Michelin Pilot Sport

The Michelin Pilot Sport is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 81%
Wear 73%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 78%

Tyre review data from 41 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 522,375 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport is ranked 22nd of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Pilot Sport
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Sport

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport

2021-01-14 - Hay I love and watch all your videos on YouTube ! And I have a question... I have Honda S2000 year 2000 (no traction control) how you compare Michelin Pilot Sport (v shape) to Michelin Pilot 4? France Summer tires, wet, dry, low temp (10 degrees), feedback and more... Thanks you very much 🙏🏼 Michael

The Pilot Sport 4 will have much better wet grip and higher levels of comfort, but I suspect the original Pilot Sport will feel better in dry handling.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Sport Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Nissan 2002 patrol (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 250 spirited miles
After checking out many reviews, I have Just had these fitted & without doubt the best £900 I've ever spent on a car! They totally live up to & justify the many good reviews I read. My car came fitted with Bridgestones & was very average to drive, I than fitted new Pirelli P Zero's, which were recommended to me, the quality of the drive improved & to be fair lasted 20k without trying to kill me once they became borderline legal. What a difference having the MSSP's on, every driving sense has become heightened & I can get all 334 BHP on the road without fearing spinning of it! Still early days yet, but will update once I have had them on for a year.
40 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2016   
Given 74% while driving a Nissan 200sx (225/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
These tyres are very good sport tyres and reduce any abs being driven quickly on turn in makes it fun to drive. When they are warm they perform much better but they wear very quickly, I went from 4mm to zero in 2000 miles watch out for your tracking.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2016   
Mazda (205/45 R16) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
Bought car with these tyres fitted. Remaining tread about 50 to 60%. So impressed after the first long drive on twisties, I bought another set for my wifes Audi replacing ContiMaxContact. The PS3s are quiet, responsive and solid underfoot, providing the driver with a high degree of confidence. Recommended.
2 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2016   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport Reviews

Given 69% while driving a Honda S2000 (225/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I bought the tires two years ago, I did 15,000 miles with them and they can do more. The thing I liked most about these tires was the feedback with the 2 ply side wall, Above 50 km they make noise. Above 25 degrees you grip a little better than a Pilot Sport 4. And below 10 degrees on a wet road a very, very dangerous tire !. The tire costs about twice as much as the Pilot 4 pilot but He is no twice as good. P. S tyrereviews The best tires site !
0 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2021   
Given 71% while driving a Porsche 997 911 (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
These came N rated on my 2011 911 (2019 manufacture) and they grip well when warm but would say very noise tyre for Michelin. I would go with PS4S or PS4 next time round. It feels like a tyre from an older generation.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 91% while driving a Vauxhall (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
so I bought these tyres to replay a set of Goodyears for the my Vauxhall Insignia Sports Tourer. I do a lot of mixed road driving and we also do a lot of long distance motorway driving to see family in Europe.

The grip on these tyres are great and never let me down. When the car is full with kids, bags and bikes on the roof its good to know that you have great tyres on. Climbing the mountains in France and Switzerland through the tight corners you feel the grip with no under or over steer.

Last April we were driving through Germany with a full car and it rained for two days straight. The substantial standing water on the motorways was dealt with with no dramas.

Shame that I think that they has stopped making this tyre so I have now just changed to a set of Super Sports.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2016   
Given 97% while driving a Audi A6 S line, LeMans 2.0 TDi 170 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I looked at a few sites that reviewed tyres and these came out top each time. I had 4 fitted last week and the last few days we have had a lot of rain. These grip so well compared to my last lot which were continentals. I would recommend these to anyone I'm well impressed.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2015   
Given 90% while driving a Vauxhall Astra VXR (235/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
having used high performance tyres for over 28yrs I can honestly say as a road tyre, the Michelin Pilot Sport is one of the best I've tried. It has fantastic dry grip, very good wet grip. Only downside is that because it is quite a soft compound, it won't last as long as some other cheaper harder compound brands, but what you lose inuk rage, you more than make up for in dry grip level. I'll be trying the michelin pilot sport cup + tyres next as they are more track focussed.

Well worth the money.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2014   
Given 84% while driving a BMW 320i Msport (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,600 spirited miles
Having bought the car with them fitted by the previous owner so i don't know how many miles they have done.My car is a 10'plate 320i M Sport,done only 26K miles,i've had it a year,don't do a lot of miles,for example since the 21stFeb i've done 3000miles,i don't drive like a hooligan,but i do like using the grip of the tyres,i can't honestly say they aren't any good,noisy?,well, yes they are a bit,best tyres for a three series?...well apparently it's Falken Azensis?,i'd say Continental sport contact,my M3 gripped like the preverbial limpet on these!
0 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2014   
Given 53% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.8 20VT 210BHP (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Im driving a Leon 1M 1.8T with 261BHP/395Nm and had these tyres on set of wheels I bought (OZ Ultraleggera). They are quite noisy and wet grip was dissappointing. Progressiveness is also very bad, i had these fitted at the back (front were Pilot Sport 3 tyres) and the lost grip whilst the front tyres still had grip. Dry grip is nice, but wet is dissappointing. I dont have them very long, so hard to comment on the Wear.

I have had better results with the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta tyres, which are very high on my list (also cheaper!)

Not recommended for me.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2014   
Given 54% while driving a Mercedes Benz SL500 (250/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 35,000 average miles
Overall a good tyre, that withstand very hot road temperatures and good on wet performance, but very noisy. 45000km done and the tyres are baked due to the desert temperature 50c, still lots of tread .
0 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2013   
Given 91% while driving a Jaguar XKR (285/30 R20 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Much better than the PZero's on my XK Jag
0 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2013   
Given 97% while driving a Lotus Elan M100 (205/50 R15 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
This tyre is no longer made, which is a pity... A truly excellent tyre which, in my opinion, was only bettered by the MXX2's originally fitted to the Lotus Elan SE, and the MXX3 replacements... The reasons for the 9's in the scoring. In combination with Exaltos on the rear the grip and feedback are terrific.

Will be really stuck for a replacement...
0 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a Toyota Altezza Beams (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 9,000 easy going miles
Had these tyres foe approximately 9000km. Found them to be excellent in the wet with the ability to channel water well. No serious wear as of yet. Pressure checked every 3-4 weeks. Only complaint is that the compound is soft and a small stone shaped like a triangle managed to accomodate itself into the compound and leaving a small hole after removal and it is quiet on smooth tar sealed roads but found it noiser when driving out in the open roads in N.Z where you have "metal" or "chipped" roads. The noise is noticeable, and many comments suggest that it is a quiet tyre but I felt some mid range Firestone would be on par with this noise level.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2012   
Given 69% while driving a Ford Focus RS Mk1 (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
These tyres were fitted to the rear of my car when I purchased it. They had been on the car since new and had done around 52000. I have subsequently done around 6000 miles on them since then, on the front of the car.

The tyres are good overall, however at the extremes of use definitely show their age. I found it surprisingly easy to spin the wheels in 2nd gear in warm dry conditions, and mid corner grip was not consisten. Normal day to day driving though the tyres were fine.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2011