Kumho Solus KL21

The Kumho Solus KL21 is a Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 73%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 63%
Wear 73%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 71%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 212,230 miles driven.

The Solus KL21 is ranked 34th of 54 All Season Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Kumho Solus KL21
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/65 R16 98H   B C 71 11.72kgs
215/65 R16 98H   B C 71 11.63kgs
225/60 R17 99H   C E 70 12.21kgs
225/60 R17 99H   C C 71 12.16kgs
225/60 R17 99H   C C 71 11.72kgs
225/60 R17 99H   E E 69 12.15kgs
225/60 R17 99H   C E 70 12.10kgs
225/65 R17 102H         13.65kgs
225/65 R17 102H   B C 71 11.92kgs
225/65 R17 102H   E E 68 13.32kgs
235/65 R17 104T         13.19kgs
235/65 R17 0T   C C 76  
235/65 R17 103T XL   B E 70 13.08kgs
235/65 R17 103T   B E 71 12.70kgs
245/65 R17 107H         13.84kgs
245/65 R17 107H   C C 71 14.77kgs
225/55 R18 98H   C C 71 12.46kgs
225/55 R18 98H   C C 69 12.42kgs
225/55 R18 98H   C C 71 12.42kgs
225/55 R18 98H   C B 71 12.99kgs
235/55 R18 100H         12.95kgs
235/60 R18 103H   C C 71 15.12kgs
235/60 R18 102H XL         12.99kgs
235/60 R18 103H   C C 71 13.79kgs
235/60 R18 103H   C C 71 13.44kgs
245/60 R18 105H         13.99kgs
245/60 R18 105H   E E 71 14.10kgs
265/60 R18 110H   B E 72 16.11kgs
235/50 R19 99H         13.41kgs
265/50 R20 107V   B E 72 16.01kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho Solus KL21. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Solus KL21 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/60 R17 £100.67 - £120.50 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/65 R17 £93.40 - £112.00 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/50 R20 £112.44 - £159.10 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 6 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Solus KL21 Reviews

Given 43% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee (265/60 R18 H) on mostly country roads for 16,900 easy going miles
Completely worn out after only 16900 miles of careful driving despite tyres being rotated every 6 months. Will never buy again
49 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2014   
Hyundai Santa Fe (230/60 R18) on mostly motorways for 11,250 average miles
Kumho Solus 21 tyres fitted by registered Hyundai service agent on 26/10/16.Passed W.O.F February 2017 and first rotation and alignment in April '17 but by September 8/17 tyres were completely rooted and had to be replaced(grand total of 18000km)travelled 95% of total km's on sealed roads by 73yr old driver.Hyundai service agent who fitted tyres initially will not do anything for owner because tyres not able to be inspected by supplier.Circumstances leading to inability to inspect came about because car was unsafe to drive at second rotation and alignment in September when problem of separation was discovered.One month before discovery of conditon of tyres was made mechanic of 35yrs experience
made comment about tyres felt off round.At this stage nothing was noticeable to 73r old driver but emphasises how rapid deterioration actually was.Very unsatisfactory state of affairs and one further comment to make.Writer always bought Kumho tyres for both ELF and Titan trucks and would swear to them but car tyres NEVER.
9 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee (265/50 R20) on mostly town for 30 average miles
Have had these Kumho tyres on Jeep Grand Cherokee since new, just having fronts replaced after 48,000km (30,000 miles) on a mix of mainly city, some country driving.
Impressed with the longevity, ride comfort, grip and lack of noise from these tyres. Will be replacing with the same tyre at a modest $225 a tyre (£125).
7 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2018   
Have you driven on the Kumho Solus KL21 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Solus KL21? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Solus KL21 >

Latest Kumho Solus KL21 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Kia Motors sorento (235/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Original tyres on my Kia Sorento 2014. So far done 25,000 including towing caravan and still have 4mm tread left
4 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2017   
Given 79% while driving a Hyundai ix35 (225/60 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
Came with my secondhand 2012 Hyundai ix35 1400 kg 2wd, 1.6 GDI as oem tyres alraedy done 30.000 kms. Now after 6 months it has done 40.000kms. I only changed the fronts with rear tyres 4 months ago. The threads are like new except the ones that I transferred to the rear. It seems it can do a well 20.000 kms too. Here the roads are in very bad condition. I tried them at minus 10 C on snow and ice. They seem OK. Not like winter tyes off course but if you know how it reacts or slides on ice, and if yo are cautious, they are acceptable.
6 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2017   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/60 R18 H) on a combination of roads for 49,000 average miles
These were standard fitment on my Hyundai Santa Fe 2011 CRD 4 wheel drive. Front tyres lasted to 41000 miles, just about to replace the rears at 49,900 miles. Will be buying these again. Very happy with them, even when towing our caravan. Difficult to understand some of the other negative comments, having to replace at 16,900 miles suggests to me a poor driver or a faulty suspension set up.
5 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2015   
Given 86% while driving a Kia Motors (235/65 R17 R) on mostly town for 50 average miles
When I bought my new KIA Sorento (2.2D Auto) in January 2011 it came out with Kumho Solus KL21 tyres. I have now (Feb 25, 2015) done 205,000km (65,244 miles) and I can probably still do another 15,000km (9,320 miles) before I need to replace them. I live in South Africa where we only have sunny weather, however I must add that the road infrastructuer in South Africa have deteriorated to such an extend since the ANC Government took over in 1994 that it is taking its toll on vehicle tyres. But these Kumho Solus KL21's have proven their worth and that it can take what ever is dished up - and more.
The only negative comment I can add is that the more these Kumho Solus KL21 tyres wear the harsher the ride became picking up every bump and crack in the road and transferring it to the cabin. But I must hastely add that this I only started noticing from about 80,000km (50,000 miles).
So, all in all these Kumho Solus KL21 tyres have given me unbelievable service and I will most definately replace them with the same tyres or similar Kumho Brand tyres.
Chris hattingh
4 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2015   
Given 43% while driving a Kia Motors (235/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 32,000 average miles
Where are the warning sings for this tire?
Signs that warn you that the grip on fresh and compact snow is null.
The breaking distance in those circumstances is ten times the one you used to.
ABS is making overtime when breaking, even from speeds below 15 mph.
This tire is a ECO tire at the cost of road safety. So safe a buck on the mileage and spend thousands at the the body workshop. Tons and tons more, if you or your fellow road member being hospitalized or worse.

A European driver assuming to have SUV kind of tires with some margin, instead of this heap of sh**t





0 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2012   
Given 14% while driving a Kia Motors (235/65 R17 T) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
Where to start ? Basically these tyres are utter rubbish and I removed them within a few months of buying my new car ! Poor levels of grip which border on dangerous, especially when braking, no feel and LOTS of road noise. These were O/E on my Sorento and ruined a great car. I would never use these tyres again.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2012