Michelin Pilot Sport PS2

The Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 155 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 2,721,203 miles driven, and 3 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 87%
Wear 80%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 88%

First On MarketMay 2005
Wheel Size17 - 540"
Width265 - 365mm
Profile35 - 710
Rolling ResistanceC - E
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)72 - 74
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Pilot Sport PS2 is ranked 4th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Super Sport.

Tests Included

3

Best Result

4th

Worst Result

6th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2010 EVO FWD Tyre Test
4th of 9 tyres
  • Giving the fastest time in the dry handling test the Michelin is the sportiest tyre of the group. Excellent steering feel makes this a tyre for drivers
  • Slightly weak aquaplaning results and the sporty nature of the tyre gives a slightly harsh ride
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
275/40ZR17 (98Y)EC72
335/35ZR17 (106Y)EB74
500A inch
265-680ZR500A (99Y)DB72
540A inch
365-710ZR540A (108Y)CB74
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2

2020-04-11 - Hi has the Michelin pilot sport PS2 got wheel protection MSF ? Many thanks ANDY

Rim protection can vary based on size and should be noted on the listing by the tyre seller.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £123.23 - £162.84 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £114.89 - £119.80 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £145.98 - £168.46 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 23 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Porsche 997 911 (305/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Initially, the same tyres were on the car when I bought it and they were already worn, I then put another 16000 miles on them, South France Paul Ricard circuit, Italy Monza and a few circuits here in the UK. I found the tyre to have great side walls and gave me the confidence to see where the cornering limit was, it was at 145mph round the slight bend at Thruxton just before the chicane at the end of the lap, very exciting.
The replacement was down to all those trips and track days I did, Castle Combe and also Porsche Centre at Silverstone. In conclusion I recently replaced them like for like because of the prior experience, my local tyre guy quoted me £997 for all 4 fitted, he knew what he did there so for obvious reasons I accepted. That might sound like a lot to some, but Porsche wanted £235 per front and a whopping £386 per rear for the same tyre! I know there's a lot of noise about the PS4S's but I had them on my 987 Cayman S previously and I found the limit sooner down to the side walls not to be as sturdy, I know its a different car with different characteristics but you'd think it being mid engined it would've handled better than the worn tyres they replaced, I wont mention what they were only that they were better, at the time there was all the hype about PS4S's and I fell for it and was disappointed. I'll stick with my PS2's, they are also great in the wet, never stepped out of line but then again with all the weight at the back I wasn't willing to find the limit in the wet, but I was happily surprised when I did corner aggressively in the wet and the tyres were fine.
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2023
Given 83% while driving a BMW 1 series M pack (245/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I replaced the Bridgeston runflats with this from my BMW, I rediscovered my car before it did not grip the road and was extremely uncomfortable. Now it is glued to the ground and is no longer unpleasant to drive as soon as there is a bump of more than 1cm in the road. I highly recommend.
Helpful 67 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2022
Given 92% while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (235/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
My car has staggered tyre sizes, so this review is also for 205/55 17. N spec all round. Excellent. Very secure in the wet. Excellent feel, in any situation. These may be an old tyre model now, but they're none the worse for it. If, like me, you've got a 987 on 17" wheels, you will have found by now that the only premium sports tyres still available in these sizes are the various N spec tyres: Conti Sport Contact 3, Goodyear F1 Assymmetric 1 and these Michelins. The word on the street (owners' club) is that these are generally considered to be the best of the three.
Helpful 65 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2022
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
When i bought an Alfa for city usage i had chosen the Conti Sport Contact 5, but unfortunately not the XL version, so despite the 30mm lowered Bilstein struts in curves there was always some typical swing, so after a year i have given the Contis to my ex (to an Astra K 1.4t) and i decided to chose something better and will no make compromises. I have found this and i love them. Simply unbelievable how the tyres completely transformed the car. No swing, no jelly feeling, but very punctual steering, i can put the car into curves without breaking, it does not slip, there is no rubbing, the car just turns strictly and accurate. Works absolutely together w/ the chassis. Braking is easy to adjust, quick manoeuvres and forced slides in corners are fun to control. It grips everywhere, if You make it adrift, you can feel how far You can go. I knew this feeling from my Bridgestone Potenza S001 on my BMW, but Michelins grab the asphalt quicker. After 2 years it shows no signs of aging, no remarks of cracking or else. As a typical summer UHP tyre, it lives above 17-20 Celsius (under 15 it gets stiffer), but from 17-20 it behaves harmonic and brilliant. Very confident in the rain, bit noisier then my winter Good Year UG8 (which is a silent winter tyre) , but who cares? I love how the car behaves, by now it has proven that it was worth the money. I will definitely buy a new set if possible, thread is still around 5-6mm. Highly recommended if You love to drive quick and want to get the potential out of your car. Comfortable means: comparing to stiff chassis and to a superb performance, it has comfort and it brings in every situation what it definitely should. Spirited means; my inner city consumption is 10-14l/100km.
Helpful 82 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2021
Given 93% while driving a Porsche Boxster 2.5 (255/40 R17 W) on mostly town for 25,000 spirited miles
These were fantastic tyres, could not fault them , had them on a old astra 2.2 a while ago, same again very very good, shame they have gone up so much in price, now over £150 each yet in 2016 i got a pair for £200.
Helpful 70 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 86% while driving a BMW 130i M (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 14,350 spirited miles
I had a set on BMW 130i, 205/50 R17 front, 225/45 R17 rear. Those were N3 Porsche specification. I was very happy with them, perfectly balanced tyres for a weekend car and spirited drives. During a trackday it will degrade quite rapidly with high temperatures, but this is a road tyre - and there it is working perfectly. Later I changed them for Pilot Sport 4 - PS2s have harder sidewall in comparison, so you can keep lower tyre pressures, with PS4s you need to add a little bit - otherwise you loose a lot of steering feel. Very very good tyre.
Helpful 72 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2020
Given 70% while driving a Nissan 370Z (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced the RE050A on my car. Initially it was very similar to the RE050A until driven these on the tracks. Definitely better dry grip, better feedback and better initial turn in than the bridgestone. Would say not as sticky as the PSS replacing these PS2, but I like the linear feedback during turns from these tyres. The PS2 on my car didn't perform well in wet, felt wet grip was lacking. They were also noisier than the RE050A and had a harsher ride. These tyres lasted around 24ks on my car, no complain.
Helpful 64 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2019
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (265/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
New pair of Pilot Sport 2 265/35/18 replaced rear Pilot Sport 4 same size. PS2's have lost of grip on dry and wet plus very good response. On sporty mode feels very good as well, however not so much as great Pilot Super Sport which replaced PS2. Unfortunately manufacturer does offer PSS in size of 265/35/18.
Have driven 2000 miles on PS2 so far, they are very good tyres very good feel. On wear point of view it's too early to say not a lot of mileage. Hopefully they will last as long as PS4 before 27000 miles.
Helpful 64 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2019
Given 99% while driving a BMW 530i M sport (275/30 R19 W) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Best tires money can buy!! Exellent
Helpful 67 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2019
Given 77% while driving a Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I have had two sets of these with differing rear size though.
- Initial set 225/40 18 + 265/35 18
- second set 225/40 18 + 285/30 18

The first set came with the car and did not have much life left. They were noisy, especially the rear tyres. Handling was good. The new set feels more comfortable and handling is at least as good as with the first set.

I can compare these to Michelin PSS and Potenza S02A. Comparing the Michelins the PS2 feel more linear and abrasive and PSS more rubbery. Herecy or not but my favorites are the S02A because they give more linear feel provide grip with lesser slip angle. They have the sharpest turn in and easiest (most predictable) transition to slide.
Helpful 63 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019
Given 94% while driving a Porsche Cayman (265/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Replaced Pirelli’s P zero Rossos , improvement in the dry. Very good tyre. Would recommend.
Helpful 70 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2018
Given 87% while driving a Porsche 987 Boxster S (235/40 R18 N) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
On a boxster s - best tyres you can buy - absolutely awesome for track days & fast road use
Helpful 92 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2017
Chevrolet (235/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
Only dry driving in the Middle East. Excellent grip and feel . No information on wear rate yet.
Helpful 60 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2017
Given 81% while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (265/35 R18 N) on mostly country roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Great tire. Had the N2's before these and PS2's are a huge improvement. On my 2001 Boxster I got 16000 miles on the rears, so I just ordered two. I love these.
I had the Perelli PZero's which I through away after a few thousand miles.
These handle extremely well. Haven't been in the rain much to make a comment.
Braking is awesome.
Helpful 65 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2017
Given 87% while driving a Porsche Boxter S (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I have had my Porsche Boxster 3.2S for 7 years and have always used these tyres. The mileage is now just under 60,000.
In pretty much every respect this is a fantastic car and a lot of that is down to how it handles, especially around bends but also on motorways and faster roads. I can't be that subjective because I have not tried the car on any other tyres but I think that a lot the driving enjoyment comes from having absolute faith in the tyres and the Michelin Pilot Sport 2 has always provided that. In every weather and temperature condition (apart from snow where the car is useless!) they stick like glue even under extreme provocation.

There has been the odd tiny sideways slip/slide around a wet roundabout but that may well be to do with oil on the road or something. I have had some pretty scary moments in other cars with different tyres, including a BMW M5 on Falken tyres, which may give you an indication of how spirited my driving can be and how good the Michelin tyres really are.

My only two complaints are cost and wear - If I get 10,000 - 12,000 miles out of the rear tyres I am doing well and I wear them right down to the in-built depth gauge without any noticeable impact on performance. They are also the most expensive tyre option for my car which until recently had a fairly low choice because I want the same tyres all round and it has different size front and back tyres. The choice has increased a lot over the years and so now the cheapest branded option I can get are Toyo Proxes T1 sport which are not far off half the price, e.g. feb 2017 Michelins all round cost £844 but Toyos cost £490. I may well try them next "just to see"!
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2017