SUV and 4x4 Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed suv and 4x4 winter ultra high performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Latitude Alpin 2 (5) 84% 100% 92% 96% 94% 96%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance SUV Gen 1 (3) 90% 95% 90% 85% 95% 95%
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 SUV (6) 90% 85% 72% 84% 88% 75%
Nokian WR SUV 3 (17) 86% 81% 85% 84% 78% 88%
Nokian W RG2 SUV (7) 87% 84% 83% 83% 70% 89%
Continental Winter Contact TS 850 P SUV (5) 92% 80% 90% 86% 90% 96%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 4X4 (3) 87% 60% 63% 63% 67% 60%

SUV and 4x4 Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres with no reviews

Dunlop Winter Sport 5 SUV, Goodyear UltraGrip SUV, Hankook Winter i cept evo 3 X, Hankook Winter i cept evo2 SUV, Nexen Winguard Sport 2 SUV

SUV and 4x4 Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Continental Winter Contact TS 850 P SUV rated 79% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLS 500 bi turbo
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
I have had the Conti's for 4-5 years on all my cars (high powered SUVs) both 235/65/17 as well as 265/55/19 in XL. The only positive is that they are truly balanced across all dimensions and adequate performers for both dry, wet (although lousy aquaplaning) with worst performance (but still ok if you are careful) on snow and winter slush. On the other side would love to change them but have not found a better performer (in all categories) and especially better in aquaplaning and winter slush. I strongly differentiate between snow tires and winter tires. Snow tires are winter tires but not all winter tires are snow tires. When I go skiing I mount a totally different set of tires (from another manufacturer). The Conti's are outstanding in terms of their durability. Heavy driving in mixed conditions and with SUVs weighing between 2800 and 3500 kg. 25'000 km and only used 3 mm of tread (6.5 left) although I never run winter tires under 4mm. ,With no other alternative (although I am testing some tires selectively will probably also buy them next time.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-15 10:12:35
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 SUV rated 83% while driving a Volkswagen
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-07 16:51:35
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 SUV rated 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLE 250d 4Matic
Driving on mostly motorways for 18000 average miles
25.000 km on them: the best winter tyres I got so far. Handling very good and comfort very hight. Wear low. Michelin's name is here maintained.
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-01 09:40:58
Hankook Winter i cept evo 3 X rated 84% while driving a Peugeot 3008
Driving on a combination of roads for 1800 easy going miles
Excellent snow tire, tried on fresh snow >20cm, no issues, compact snow no issues, heavy wet snow no issues. Really awesome performance. Great braking, under control and same for traction. No complaints here. On dry and warm days >13c (we have a warm winter), tire started feeling too soft which is expected. Below 4c dry or wet is coming alive as different tire. Believe behaves better on wet than dry on low temperatures and between 0-5c deff better than my summer primacy 4. Comfort similar to primacy 4, no major differences, sounds etc. Road feedback, just above average. Wear is still too early to comment but after 3k KM looks like new. Would deff buy again, were 100e in total cheaper than goodyear/bridgestone/michelin/conti. Great value for money.
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-04 20:07:46
Michelin Latitude Alpin 2 rated 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML350
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Excelent tyre for all kind of situations. Highly recommended! I live hi up in mountains and the roads are full of snow and ice all winter season. The ride is always comfortable, safe and fun with this kind of tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-11 20:04:24
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 SUV rated 86% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC
Driving on mostly country roads for 23000 average miles
The best regarding wear: 37000km, still have 4.5mm, so I can begin my third winter season with the same tyres. I tried several brands and never had such good results. Regarding the snow grip, I find these tyres are really extremely efficient and safe untill you reach the limit speed of their grip where they slip very frankly. When the snow is very hard and frozen, this point is reached @65km/h with my Honda CRV. The sensation is the exact opposite of Nokian WR SUV 4, very slippy on low speed curves and very effective in higher speed snowy roads.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-28 15:38:55
Michelin Latitude Alpin 2 rated 84% while driving a Volkswagen Amarok permanent 4x4
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have been using these tires for a couple of winters on my 3.0 lt Amarok. Typical Michelins… very correct tires with low wear rate. I ve been doing tire development in the past and rallied internationally for 35 years. I have competed in 30 winter rallies. Tires are always a compromise. These could possibly be a little better on dry cold conditions ( they are good but could be even better), they are excellent on the wet and they are working very well on winter conditions ( snow, ice, mixed etc ) You don’t get any unpleasant surprises and they wear out fine as a winter tire. All winter tires get noticeably less grippy the second winter and deteriorate the third one.The compound gets harder every summer left on the store. The LA2 is a very good and honest tire for Central and Southern European ( alpine ) climates. I just ordered one set as I heard the model will probably change in the near future.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-06 23:07:34
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance SUV Gen 1 rated 91% while driving a Hyundai Tucson
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Had these on for 2 winters, now on the third. I like going on various mild trails so I was looking for a tyre that can handle some snow and mud. I am very pleased about the performance in these conditions. The 4x4 system on the car is not excellent but combined with these tyres it handles snow and mud very well. There have been some situations where to climb a hill I needed some momentum, but keep in mind that I'm talking about a very bad road and a steep incline with a combination of snow and mud. I think the next step would only be with more aggressive offroad tires. In regards to ice, I haven't had the chance to test them too much, but with a bit of attention, they handled it very well. Lots of other cars were going for chains (which I didn't have) or struggled on this icy road that I could climb without much drama. Regarding the dry and wet performance, I don't have that much time to swap these when the first snow comes, so I have them on my car for about 4-6 months each year in temperatures ranging from +15C to -20C. On both dry and wet asphalt I can feel a bit less traction than on the summer tyres (Continental PremiumContact 5), but only in spirited driving. I don't have any problems with aquaplaning and in regular use or for someone that doesn't know which tyres are fitted you don't notice any difference from the summer ones. The car is about 1600kgs empty or somewhere around 1800kgs loaded and handling is more than adequate. In terms of wear, I think I have somewhere around 20-30k km on them and they are in good shape. I don't notice any dropoff in performance yet. I think they can go 30-50k km more, but can't say for sure right now. I didn't notice any excessive noise and they are precise even at highway speeds. Overall I find them as a very good option for offroad performance in mud and snow, while trading off very little performance on asphalt that for most people won't even be noticeable.
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-06 14:50:49
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 SUV rated 88% while driving a Audi 2.0tdi 177 sline sportback
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Love these tyres , bought them on 3 separate occasions. I need a reliable car no matter what the weather, as I live in Scotland and do 15k miles a year for work. These tyres are also superb in the rain so I tend to leave them on till mid April and swap again mid September. Comfortable tyres , not noisy. Have to be changed in Summer as noticeably less grip and spongy in warmer weather.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-25 18:34:12
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 SUV rated 59% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLE300
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
Noise level too high
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-18 23:10:49
Hankook Winter i cept evo 3 X rated 85% while driving a Ford
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-09 16:02:26
Continental Winter Contact TS 850 P SUV rated 88% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Evoque
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-21 13:16:20
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre