BMW X3 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW X3.

Do you Drive a BMW X3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a X3 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC (8) 86% 89% 84% 87% 92% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (18) 95% 83% 86% 82% 88% 88%
Cooper Zeon 4XS (6) 88% 88% 92% 78% 90% 90%
Kumho Crugen HP91 (10) 93% 92% 91% 93% 70% 93%
Dunlop Grandtrek AT3 (3) 93% 83% 80% 77% 100% 80%
Nokian zLine (79) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Nokian WR A4 (15) 84% 89% 86% 79% 80% 89%
Nankang SV3 (4) 90% 75% 65% 75% 75% 88%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (122) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (10) 83% 90% 79% 70% 62% 80%
Nexen N Fera RU1 (18) 82% 73% 75% 75% 75% 84%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (138) 84% 75% 75% 76% 74% 75%
Michelin Latitude tour HP (24) 78% 65% 68% 69% 72% 77%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (59) 87% 67% 77% 73% 69% 68%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65%
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (28) 83% 67% 75% 71% 58% 65%
Landsail LS388 AS (38) 77% 70% 72% 68% 73% 76%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Autogrip F106 (9) 40% 24% 33% 29% 60% 49%

BMW X3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 94% (225-60-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
Fitted as OE on my 2013 X3. Still have 5mm left on the 2nd set after 90k miles. Not great in the snow but I live on the south coast so not a problem for the one occasion in 7 years that I needed it!
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-19 08:27:06
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 72% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 miles
Just put these Dunlop SP01 BMW Star Rated tyres on a BMW E83 X3 3.0d M-Sport with staggered set-up 235/50/R18 on the front and 255/45/R18 on the rear. Can't believe it has stopped the shuddering. The shuddering seems to be a major problem with this model of car when using any other tyres except BMW Star Rated ones, and cause's major damage to the transfer case. I was very sceptical about this but decided to give it a try. The reason it cures the shuddering problem is to do with the rolling resistance and the diameter BMW have set-up this car to.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-15 02:37:49
Writing about the Kumho Crugen HP91 given 83% (235-45-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 easy going miles
I have bougth those tyres to replace my front tyres for my BMW X3 (3.0sd, twin turbo 286 HP, 6 speed automatic, 4wd) in June 2018.
GRIP: DRY: Average, Not good as KU39s, but they are safe enough.
WET: Average. Not good as KU39s, but safe enough.
BRAKING: DRY: Good,
WET: Good.
WEAR: Very good. Expected life is around 35000 miles. I have driven around 6000 kms in Ukrainian roads. They have extreme potholes and bumps, and my car has faced them frequently. My left front suspension has been broken but my tyres and rims did not! I have used them with 36 to 40 psi pressures for my front tyres (BMW recommends 36 psi for fully loaded car) taking into account 3 psi pressure loss per month and my monthly tire pressure check schedule. (Overpressure: Max Fuel economy, Acceptable grip, Recommended pressure: Normal Fuel economy, Max Grip, Low pressure: Low Fuel economy, unacceptable grip and wear)
FUEL ECONOMY: They are economic whenever you use them high pressures like I have told above.
BUY AGAIN: May be but, I priorly prefer Kumho KU39 or Hankook S1Evo if I can find the related measure. Because, their feedback and comfort better marginally.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-25 00:48:03
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 93% (235-45-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 easy going miles
I have bought these tyres to the rear wheels for my 2007 BMW X3 3.0sd (twin turbo 286 HP, 6 automatic gearbox, four wheel drive version) in May 2017. Now, the time is October 2019 and the tyres have been used for 22000 miles since new in 3 summer seasons (mostly from April to November).
GRIP: Dry Grip: Very good overall, but it is not excellent like a Michelin Pilot Sport or Continental Sport Contact.
Wet Grip: Very good overall.
Offroad usage: Satisfactory. I have even used them on bushy, grassy and muddy offroads. Only once I had a risk of staying (bushy and muddy conditions with slight uphill were together), but my X3's electronic systems have helped to go inch by inch! Else they were very good in handling and traction.
BRAKING: Dry and wet : Very safe.
Offroad : Safe enough.
WEAR: Expected life of the tyres are around 30000 miles according to current wear figures. Also, tyres are very durable against unusual knocks created by potholes and bumps (ps: I have used 42-45 psi tyre pressure, recommended tyre pressure of the BMW is 42psi for maximum loaded car, once a month, I check the tyre pressures, and approximately 3 psi loss per month could be faced)
DRIVING STYLE: 80% 50MPH average speed drive (60 mph in German and Austrian Highways!). 1% offroad usage. Around 6000 kms, Ukrainian roads and offroads have been used with extreme potholes, bumps. (My left front suspension has been broken because of Ukrainian roads!)
BUY AGAIN: Yes. They are very good in performance/price measure.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-25 00:22:18
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 73% (225-60-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
These came on my X3 when I bought it secondhand, and are BMW recommended. All 4 had approx. 5mm on at that point, and the first time I drove in the wet I was less than impressed at the reduction in grip levels - this was after I had had a 4-wheel alignment. 13000 miles later the tyres still have over 3.5mm but as summer is coming to an end I'm going to replace them. The date code shows them to be 5 years old, and I suspect they have done 35000 miles. If you're a high-mileage driver, these could be for you. They're not overly noisy on motorways, and are comfortable. But if, like me, you prefer to know you're not going to be sliding around on damp/wet roads, don't put them on your F25 X3.

I notice that some reviewers have posted comments on winter driving with summer tyres. I can't comment on what these might be like on ice/snow, as I use winter tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-19 11:45:17
Writing about the Nankang SV3 given 89% (275-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Needed a set of winter tyres but didn't want to pay premium cost so did some research into the next best and decided on the SV3, it was hard to find reviews on larger tyre sizes as most are 15" to 18"

Since having these fitted they have more than exceeded expectation as on my previous car I used Pirelli Slottozero's. For a quite high powered SUV (400 bhp and a lead filled foot) they handle and grip very well in rain and snow. The wear rate is also quite low for the miles I've covered probably as temperatures are constantly below 6 degrees.

The SV3 is also a comfortable ride compared to the usual BMW manufacturer recommended "runflats".


tyre reviewed on 2018-11-17 20:24:50
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 47% (225-50-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Front tyres are worn on my 2017 BMW X3 after 15000miles of easy driving rears have about 3.5mm left so I will be replacing all after the winter season (switching to sottozeros for winter). I am appalled at how poor these summer tyres have lasted and I will be looking at switching to something like Goodyear or Bridgestone which were great on my 5 series cars.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-10 21:27:16
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 81% (225-60-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 28000 easy going miles
I would just like to congratulate Pirelli for these RUN FLAT tyres which I have had since the car was new and 28k miles later they still have 5mm of tread all round. My local Tyre City was amazed after they measured the tread and said that in principle they would be good for another 20k miles!
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-26 22:32:33
Writing about the Dunlop Grandtrek AT3 given 84% (235-60-17-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 easy going miles
Fitted onto BMW X3 2.0d 2006.
I had Michelin Primacy 3 on previously (magnificent tyres - probably the best I've ever driven on on any car).
My requirements were
- AT tyres that fit the X3
- Affordable
- Available
- Up-sized by about 3% (235/55 to 235/60 or 225/(60 or 65))
The X3 drives pretty much only on tar in everyday life, but I wanted AT tyres for when I do go off-road (which I do from time to time when travelling), and I wanted a bit of a tougher tyre. I couldn't find a suitable highway-terrain tyre either.

I drove a long trip recently, and the tyres feel great. They're comfortable, grip well, feedback well, etc. The only downfall is that they're a bit noisy (as compared to road tyres), but it is to be expected. I drove a little gravel as well, and they felt perfect. I have absolutely no complaints, and they were very cheap.

I get 8mm extra height (and you notice it), and the speed is now about 100% accurate to GPS speed, which is nice. The car feels perfect with this up-size.

I would recommend these tyres on a 1st generation X3 if you plan on going off-road. Else, stick with the road tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-25 11:01:38
Writing about the Cooper WeatherMaster WSC given 100% (235-50-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
The average mileage for this car is around 6,000 per year and I made the decision to fit WINTER tyres for use all year round. The car is used for short runs into town and longer runs in the countryside.

Fitted as replacements for perished Pirelli Scorpion Verde. These tyres are very chunky looking with holes for spikes - they suit the look of the X3 perfectly. I have used Avon tyres for many years and found them to be at least as good as OEM fitments from Dunlop, Michelin, Pirelli etc and superior to Continental. When looking for a set for the BMW it was clear that the parent company of Avon - Cooper - made very good tyres that are suitable for SUV usage. They do not have a huge marketing presence in the UK but I did a little research and discovered that David Coulthard was one of their development drivers. I thought that I would try a set based on my experience with Avon. The tyres cost £260 for a complete set (!) plus fitting. I know this was a very good price and I was obviously very lucky to find them at the time I needed a new set.
In usage they are no noisier than the Pirelli and when the car only achieves 17-20mpg you won't notice much difference in fuel consumption anyway...but in terms of wet grip and snow...WOW!

Effortless in cold weather - why does the UK not make it a legal requirement to use WINTER tyres? So much of the seasonal road problems would be alleviated instantly - it is unbelievable that the average UK road user has no idea of the concept of Winter tyres (and consequently - no idea of the benefits and safety gains that are made by using them).
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-28 13:03:32
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre