Continental AllSeasonContact

The Continental AllSeasonContact is the second summer-bias all season tyre to the market, and a rival for the Michelin CrossClimate. The AllSeasonContact combines good winter and summer performances, plus best in class rolling resistance.

The AllSeasonContact will be available in 14 to 18-inch sizes, widths of 165 to 245mm, 40 to 70 series cross sections and T/H/V speed ratings.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 87%
Wear 78%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 90%
Snow Grip 90%
Ice Grip 84%

Tyre review data from 22 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 165,570 miles driven.

The AllSeasonContact is ranked 8th of 41 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 ADAC SUV All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Relatively good in the wet, satisfactory on snow.
  • Negative - Weakness on dry roads.
View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 3rd of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing all round performance with best winter qualities and very good price-performance ratio. Very good aquaplaning properties, precise steering, low wear, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Express All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 6 tyres

  • Positive - A well balanced all season tyre, good grip in the wet and snow.
  • Negative - Significantly behind the Michelin in the dry.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/60 R14 86H XL   B B 71 6.44kgs
155/65 R14 75T   C B 71 5.53kgs
175/65 R14 86H XL   C B 71 5.94kgs
185/65 R14 90T XL   B B 71 6.91kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL   B B 71 5.95kgs
195/50 R15 86H XL   C B 72 7.02kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   C B 71 6.66kgs
195/55 R15 89H XL   C B 72 7.08kgs
185/60 R15 88V XL   B B 71 6.67kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   B B 71 6.67kgs
195/60 R15 92V XL   B B 72 7.61kgs
165/65 R15 81T   C B 71 5.90kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C B 71 7.00kgs
175/65 R15 88T XL   B B 71 6.50kgs
185/65 R15 92H XL   B B 71 7.22kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   B B 71 7.22kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 72 7.65kgs
195/65 R15 95V XL   C B 72 7.71kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   C B 72 7.90kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C B 72 7.63kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C B 72 7.27kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   B B 72 7.38kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   B B 72 7.43kgs
195/55 R16 87H   B B 72 7.31kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C B 72 8.03kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   B B 72 8.00kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   B B 72 8.00kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   B B 72 8.30kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C B 72 7.69kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   B B 72 8.65kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   B B 72 8.65kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B B 72 9.23kgs
235/60 R16 100H   B B 72 10.22kgs
215/65 R16 102V XL   B B 72 10.35kgs
215/65 R16 98H REN       10.30kgs
215/70 R16 100H   B B 72 10.48kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   C B 72 8.22kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C B 72 8.36kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C B 72 8.97kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 72 9.37kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C B 72 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C B 72 9.86kgs
205/50 R17 89H   C B 72 8.72kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C B 72 8.42kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 72 8.40kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 72 8.67kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C B 72 8.70kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   B B 72 9.64kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   B B 72 8.83kgs
215/55 R17 98V XL   B B 72 8.76kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   B B 72 8.87kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 72 10.12kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   B B 72 10.12kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   B B 72 10.39kgs
215/60 R17 96H   B B 72 9.75kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   B B 72 9.48kgs
215/65 R17 99V   B B 72 10.25kgs
215/65 R17 99V   B B 72 11.50kgs
225/65 R17 106V XL   B B 72 11.42kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   B B 72 11.77kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C B 72 9.77kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL   C B 72 9.49kgs
235/40 R18 95V XL   C B 72 9.92kgs
245/40 R18 97V XL   B B 72 9.85kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C B 72 9.69kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 72 10.60kgs
215/50 R18 92V   B B 72 9.31kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   B B 72 9.62kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL   B B 72 10.95kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL AO B B 72 12.10kgs
235/55 R18 100V AO B B 72 11.62kgs
235/55 R18 100V   B B 72 11.61kgs
235/55 R18 100V   B B 72 13.07kgs
255/55 R18 109V XL   B B 73 11.54kgs
225/60 R18 100V         11.52kgs
225/60 R18 100H   B B 72 10.65kgs
235/60 R18 107W XL   B B 72 10.77kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   B B 72 11.80kgs
215/50 R19 93T (+)       13.90kgs
235/55 R19 105V XL   B B 72 11.57kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   B B 72 9.09kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental AllSeasonContact

2018-10-19 - I have a Volvo 850 with 205/50/R16 wheels. Is it possible and legal to fit Continental All season 205/55/R16 tyres to my vehicle. Thanks for your help

You would need to check to see if there was a safe amount of clearance as the new tyres are bigger, you would also need to factor in your speedo would now be out, and you would need to notify your insurance company of the new tyre size.


2018-11-15 - Do you know the treadwear of this tire? I wonder how much mileage this tire has.

The treadwear will vary from size to size so you would have to check directly with Continental, however if you look at this years Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test it covers wear testing.


2019-01-01 - I am looking into tyres for a small car Toyota Aygo these continentals seem to come out good on reviews. Tyre size 155 65 r14 needed. As there are issues with mixing summer and (winter) on front wheel drive cars (good video seen) does the same apply for all season tyres. I am planning on all 4 tyres being changed at he same time. Generally looking at the tread all these look directional. So what happen with the spare tyre ? as this could be fitted only on one side Or do i just keep my summer continetal tyre as the spare that is more flexible in term of right /left location. I would appreciate any advice

As the Continental All Season Contact has a similar snow and ice performance to a full winter tyre, I would not recommend mixing all season and summer tyres as you could experience similar issues to the winter/summer setup!


2019-05-13 - Will the Honda HRV model year 2016 LX fit to use this tyre? Currently the original tyre is 215 55 R16. Planning for either 16" or 17" tyre and require some advise

As long as you can find the AllSeasonContact in the correct size and load rating for your vehicle, there's no reason you shouldn't use the tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


AllSeasonContact Prices

Size Price Range  
185/65 R15 £56.60 - £84.48 (26 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £57.00 - £83.29 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £67.00 - £98.74 (33 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £123.10 - £157.50 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £85.60 - £116.93 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/60 R17 £119.90 - £144.16 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 96 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Continental AllSeasonContact Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Skoda Octavia Scout (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 190 spirited miles
Initially tested on very wet and slushy country roads and additionally on 5-10 cm compacted snow in the mountains. Tyres appeared to perform as well in these conditions as my full winter tyres (Nokian WR D4). Dry braking performance in the 0-8 degree range seems very good but fast cornering and general dry handling was lacking a little to my summer Pirelli's when the temperatures were nearer 8 degrees. Still sufficient dry handling for all but the most spirited of drives I would say. Early impressions are good, more winter and dry testing needed but the wet performance has been exemplary. No wear yet so too early to give a wear rating.
151 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2017   
Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
After driving "crossclimate" and "4seasonG" can confirm that this tire combines characteristics of Michelina and Goodyear.
In my car before the all year tires I had a continental summer and a special winter set.
It is not true that it is actually winter.
quite different in the summer than winter tires eg TS-830.
The feel of the steering wheel is better than that of Michelin and Goodyear.
The tire has a great traction on the snow and lateral stance as opposed to the trembling crossclimate.
Goodyear is more comfortable and quiet, the rest is about the same.
Continental, however, keeps the dry road better than goodyear.
55 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2018   
Given 74% while driving a Hyundai elantra (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Having previously driven on 2 sets of Michelin Crossclimates (not the newer Plus model), subjectively there is a noticeable improvement in all areas. In the initial miles, dry handling was superb compared to the Michelines, tyres behaved better generally in the wet and being the XL model with reinforced sidewalls, there was less perceived flex while cornering. I would say that the road noise is maybe a bit more pronounced compared to the Crossclimate. I haven't been able to test the tyres in the snow as there is rarely any in my area, but I feel they wouldn't be any less competent compared to the previous model which behaved fine on slush and compacted snow. Having driven 40 000 kilometers the tyres are nearing the end of their life and maybe have 5000 more kilometers in them. There is really no complaints about the longevity, especially considering the very high summer temperatures in my country and my driving style. Michelines might have lasted a bit longer, but generally after 2 years it seemed as if their compound became much harder and started behaving like a much older tyre. With all of this being said I believe that in the last 10 000 km Continentals have been progressively loosing grip in the dry and wet. Asphalt in my area is less than ideal and feels like polished glass sometimes, but there is a noticeable change in tyre behavior nonetheless. Continentals loose grip more predictably, whereas the Michelines would cut traction abruptly and often without any warnings. One thing I noticed (mind you with MY car) is that the Continentals respond favorably to pressures slightly higher than manufacturer recommended (about 0,3 bar more). That made a car a little more agile and predictable, albeit with a slight comfort disadvantage. Generally I believe that most drivers will be perfectly happy with these tyres, as they provide a good compromise in all aspects in weather situations that don't dip into the extremes. My car is not a good driving platform as it flexes and massively understeers in the corners, so the tyres could behave even better on a car with a better and firmer suspension. I feel I got my moneys worth out of them and I recommend them, but as I like to experiment I will probably try a different tyre next time.
44 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2021   
Have you driven on the Continental AllSeasonContact tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental AllSeasonContact? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental AllSeasonContact >

Latest Continental AllSeasonContact Reviews

Given 50% while driving a Renault Clio III 1.2 55kW (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
Very bad tyre especially dry and i wear it on a clio iii. own these tyres 2.5 years and 25.000 km and they are burned .
1 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2021   
Given 79% while driving a Vauxhall Astra Sports Tourer (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
I bought these tyres in December 2019. They've been fitted to the car for roughly 10,000 miles now of mixed driving. The main reason I bought these tyres is the advantage that they offer over a traditional summer tyre in the snow and cold conditions. I have been out for the first real test of them in the snow this morning, and I'm happy to say that they've impressed me! It goes without saying that it is an "All Season" tyre so it's always going to be slightly compromised vs a full "Winter" tyre in the snow, but it performed a huge amount better than a "Summer" tyre would. I was able to tackle some snow covered country roads with both fair inclines and declines without the car feeling like it was struggling to grip. When coming to a stop on an incline and setting off again, there are a few seconds of wheel slip whilst the tyre finds some grip, however they're fitted to a fairly heavy front wheel drive estate car so that's understandable, a little bit of wheel slip and traction control kicked in on the steepest part of the climb, but they all worked together to keep/get the car moving, but once on the move it's a really confident feeling tyre. A definite note is that it drives noticeably better on fresh vs compacted snow so I have definitely aimed to keep the wheels in fresh snow where possible. Braking and steering performance were massively impressive too, enabling a confident/safe feeling drive especially down steep, twisting descents, which for me is main reason for purchasing the tyre, as I've got snow chains for if I get really stuck going uphill. Outside of the snow the rest of the year, I've not noticed any difference to a standard "Summer" tyre. Both in the dry and rain I wouldn't have been able to judge any difference between these tyres and the Michelin Summers that were on the car before, but perhaps if you've got something like a sports car where feedback is important, you may want a full "Summer" tyre in summer. I've had some fun making good confident feeling progress down twisting roads in the summer with these tyres. They've now done roughly 12,000 miles since they were fitted and they're at about 5-6 mm which is excellent considering that the tyres spend most of their life on NSL "rural" roads (pretty rough road surfaces, gravel farm tracks etc) etc. I'd say in normal driving conditions expecting 25,000 - 30,000 miles from them (changing at 3mm left) In my opinion, they're definitely worth it!
0 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2020   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 86% while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
It's a tyre without "surprise" behavior and well balanced perfomance on our volvo S80 D5 aut.
16 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a Opel Astra H GTC (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
better tire than M_crossclimate and gy4season. better steering feel than cross and gy4s. i don't like that conti shifted tire production to the Czech Republic and / or Russia. i just don't believe them.
24 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2020   
Given 82% while driving a Volvo V60 D3 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Awesome 4 season tyres, manufactures have improved the quality of these kind of tyres and they are almost similar to a winter tyre. I am impressed about grip on all scenarios, specially on wet roads like the ones that we have in luxembourg, nice comfort, almost no noise if you compare them with my old uniroyal winter tyres...
19 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2020   
Given 92% while driving a Renault Megane Coupe 2.0 dci 160hp (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
Have had all season tyres on my daily driver for a while now and totally sold on the concept. The extra grip you get in heavy rain, snow and ice is significant. Seeing as for most of the year the temperatures in the UK are generally low I can't really understand why people keep running around on summer tyres that are patently next to useless come winter time. Bought these Continentals to replace a set of Bridgestone Weather Controls. The Bridgestones were good but wore out rather quickly I felt (at about 17,000 miles) and overall the Continentals are much superior for around the same price. Have been totally happy with dry cornering and braking but the performance and handling in wet weather is supreme. I drive 60 odd miles per day on the motorway and with recent heavy rains have felt totally secure, these tyres shift water like you wouldn't believe and track dead straight even in deep standing water. Had some heavy snow on the hills in my area recently and whilst others were struggling to get up the slopes I had no issues whatsoever. In fact it was hard to tell that I was driving on snow at all. The sidewalls are quite inflexible but the ride is far from harsh and I reckon a bit of toughness is a good thing with the amount of potholes around these days. If all that wasn't good enough I am getting at least 4 more mpg than the Bridgestones and on the motorway they are very quiet and smooth indeed. Too early to give a good appreciation of wear but they seem to be holding up well. I highly recommend these tyres, for less than 90 quid a corner they are a bargain. Why pay 20 quid less each tyre for something mediocre when these are just so good?
17 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen golf plus 1.9tdi se (195/65 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Sunday morning 07:00 in the rain (my favorite) the tyres preformed almost as good as winter tyres... a lot of grip even in beyond "the limit" situations, that's why I wanted to try them... In the dry they let go when pushed but still keep the car where you want to go. Also, silica tyre squeal is very high sound frequency, almost inaudible... this is normal and it allows you to focus on cornering... Tyre has somewhat stiff sidewall so it has less "float" feel than "comfort" competitors but without being too harsh. If you change and balance the tyres yourself an all season tyre simplifies your work even if they last a few thousand km less than dedicated summer tyres... 9/10 If they make it last longer than what the tests show it will be 10/10... We'll see.
12 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2019   
Given 91% while driving a Subaru Outback 3.0L (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Genuinely all season tyres. I've had them for 2 summers and 1 winter, 13k miles and 6mm tread remaining. I've had snow, deep standing water, muddy tracks, 32 degree heat on motorways, the lot. Never lost grip, or had any nanny-tech intervening. Highly recommended for an Outback.
10 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 9,400 average miles
I have a Toyota Auris and i live in Greece. After 15000km of driving i am pleased with these tyres on snow and rain during winter months but when summer comes the tyres are sliking too much both on braking and handling. It is like a winter tyre and behaves better on winter. On summer you must be careful.
13 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2019   
Given 70% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I live in coastal Montenegro, which means the winters are mild with loads of rain; the issue is if you drive a little bit north, you encounter snow and ice road conditions. That is why I went for the allseason type of the tyre, because my previous experiences with 'proper' winter tyres has not been great - they would wear down quickly in the mild weather.
Continental AllSeason contact performs well in the wet conditions, which was very important for me (we have epic rain in Montenegro). I also tested it on several occasions while driving though compacted snow in the mountains, it gripped surprisingly well; on several occasions on the ice patches it tended to 'dance' a bit, but no major issues.
The only real drawback is the warm weather performance - since February the weather was sunny and warm, and the tyre does not perform as advertised - it becomes a bit slow and 'mushy' regarding the feedback. The wear is also not great, as it started to have visible damage to the surface. Also worth noting, the tyre picks up little stones everywhere you go - I suspect this was due to the warm weather and the 'stickiness' of the compound; I can only imagine what would happen in the summer temperatures of 40 degrees Celsius.
Just lately I have reverted to my summer tyres (Dunlop Maxx Sport), and the difference is incredible.
This is not all season tyre. I assume you could use them all season long if you live in mild to cold weather, but then why not buying proper winter tyre?
39 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Audi A4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
I've finally had chance to use this in snow and they're as good as they are in the dry and the wet. A really well balanced all season tyre, highly recommended. Only thing I've yet to try is really warm running.
24 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2018   
Given 92% while driving a Volkswagen golf mk4 gti 1.8T (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Over summer on dry and wet is great tire. In town ride on town-weared roads I get no spinning of weals. Start/stop on during rain also great - Golf MK4 150hp. Now when cold weather is also great behaviour on roat, open road also great, quiet on hi speeds. Dont know how it will be on snow, ice...but I dont expect poor behaviour. Previously I owned Kumho solus vier (all season), It was ok first year - but after 2 years it was so bad I bought 4 years old used winter tires and that was BIG improvement. Kumho on dry town roads was all time watching brakes and peddals - if i want to join trafic fast - i get wheels spining...Terible on wet road, teribble on snow - tires were as plastic! 4Years old 2 dunlop and 2 godyear tires were great for change that winter...until I bought Continental AllSeason - Now I get reliable car on road, reliable behaviour, brake, start. No need to drive EXTRA carefouly. Will see how is with wear over time. I bouht continental over michelin because of wear - in test and reviews I see Conti get more miles, and caracteristics are ok for my wheather conditions. I dont think it would be wrong to select one of top 3 tires on these reviews. Where you drive and how much is important. I dont drive much, no snow more than few days/weaks...some rain. If I would have more snow or winter conditions I would probably go for michelin all season tires!
3 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2018