Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Latitude Sport 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 87%
Wear 72%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 72%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 107,340 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 SUV is ranked 1st of 1 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 ViBilagare SUV Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Near faultless performance in the dry and wet, good balance, safe driving characteristics.
  • Negative - Steering not as linear as the Bridgestone and Goodyear, a little noise, high price.
View Full Test >>

2020 SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Driving dynamics in a class of their own. The test winner is ahead in almost all categories.
  • Negative - High purchase price.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2020 SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test (255/55 R18)
  • 1st: 2020 ViBilagare SUV Tyre Test (225/60 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    225/65 R17 106V XL   C A 72 12.26kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   C A 72 13.11kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 72 14.38kgs
    225/60 R18 100V   E A 70 12.21kgs
    235/60 R18 103V   C A 70 13.02kgs
    235/60 R18 107V XL VOL A A 70 12.70kgs
    235/60 R18 107W XL   C A 72 13.05kgs
    255/60 R18 112W XL   C A 72 14.81kgs
    235/65 R18 110H XL   C A 72 13.82kgs
    255/45 R19 100V   E A 72 13.51kgs
    295/45 R19 113Y XL   C A 74 15.87kgs
    235/50 R19 99V   E A 70 12.89kgs
    245/50 R19 105W XL * A B 70 12.90kgs
    255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 72 14.09kgs
    255/50 R19 103W   C A 72 14.12kgs
    265/50 R19 110Y XL   C A 72 14.90kgs
    275/50 R19 112Y XL   C A 72 15.56kgs
    225/55 R19 99V   E A 70 12.55kgs
    235/55 R19 105Y XL   C A 72 12.95kgs
    235/55 R19 101V   C A 70 12.79kgs
    255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 72 14.62kgs
    255/55 R19 111Y XL   C A 72 14.55kgs
    275/55 R19 111W   C A 72 16.28kgs
    275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 72 14.50kgs
    295/40 R20 110Y XL   C A 74 15.89kgs
    235/45 R20 100V XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
    255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
    265/45 R20 108Y XL   C A 72 14.77kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 72 15.33kgs
    285/45 R20 112Y XL   C A 74 15.99kgs
    235/50 R20 104Y XL JLR A B 70 13.00kgs
    245/50 R20 102V   E A 70 14.05kgs
    255/50 R20 109Y XL   C A 72 14.50kgs
    265/50 R20 107V   C A 72 15.76kgs
    275/50 R20 113Y XL MO1 B A 72 16.90kgs
    255/55 R20 110Y XL   C A 72 15.31kgs
    295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 74 15.99kgs
    255/40 R21 102Y XL   C A 72 14.71kgs
    255/40 R21 102Y XL MO B A 72 14.10kgs
    265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 14.77kgs
    285/40 R21 109Y XL   C A 74 16.12kgs
    295/40 R21 111Y XL   C A 74 17.07kgs
    235/45 R21 101Y XL MO B A 72 13.30kgs
    245/45 R21 104W XL   C A 72 14.08kgs
    265/45 R21 104W   C A 72 16.05kgs
    275/45 R21 110Y XL   C A 72 16.39kgs
    285/45 R21 113Y XL   C A 74 17.66kgs
    275/50 R21 113V XL   C A 72 17.39kgs
    285/40 R22 110Y XL   C A 74 16.97kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV

    2019-04-16 - Hi - my ML63 2014 is due some new tyres soon. Despite it being seemingly obvious are these the 'right' tyres for it instead of the PS4S? Any idea if you might test these against the Goodyear Asymmetric 3 SUVs which I guess are the closest SUV specialist competitor? Thanks!

    They certainly are the right tyre for your SUV. Sadly they've not been in any group tests yet, but you can see the TUV data in the launch report from the PS4 SUV.


    2020-01-23 - Hi, I am looking for new tires in the nearest future for my Mercedes GLC 63 AMG. I am currently running on Continental Sport Contact 6 (265/45R20 and 295/40R20). I was always Michelin kind of guy, and I use Michelin Pilot Sport 4s on all my other vehicles and wanted to switch also to Michelin on my GLC. I am curious because there is no Pilot Sport 4s in this size, the only available tire is Pilot Sport 4 SUV. Do you think Pilot Sport 4 SUV is less sporty tire comparing to my current Continental Sport Contact 6 and by changing them to Pilot sport 4 SUV I will actually loose performance?

    In those sizes the performance should be quite comparable. The Pilot Sport 4 SUV is a much stronger tyre than the normal PS4, so should feel just as sporty as the SC6.


    2021-10-15 - I have 235/55 19 Michelin latitude sport 3 tyres on my Honda CRV and due to a tracking issue, I will have to replace one front tyre soon, the other 3 tyres are fine. As the Pilot sport 4 SUV has superseded the latitude 3, should I replace the tyre with a PS4 SUV, or will this cause an imbalance in handling etc, mixing front tyres? The alternative is to find a single latitude 3, or fit a pair of PS4 SUVs, which would effectively waste the perfectly good latitude 3 on the other side. Your advice would be appreciated.

    I would not recommend just a single PS4SUV as there will be handling and grip differences when compared to the Latitude 3. My choice would be to place new PS4SUV on the rear and keep the spare latitude as a spare.


    2021-10-29 - I have 235/55 19 Michelin latitude sport 3 tyres on my Honda CRV and due to a tracking issue, I will have to replace one front tyre soon, the other 3 tyres are fine. As the Pilot sport 4 SUV has superseded the latitude 3, should I replace the tyre with a PS4 SUV, or will this cause an imbalance in handling etc, mixing front tyres? The alternative is to find a single latitude 3, or fit a pair of PS4 SUVs, which would effectively waste the perfectly good latitude 3 on the other side. Your advice would be appreciated.

    I would advise against mixing tyres on the same axle. I would probably fit a pair of PS4 SUV and keep the good tyre as a spare.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Pilot Sport 4 SUV Prices

    Size Price Range  
    225/60 R18 £136.79 - £172.99 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/55 R19 £150.00 - £205.00 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/50 R20 £239.29 - £274.50 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/45 R20 £226.69 - £305.70 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/50 R19 £157.00 - £238.20 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 63 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV Reviews

    Given 64% while driving a Honda CRV (235/60 R18 V) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
    Very pricey. Not really worth the money as there are many more tyres which are half the price and performs as good as these.
    Helpful 241 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2019
    Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC 250 4 Matic (235/55 R19 W) on mostly town for 2,800 spirited miles
    This was my first change of tires on this car. Experiences are relative to the Bridgestone Dueler H/P Sport RFT that originally came with the car. Changed the tires at at 20,000km after I picked up a nasty bolt on one of the tires.

    The PS4 SUVs are definitely more comfortable and provided better tracking and feel (as much as a GLC can offer) compared to the Bridgestones. Traction was appreciably better and this allowed me to take the same sweeping bends with greater confidence. 35psi proved to be the sweet spot for the right balance between handling and comfort.

    Had the tires for a while now but have held off sharing till I had the opportunity to experience them under wet conditions.

    I got my wish today when the skies opened up and gave me a proper heavy tropical thunderstorm. Driving through the city and on the highway, with lashing tropical rain and large standing puddles (on the highway), I am happy to share that the handling was both composed and surefooted. Driving over standing water, at 80km/h, did not leave me with any aquaplaning. This was despite my repeatedly driving over all available standing water (near the median of the highway) all the way home.

    Am happy with the PS4SUV so far. More expensive than other offerings in this tire size? Likely. But my previous experiences with higher end Michelin tires on previous cars have convinced me that the price premium is justified.

    Helpful 66 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2019
    Given 96% while driving a Mazda cx5 (225/55 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    I bought the tyres in the beginning of the 2019 summer season here in Vienna, Austria. The Michelin replaced the OE Toyo R36 which was 6 years old. I have extensive background with different tyres as i used to work in a car rental company as well as being the go to guy among friends and family for the past 10 years if it has anything to do with tyres (or cars in that matter) so i am basing my opinion not only on the OE Toyo that came off the car but on all my knowlage and experience with different tyres on different cars. Great dry and wet grip in any event (braking, hard/fast start, taking corners at great speeds and in the middle of the corner turning in even harder/tighter). In my size 225/55 R19 99V (relative tall sidewall and not reinforced tyre) there was a little lack of steering feedback. The tyres in my opinion are silent (i cant hear them) up to 130km/h (80 mp/h) and beyond that i get wind noise in my Mazda so i definitely can't hear the tyres then. They roundup the bumps great. Great aquaplaning reserves and even on roads with just starting light rain (those first few miles where the roads are still slick from the oils not been washed out jet) absolutely no signs of slippage. wear: mine came with about 7.5mm form the factory. After about 24 000 km or 15 000 miles my fronts are at 6-6.5mm and backs around 7mm would i recommend them?: if you want the absolute best tyre and money doesn't bother you ABSOLUTELY. but if you have a car like mine (175ps diesel with 4x4), you wont drive it spirited on B-roads but just on the highway and to the shops but still want good tyres for a decent price there are a lot of good tyres out there that won't break the bank and offer 95% of the Michelin.
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2020
    Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV >

    Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV Reviews

    Given 61% while driving a Volvo XC90 2.5t AWD VOR (255/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 7,600 average miles
    After only 8.000 km less than 1,5mm pattern left!!!
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2022
    Given 84% while driving a Volvo XC60 (235/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Feels great in both wet and dry conditions. I use it on a heavy hybrid SUV in one of the wettest areas in Scandinavia, with temperatures roughly the same as in th UK in the summer. Plenty of grip in the wet and have not had any issues with aquaplaning. Seems to last long and keep it's characteristics for a long time. Very little change in feel as it wears (so far). These are the first tires on this car, so nothing to compare with, but I'm so happy with them that if I were to buy new tomorrow these would still be my choice.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2021
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 78% while driving a Ford Edge (245/50 R20) on a combination of roads for 27,180 spirited miles
    Had these on a owned since new 2014 Ford Edge Limited 245/40/r20 stick wheels for 46,000kms and 21 months. Rotated every 12,000kms and filled with nitrogen and laser alignment when installed. First 16 months were very grippy, smooth and comfortable. They felt like a premium tyre. Still the same afterwards except became very noisy and harder but not like the bricks that the OEM stock Pirelli Scorpion STR’s were. Noise due to tyre wear is probably due to extreme heat of the asphalt here in Dubai for 6 months of the year. From new I noticed slight rise in fuel consumption compared to the previous Pirelli Scorpion Verde AS tyres which were replaced after 24 months when they became too noisy too despite having 1/3 tread left before reaching the wear indicator. The Michelin’s were significantly better for comfort and performance - the Edge could be flung into bends with full confidence while the Pirelli’s would be noticeably jittery. Difference between UHP tyre and All Season tyre. All in all a great tyre but the noise became too intrusive. I’ve always installed premium brand tyres on my vehicles but having spent 3,500DHS (£700 GBP) on the Michelin’s for only 21 months use I’ve decided to go to medium range brand - NEXEN N-FERA RU5 AS tyres at less than half the cost (1,600DHS/ £320 GBP) to mollify the wife and bank manager. Reviews of the NEXEN overall are positive with only negatives being on snow (no chance here in Dubai). It was them or the Kumho Crugen HP71 or Nankang SP9 Cross Sport’s. I’ll review the NEXEN’s once I’ve put a decent amount of mileage on them but I expect them to last at least 24 months/50,000kms before they too succumb to the effects of road heat and spirited driving. At least the replacement cost will have reduced significantly! The Michelin PS 4 SUV are recommended but only for deep pockets if you live in very hot climate. Based on my experience with them I give them 8 out of 10.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2021
    Given 97% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/60 R18) on mostly country roads for 13 spirited miles
    A superb tyre, neutral steering, very quiet, remarkably compliant on small bumps and just never wants to let go. Wear appears to be fairly good. After 21,000kms down to 5.9mm so I am expecting 37,000-40,000kms from them.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2021