BMW X3 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW X3.

Do you Drive a BMW X3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a X3 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (19) 95% 84% 87% 83% 88% 88%
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC (8) 86% 89% 84% 87% 92% 80%
Cooper Zeon 4XS (7) 87% 89% 91% 80% 88% 91%
Dunlop Grandtrek AT3 (3) 93% 83% 80% 77% 100% 80%
Nokian zLine (79) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (16) 93% 97% 87% 88% 88% 89%
Kumho Crugen HP91 (14) 94% 92% 86% 86% 69% 88%
Nokian WR A4 (18) 83% 89% 85% 78% 77% 89%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (92) 87% 88% 83% 75% 88% 86%
Nankang SV3 (4) 90% 75% 65% 75% 75% 88%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (122) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (10) 83% 90% 79% 70% 62% 80%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72%
Nexen N Fera RU1 (19) 82% 73% 74% 73% 72% 81%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (148) 84% 74% 74% 76% 72% 75%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (62) 86% 67% 76% 72% 68% 68%
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (34) 84% 69% 76% 72% 62% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (120) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Michelin Latitude tour HP (27) 77% 64% 65% 67% 74% 77%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (69) 79% 64% 67% 62% 71% 62%
Landsail LS388 AS (39) 77% 70% 72% 69% 74% 76%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Autogrip F106 (9) 40% 24% 33% 29% 60% 49%

BMW X3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport given 10% (245-50-19-)
Driving on for 0 miles
came on my 2021 X3 30i BMW, these are the most dangerous tires I have ever driven on on the highway. BMW should be ashamed of putting these on the X3 for sure. I have searched the internet to find out what the heck is wrong with my vehicle. Dealer says "VEHICLE DOES FOLLOW ROAD RUTTS. NORMAL" I am almost 70 years old and have never driven anything like this in my life and apparently I am not alone. check out these websites : https://www.carproblemzoo.com/bmw/x3/2021/steering-problems.php https://www.tirerack.com/survey/SurveyComments.jsp?&category=tire&additionalComments=y&commentStatus=P&tireMake=Bridgestone&tireModel=Dueler+H%2FP+Sport+AS&fromTireDetail=true&partnum=45HR9HPSASXL&tirePageLocQty=%26partnum%3D45HR9HPSASXL In case I left any doubt, NO I DO NOT RECOMMEND THESE TIRES
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-02 23:40:34
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO given 92% (225-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Replaced separate sets of winter and summer tyres with these. Compared to the original Pirelli BMW * rated OE summer tyres, these are quieter, the ride is softer and more comfortable, and economy is about 2mpg (5%) better. There is no obvious difference in grip in the dry, and they feel very secure in the wet. I’ve yet to compare them to the winter tyres, but I live in the south of England with frequent trips up north to see family, and their job is to get me home and keep me safe if it snows, so they should be fine. CrossClimate 2’s came out just after I bought these but so far, I’m very impressed.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-25 20:07:27
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 50% (245-50-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-02 14:10:36
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 89% (225-60-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Replaced the original Pirelli Cintrirano P7 run flats on my wife's BMW X3, which she had for 30k miles from new. The Crossclimate+ are better in every way. Obviously they are much lighter as they are not run flat tyres and as such the car as a whole feels lighter and more responsive. Also comfort, handling and noise are significantly better and improve the vehicle a great deal. In my opinion these are the perfect none performance tyres for the UK.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-01 13:08:00
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 94% (225-60-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
Fitted as OE on my 2013 X3. Still have 5mm left on the 2nd set after 90k miles. Not great in the snow but I live on the south coast so not a problem for the one occasion in 7 years that I needed it!
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-19 08:27:06
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 72% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 miles
Just put these Dunlop SP01 BMW Star Rated tyres on a BMW E83 X3 3.0d M-Sport with staggered set-up 235/50/R18 on the front and 255/45/R18 on the rear. Can't believe it has stopped the shuddering. The shuddering seems to be a major problem with this model of car when using any other tyres except BMW Star Rated ones, and cause's major damage to the transfer case. I was very sceptical about this but decided to give it a try. The reason it cures the shuddering problem is to do with the rolling resistance and the diameter BMW have set-up this car to.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-15 02:37:49
Writing about the Kumho Crugen HP91 given 83% (235-45-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 easy going miles
I have bougth those tyres to replace my front tyres for my BMW X3 (3.0sd, twin turbo 286 HP, 6 speed automatic, 4wd) in June 2018.
GRIP: DRY: Average, Not good as KU39s, but they are safe enough.
WET: Average. Not good as KU39s, but safe enough.
BRAKING: DRY: Good,
WET: Good.
WEAR: Very good. Expected life is around 35000 miles. I have driven around 6000 kms in Ukrainian roads. They have extreme potholes and bumps, and my car has faced them frequently. My left front suspension has been broken but my tyres and rims did not! I have used them with 36 to 40 psi pressures for my front tyres (BMW recommends 36 psi for fully loaded car) taking into account 3 psi pressure loss per month and my monthly tire pressure check schedule. (Overpressure: Max Fuel economy, Acceptable grip, Recommended pressure: Normal Fuel economy, Max Grip, Low pressure: Low Fuel economy, unacceptable grip and wear)
FUEL ECONOMY: They are economic whenever you use them high pressures like I have told above.
BUY AGAIN: May be but, I priorly prefer Kumho KU39 or Hankook S1Evo if I can find the related measure. Because, their feedback and comfort better marginally.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-25 00:48:03
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 93% (235-45-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 easy going miles
I have bought these tyres to the rear wheels for my 2007 BMW X3 3.0sd (twin turbo 286 HP, 6 automatic gearbox, four wheel drive version) in May 2017. Now, the time is October 2019 and the tyres have been used for 22000 miles since new in 3 summer seasons (mostly from April to November).
GRIP: Dry Grip: Very good overall, but it is not excellent like a Michelin Pilot Sport or Continental Sport Contact.
Wet Grip: Very good overall.
Offroad usage: Satisfactory. I have even used them on bushy, grassy and muddy offroads. Only once I had a risk of staying (bushy and muddy conditions with slight uphill were together), but my X3's electronic systems have helped to go inch by inch! Else they were very good in handling and traction.
BRAKING: Dry and wet : Very safe.
Offroad : Safe enough.
WEAR: Expected life of the tyres are around 30000 miles according to current wear figures. Also, tyres are very durable against unusual knocks created by potholes and bumps (ps: I have used 42-45 psi tyre pressure, recommended tyre pressure of the BMW is 42psi for maximum loaded car, once a month, I check the tyre pressures, and approximately 3 psi loss per month could be faced)
DRIVING STYLE: 80% 50MPH average speed drive (60 mph in German and Austrian Highways!). 1% offroad usage. Around 6000 kms, Ukrainian roads and offroads have been used with extreme potholes, bumps. (My left front suspension has been broken because of Ukrainian roads!)
BUY AGAIN: Yes. They are very good in performance/price measure.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-25 00:22:18
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 73% (225-60-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
These came on my X3 when I bought it secondhand, and are BMW recommended. All 4 had approx. 5mm on at that point, and the first time I drove in the wet I was less than impressed at the reduction in grip levels - this was after I had had a 4-wheel alignment. 13000 miles later the tyres still have over 3.5mm but as summer is coming to an end I'm going to replace them. The date code shows them to be 5 years old, and I suspect they have done 35000 miles. If you're a high-mileage driver, these could be for you. They're not overly noisy on motorways, and are comfortable. But if, like me, you prefer to know you're not going to be sliding around on damp/wet roads, don't put them on your F25 X3.

I notice that some reviewers have posted comments on winter driving with summer tyres. I can't comment on what these might be like on ice/snow, as I use winter tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-19 11:45:17
Writing about the Nankang SV3 given 89% (275-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Needed a set of winter tyres but didn't want to pay premium cost so did some research into the next best and decided on the SV3, it was hard to find reviews on larger tyre sizes as most are 15" to 18"

Since having these fitted they have more than exceeded expectation as on my previous car I used Pirelli Slottozero's. For a quite high powered SUV (400 bhp and a lead filled foot) they handle and grip very well in rain and snow. The wear rate is also quite low for the miles I've covered probably as temperatures are constantly below 6 degrees.

The SV3 is also a comfortable ride compared to the usual BMW manufacturer recommended "runflats".


tyre reviewed on 2018-11-17 20:24:50
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 47% (225-50-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Front tyres are worn on my 2017 BMW X3 after 15000miles of easy driving rears have about 3.5mm left so I will be replacing all after the winter season (switching to sottozeros for winter). I am appalled at how poor these summer tyres have lasted and I will be looking at switching to something like Goodyear or Bridgestone which were great on my 5 series cars.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-10 21:27:16
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 81% (225-60-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 28000 easy going miles
I would just like to congratulate Pirelli for these RUN FLAT tyres which I have had since the car was new and 28k miles later they still have 5mm of tread all round. My local Tyre City was amazed after they measured the tread and said that in principle they would be good for another 20k miles!
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-26 22:32:33
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre