Nokian WR SUV 3

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 84%
Wear 78%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 72%
Snow Grip 85%
Ice Grip 80%

The Nokian WR SUV 3 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4

This tyre has been replaced by the Nokian WR SUV 4

Show All

Tyre review data from 17 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 145,000 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2018 AZ SUV Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 9 tyres

  • Overall - A third place for Nokian thanks you balanced and consistent results.

2016 AutoBild 4x4 Winter Tyre Test - 7th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance, good levels of comfort, short braking distances on dry roads, good aquaplaning results
  • Negative - Average grip in snow, average cornering grip in the wet and dry

2015 Auto Bild SUV Winter Tyre Test - 6th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Very good in aquaplaning tests, short braking distances in the dry
  • Negative - Average steering precision, average ride comfort, long wet braking, expensive
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/65 R16 102H   C C 72  
235/70 R16 106H   C C 72  
265/70 R16 112H   C C 73  
235/55 R17 103H   C B 72  
215/60 R17 100H   C C 72  
225/60 R17 103H   C C 72  
215/65 R17 103H   C B 72  
225/65 R17 106H   C C 72  
245/65 R17 111H   C C 72  
265/65 R17 116H   B C 73  
215/55 R18 99V   C C 72  
235/55 R18 104H   C C 72  
235/60 R18 107V   C C 72  
245/60 R18 105H   C B 72  
295/40 R20 110V   C C 75  
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Nokian WR SUV 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
215/65 R16 £88.60 - £90.80 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £124.10 - £127.10 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/60 R18 £113.30 - £116.10 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 27 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nokian WR SUV 3 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML350 (270/40 R21) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
I've just put these on my Mercedes ML350 and managed to catch the first of the Scottish snow. So far I'm very impressed with all aspects of the tyres. In around 3cm of snow they were fantastic and gave me the assurance I'd decent rubber between me and the road. As the snow melted at the lower levels they were really good on the slush/rain and the drive was very comfortable. I fell the value and quality of these tyres is well worth this review, I'm sticking the WR D4 on my wife's C class next week let's hope they are as good as the latest WR SUV 3.
51 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2015   
Given 49% while driving a Volvo XC90 4.4l 7p 450hp (235/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I was always of high opinion of Nokian tyres and the only thing that deterred my buying them was that they are Made in Russia, which overall is an issue and especially when Russia is under embargo with the rest of the world. However when changing tyres I gave them a try regardless of the production location. Overall the impressions are positive although not overwhelming. I would continue using them for snow and ice conditions however my Goodyear SUV and Dunlop Wintersport M3 tyres are far better for sluch and aquaplaning both in terms of driving stability and breaking as well as latidunal dynamics. You can't have it all in winter tyres. HOWEVER after one season (not even entire) I decided to discontinue using Nokian tyres due to the fact that the tyre blew on me (exploded) when driving at autobahn speeds of 160 km/h. It could happen to any tyre but with over 1 million km I have driven it never happended and especially not on the side of the tyre showing to rather poor quality production than a fault of usage. I will never know the true reason for what happened but my initial thinking of the location of production will remain with me hence sorry Nokian, I gave you a chance, but I will never reconsider and risk the life of my family with your tyres again, at least not until you produce them in state of the art premises. Dear User - take your own decision at your own risk but be forwarned.
15 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2016   
Given 79% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I put the WR3 SUV tyres on this weekend. Today I went round a damp bend, 7 degrees C, at the same speed as last week. I experienced serious under steer, followed by the rear loosing traction. Fortunately, no accident took place...

The problem I have is that last week I had no issues driving this bend, at the same speed, on a damp road, unknowingly on tyres with 2mm of tread. No understeer, no back end stepping out, no drama.

I bought these tyres based on the Nokian site stating the WR3 SUV was the first double AA SUV winter tyre, and from the positive feedback from this site.

When the tyres were fitted I discovered the WR3 SUV were rated C C, not A A as advertised on their web site.

I will not use this site for feedback again, or trust manufacturer web sites...
15 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2015   
Have you driven on the Nokian WR SUV 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WR SUV 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nokian WR SUV 3 >

Latest Nokian WR SUV 3 Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Toyota Hilux mk6 3.0 (265/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
A very good tire, for normal winter driving at a very good price. Very good performance on dry and wet roads, have driven on motorways at high speeds with no problem on dry and wet. On compacted snow is also good, not the best but you would not have problems like getting stuck, also in deep fresh snow it is ok. it is slightly more intended for use on wet and dry roads at winter temperatures than on snow. have driven about 15.000km, and the is no visible signs of wear yet. For me is an excelent tire, even my Hilux is not a sporty car I can drive pretty fast in curves, and the Nokians WR SUV3 had always had high grip, especially being cheaper than other brands, and will surely buy again!
0 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover V8 Vogue (255/50 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 28,000 average miles
DON’T JUST LOOK AT THE SCORE BUT READ THIS. Felt really good when first installed and ran well for 2 years and 28,000 mile then started to get vibration so took in to Bathwick Tyres for balancing who found delamination split in both rear tires on inside sidewalk. Split around decal line almost a third of the way around. Although I liked them I lost confidence and replaced them immediately with Pirelli Scorpion. When I sent images to Nordic Tyres as I thought they might be interested in having them shipped back to to investigate, their response was that it is due to long running under inflated. This is not true I check my tyres relatively regularly and in my experience under inflation leads to visible outside sidewall scuffing. Bought from TyreLeader So could be older stock. Those with same tyres beware.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2019   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 69% while driving a Mazda CX7 (235/60 R18 H) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Good tyre for general use. Excellent in winter, average on wet roads, good for aquaplaning. They at first wear quite fast, but as they age they become harder and wear less. With aging they perform worse on wet roads. After three winters an one summer they currently have 4mm of tread, but they are not safe for drive on wet roads. With 4mm tread aquaplaning resistance still quite high. Good value for the money paid, will buy again.
6 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2018   
Given 97% while driving a Volvo XC60 (235/60 R18 H) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
I love these tyres. I know I haven't been using them for long, but every kilometer I passed with them was really good. Wet and dry performance is better than I expected ( this is the first time I am using Nokian ). They perform excellent in wet surface with soggy foliage.
We expect some snow this year, so I am truly eager to give them a try in more severe conditions ( -5°C/ -10°C and snow )
Will let you know how the tyres perform. I expect pure excellence since they were made for this kind of situation.
Tyre wear was not assessed this time.

First impression : I recommend Nokian SUV 3 and will most probably buy them again.
4 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2017   
Given 49% while driving a Volvo XC90 4.4l 7p 450hp (235/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I was always of high opinion of Nokian tyres and the only thing that deterred my buying them was that they are Made in Russia, which overall is an issue and especially when Russia is under embargo with the rest of the world. However when changing tyres I gave them a try regardless of the production location. Overall the impressions are positive although not overwhelming. I would continue using them for snow and ice conditions however my Goodyear SUV and Dunlop Wintersport M3 tyres are far better for sluch and aquaplaning both in terms of driving stability and breaking as well as latidunal dynamics. You can't have it all in winter tyres. HOWEVER after one season (not even entire) I decided to discontinue using Nokian tyres due to the fact that the tyre blew on me (exploded) when driving at autobahn speeds of 160 km/h. It could happen to any tyre but with over 1 million km I have driven it never happended and especially not on the side of the tyre showing to rather poor quality production than a fault of usage. I will never know the true reason for what happened but my initial thinking of the location of production will remain with me hence sorry Nokian, I gave you a chance, but I will never reconsider and risk the life of my family with your tyres again, at least not until you produce them in state of the art premises. Dear User - take your own decision at your own risk but be forwarned.
15 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2016   
Given 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML350 (270/40 R21) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
I've just put these on my Mercedes ML350 and managed to catch the first of the Scottish snow. So far I'm very impressed with all aspects of the tyres. In around 3cm of snow they were fantastic and gave me the assurance I'd decent rubber between me and the road. As the snow melted at the lower levels they were really good on the slush/rain and the drive was very comfortable. I fell the value and quality of these tyres is well worth this review, I'm sticking the WR D4 on my wife's C class next week let's hope they are as good as the latest WR SUV 3.
51 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2015   
Given 86% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
I put this tyres for the first time two years ago in my Nissan Qashqai+2. I used the WR G2 SUV before and was not really pleased with them. On the contrary, the WR 3 SUV are fantastic. Very good in dry and wet surfaces and really confident in 2-3 cm snow or slush. They lasted for 40.000 km which is very good taking into account that I use them in summer in Spain as well (Basque Country which has a similar summer weather as UK, only a litte warmer). I used them last year again and I am changing them now with 45.000 km (a little on the edge...) for the same tyre again.

I recommend it for people that usually go to ski resorts as they have never failed me (never used/needed chains since I got them)
4 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2015   
Given 79% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I put the WR3 SUV tyres on this weekend. Today I went round a damp bend, 7 degrees C, at the same speed as last week. I experienced serious under steer, followed by the rear loosing traction. Fortunately, no accident took place...

The problem I have is that last week I had no issues driving this bend, at the same speed, on a damp road, unknowingly on tyres with 2mm of tread. No understeer, no back end stepping out, no drama.

I bought these tyres based on the Nokian site stating the WR3 SUV was the first double AA SUV winter tyre, and from the positive feedback from this site.

When the tyres were fitted I discovered the WR3 SUV were rated C C, not A A as advertised on their web site.

I will not use this site for feedback again, or trust manufacturer web sites...
15 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2015   
Given 46% while driving a Audi A6 Allroad 3.0 TDI (235/55 R18 H) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
I've recently had a full set fitted to my 2013 A6 Allroad.

Having covered around 1500 miles in mostly damp and wet conditions on UK roads I am very disappointed in the levels of wet grip offered by these tyres. Indeed I am considering changing these tyres for another brand altogether.

I find I'm loosing traction on wet surfaces, lateral grip is non existent and braking can often results in activation of ABS - something I never expected to happen from a tyre that is rated as being best in class for wet weather handling.

I have scanned my car for faults (primarily ESP/ABS) and none are reported. I regularly drive on tracks with a prepared course car and understand how grip and braking should function with the correct setup.

My previous OE fit tyres (Michelin Primacy 3) performed extremely well in wet conditions but being low on tread I decided to make the switch to Winters in preparation for the colder weather we're set to endure. Current temps are circa 12-16 degrees C and the Michelin performed in those conditions. I cannot find any data to suggest the Nokian product isn't suited to this temperature range but even then I would expect a level of grip be maintained.

I will be contacting Nokian direct to voice my concerns. Having spent over £450 for tyres that were marketed as being best in class for winter, wet weather and snow I am so far finding that claim for at least one of those traits to be incorrect.

I bought the tyres from Tyreleader in Germany and all four were new, I really don't understand why I'm having such a poor experience from what was an informed choice through reviews and other media.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2015   

See all 16 customer reviews of the Nokian WR SUV 3 (newest first) >>