BMW X3 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW X3.

Do you Drive a BMW X3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a X3 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Zeon 4XS (7) 87% 89% 91% 80% 88% 91%
Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV (9) 97% 85% 82% 83% 92% 89%
Dunlop Grandtrek AT3 (3) 93% 83% 80% 77% 100% 80%
Nokian zLine (83) 91% 90% 89% 87% 76% 85%
Kumho Crugen HP91 (17) 94% 91% 85% 86% 73% 87%
Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 (22) 90% 84% 84% 84% 83% 85%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (111) 88% 86% 82% 74% 88% 87%
Hankook Dynapro HP2 RA33 (8) 90% 79% 74% 76% 94% 89%
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC (12) 82% 86% 84% 74% 83% 73%
Nokian WR A4 (22) 84% 88% 72% 77% 77% 87%
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (26) 91% 83% 84% 81% 85% 88%
Nankang SV3 (4) 90% 75% 65% 75% 75% 88%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 (14) 72% 74% 71% 70% 63% 88%
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (11) 82% 89% 79% 71% 65% 81%
Pirelli Cinturato P1 Verde (45) 83% 75% 79% 74% 84% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Nokian One (15) 89% 79% 79% 75% 85% 79%
Nexen N Fera RU1 (22) 82% 74% 76% 75% 75% 81%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (40) 87% 89% 79% 79% 58% 80%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (142) 82% 80% 73% 74% 66% 73%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (181) 83% 73% 73% 75% 70% 74%
Bridgestone Alenza AS Ultra (7) 82% 76% 72% 74% 55% 74%
Avon ZV7 (129) 83% 78% 73% 72% 59% 79%
Bridgestone Alenza 001 (20) 85% 79% 71% 81% 69% 64%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (71) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (41) 83% 69% 76% 74% 58% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (124) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (80) 78% 65% 67% 61% 69% 62%
Michelin Latitude tour HP (31) 79% 67% 66% 67% 69% 78%
Landsail LS388 AS (49) 77% 69% 72% 68% 71% 77%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Autogrip F106 (9) 40% 24% 33% 29% 60% 49%

BMW X3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Alenza AS Ultra given 10% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 easy going miles
Bridgestone Alenza tires are a very dangerous tire to put on a vehicle if you intend to drive in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba or Northern Ontario in winter/ice . There is absolutely no grip on ice or snow and are hazardous to your safety when attempting to turn and/or stop the vehicle. I DO NOT RECOMMEND this tire for use on any vehicle during a Canadian winter.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-17 07:29:09
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 given 82% (245-50-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
Feeling good, though a bit numb. The price for a well rounded, very comfy tyre, that grips confident. No insecure feeling at all. But, of course, not for pushing it on the edge... remember, it's a touring tyre.
It is BMW OE equipment, I well consider to refit next time.
tyre reviewed on 2023-10-07 01:03:11
Writing about the Nokian One given 99% (235-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I have a 2007 BMW E83 over 3,000 miles on my Nokian Ones and live in Seattle, WA. I am incredibly pleased with them.

I’ve read a few reviews about noise but have not had that issue. They are very quiet with one exception, and was right after I bought them. There was stretch of road that had extremely worn pavement, and a large pebbled surface. They were very noisy the first time I drove on that surface but subsequent drives have been quieter, though a bit louder than regular asphalt, which is barely noticeable.

The Nokians replaced the Kelly tires I had on it and they were ok and far louder, though decent 7/10.

The handing has been great in dry and wet even with spirited driving, and am looking forward to seeing how they perform in snow. I also find them very responsive to my input. My previous tyres (Kelly) were just ok in that they didn’t feel as firmly planted on the ground, it sounds odd since they of course make contact, but they just felt meh.

My one question is wear, which I won’t be able to determine until the 80 percent wears down. At this time though it looks like they will wear great. If they perform good/great in the snow they would be a definite buy if I had a second car, or need new ones (hopefully after 70,000 miles) and are still available, though it’s likely a newer version will be available by then. I’ll update after I’ve driven in the snow and when the rains starts, which is about now after a very dry summer in Seattle.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-21 00:29:32
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV given 88% (215-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 spirited miles
Have only been suing these on my E83 X3 for 3 weeks or so. Only on dry tar so. Comfort levels are a huge step up from the 235x55 tyres on before and grip is excellent. My concern relate to durability. After a week I had a catastrophic puncture on the high way through the thickest part of the tread and looked like a bullet hole. I was able to stop immediately and have repaired the puncture. Worrying nonetheless. Secondly, the sidewalls appear thin and there is no rim protection built in. No issues yet but I recall tyres like this in the past tearing quite easily if you kiss a kerb. Time will tell.
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-13 03:18:10
Writing about the Bridgestone Alenza 001 given 50% (245-45-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30000 easy going miles
These came on my new BMW X3 30i (front), 30,000 miles driven. The rear are 275/40 R20. I have not had good luck with these run flat tires. Two have been replaced due to nails/screws damage. It seems any sort of minor leak can’t be repaired. In addition, they aren’t great on wet surfaces and are louder than non-run-flat tires. I do like the run-flat, but I am concerned about durability. Every road trip I never know if we shall be stopping for a new tire, very stressed! I will replace with Michelin Primacy Tour A/S as they wear out, just as I did for the second replacement tire. Right now I have three left on the X3 (both rear tires are OEM). I’m sure glad I purchased the replacement warranty from discount tires.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-14 08:38:29
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 39% (235-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
BMW X3 e83 2006. Fitted 2 tyres late in 2020 and the other 2 early 2021 ( one was then replaced under insurance due to puncture in 2022). Covid lockdown/WFH also limited the mileage I’ve done on them. I hate these tyres with a passion and regret fitting them. Local Tyre Centre offered these as one of several options and went with Avons as I have their Turbosteels fitted to a kitcar and they were an excellent tyre. These Avons cause havoc with my X3 transfer box and the ride is clunky and backlashy and just awful. I had Dunlop SP1 fitted previously and they were excellent with none of these issues. In comparison to the Dunlops I would say the Avon sidewall isn’t up to the job of such a heavy/ performance suv. The other issue I have with these is they are cracking and crazing already, even the new 2022 one. Had a Mechanic look at them and he said he’s seen better low budget tires and that they all looked like they were over five years old. (Ive done no more than 7000 miles on the older 2). Out of interest I checked online and there are quite a few unhappy reviews about early cracking on these tyres. Can’t recommend them for an X3 specifically or more broadly for their rapid wear. I’m going back to Dunlops in a few weeks.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-06 16:04:22
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 83% (235-55-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 35000 spirited miles
Fitted the SP1s to my BMW e83 x3 2006. Had them on for a good 5 years and loved them. Can’t say I noticed the noise others mention but definitely well suited to the x3 ( bmw star rated tyre). Now having Avon zv7s fitted I’d say the Dunlop is much firmer in the side wall and better copes with such a heavy car and cornering. If you’re going to fit the Avon to an x3 DONT. Can’t recommend enough that you fit any of the star rated tyres… it’s not just a marketing gimmick. Highly recommend the SP1
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-06 15:12:44
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P1 Verde given 77% (235-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-06 08:53:34
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 67% (245-50-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 spirited miles
Had this on BMW X3. The grip is superb on dry and wet condition and brake distance was good only until 20K. It wears off too fast even my driving condition is 60/40 city drive. After 20K, the grip on wet is not as good, very noisy.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-18 00:38:17
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 67% (245-50-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 spirited miles
Had this on BMW X3. The grip is superb on dry and wet condition and brake distance was good only until 20K. It wears off too fast even my driving condition is 60/40 city drive. After 20K, the grip on wet is not as good, very noisy.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-17 21:46:03
Writing about the Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 given 80% (-45-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 spirited miles
Don't believe the review on this website. I've used my Hakkapeliitta R3 tires on my 2019 BWM X3 M40i now for 3 winter seasons and they are by far one of the best winter tires out there. The second best I would have to compare them to are the Michelin X-Ice 2 and 3 tires. Unfortunately, you can't get the X-Ice 3 tires for SUVs...yet. I have the X-Ice 2 tires on my wife's minivan, hence why I know how good they are in winter driving conditions. Another option for SUV owners might be the Goodyear Blizzaks. Regardless, the R3 tires are an excellent overall tire with very good braking and handling on snow and ice. There is almost no road noise form the tires, which is an amazing feat. The only drawbacks are faster tread wear compared to some of the competitors and it's low speed rating of only 106mph. So, when you are on drive pavement and have the opportunity to put the pedal to the metal, just be careful as that 100mph mark comes up fast! My SUV provides a warning tone when that speed is reached and let's me know to let off the gas. Overall, I would recommend the R3 to any SUV owner looking for a great snow tire with both performance and reliability. UPDATE: Nokian has just recently released the new Hakkapeliitta R5 tire which is supposed to improve upon the weaknesses of the R3. The R3 has been out now for several years, so the improvements were expected - and welcome - especially for drive pavement performance! I haven't been able to find any official reviews on the R5 since it was just released, but it's something to keep on eye out for if you are looking to upgrade your R3s.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-01 06:51:15
Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport given 10% (245-50-19-)
Driving on for 0 miles
came on my 2021 X3 30i BMW, these are the most dangerous tires I have ever driven on on the highway. BMW should be ashamed of putting these on the X3 for sure. I have searched the internet to find out what the heck is wrong with my vehicle. Dealer says "VEHICLE DOES FOLLOW ROAD RUTTS. NORMAL" I am almost 70 years old and have never driven anything like this in my life and apparently I am not alone. check out these websites : https://www.carproblemzoo.com/bmw/x3/2021/steering-problems.php https://www.tirerack.com/survey/SurveyComments.jsp?&category=tire&additionalComments=y&commentStatus=P&tireMake=Bridgestone&tireModel=Dueler+H%2FP+Sport+AS&fromTireDetail=true&partnum=45HR9HPSASXL&tirePageLocQty=%26partnum%3D45HR9HPSASXL In case I left any doubt, NO I DO NOT RECOMMEND THESE TIRES
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-02 17:40:34
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre