Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV

The Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV offers a 25% improvement in mileage, shorter wet braking distances and shorter dry braking when compared to its predecessor, the Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV.

The new tyre will be available in 52 sizes from 16 to 22 inches.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV.

Dry Grip 99%
Wet Grip 95%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 86%
Wear 94%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 97%

Tyre review data from 7 tyre reviews averaging 93% over 29,900 miles driven.

The EfficientGrip 2 SUV is ranked 1st of 30 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Best SUV Tyres Tested - 4th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Premium profile with well-balanced, safe driving characteristics, good aquaplaning resistance, short wet braking distances, good off-road capability, good comfort.
  • Negative - Slightly higher price level.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Express SUV Tyre Test - 4th of 7 tyres

  • Overall - The EfficientGrip 2 SUV is best in aquaplaning, very quiet, low rolling resistance, but limited traction in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing premium tires with very good driving characteristics on all surfaces, harmonious wet and dry handling, short wet and dry braking distances, good ride comfort, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2023 Best SUV Tyres Tested (225/65 R17)
  • 2022 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2022 AutoBild SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • 4th: 2022 Auto Express SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2021 All Road SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R17)
  • 2nd: 2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV

    Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV

    2022-02-21 - Can you compare good year efficient grip 2 suv and continental cross contact lx2 models? Is it worth it to replace continentals with good year for city use?

    You could check this test to see the LX2 compared to the T005 which is usually similar in rolling resistance to the EG2SUV.


    2022-11-23 - this item: Goodyear 225/60 R17 Efficientgrip 2 Suv, is it also good for season winter in Southampton ?

    The EGP2SUV is a summer SUV tyre which means its performance in the wet when cold will be reduced and the tyre will have very little performance in the snow.


    2023-04-26 - Is Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV and Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 Performance the same tyre? Or Is it called a SUV because of the size? Because of tyre patterns look the same.

    Essentially, yes. The Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV and EGP2 are very similar tyres in performance qualities.


    2023-11-29 - Is this tyre suitable for EVs? In particular I am asking for my car, the BMW iX3, thanks.

    The EfficientGrip range has low rolling resistance at its core, and I believe most of the sizes are marked "EV Ready", so if you can find the correct size and load index for your vehicle the Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV would make a good all round tyre.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    215/60 R17 £128.70 - £150.38 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/55 R18 £134.21 - £167.18 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/55 R19 £134.20 - £166.10 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/50 R19 £150.61 - £171.86 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 38 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV Reviews

    Given 99% while driving a Peugeot 3008 (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    I've been using it for 2 months about 2000 miles and, it's an incredibly comfortable tire. I'm not sure about the noise after blizzak lm005 tyre(maybe it is good about noise also), but the performance of absorbing road is very successful, extremely comfortable.
    Helpful 57 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2022
    Given 88% while driving a BMW X3 (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 400 spirited miles
    Have only been suing these on my E83 X3 for 3 weeks or so. Only on dry tar so. Comfort levels are a huge step up from the 235x55 tyres on before and grip is excellent. My concern relate to durability. After a week I had a catastrophic puncture on the high way through the thickest part of the tread and looked like a bullet hole. I was able to stop immediately and have repaired the puncture. Worrying nonetheless. Secondly, the sidewalls appear thin and there is no rim protection built in. No issues yet but I recall tyres like this in the past tearing quite easily if you kiss a kerb. Time will tell.
    Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2023
    Given 97% while driving a Peugeot 3008 exclusive (235/50 R19) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
    A very quite tore Wear is excellent (for 10k) Handel is great Had a Conti CSC6 and CsC5 and they both wore out and came out damaged a lot before the tread wear came to min Goodyear pref 2 suv is a very recommended tire Look out for German/Europe made and not turkish made.
    Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2022
    Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV >

    Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Mazda cx5 (225/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
    I was looking a new summer tires for my Mazda cx5 because when I bought it there were some unknown sporty summer tires from last owners.There were actually really good on dry,fast cornering and so but on the wet really unpredictable.So I started watching your videos and thanks to you decided for Efficient Grip 2.For 19 inch tire it's fair amount comfortable,grip on wet is really important because I drive on autobahn every day to work and till know I never had risky situation in fast cornering or heavy rain.Never tested it on off-road or some grass.All in all I am definitely buying this tire again considering the price.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2023
    Given 84% while driving a Renault (215/60 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 easy going miles
    A comfortable, safe and secure tyre. Compared to my previous tyres - Conti EcoContact 6 - the GoodYears has lower noise, better comfort and feels safer in the wet. They don’t aquaplan as easy as the Conti’s. Not a sports tyre, but a comfortable touring tyre. Safe road holding with good grip and traction but a little soft and don’t communicate well. Not a tyre for sporty driving, but great for everyday use.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 92% while driving a Mazda cx5 (225/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
    VERY pleasant tire,very quiet and supple. feels round and smooth. good grip and respond to inputs. bought it after 4 years with the alenza 001 which is more responsive and sporty but harsher and louder.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2023