SUV and 4x4 Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed suv and 4x4 winter ultra high performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Latitude Alpin 2 (3) 87% 100% 97% 100% 100% 100%
Continental Winter Contact TS 850 P SUV (4) 93% 85% 90% 83% 87% 100%
Nokian WR SUV 3 (17) 86% 81% 85% 84% 78% 88%
Nokian W RG2 SUV (7) 87% 84% 83% 83% 70% 89%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 4X4 (3) 87% 60% 63% 63% 67% 60%

SUV and 4x4 Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres with no reviews

Dunlop Winter Sport 5 SUV, Goodyear UltraGrip Performance SUV Gen 1, Goodyear UltraGrip SUV, Hankook Winter i cept evo 3 X, Hankook Winter i cept evo2 SUV, Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 SUV, Nexen Winguard Sport 2 SUV

SUV and 4x4 Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Continental Winter Contact TS 850 P SUV rated 88% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Evoque
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-21 12:16:20
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 SUV rated 100% while driving a Audi 3,0 tdi quattro sport
Driving on mostly town for 2000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-30 10:31:22
Nexen Winguard Sport 2 SUV rated 77% while driving a BMW X5 3.0d Sport
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
I have BMW X5 with R19 255/50 switched to Nexen Winguard Sport 2 s from Lassa Competus winter 2, the main difference are : Nexen is more comfortable and quieter, and the grip on snow/ice is better, but handling feel is more 'cheesee', i live in Latvia, so we have proper winter , average temp is minus -7c, -12c and in colder temps tyres feels batter than in warm temperatures because they is quite soft . For the price the grip is geat but do not expect them to be sporty. Could recommends this tires ? Yes but only in winter, not all season tyres. Downsides of both Nexen and Lassa is weight, little bit on heavy side.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-26 07:41:51
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance SUV Gen 1 rated 92% while driving a Citroën C5 Aircross 1.5 BlueHDI 130
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
This are nice tires. Exceptional good grip on wet roads and very good on snow too. On Ice road is controllable not perfect but probably only studded tires are. They are bit noisier on dry pavement but not too much. the only complain is they are bit too soft when temperature is above 7C
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-06 11:17:11
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 4X4 rated 29% while driving a BMW X5 3.0d Sport
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 average miles
Hi. First time tried this tyre, extremly noisy. Wet road/bit cold is very slippery. Dry is is excellent, but for winter this tyre is risk of life.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-13 13:19:03
Nokian WR SUV 3 rated 89% while driving a Toyota Hilux mk6 3.0
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
A very good tire, for normal winter driving at a very good price. Very good performance on dry and wet roads, have driven on motorways at high speeds with no problem on dry and wet. On compacted snow is also good, not the best but you would not have problems like getting stuck, also in deep fresh snow it is ok. it is slightly more intended for use on wet and dry roads at winter temperatures than on snow. have driven about 15.000km, and the is no visible signs of wear yet. For me is an excelent tire, even my Hilux is not a sporty car I can drive pretty fast in curves, and the Nokians WR SUV3 had always had high grip, especially being cheaper than other brands, and will surely buy again!
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-04 16:07:38
Michelin Latitude Alpin 2 rated 100% while driving a Mitsubishi Pajero
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
Great Winter tyre in all.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-28 14:56:50
Nokian WR SUV 3 rated 79% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover V8 Vogue
Driving on mostly motorways for 28000 average miles
DON’T JUST LOOK AT THE SCORE BUT READ THIS. Felt really good when first installed and ran well for 2 years and 28,000 mile then started to get vibration so took in to Bathwick Tyres for balancing who found delamination split in both rear tires on inside sidewalk. Split around decal line almost a third of the way around. Although I liked them I lost confidence and replaced them immediately with Pirelli Scorpion. When I sent images to Nordic Tyres as I thought they might be interested in having them shipped back to to investigate, their response was that it is due to long running under inflated. This is not true I check my tyres relatively regularly and in my experience under inflation leads to visible outside sidewall scuffing. Bought from TyreLeader So could be older stock. Those with same tyres beware.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-26 14:17:27
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 SUV rated 100% while driving a Citroën C5 Aircross 1.5 BlueHDI 130
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I can not believe that this tyres are not tested yet by any relevant tyre test comparison media! This is probably one of the best winter tyres for medium size SUV this days. Perfect on snow and slush, ice (I dont know, but probably excelant since I did not feel any ice struggling), very, very good braking on wet and snow. Excelent traction on snow (on steep snowy hills this tyre is like goat and this is very good tyre characteristic if you have 4x2 SUV), cornering on snow more than enough (50-55 mph) The noise level is very low (but I comment for my car which have excelent noise insulation anyway) RECOMMENDED 10/10
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-25 19:31:02
Nexen Winguard Sport 2 SUV rated 92% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
I needed a full set of winter tires and after some internet search, I chose these tires. After more than 5000 miles driven through dry, wet, snow and icy conditions I'm happy to say that I made the right choice, buying NEXEN. I had the opportunity to drive through 5 inches of fresh snow which later became ice and was surprised to have the full control of the steering all time, sometimes the car safety systems helped but nothing critical or scary. Definitely would purchase again this brand.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-28 02:09:08
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 SUV rated 84% while driving a Hyundai Terracan
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
I bought these tires for my Hyundai Terracan. I only had All Season tires before, and driving in the winter wasn't so good when it snowed heavily, especially when it came to braking. These changed things significantly, as snow performance and snow braking are much better. Even in heavy snow I never had any problems,despite them not being designed for the off-road.

Dry performance is similar to that of the All Seasons, only in wet they are a bit lacking in feedback. Even so, they provide a good sense of safety. Comfort is also very good, there is no extra noise in the cabin. Apart from the feedback, the only other minor issue is some rolling resistance (subjective, not thoroughly tested), however I still recommend them, and I would buy again as the price was good.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-27 15:58:20
Michelin Latitude Alpin 2 rated 96% while driving a
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Fitted on a 4x4 Range Rover evoque, a 2wd Renault megane and a 4x4 Ford ranger and a 2wd Ford transit, - living in the mountains (pyranees) regular drives up and down long climbs with 10%+ inclines, tight hairpin turns etc. The best snow tyres on the market, faultless.

The purpose of a winter tyre is maximum grip/saftey in adverse condtions, get to a destination safely, in snowy, slushy, icey conditons - all tyres are capable enough in generally wet or dry roads.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-18 19:55:43
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre