Land Rover Discovery 4 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Discovery 4.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Discovery 4? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Discovery 4 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Zeon LTZ (3) 90% 83% 83% 83% 100% 90%
Cooper Zeon 4XS (7) 87% 89% 91% 80% 88% 91%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Continental CrossContact ATR (6) 87% 78% 83% 82% 82% 83%
Pirelli Scorpion All Terrain Plus (18) 85% 84% 85% 79% 76% 87%
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (26) 91% 83% 84% 81% 85% 88%
Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac (11) 84% 73% 81% 77% 94% 73%
General Grabber AT3 (22) 86% 79% 80% 75% 87% 85%
Yokohama Geolandar AT G015 (28) 83% 79% 75% 76% 79% 86%
Achilles Desert Hawk MT (1) 80% 70% 70% 70% 90% 70%
BFGoodrich All Terrain TA KO2 (31) 85% 66% 72% 74% 86% 74%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (37) 82% 74% 74% 78% 78% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (65) 80% 65% 75% 74% 73% 69%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero All Season (11) 83% 69% 69% 65% 56% 76%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero (17) 79% 64% 71% 67% 59% 69%
Nexen Roadian HT (9) 70% 70% 57% 63% 74% 50%
Hankook Dynapro AT2 (4) 80% 70% 43% 53% 60% 60%

Land Rover Discovery 4 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar AT G015 given 66% (255-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Good AT/Mud tyres. Even with 3 mountain pikes with snowflake symbol on them, no good on snow due lack of lamells on blocks, no grip on ice becose no lamells and spikes.
Tyrewear is slow and hard enough on rocks not to worrie about sharp edges pierce them. Looks nice on LR4 with sidegrip treads.
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-24 02:50:44
Writing about the Hankook Dynapro AT2 given 61% (225-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I was talked to getting Hancock Dyna Pro AT2 tires from Bob Jane and I wish I'd never heard of them.
The tires have good traction and all the things that you desire, but the road noise from them in the cabin is just a terrible drumming noise that drives you nuts. I've driven about 40,000 km on it and enough is enough I can't stand it anymore.
I'll either go to Toyo's that I've had for years on our other vehicles or Pirelli's but not Hancook anymore.
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-13 19:29:52
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion ATR given 96% (255-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Feel very sure footed, very good in the wet, and amazing off road! It's a disco, so doesn't do speed really..
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-12 12:03:21
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Zero All Season given 76% (255-55-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
Always had these on my LR Disco 4, sure footed in the snow, only really average 15000-20000 miles a set, probably more down to stye of driving, poor roads and taking roundabouts too fast (edges wear rapidly, but rotate front to back after 8-10k)
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-09 07:50:05
Writing about the BFGoodrich All Terrain TA KO2 given 88% (245-75-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-31 09:40:55
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Zero given 66% (225-55-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 average miles
Fitted to Landrover Discovery 4. Fine in the dry, aquaplanes easily in wet, and terrifying in even light snow. Noise is very low except for where the road has the slots across it to aid braking, where it resonates, sometimes badly. The snow and wet performance is so poor, I am replacing these tyres midlife.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-12 11:25:32
Writing about the Continental CrossContact ATR given 31% (255-55-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 27000 average miles
DO NOT BUY. CONTINENTAL DOES NOT STAND BEHIND WARRANTY. Tires lasted approximately 27k miles, very light, around the town driving. Called to complain about the lack of mileage and to ask about the 60k mile warranty. Was given the run around by Joe. Continental wants you to jump through hoops and to buy there tires again before they decide if they will prorate old tires. Side not, dealership who installed tires also contacted Continental and was given same runaround.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-30 08:32:07
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Zero given 90% (255-50-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 easy going miles
Excellent tyre for Land Rover Discovery 4..have used these tyres on my discovery for the last 5years..Excellent grip in all conditions.Good mileage per tyre 30-35 thousand miles barring any sidewall punctures..They are to my knowledge a 80% 20% on road off road grip..i regulary drive forest tracks and moorland during the year and coupled to the discovery off road capabilities they are excellent..also I can easily get up to 37 miles per gallon on a long road journey with the zeros..
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-19 02:17:35
Writing about the General Grabber AT3 given 82% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50000 easy going miles
Whilst these are a good mid range AT tyre they are notorious for wearing away the wheel rims at around the 50,000 mileage. This eventually reduces the strength of the rim and can cause hairline cracks and poor tyre seal giving slow punctures. Little can be done to rebuild the rims, so you're looking at new rims....very costly!
I won't be using Grabber AT3's again.....
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-14 04:52:50
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac given 92% (255-55-19-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 spirited miles
Fitted these to my Discovery 4 commercial and have done close to 40,000 miles over 18 months, excellent tyres on and off road and really come into their own in snow. They are now down to about 4 mill tread depth and will be replaced with another set ready for winter.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-30 15:28:27
Writing about the Achilles Desert Hawk MT given 78% (255-55-19-)
Driving on track for 20000 average miles
I have a set of dedicated off-road wheels with these Achilles Desert Hawke MT's fitted. Only fit these wheels when seriously going off road for the weekend etc. Therefore limited on-road time. A great off-road tyre; excellent mud and snow traction, great on rocks and ruts with good side wall traction. They bag out well on lower pressures substantially increasing flotation on sand. A compromise on the road due to the aggressive nature of the tread. They were very noisy when new but have quietened down significantly after 15,000kms. Dry traction good, wet traction not bad. Proven to be very durable (no punctures or side wall damage) and long wearing. As a dedicated off-road tyre, can highly recommend, particularly at their very reasonable price point. Will certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-06 00:40:25
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 42% (255-50-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
The wife recently put these on her Discovery 4.
Drove it today at 2 deg celsius with wet roads and a small amount of shallow standing water.
TERRIFYING.
I had a couple of moments with normal driving where I seriously thought I might end up rolling it.
The first just catching the edge of an old rubbed out white line, or similar, the second, more scary, on a drifting curve with just a few shallow patches of standing water, nasty little slide at 55mph.
Have driven for 40 years with all different types of rubber, mostly cheap to mid price and normally drive a 530d in reasonably spirited fashion in all weathers.
These are awful and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone, indeed I'm going to take them off even though they can have less than 2000 miles on them.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-16 04:37:39
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre