Land Rover Discovery 4 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Discovery 4.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Discovery 4? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Discovery 4 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Zeon LTZ (3) 90% 83% 83% 83% 100% 90%
Cooper Zeon 4XS (7) 87% 89% 91% 80% 88% 91%
Pirelli Scorpion All Terrain Plus (13) 87% 87% 87% 80% 81% 90%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (21) 94% 84% 86% 82% 90% 89%
Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac (9) 81% 73% 81% 74% 92% 76%
Continental CrossContact ATR (5) 84% 74% 80% 78% 78% 80%
General Grabber AT3 (16) 83% 76% 77% 74% 85% 83%
Achilles Desert Hawk MT (1) 80% 70% 70% 70% 90% 70%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (34) 85% 77% 74% 78% 79% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (58) 81% 65% 75% 74% 75% 69%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero (15) 80% 67% 72% 65% 60% 70%
Nexen Roadian HT (8) 70% 70% 55% 63% 78% 49%

Land Rover Discovery 4 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental CrossContact ATR given 31% (255-55-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 27000 average miles
DO NOT BUY. CONTINENTAL DOES NOT STAND BEHIND WARRANTY. Tires lasted approximately 27k miles, very light, around the town driving. Called to complain about the lack of mileage and to ask about the 60k mile warranty. Was given the run around by Joe. Continental wants you to jump through hoops and to buy there tires again before they decide if they will prorate old tires. Side not, dealership who installed tires also contacted Continental and was given same runaround.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-30 15:32:07
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Zero given 90% (255-50-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 easy going miles
Excellent tyre for Land Rover Discovery 4..have used these tyres on my discovery for the last 5years..Excellent grip in all conditions.Good mileage per tyre 30-35 thousand miles barring any sidewall punctures..They are to my knowledge a 80% 20% on road off road grip..i regulary drive forest tracks and moorland during the year and coupled to the discovery off road capabilities they are excellent..also I can easily get up to 37 miles per gallon on a long road journey with the zeros..
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-19 09:17:35
Writing about the General Grabber AT3 given 82% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50000 easy going miles
Whilst these are a good mid range AT tyre they are notorious for wearing away the wheel rims at around the 50,000 mileage. This eventually reduces the strength of the rim and can cause hairline cracks and poor tyre seal giving slow punctures. Little can be done to rebuild the rims, so you're looking at new rims....very costly!
I won't be using Grabber AT3's again.....
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-14 11:52:50
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac given 92% (255-55-19-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 spirited miles
Fitted these to my Discovery 4 commercial and have done close to 40,000 miles over 18 months, excellent tyres on and off road and really come into their own in snow. They are now down to about 4 mill tread depth and will be replaced with another set ready for winter.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-30 22:28:27
Writing about the Achilles Desert Hawk MT given 78% (255-55-19-)
Driving on track for 20000 average miles
I have a set of dedicated off-road wheels with these Achilles Desert Hawke MT's fitted. Only fit these wheels when seriously going off road for the weekend etc. Therefore limited on-road time. A great off-road tyre; excellent mud and snow traction, great on rocks and ruts with good side wall traction. They bag out well on lower pressures substantially increasing flotation on sand. A compromise on the road due to the aggressive nature of the tread. They were very noisy when new but have quietened down significantly after 15,000kms. Dry traction good, wet traction not bad. Proven to be very durable (no punctures or side wall damage) and long wearing. As a dedicated off-road tyre, can highly recommend, particularly at their very reasonable price point. Will certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-06 07:40:25
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 42% (255-50-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
The wife recently put these on her Discovery 4.
Drove it today at 2 deg celsius with wet roads and a small amount of shallow standing water.
TERRIFYING.
I had a couple of moments with normal driving where I seriously thought I might end up rolling it.
The first just catching the edge of an old rubbed out white line, or similar, the second, more scary, on a drifting curve with just a few shallow patches of standing water, nasty little slide at 55mph.
Have driven for 40 years with all different types of rubber, mostly cheap to mid price and normally drive a 530d in reasonably spirited fashion in all weathers.
These are awful and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone, indeed I'm going to take them off even though they can have less than 2000 miles on them.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-16 10:37:39
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion All Terrain Plus given 91% (255-55-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Fantastic tyres, new model so hard to find dealer. Tested on Dartmoor, fantastic on ice & snow. Excellent grip when used off road.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-03 19:58:08
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 90% (255-55-19-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30 average miles
Goodyear Wrangler HPwith rim protection and extra load on my Disco 4 towing a caravan 7.37 metres lond and weighing just short of two tonnes. Tyres have covered 30,750 miles in all sorts of weather from scorching tarmac around Nice, France in mid summer to touring Scotland in not so clement weather. The tyres have performed brilliantly rarely needing air added when tyre pressure checked, they’re quiet to drive with little road noise above the Disco engine, they’re comfortable at speed and the wear quality has been first rate. Just ordered a set of replacement tyres Goodyear Wrangler HP of course from Blackcircles and looking forward to more pleasurable driving and towing.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-02 19:28:57
Writing about the Cooper Zeon LTZ given 94% (255-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 70000 spirited miles
Actually Cooper Zeno LTZ but that was not listed here. Excellent tyre, coming up for replacement now after 67000 km. The only drawback is limited availability (have to search around and/or order them). Not the cheapest tyre as a capital outlay, but over the life of the tyre works out good.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-01 05:28:23
Writing about the Nexen Roadian HT given 41% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 easy going miles
Simply dreadful. So noisy you might think you have a bearing failure. No bite and horrible under steer in the slightest conditions. Numb, noisy and uncomfortable. Do not buy.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-16 01:01:43
Writing about the Nexen Roadian HT given 37% (225-55-19-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 14000 easy going miles
Warning: do not buy Nexen tyres. By far the noisiest tyres that I have ever encountered. So bad, they convinced two Land Rover engineers that I needed new bearings. The garage had a third test drive when the supervisor spotted the tyres.
Now on Pirelli - peaceful and transformed.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-15 17:01:01
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 64% (225-55-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 easy going miles
These tires came new on my Discovery 4 HSE (3.0SD). I drive gently, mostly on highways with the occasional off road trip. The tires have done 40,000km without any problems or complaints and they still have 3.5-4mm tread left but they are now chipping right across the face on the front and have become noisy so time for replacement. I am looking at other brands, I probably wouldn't buy these again which is a pity as they worked quite well. I suspect other brands will provide better mileage and be less prone to chipping or flaking.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-11 06:07:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre