Porsche 997 911 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Porsche 997 911.

Do you Drive a Porsche 997 911? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 997 911 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (96) 93% 89% 87% 89% 85% 85%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (135) 95% 85% 89% 86% 83% 82%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (26) 85% 88% 90% 82% 82% 88%
Falken Azenis FK510 (123) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Michelin Pilot Sport (41) 92% 82% 86% 81% 73% 75%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Porsche 997 911 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport given 71% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
These came N rated on my 2011 911 (2019 manufacture) and they grip well when warm but would say very noise tyre for Michelin. I would go with PS4S or PS4 next time round. It feels like a tyre from an older generation.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-04 17:12:49
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 46% (295-30-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I recently purchased the Falken Azenis FK510 for my 997 in stock 19" sizes (235/35/19 and 295/30/19). Pros: Good grip at speeds below 60km/h, very strong in wet conditions/standing water, and decent price. The comfort and noise is good as well, with a more relaxed feeling on the road. Cons: Very very soft sidewall - there is a delay when turning the wheel at higher speeds >70kmh. This is most apparent when steering side to side (left and then right like a slalom). The car feels very loose. The steering response is also delayed as a result. The tires sqirm under load when hard braking as well, worse if you are turning. On the highway >100kmh there is a cross-wind type movement in the car. None of this happened on my old sets (PS2 and RE050A). The sidewalls ruin this tire for me. They feel similar to the Blizzak sidewalls. I had the Potenza RE050A (N1) and they were very stiff with great grip and response. These FK510 feel like all-seasons at higher speeds at best.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-30 19:45:30
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 86% (305-30-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
Knock out. You get in and it drives like a new car.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-28 17:49:03
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 90% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
Not officially approved for Porsche but installed on later models. Brilliant wear, strong grip in dry, not so good in the wet. Compared to the last set of bridgestone (porsche approved) there is no comparison. Those lasted half the milage, did not perform as well. A little noisy, but overall brilliant - very confidence inspiring
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-06 22:44:07
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 86% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Just fitted the Kumho KU39s as fronts on my Porsche 997S. The Rears are Bridgestone Potenzas RE050As. The Kumhos were a replacement of Sunny SN3800s which I didnt like at all. The car now feels very balanced and is offering plenty of grip and feedback in the dry. The ride up front became very comfortable too. I also think that they suit the light front end of a 911. Very pleased would suggest the product to anybody who owns a 911 and does not want to spend big bucks yet wants a bargain tyre to fare almost equally with the big boys at half the price :))
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-27 02:51:16
Writing about the Sunny SN3800 given 32% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
I wanted to try these budget tyres to see how ''challenging'' they could be. I fitted them on my Porsche 997 Carrera S. The rears were Bridgestone RE050s. I really walked into this experiment with a positive head regardless of the negative comments I had read. I am a skilled race car driver in several skills so I welcomed any possible challenge. I basically thought to myself: 'How bad can they be? I'll make them go!' Just like medium performing racing tyres or rally tyres in my racing career in the past..
Ok, honestly for cruising around town they are very much ok, if you are a non demanding driver they roll fine. Even initial grip levels say on a roundabout they seem to be ok. Once you start though to push abovethe limit they tend to massively understeer and dont want to come back. Also the feedback is minimal to the point it could be dangerous for the everyday driver if he decides to step out of the tyre's 'comfort' zone. The steering wheel feels very light and I guess resistance must be minimal. I wanted to make myself stay with them but the 997s is too restrained and its handling characteristics are majorly spoiled. I have ordered another set of front tyres previously unknown to me the Kumhos KU39 and I am eager to test them and write a review within 2-3 weeks :)
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-13 02:52:12
Writing about the Pirelli Sottozero Serie II given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I have just fitted these tyres to my carrera to replace Michelin Pilot sport for the winter. I live in Beijing, cold dry winters. The morning temp in winter is usually minus 10 - 15. The Michelins are great in summer but in winter the car is almost undriveable, a lot of wheel spin braking terrible, ABS engaged as soon as you start to brake, even at low speeds.

The Pirellis are magic, awesome in all respects, braking is as good now as the summer and I haven't as yet managed to get them to lose traction and as well very quiet. I would highly recommend them to anyone, who has to drive in temps below 7 degrees C.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-19 11:16:01
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport given 99% (295-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Better than anything for the road. Wears really well too.
tyre reviewed on 2009-10-12 14:27:59
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 73% (295-35-19-W)
Driving on track for 1000 spirited miles
These were Porsches choice on the 19" wheels of the 911.

Can't really fault them as a road tyre, staggering amounts of grip (but then it was a 911!) in both the dry and wet.

Did a couple of trackdays on them and was very impressed. Fronts overheated but only after a lot of laps!
tyre reviewed on 2007-05-11 10:35:21
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre