Bridgestone Alenza 001

The Bridgestone Alenza 001 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 325,200 miles driven.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 79%
Wear 68%
Comfort 63%
Buy again 47%

First On MarketAugust 2016
Wheel Size16 - 22"
Width215 - 315mm
Profile35 - 65
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)66 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Alenza 001 is ranked 103rd of 148 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Bridgestone Alenza 001

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
235/65 R17 108 V XLCB72
225/60 R17 99 VAC71
225/60 R17 99 VCB71
18 inch
235/60 R18 103 HBB71
235/60 R18 103 HAA67
235/60R18 103 HAA67
235/60R18 103 HAA67
235/60 R18 103 WCB71
235/60 R18 107 W XLBB73
235/60 R18 103 HBB71
235/60R18 107 W XLBB72
235/60 R18 103 WCB71
235/60 R18 103 HAA67
20 inch
275/55 R20 113 VCB72
255/45 R20 101 WDA72
275/55 R20 113 VCB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Bridgestone Alenza 001 >>

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Alenza 001

2022-10-23 - Hi, my 2022 X3 came with the Bridgestone Alenza much to my disappointment. Why did BMW elect to use what appears to be an unusual tyre size of 245/50/19? Was it to provide Bridgestone with an advantage of corning that particular tyre size? In that size, there really is limited other options, and nothing in an all season OEM spec, yet in the US they seem to much greater choice, especially for all seasons.

Vehicle manufacturers select their tyre sizes based on many factors, at a guess this rather narrow tyre will be to improve the rolling resistance for the co2 rating, but naturally it gives the OE tyre manufactures an advantage when selling replacement tyres too.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
235/50 R20 £221.11 - £298.61 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £128.23 - £164.82 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 26 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Bridgestone Alenza 001 Reviews

Given 40% while driving a Audi q3 (225/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
this tyre is nearly gone after 15000 miles on the fronts , a little better on the rear . would expect better wear for a tyre only doing mainly motorway . also spins on any slightly faster move off. even from new. all together a very average tyre for the high price , would not buy again .
Helpful 106 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2021
Given 35% while driving a Mazda CX 60 (235/50 R20) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I own a Mazda CX-60 PHEV. Standard it is delivered with Bridgestone Alenza 001 235 50 100W tyres. I think they are very hard and noisy and make the condition of the road very noticeable in the whole car. During a repair of my car the dealer gave me the same (demo) car with Toyo Proxes tyres. A big big difference!! Later a read a review on the cx60 forum with the same subject, I agree to the conclusion; the Bridgestone is a good but not comfortable tyre with a high noise level. Mayby it is the combination with the specific suspension of the car which is also “sporty” but the choice for the tyre makes a big difference in this car.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on July 19, 2023
Given 50% while driving a BMW X3 (245/45 R20) on mostly country roads for 30,000 easy going miles
These came on my new BMW X3 30i (front), 30,000 miles driven. The rear are 275/40 R20. I have not had good luck with these run flat tires. Two have been replaced due to nails/screws damage. It seems any sort of minor leak can’t be repaired. In addition, they aren’t great on wet surfaces and are louder than non-run-flat tires. I do like the run-flat, but I am concerned about durability. Every road trip I never know if we shall be stopping for a new tire, very stressed! I will replace with Michelin Primacy Tour A/S as they wear out, just as I did for the second replacement tire. Right now I have three left on the X3 (both rear tires are OEM). I’m sure glad I purchased the replacement warranty from discount tires.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2023
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Alenza 001 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Alenza 001? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Alenza 001 >

Latest Bridgestone Alenza 001 Reviews

Given 63% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
Basic tyres which came from the dealer. Lasted 80.000 km easily. Good traction control but very very noisy.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2024
Given 49% while driving a Toyota (215/60 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
My car tends to slide outwards due to centrifugal force while using Bridgestone Alenza tyres on curved roads. Compared to Bridgestone Alenza, my Continental Winter Contact 870 winter tyres performed better on the same roads. My Totota Model is not listed on the pop-up menu. It is the Corolla Cross Hybrid Fashion X-Pack.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 7, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 93% while driving a Hyundai ix35 (225/60 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Have switched to these tyres from Pirelli Cinturato P7 which were very good strong tyres, with the biggest drawback being very stuff compound making the edge piece of rubber to tear off on a gravel road.
Alenza are great touring tyres, being exceptionally quiet on any surface, even gravel. Reminded my of purely Japanese Yokohama Aspec dB I has on my Mazda many years ago.
Tried hard to slip these tyres on a mountain road but was not able to even make them squeak. With G force becoming already well over normal for daily driving, and tyres still standing strong, I can say traction is well over sufficient for most of the drivers.
Wet traction is perfect with almost no braking or steering effect when running into a puddle on highway speeds. Traction on Wet is also great with very nice feedback. Slip does not start by surprise. Tyres give you well enough warning that they reached their lateral traction capabilities for driver to take the foot from the accelerator.
Wear is avarage but I disagree with overall low score as they are still well above avarage wear for even more expensive tyres.
I recommend these for drivers, who like comfort and predictability. These are definitely not sport tyres but are very well performing touring summer tyres.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2024
Given 81% while driving a Jeep Patriot (215/60 R17) on mostly town for 56,000 average miles
I'm extremely satisfied with this set of tyres I purchased for my Jeep Patriot 6 years ago. After 90,000km they were still going strong, however at the end they started to pick up a few punctures here and there and wet handelling reduced with increased aqua planning. In terms of quality, these tyres really stood out to me. The extra duty sidewall was a big bonus, as it provided superior protection against any kind of damage that could have been inflicted on the tyre itself. Never saw any compared to previous conti that got punctured easily and sidewalls got damaged quickly on a gravel road. The performance levels that these tyres offer are unparalleled. Despite being used for long periods of time and travelling over many kilometres, their handling and traction remained in excellent condition up until the 2.5mm mark. I also noticed that these tyres lasted longer than other brands I've used in the past, which was great considering how expensive they can be to replace. As such, I felt like I was getting much more value for money with these ones compared to others. I did balance and align often. Overall, this set of tyres has been incredibly reliable and durable during my travels - even after such a long time! Not only did they last longer than others I've tried before but their performance level remained top-notch throughout its lifespan as well; something which is not an easy feat to achieve when it comes to vehicular components such as tyres. Therefore if you're looking for an exceptional set of tryes then look no further than this brand - you won't be disappointed!
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2022
Given 56% while driving a Honda HRV (225/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 100 easy going miles
Noisy tire, expensive, hard compound
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Audi E Tron 55 Quattro (225/50 R20) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
2years/20k miles on an Audi e-tron, thread down to 4mm from the original 7mm I think. Not bad I guess. It is an EV so there’s nearly no brake wear (thanks to regen), and acceleration/braking is much smoother, even in Sport mode (fast accel without tyre spinning), the car traction control, suspension and other systems are also great so that should help with comfort/noise/wear.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2022
Given 55% while driving a Lexus NX 450h+ F Sport (235/50 R20) on mostly motorways for 600 average miles
These tyres are exceptionally noisy on the motorway on a Lexus NX 450h+ Plug in hybrid F-Sport model. At 2.8 bar pressure you can't hold a conversation and at 2,3 bar it is bad, but manageable. They are runflat tyres and it is clear that the car is not engineered to deal with this kind vibration which would normally be absorbed by the tyres. The balancing is good, both wheels and tyres at higher speeds, it is just that the tyres themselves transmit all surface unevenness through the car's mechanics to the floor, seats and steering wheel, and the head up display vibrates as well, distorting the picture. On many motorways there are sections with quite rough surfaces to aid drainage and make them "non-slip". These tyres transmit all the surface structure up into the car. I plan to change them at the earliest opportunity.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Toyota 2006 Avalon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
I have these on a RAV 4 Hybrid. Great all round tyre. Would buy again.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Nissan Rogue S (225/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 12,000 easy going miles
Tires are on an awd suv with 12000 miles and are already worn noticeably. They are one of the worst tires I’ve ever used. Too expensive to have to be replaced every 20-25000 miles. Never again!
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2022
BMW (/45 R20) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Never buy these tires. Total garbage. Got them with new BMW X4. After 8.5 months and 8400 miles inspection shows 3mm tread depth in the front and 5mm in the rear. The vehicle was driven by my wife in city mode (California).
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2022
Given 86% while driving a BMW X3m40i (275/35 R21) on mostly motorways for 42,000 miles
Tyres lasted 20k on rear and 22k on rear (second set) and 42k on fronts. 4wd x3m40i that gets driven hard but a lot of motor way mileage.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Audi E Tron 55 Quattro (255/55 R20) on mostly motorways for 36,000 easy going miles
OE fitment on my Audi E-Tron. Incredible refinement, very quiet and this on a electric car! Very secure on the motorway and in the wet. Great handling and terrific wear - 36k miles and mine are approx 2.5mm each. Evenly worn, but slightly noisier and harder ride given they’re nearly at their end of life. Expecting 40k miles from these, and will replace with same with pleasure.
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2022