Jaguar XKR Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Jaguar XKR.

Do you Drive a Jaguar XKR? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XKR better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (120) 93% 89% 86% 88% 83% 86%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (142) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (39) 89% 92% 87% 87% 79% 81%
Falken Azenis FK510 (134) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Michelin Pilot Sport (41) 92% 82% 86% 81% 73% 75%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (80) 86% 79% 79% 81% 76% 81%
Avon ZV7 (105) 85% 80% 74% 73% 67% 80%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Bridgestone Potenza S04 Pole Position (3) 90% 73% 73% 87% 40% 67%
Pirelli P Zero (140) 85% 70% 77% 73% 60% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (52) 84% 73% 74% 75% 64% 64%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (156) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67%
Hero Milanza HZ1 (20) 74% 53% 65% 61% 64% 59%
Bridgestone Potenza RE980AS (5) 84% 74% 83% 62% 62% 50%

Jaguar XKR Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 91% (255-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Night and day improvement from the stock Pirelli P Zeros. First off no more tramlining, which was bad enough with the PIrellis that I reduced the tyre pressure to the 28 comfort setting, which mitigated but didn't cure the issue.. Running the ZV7s at 34 PSI stock and no tramlining whatsoever. Secondly my XKR now feels like a Grand Tourer, much reduced road noise and noticeably more comfortable ride. Turned her from a cheap feeling harlot into a lady with a streak of flith. Lots of potholes in Wales and the access road to my house is more suited to a 4x4. Previously I'd be steering round the potholes and always having to be looking out for them on the road. Much more comfortable now and makes driving much less tiring without any twitchiness. Certainly seems to be much better and more assured in the wet, and more refined in the dry. Seem to warm up a lot faster than the PIrellis, though haven't noticed any difference in grip in the dry. One huge improvement however is a nice little squeal if you really push them. The Pirellis were grip, grip, grip ditch with no warning... The Avons you can tell when you are reaching the limits. It took me quite some time to decide which tyres to buy, including scouring the reviews and videos on this site. Two things made my mind up. Firstly the XKR has staggered wheels and all the bigger brands seem to chop their warranties in half for such. So that ruled out Michelins, Hankook Ventus ( which a friend recommended for their wet abilities... useful in Wales!) and several others. Dunlops are stock on the later XKRs and lots of people switch from them, or don't rate them. What made my mind up however was talking to a friend in the plod. He says their white fleet is contracted to Goodyear but they insist upon Avons for their pursuit cars as they're specifically designed for our climate, hence give them the edge over scroats in high powered cars. I figure noone else does more fast driving in the UK than them, rather than Southern Europe where most of the tyre tests seem to happen, so given a very reasonable price they were worth a shot. Seems like a good choice so far, will review again after a few thou.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-21 15:17:00
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 70% (285-30-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
On the upside lots of grip, rollover a penny and I could tell you whether it is heads or tails, it's the Jaguar specified OEM tyre for the early XKR and it does a good job. That is assuming the P Zero itself is the same as 25 years back, tech moves on and OEM tyres aren't necessarily the same as the same model aftermarket ones. On the downside road noise is loud enough to be distracting, it's about as comfortable as a hobnailed clog, seems to take some time to warm up and whilst cornering grip seems to be very good in the wet I'm less convinced about it's grip in acceleration. Wet roads result in lots of traction control under heavyish acceleration. Though no issues with braking. On the major downside... I cannot detect any advance warning that the limit of grip is approaching or reached. No squeal or feel, just grip, grip, grip, hedge. I'm currently running mine at the comfort setting of 28 psi as the XKR just doesn't feel like a GT car at normal recommended pressures. Ride is too harsh otherwise, tramlining too frequent to be an enjoyable. Though at 28psi I worry about potholes with those 20" rims on. I've just bought some 18" rims so will try something else on those, save the 20s and the Pzeros for a track day or two and put them back in when the weather warms up a bit. It is afterall a summer tyre. Note however that I live in rural Wales, so dry days come about one afternoon per year, the roads are often potholed and I probably haven't got the best out of the tyres in relatively cold conditions. However on motorway runs where you merely want an easy life the tramlining is an annoying issue. Reducing the pressure helps but doesn't eliminate this. You'd be hard pushed to reach the tyre's limits on back roads so long as they're warm, though on the sort of twisty A roads which epitomise much of Wales finding the limits results in a trip to the body shop after being assaulted by the undergrowth. So thus far it seems like a strange fit for a Grand Tourer but will add a review in the supposed summer to see whether it's merely not mong friendly.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-16 01:05:39
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
The best tyre, but little expensive compared with FALKEN FK510.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-18 20:11:49
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S04 Pole Position given 59% (285-30-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-09 07:17:53
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE980AS given 79% (305-30-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-09 07:16:14
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 47% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
No wet grip.Hydroplaning occurs, no feeling of ground contact.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-10 10:08:36
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 90% (275-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre. They tamed my 500+BHP rear wheel drive car. They do dry grip and wet grip in a manner that impresses just like a top tier tyre. I was expecting them to be really good, but they were better than that.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-22 20:00:09
Writing about the Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 given 89% (255-40-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Having used other makes of winter tyres on a variety of cars and finding only Sottozeros came in the size needed for my XKR was interested to see if the premium you pay for them is justified.

Very pleased to say it sure is as the grip you get in the wet is remarkable, stopping distances are very close to dry and even on ice you never feel like you aren't fully in control of the vehicle.

Have also used them on an XF Jaguar and as with the XK the grip and handling are both brilliant, no matter what the weather throws at you.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-16 09:40:35
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 58% (285-30-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 spirited miles
Fitted these on my XKR, 420bhp all through the rears. Good on noise and dry grip though prone to let go unpredictably in the wet. I pushed these hard and was pleased to get nearly 7500 miles out of them.
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-17 22:12:10
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 50% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
These were OEM on my new XK 5.0 in 2011. Lasted 18,000 on the front. Poor feel/feedback, wore unevenly and were quite noisy. Lost a lot of feel/grip in the wet. The 285/30 rears lasted 8,000 and were hopeless in the wet; poor traction and easily lost grip at the rear. Replaced with Pirelli P Zero's which are far superior; quieter; much better steering response, better ride, far better grip and responsiveness.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-18 14:41:03
Writing about the Nexen N3000 given 43% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 easy going miles
I think with these tyres it depends on the car you own. I have recently purchased a Jaguar XKR which has new N300 fitted. Even on the test drvie with dry roads acceleraring from a roundabout the back end let go and slid.

I have not had them on the car long but I personally have no confidence in these tyres for a poweful car and as such within a week of ownership they are coming off and to be replaced with eitherContinentals which are buy far the best tyres I have ever used or P Zeros
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-31 13:42:01
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 63% (285-30-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
These are very good tyres but not for a Jag!
I replaced the Bridgestones S001 which were fantastic (but out of stock..) and decided to go for the "best"... and more expensive Michelin SS
Though the grip is great, the tyres are REALLY NOISY!
Trust me, it's the first time that I hear road/tyre sound inside the car! It's very annoying!!!
The car had a great grip and handling anyway, so the extra grip is for track days only and not worth the trade off in comfort!
I wish I could have my Bridgestones back! They had a perfect balance between grip and comfort...
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-10 02:26:18
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre