Hyundai ix35 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Hyundai ix35.

Do you Drive a Hyundai ix35? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a ix35 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP (6) 92% 90% 82% 90% 93% 92%
Bridgestone Dueler AT 001 (6) 90% 92% 87% 88% 90% 85%
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 (16) 87% 87% 86% 85% 92% 91%
Sava eskimo suv (1) 80% 70% 80% 80% 100% 90%
Kumho Crugen HP91 (14) 94% 92% 86% 86% 69% 88%
Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2 (2) 80% 90% 85% 90% 60% 80%
Atlas Sport Green (12) 92% 83% 83% 83% 75% 85%
Marangoni Meteo HP SUV (1) 80% 70% 80% 80% 90% 90%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (36) 83% 80% 80% 83% 83% 85%
Michelin CrossClimate SUV (15) 85% 82% 78% 76% 76% 84%
Hankook OPTIMO K415 (51) 82% 74% 75% 73% 85% 75%
Maxxis All Season AP2 (20) 83% 79% 71% 75% 76% 73%
Avon ZX7 (29) 87% 85% 77% 77% 58% 80%
Rotalla RU01 S Pace (20) 84% 76% 71% 69% 77% 78%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (148) 84% 74% 74% 76% 72% 75%
Kumho Solus KL21 (11) 73% 67% 67% 63% 73% 68%
Michelin Latitude tour HP (27) 77% 64% 65% 67% 74% 77%
Achilles Desert Hawk HT (7) 76% 69% 66% 66% 70% 60%
Petlas Explero PT411 (4) 70% 30% 57% 53% 63% 70%

Hyundai ix35 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP given 79% (225-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Overall good winter tyres. Pretty good on dry and wet road at autumn temps taking into account these are winter tyres. Slightly blurred "zero" steering position at town speeds. Tyres of this size have rim protector which not every tire has and sidewall is moderately stiff. Snow pull is good to excellent. Handling on ice and mixed snow/ice is very stable while feedback is exceptional. You can definetely say when where tyres will start to slip. Ice grip is great for friction winter tyres. Overall feeling is better than more expensive Nokian Hakkapellitta R2.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-11 18:31:33
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 71% (225-60-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 30000 average miles
Used these for 5 years. Very durable tyres with stiff sidewalls and rim protector. Excellent dry and wet handling. Wet braking is exceptional, no problems with steering loss on wet road at high speeds. However wear is not the best side. Tyre is also not much puncture proof, probably due to stiff rubber compound. After five years one tyre started to loose integrity. Wouldn't say it is the best quality/price ration. Cheaper tyres on SUV should perform close to these but the price will be much more competitive.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-11 14:03:46
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2 given 78% (215-70-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
The winter tires for this car are so sublime. Wow I wouldn't think that a purest winter tire would drive this way. Criminal how there are no reviews on here. This is a tire for SUVs and alike so I can only imagine Blizzak LM005 or WS90. It is definitely something I'd recommend to a BMW X5 or Mercedes GLE. - Dry and Wet handling: it gripped onto the road quite well. In the cold wheelspin wasn't easily provoked so the bite force is pretty powerful and sticks to the road. I don't get why they have a lower wet grip rating, they performed marginally worse than WinterContact TS860 on my Audi and its wet traction was rated much higher but dry grip is comparable. I'd say unlike TS860 they overheat way too easily once it gets as warm as 10 C. Still this is a competent tire that works all round well and doesn't fear the cold at all making driving on cold damp roads a breeze. When pushing them they feel close to high performance tires but still needs more grip to get to that level, doesn't change the fact it is superior to its competition. I say this because the car starts wandering out into a slight understeer and you may not feel it at times but I don't know what is to blame, the tire or the profile of the tire. - Snow and Ice handling; blows my mind away how it eats the snow casually. Superior to the tires on my Audi, it goes and goes and goes even more. Does not fear deep snow, does not fear light snow either. Had to give it a 9/10 in snow though because sometimes it struggles with slush on the road for some reason which confuses me why. It just doesn't fear anything but slush. I like that it is neutral handling as well. Even in dry and wet they feel just the same as in snow - neutral balanced handling with only a marginal hint of understeer at the limit. My gripe is with ice. These tires are sensitive to pressures so if they get too low you may be stuck on ice. Once pumped up it goes like a champ, brakes hard even on ice. I should also highlight braking because they offer so much feel and feedback on braking it's great. I consider brakes on ix35 to be almost dangerously underbraked but these tires feel like I adeded 4 pistons instantly, it's that good. No wonder Bridgestone wins these tests with their winter tires each year. - Feedback: rating it from a winter tire perspective it is great. It won't leave you behind though sometimes when given a hard cornering the tire doesn't handle load up properly and you have to guess what the front end is doing. But still you feel the bite points, yaw changes, lateral grip and stability efortlessly. I just wish they stopped feeling floaty in snow, truly horrid I must say. You still get feedback but in snow there's a certain floatiness factor to it. At least it doesn't feel like there's lag when giving steering input like with some winter tires. - Comfort: fairly decent comfort. Rounds up the bumps quite well, sometimes you do not feel like you ran across a small patch on the road. Nothing much I can say because it's like on air suspension though not as comfortable as TS860 as this tire has stiffer sidewall. I can admit that this was the noisiest tire I have experienced but probably it's because of its aggressive tread pattern. On certain surfaces of the roads there is a low pitch hum that may annoy you or it may not. - Wear: they wear faster than other winter tires which isn't a surprise because of its tread pattern and its compromise of wear for grip. They will probably be done once it reaches 30k kilometers. Slightly worse than my TS860 and somewhat worse than my summer PS4. It's not a drastic grip decrease though like with TS860 when they wear. TS860 felt worse as it was wearing, these tires still feel subjectively the same. I'd ignore the wear rating and just get these, they are so confidence inspiring. Overall: when I compare TS860 on my car vs this one on this car objectively in cold damp conditions the TS860 is a bit better as it also feels like a summer tire. This tire however feels like a better all rounder, it has comparable grip, it has the same amount of road feedback as TS860 with the difference being DMV2s do not sacrifice feel and do not lag like TS860. Bridgestones as I always say have the best sidewalls, Continentals felt way too soft. Snow grip and ice grip is so much better. I have worn my TS860 tires lasting me nearly 37k kilometers and have been looking for a replacement, for passenger cars the alternative of this tire is Bridgestone Blizzak WS90 and will be considering it on my list although may need to import them as they don't seem to sell in Europe. I highly recommend this tire due to how subjectively they feel, how they grip, how they break and how sporty it can feel.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-09 12:14:37
Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler AT 001 given 76% (215-70-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Feel like reviewing the new set on my family member's car. A vast improvement over Michelin Latitude tour HP tire. Bridgestone really did ameliorate an all terrain tire to such extent I was surprised even as an enthusiast. I do feel a certain obligation to review it. - Dry and Wet handling: wouldn't say I noticed the difference in dry grip compared to Michelins, same wheelspin off the start, however I do feel like the handling has been so much sharper even on overly high profile. High speed driving was a breeze although it's a little twitchy but it is a combination of high profile and S load rating the latter which had H load rating. Irregardless of that loads up quite nicely and reacts to steering input fairly close to the level of high performance tires. Heat delivery is the same as previous Michelins with slightly more flex of the tread blocks which made me nervous at high speeds but still more input is better than less in my opinion. In the wet they, one-sided, performed better but balance in handling was veered to understeer, not as badly though in that it wasn't vexing or cumbersome. Overall it is with only slight tendencies to understeer but in comparison to Michelins it had a higher limit so it made the chore of driving more satisfying. Shame no rating for snow and ice grip but I rate it as third grade. Wheelspin machine basically but it still handled nicely in turn meaning it will help you if the roads get really cold, snowy and slightly icy but I do not recommend. - Feedback: for what it's worth it is decent. Definitely communicates, surprised me even that it did. Electric power steering, high profile and dull chassis shouldn't be extracting anything out of it but it did. A super light steering was given slightly more resistance which meant that the steering wheel needed less micro-corrections, much firmer bite. Also reacts to inputs pretty well so quickly even especially when it gets some heat on it. Braking is a bit numb though for some reason but it wasn't unbearable, I already know the car's brake bite points. Only negative is that because the steering is super light it introduces major bump-steer which annoyed me but it is part of feedback; it may be the tire blocks itself but sometimes there is some vagueness present when tires heat up. I wish it communicated better though, it is only above average and I'm used to medium-low profile tires coupled with higher performance so I'll rate it based on that perspective which is a 7/10, strong rating given the category of this tire. It must be fun driving off road with it but this car never sees it. Only on rare occassions. - Comfort: in this category these type of tires perform more or less the same except this one. This is definitely a stiffer tire and it transfers low frequency bumps from the suspension quite harshly, only way to soften it up is to drive through irregularities and minor cracks quickly. I respect Bridgestone as always for making any type of tire with stiff as all sidewalls. I feel better lateral stability and better changes in yaw when cornering, pretty much say goodbye to body roll. Comparable to on my Audi the former Turanza T001 except this is a sturdier and safer tire. Noise is slightly lower than Latitude tour HP. - Wear: 8k kilometers in and it's not worn 1 mm. It is probably going to be a hard wearing tire so no disappointment there. It's still in its initial life however even 40k kilometers would be satisfactory. Overall: definitely an upgrade in almost all fields but comfort although in spite of that it's so much superior. It also appearance wise looks cool and sturdy much better looking that boring Michelin Latitude tour HPs. A tire of this caliber being fairly close to high performance tires is a good step up and I'd recommend it. Mild annoyance I found was that the little rocks it collects in the tread blocks but the rest is fine. A tire providing off road capability and some sportiness.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-07 11:58:32
Writing about the Michelin Latitude tour HP given 57% (215-70-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 44000 average miles
Family member owns this car so I feel like reviewing it as these were OEM tires. As we all know Hyundai ix35 is one of the most dullard cars to drive with dynamics of a pig however these tires surprise me with their price considering it really isn't worth such a premium with such boring performance, you're paying for the brand on this instance. I drive all the cars spirited so I should provide a comprehensive report of how they handle and feel. - Dry and Wet handling: Even on a car that's also FWD as a Hyundai ix35 it performs fairly well considering this is an All Season tire and to be frank I never recommend them but it took me by surprise. You can definitely extract some of the dry grip while having comfort from this tire if this is what you care for, it won't disappoint as it has predictable balance of safe understeer, you won't need to guess when you start skidding. It's no UHP tire as I have PS4 on my Audi A6 C6 coupled with AWD and new Bilstein B6 dampers with Eibach springs; left a review before here so I seek sportiness but if I had to compromise it wouldn't be terrible but not my cup of tea. Wet grip is ghastly however. Numpty as it can be, already a car with understeer tendencies and this tire is exacerbating it. No balance whatsoever in the wet, managed to lose grip before in the car almost ending up in the ditch, can't fathom how a high profile tire struggled to communicate loss of grip especially. Below 3 mm tread it is absolutely scary, at 90 kmh on a non-sharp bend in the wet it felt like the wheels were sinking in wanting to aquaplane. Not recommended in the wet. It was as ghastly as it can be, worst tire I have tried in terms of wet grip. How vastly different are PS4 or even Turanza T001 compared to these, insanity, it's not worth the premium. Tire pressures won't help as it isn't sensitive to tire pressures, I attempted to mix pressures + front - back/- front + back to get the car handle better but to no avail. It only denotes that this is not a performance tire. - Snow and Ice handling: usually my family member switches these to winter tires however this tire has seen snow and ice before. Surprisingly adequate. Wasn't half bad in light snow, can push the car and it will grip, somehow the car was neutral rather than veer into understeer. Deeper snow provided massive struggle but in cold and damp roads it was pretty safe. Ice was also surprisingly better than my Continental WinterContact TS860 tires. These did not struggle and bit the road surface with patches of ice without an issue. On full ice it proved to be marginally faster than my car even with AWD. I guess it's due to compound of the tire and tire block flex that dictates the car's balance with these tires. - Feedback: look far away from these tires if you care about road feedback. There is none at all, only communication you'll get is from the chassis and if it isn't communicative as well you're in for trouble. Ultimately a car equipped with electric power steering robs feel and feedback making the steering as light as feather transmuting a dull and uninspiring drive. Tire gives no resistance on the steering wheel, no positive feel or feedback. Mentioned previously how I almost caused a car accident due to lackluster feel; on a high profile tire progressiveness is the main aspect and I couldn't even feel it. Truly horrid and lackluster unless you really want to isolate your driving that much - you won't feel bump-steer, vibrations or heft with these tires so go ahead if you want a disconnected experience. - Comfort: slightly firmer car and underdamped suspension was no issue for it. These tires are of topic I'd include comfort. Its main highlight is that it absorbs bumps, irregularities and vibrations effortlessly. On such a dull chassis it managed to make a ride supple, helped a lot with roads that were in bad condition as well as gravel roads, it floated like a carpet! This is the result of a tire being overly high profile with soft sidewalls. My TS860 is slightly softer I would say but this is still 10/10 in that category unlike PS4 where if encountered gravel roads I'd feel like my teeth are being smashed even at 10 kmh but all round absorbed irregularities in the roads supremely and handled like it was on rails. - Wear: hard wearing tire, it lasted quite a while and vastly impressed by that. Most of my tires are in 10k-15k range sometimes 20k range so I rate this blissfully perfect. Overall: if you want a boring, "safe", uninspiring ride then this all season tire is for you. I really think there's better competition than this and for a cheaper price, it's only comfort and wear that's superb on them but I had WinterContact TS860 which was super comfy and it had superb handling capabilties maybe even more exciting as they liked to oversteer a bit in snow and it was a winter tire at that. If they weren't so high wearing these tires maybe would provide handling capabilities. These tires have good heat resistance so it's safe to use them if you don't push them and drive sensibly at or under speed limit with some marginals for over the limit.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-04 10:48:19
Writing about the Achilles Desert Hawk HT given 75% (225-55-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 34200 average miles
Hi, i have had my IX35 since 2018 that was fitted with a set of new Achilles Desert Hawk HT tyres. On occasion we have driven off-road on mild 4*4 terrains and through the light snow we receive during the rare extreme Winters here in the Western Cape region of South Africa. So my experience thus far was indeed satisfactory accept for the low grip on the snow covered terrain creating a slippery scenario. In terms of coverage, now at 55 000 kilometers covered, its time for replacement, however, had the alignment been done regularly I might have extended the period by anther 5000 kilometers.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-22 09:31:05
Writing about the Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 given 82% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
Follow up to review of first set of Falken 210 AS 103v after 24k have found them to be very safe and made my ix35 very nice to drive all year round just replaced two rear wheels to day as down to 2mm and 3mm across tyre with the same Falken 210AS 103v , Front have a good 4mm right across , so i will replace with Falken 210AS103 v after estimate 5k .more or sooner the tyre are still a good price if you look around the tyre shops . The wear is on low side on back wheels but we do tow caravan when we can . I have been very happy as the car just feels SO MUCH BETTER ALL YEAR.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-07 19:34:22
Writing about the Achilles Desert Hawk HT given 80% (225-55-18-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12500 average miles
I fitted four new Achilles Desert Hawk 225/55R18 98V tyres to my vehicle in November 2018. The tyres have performed very well in wet and dry conditions alike. Road noise is average I would say, compared to some other brands. Drive comfort is good, Overall, I'm happy with the tyres quality and performance thus far and they represent very good value for money. If they still represent good value at the time I need to replace them, I certainly will replace them with the same tyres again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-11 12:39:16
Writing about the Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 given 84% (225-60-17-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 easy going miles
As a older driver with lots of miles on uk roads over 40 years this is the first time i wish say this tyre is just great on my ix35 4x4 , and make this car better , lots better. First month in June 2019 lots of grip after four week thy roll nicer and have been sure footed in all kinds of weather. This month its been very cold and frosty and ice on parts of the roads with no sun on but car and tyres feel so much better . We have not had snow but looking forward to the day or weeks .
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-04 20:33:55
Writing about the Maxxis All Season AP2 given 84% (225-60-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
These tyres have now been on my car for 3 years! Great road holding capabilities, work well in the rain and never felt like they would aquaplane. In wintry conditions, the stuck to fresh and compacted snow well, and dealt with slush and slippery roads with ease. They grip OK when icy too, though not at any great speed. I think the only issue I had is with braking distances in the summer, but it just means braking earlier and leaving a bigger gap. Fuel economy is probably down 1.5 mpg, but that is to be expected. Wear has been very good for such a budget tyre! 35,000 miles with still 2.6mm left!!
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-02 12:48:28
Writing about the Rotalla RU01 S Pace given 81% (245-45-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
For the money great value. I wouldn't buy them if you were a high mileage person. I can judge that my set will require replacing before 20k. Giving me 3 years.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-10 20:18:57
Writing about the Atlas Sport Green given 51% (225-55-18-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
Bought the green sport after reading reviews but very disapointed with it. Very noisy on tar road and not good feedback on dry road
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-22 19:10:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre