most parts of the world for over 40 years.
The CCs and now the better CC+ version may be more expensive but you get the value back with every day of use.
My personal opinion, - I haven't driven with them in soft sand but they should be at least as good as most other tyres in that situation. I can however unreservedly recommend them both for Winter and Summer use on roads and fields, in wet and in snow.
Based on my previous CC's they last a long time (for me) and seem to cope with just about anything. For example, good handling through last summer's (2018) hot weather, at least as good as the OEM tyres (I recon slightly quieter). Then running through an average of 25 Cms depth of powder snow and frequent drifts with packed hard ice underneath in the Alps last week (Winter 2019) - no chains required. (And, no I don't work for Michelin or any other automotive manufacturer!) I haven't tried every multi-season tyre out there, (now I don't need to) but I have tried; BF Goodrich, Wranglers, Coopers, Bridgestone, Dunlop, Pirelli, Firestone, Nexus, and a few others in the past and on different 4x4s. Tyre compounds are constantly evolving so I guess there will be better compounds and treads coming out and the CCs will probably get enhanced as well. I'll be sticking to them for a while longer and again, this is my personal opinion, hopefully my experiences with the CCs will help some of you with what is always a challenging choice.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-23 20:09:26
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre