Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme

The Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme is a High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 78%
Wear 83%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 97%
Snow Grip 80%
Ice Grip 70%

Tyre review data from 44 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 465,283 miles driven.

The Wintrac 4 Extreme is ranked 4th of 6 Winter High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2011 Auto Bild 4x4 Winter Tyre Test - 7th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Very low rolling resistance, short braking on snow, good aquaplaning.
  • Negative - Long stopping distances on wet roads, poor wet cornering, high noise.
View Full Test >>

2011 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2011 Auto Bild 4x4 Winter Tyre Test (255/55 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    0/0 R0 0         15.38kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme

    2016-05-16 - 1. Are these tyres OK to Use all year round or will they wear excessively? - size 255/50 R20 on Range Rover TDV8 2011 2. Do I set the same tyre pressures as recommended by Land Rover for the Standard Summer tyres?

    It is not recommended you run the Vredestein Wintrac 4 xtreme year round. While they wouldn't fail in the summer months, you will notice higher wear, and up to 20% longer dry braking distances than summer tyres. You would run the recommended Land Rover pressures for these tyres, however you might find a few extra PSI would give you more stability on such a heavy vehicle.


    2016-10-13 - I have the opportunity to purchase 4 new 17" Audi wheels for my 2016 Audi Q3 Prestige Quattro. Would these be good tires for these and do I have to purchase new TPMS sensors for all of the wheels. I run 19" Contnentals for summer driving, but West Virginia winters are brutal.

    In recent years Vredestein winter tyres have not performed well in tyre tests. We recommend looking at winter products from Continental, Michelin or Goodyear.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme Reviews

    Given 73% while driving a Volkswagen Touareg (275/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    First 4WD in a while and I decided to treat it to a set of winter tyres, general these go on in November and off again in late March/April, living in Norfolk we don't have a lot of snow but the last two winters certainly gave them a work out, winter 13/14 we've hardly seen any frost but it's hardly been above 10'c either.

    Cold wet and greasy roads they are brilliant, inspiring confidence, in the snow and ice they are just staggering our neighbour with a disco 4 with all the gismos and 1/2 warn Pireli Scorpian Zero's had to accept to tow from me when the hill up to their farm firstly froze over and then had 10" of snow on it.... he now has Wintracs for the winter but we have really them yet this year :-((

    One word of warning they are not that good in mud.... when new with 8mm they were very good but now down to about 4mm they filled with clay amd tuned in to roller skates !!

    Overall, I will buy again and have also put on wife's car.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2014
    Given 78% while driving a Mercedes Benz GL320 CDI (265/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 31,000 average miles
    The tyres are very good throughout winter working well in all weather conditions. They can seem a bit vague on a dry road however makeup for this with good wet, snow and ice grip. The tyres also work well doing some minor off-roading. Last for a long time I do a lot of driving and the tyres wear very slowly. Have been using this model of tyre since I bought my car in 2008 during the winter.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP (235/65 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
    Best tyre so far in our experience, much safer than the summer Continental Uhps on the car from new, which only lasted 17000 miles. These Vredesteins grip very well in winter conditions, have done more than 20,000 miles and still have more than 4mms tread on all tyres.We have had no problems with them, even using them in spring and autumn, but obviously avoiding spells of warm weather, when the tyres soften and consequently do not handle as well.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2017
    Have you driven on the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme >

    Latest Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 3 (255/55 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
    Used all the time since December 2009. first set lasted 45000 miles+, next set lasted 68000 miles, 2 replaced after another 52000. Just about to put two more on - odometer now reads 256746.
    As another said when less than 4mm - not good on clay based mud.
    excellent in this 17/18 winter.
    Launching heavy boat on Cornish granite beach - you could make a plaster cast from the tread pattern - sharp - no sign of any slippage.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2018
    Given 93% while driving a Audi A8 (255/45 R19) on mostly motorways for 35,000 average miles
    4mm tread and driven 22,000 miles compared to Dunlop's originally fitted to Audi A8 which were changed at 17,500 miles. I have used these tyres for 5 years on several cars covering around 35,000 miles pa. I cannot recommend enough and do not understand why winter tyres are not made compulsory in the UK.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2016
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 86% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/60 R18 H) on a combination of roads for 33 easy going miles
    Had these on two Freelander 2 vehicles.
    Initially used November to end of April for rural UK and long distance trips to the European Alps.
    While new....:-
    Deep fresh snow performance was excellent. Fresh snow ontop of frozen sluch/ice combination was very good, vehicle feeling secure and stable in corners. Able to come to a halt on a 1 in 3 hill in these conditions without sliding.
    Frosty mornings with ice and dusting of snow no problems.
    Deeep unexpected water hit at 66 MPH did resut in aquaplaning on one occaision, but backing off by 10MPH resulted in no more drama.

    One worn down to 4mm the snow performance tailed off significantly this last winter. This is the Austrian miminum tread depth allowed for winter use as a winter tryre. Quite sensible from my experience. I have however run them during the summer to finish them off. They have done 33,000 miles and still have about 3mm left so wear rate with careful driving is exemplary. Throughout their use they have been quiet on the road. All things being equal I would have replaced like with like, but 7 years on, new compounds and tyre research may have improvedthe performance of other makes. Oh and fuel consumption is the same as with the standard fit M&S from Land Rover.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2015
    Given 91% while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (225/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 238 spirited miles
    I have a Volvo S80 SE on a 53 plate which I have had from new I have done 238,000 miles mostly done with the Wintrac extreme tyres. They are the only tyre that the car feels really safe with, the only time I have been beaten is when the snow has been too deep! I have got to places that I thought I would only have got to in a 4X4. I have even been told by a number of Volvo mechanics that mine is the best handling Volvo they have driven! I live where the Jim Clark rally is held and our roads are full of pot holes or mini graters and the car has never let me down. ps it still has the original engine and gearbox (auto)
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2014
    Given 98% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/65 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
    Just had the Vredestein's fitted plus I had the tyres inflated with Nitrogen rather than the usual air. Back to back with the Pirellis I had on originally, the grip levels are staggering. I'm still scrubbing them in yet, but on a mixture of extremely cold, greasy & damp lanes they simply stick! I'll report back on the progressiveness & wear when I've had chance to seek out some snow at the weekend.

    Other observations:
    Steering is a little lighter, but more communicative.
    Comfort: Smoother riding and a lot less bumping around. Not sure whether that's the Nitrogen?
    Noise: Lovely and quiet, again, not sure whether the Nitrogen is a contributing factor.

    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2013
    Given 96% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Bought these for my Freelander as my Pirellis were down to 3mm and were lethal in the ice and snow. The Vreds as a winter tyre were a revelation. Completely unstoppable when paired with a 4 x 4 and make you feel safe and secure even in 12 inches of snow. Can't wait to put them on again in a few weeks time. Highly recommended.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2013
    Given 90% while driving a Lexus GS450h (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
    My wifes car was undriveable in even the lightest covering of snow on the standard summer tyres. Fitting a set of winter tyres (with a second set of wheels) has transformed the car. I cannot speak too highly about these Vredsteins. They have lovely driving manners and are a must for all performance cars partcularly rear wheel drive only.

    I have now bought a set for my Jeep Grand Cherokee which was a good performer on the standard Goodyear All weather mud and snow tyres. I now reckon it wouldn't just get you to the ski slopes it would drive up them!

    It isnt just the way they keep a vehicle moving it is the incredibly improved stopping distances even at low speeds they can take metres of stopping distances.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2013
    Given 87% while driving a Renault Espace MKIV DCI (225/55 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
    I don't really need to say much about these tyres except this: with them fitted you will be able to leave all other cars, including 4x4's, driving on summer tyres (which is most of them), in your wake on snow and ice. I will never drive again from Nov. until March without these on my front axle. (Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons on rear). Extremely impressive and no, I do not work for Vredestein. They might offer me something if they read this though!
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2013
    Given 83% while driving a Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 19,500 average miles
    I'm on my second set on my XC90 & just about to fit to my new VW California.
    The first set went on in Nov'10 went the country stopped due to snow, 19.5K ago..!! I drive to Sweden 2 times a year. Your 4X4 is only as good as the tyres you use. With the high silica content they get quite hot and sticky in summer (so max of a week) and in the summer rains when the roads become shippery with road grease they are the best.

    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2012
    Given 87% while driving a BMW X5 (235/65 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    Getting my second set fitted this week, having run the last set from November '10 to March '11 and Sept '11 through to July '12. Total mileage over this period has been c.20k, and temps have ranged from -18 up to 22+ deg C.

    As my daily drive is a round trip of 100 miles over the Peak District, with regular trips down to London/south Wales, I see a combination of country lanes, A-road, dual carriageway and motorway's in varying states of repair and surface conditions.

    The tyres were excellent in temps below 2 deg, where there was a risk of ice. Stopping distances were dramatically reduced, general grip and cornering was superb both on the flat and on slopes. Control was still there when the ABS kicked in on icy roads. On unploughed roads, (5-6" snow covering) the grip was not in question, and the driver gave up before the car. They also had a significant impact in wet/muddy conditions, being able to get the vehicle up and out of sloped fields.

    There was a noticed feel of instability when temps got over 10-15 deg C, with them feeling a little 'squirrely' at motorway speeds. There was not enough to lose confidence in the tyre, just that they were not as planted as the summer tyres, (Cooper Zeon's on larger 19" rims), although a deeper tyre wall may have contributed to this feeling.

    Overall, given my inexperience with other winter tyre brands, the Vredestein is an excellent winter tyre that is more than capable for my needs. The tyre has gotten me out of a few predicaments, and the first drive back from the fitters' in the snow was like night and day.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2012
    Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 4 (255/55 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
    Driving off from the fitters I almost turned straight back to get them removed. It felt as though my air suspension had collapsed, the ride was so harsh and unforgiving. Even after 200 miles the tyres were still rather stiff and uncertain. After 2000 miles they are superb, especially when it is wet and cold, with great braking and good feedback. Above about 13C they feel a bit squidgy, so I'll be swapping them in April.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2012
    Given 89% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
    Just simply a great winter tire. Great in the wet the snow I would buy them again. YES. And they wear well too.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2012