Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Latitude Sport 3.

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 82%
Wear 76%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 76%

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 222,860 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 SUV is ranked 1st of 1 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 Summer SUV Tyre Test - 2nd of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing premium tyre with a balanced high performance level, very good safety reserves against aquaplaning, short wet and dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Moderate sand traction.
View Full Test >>

2023 Best SUV Tyres Tested - 1st of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Test winner with top driving characteristics on wet and dry roads, exemplary safety reserves in aquaplaning, precise steering behavior, good off-road capability, good comfort.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

2023 The Best Electric Vehicle Tyres VS UHP Tyres - 6th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning protection, outstanding ride comfort and very quiet interior noise.
  • Negative - Slightly longer braking distances in the dry, marginal dynamic weaknesses in wet handling. Slightly increased rolling resistance. Increased pass-by noise.
  • Overall - Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV Acoustic Tested - Very quiet internal noise - more suited to combustion cars than EVs.
View Full Test >>

2024 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2024 Summer SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R19)
  • 2023 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2023 Best SUV Tyres Tested (225/65 R17)
  • 6th: 2023 The Best Electric Vehicle Tyres VS UHP Tyres (255/45 R20)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2020 SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test (255/55 R18)
  • 1st: 2020 ViBilagare SUV Tyre Test (225/60 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    225/65 R17 106V XL   C A 72 12.26kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   C A 72 13.11kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 72 14.38kgs
    225/60 R18 100V   E A 70 12.21kgs
    235/60 R18 103V   C A 70 13.02kgs
    235/60 R18 107V XL VOL A A 70 12.70kgs
    235/60 R18 107W XL   C A 72 13.05kgs
    255/60 R18 112W XL   C A 72 14.81kgs
    235/65 R18 110H XL   C A 72 13.82kgs
    255/45 R19 100V   E A 72 13.51kgs
    295/45 R19 113Y XL   C A 74 15.87kgs
    235/50 R19 99V   E A 70 12.89kgs
    245/50 R19 105W XL * A B 70 12.90kgs
    255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 72 14.09kgs
    255/50 R19 103W   C A 72 14.12kgs
    265/50 R19 110Y XL   C A 72 14.90kgs
    275/50 R19 112Y XL   C A 72 15.56kgs
    225/55 R19 99V   E A 70 12.55kgs
    235/55 R19 105Y XL   C A 72 12.95kgs
    235/55 R19 101V   C A 70 12.79kgs
    255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 72 14.62kgs
    255/55 R19 111Y XL   C A 72 14.55kgs
    275/55 R19 111W   C A 72 16.28kgs
    275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 72 14.50kgs
    295/40 R20 110Y XL   C A 74 15.89kgs
    235/45 R20 100V XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
    255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
    265/45 R20 108Y XL   C A 72 14.77kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 72 15.33kgs
    285/45 R20 112Y XL   C A 74 15.99kgs
    235/50 R20 104Y XL JLR A B 70 13.00kgs
    245/50 R20 102V   E A 70 14.05kgs
    255/50 R20 109Y XL   C A 72 14.50kgs
    265/50 R20 107V   C A 72 15.76kgs
    275/50 R20 113Y XL MO1 B A 72 16.90kgs
    255/55 R20 110Y XL   C A 72 15.31kgs
    295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 74 15.99kgs
    255/40 R21 102Y XL   C A 72 14.71kgs
    255/40 R21 102Y XL MO B A 72 14.10kgs
    265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 14.77kgs
    285/40 R21 109Y XL   C A 74 16.12kgs
    295/40 R21 111Y XL   C A 74 17.07kgs
    235/45 R21 101Y XL MO B A 72 13.30kgs
    245/45 R21 104W XL   C A 72 14.08kgs
    265/45 R21 104W   C A 72 16.05kgs
    275/45 R21 110Y XL   C A 72 16.39kgs
    285/45 R21 113Y XL   C A 74 17.66kgs
    275/50 R21 113V XL   C A 72 17.39kgs
    285/40 R22 110Y XL   C A 74 16.97kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV

    2019-04-16 - Hi - my ML63 2014 is due some new tyres soon. Despite it being seemingly obvious are these the 'right' tyres for it instead of the PS4S? Any idea if you might test these against the Goodyear Asymmetric 3 SUVs which I guess are the closest SUV specialist competitor? Thanks!

    They certainly are the right tyre for your SUV. Sadly they've not been in any group tests yet, but you can see the TUV data in the launch report from the PS4 SUV.


    2020-01-23 - Hi, I am looking for new tires in the nearest future for my Mercedes GLC 63 AMG. I am currently running on Continental Sport Contact 6 (265/45R20 and 295/40R20). I was always Michelin kind of guy, and I use Michelin Pilot Sport 4s on all my other vehicles and wanted to switch also to Michelin on my GLC. I am curious because there is no Pilot Sport 4s in this size, the only available tire is Pilot Sport 4 SUV. Do you think Pilot Sport 4 SUV is less sporty tire comparing to my current Continental Sport Contact 6 and by changing them to Pilot sport 4 SUV I will actually loose performance?

    In those sizes the performance should be quite comparable. The Pilot Sport 4 SUV is a much stronger tyre than the normal PS4, so should feel just as sporty as the SC6.


    2021-10-15 - I have 235/55 19 Michelin latitude sport 3 tyres on my Honda CRV and due to a tracking issue, I will have to replace one front tyre soon, the other 3 tyres are fine. As the Pilot sport 4 SUV has superseded the latitude 3, should I replace the tyre with a PS4 SUV, or will this cause an imbalance in handling etc, mixing front tyres? The alternative is to find a single latitude 3, or fit a pair of PS4 SUVs, which would effectively waste the perfectly good latitude 3 on the other side. Your advice would be appreciated.

    I would not recommend just a single PS4SUV as there will be handling and grip differences when compared to the Latitude 3. My choice would be to place new PS4SUV on the rear and keep the spare latitude as a spare.


    2021-10-29 - I have 235/55 19 Michelin latitude sport 3 tyres on my Honda CRV and due to a tracking issue, I will have to replace one front tyre soon, the other 3 tyres are fine. As the Pilot sport 4 SUV has superseded the latitude 3, should I replace the tyre with a PS4 SUV, or will this cause an imbalance in handling etc, mixing front tyres? The alternative is to find a single latitude 3, or fit a pair of PS4 SUVs, which would effectively waste the perfectly good latitude 3 on the other side. Your advice would be appreciated.

    I would advise against mixing tyres on the same axle. I would probably fit a pair of PS4 SUV and keep the good tyre as a spare.


    2023-03-19 - I am about to change the tires on my 62-plate Volvo XC70 D5 AWD aut. Currently, I have 4 Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Weather 235/50 R18 on the car. I am absolutely not a fan of these tyres. I have a few ideas, I would like to ask you to advise me based on your experience! 1: Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV, 2: Bridgestone Turanza 6, 3: Michelin Primacy 4+? My previous car had the Continental Premium Contact 6 on ( really enjoyed them) and now I have seen the PC 7 has just been released. There are not many reviews of the PC7 or Turanza 6 just yet to help me. I am living in Scotland, wet performance is a key element and temperatures are milder ( would it be warm enough for PS4SUV or PC7? ) Most of the time I drive on twisty A roads and motorways. Often long motorway journeys. Which tyres would match the best with my car’s characteristics? ( would you recommend any other tyres which are not on my list?) I am not driving over the speed limit but enjoy a good drive and a responsive car. Also, enjoy the comfort of the car and the generally low interior noise levels. I really appreciate your answer and help! Thanks

    This is not based on actual experience as I've not had the PS4 SUV in a test myself, but based on the data I would have no hesitation fitting it. The PC7 is also a great shout if you can get it in the correct size and load index!


    2023-03-20 - I need to buy new summer tyres for 2020 Porsche Macan Turbo. Should I go for these "Pilot Sport 4 SUV" whiteout Porsche homologation or stay with Latitude Sport 3 but with Porsche homologation, they are at the same price. Pilot Sport 4 SUV looks like far more advance tyre...

    Whether you want to stick with the N rated tyre is a personal choice, I have a Cayenne and if presented with the same option I would pick the PS4 SUV.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/55 R19 £170.17 - £172.48 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/55 R19 £173.89 - £199.61 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/60 R18 £149.99 - £176.99 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/40 R21 £286.85 - £308.18 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/45 R20 £247.94 - £286.99 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    275/40 R22 £240.62 - £292.55 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 56 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV Reviews

    Given 64% while driving a Honda CRV (235/60 R18 V) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
    Very pricey. Not really worth the money as there are many more tyres which are half the price and performs as good as these.
    Helpful 300 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2019
    Given 61% while driving a Volvo XC90 2.5t AWD VOR (255/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 7,600 average miles
    After only 8.000 km less than 1,5mm pattern left!!!
    Helpful 90 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2022
    Given 63% while driving a Volvo XC60 T6 POLESTAR (275/40 R22) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Very noisy Tyre, not sure if it has something with dimensions, but definitely will consider buying different next time... everything else is good, but noise is deal breaker...
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2023
    Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV >

    Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV Reviews

    Given 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLS 500 bi turbo (275/50 R20) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
    Already my third set of tires. The first generation of 2021 had lousy mileage (had under 5mm left after 8000 km) but has improved since and I typically do 30'000km until 4.4mm of tread is left (I never go under) starting with 6.8-6.9mm for a new one. Second comment is that Michelin seems to offer less tread on their tires as compared to competition - all things equal this makes for lower mileage. Overall I never liked Michelin tires and would take off if provided with a new car however after I have them on my Noble M600 (custom made for Z rating and size) I tried them on powerful SUVs and are positively impressed to the extend I switched over from ContiSportContact 5 SUV (also a great tire reviewed separately) for most of my cars. A balanced tire equally good for dry and wet. Surprisingly very good for offroad ALTHOUGH not an offroad tire by nature/design. A summer performance tire (contrary to many of the ones I used) maintains positive characteristics when nearing to freezing temperatures and even on wet roads just above freezing. THIS IS not a tire meant to be driven anywhere close to this levels but reassuring if you get surprised late autumn. Very good aquaplanning resistance and likes dynamic driving (although I add typically between 0.2-0.4bar (depending on style) of pressure for everyday driving. Looks also very good although due to tread may be slightly overbearing on some cars (just thinking whether to mount them on my Volvo XC90 V8 as they may have just to heavy looks. On the Mercedes SUV which is an ugly block anyhow they look gorgeous. If you opt for comfort, low noise levels this is not a tire for you but these parameters are secondary or even tertiary as is price for me. Safety, balanced performance and dry/wet/aquaplaning/stability being key for me - this is where the tire excels. Michelin (as any other producer) will not acknowledge this and I did not do a scientific side-by-side test but tires vary moderately (to even more than moderately) depending on country of origin. Also when reordering do not trust only the name/model but if you want same performance going forward check the SAP (or equivalent) systems number (I have been advised so by two premium tire manufacturers and in true life the difference can be significant - both in terms of e.g. dry/wet optimization as well as OEM vs aftermarket). The ones reviewed come from Hungary.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2024
    Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (255/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 20 easy going miles
    I have used Vredestein Quatrac 5, Pirelli Scorpion Verde and Michelin Pilot Sport on my Mercedes GLC350D. The tyre sizes were 255 / 45 / R20 101W.

    The Michelin PS4 tyres operate at +7°C to +40°C and are excellent in the summer wet and dry but not great (useless) in the winter snow & ice. The Michelin did perform better than the Vredestein Quatrac 5 or the Pirelli Scorpion Verde. I love this tyre.

    With winter approaching, and tread wearing, I am now looking for a new set of tyres and am deliberating between the Pilot Sport 4 SUV and the Cross Climate 2. The Cross Climate 2 operates between -10°C to +30°C and will offer improved winter (snow) performance. The operating temperature should be ideal for the UK climate but I would like to better understand how much summer performance (braking, handling & stopping) I will sacrifice. Will I notice any significant difference in a 3.0litre, V6 Diesel SUV? It does not go on the track and is driven in Comfort Mode.

    Both Michelin tyres get good write ups, hence my problem. Try something new (CC) or stick with the product PS4 that I know performs well 95% of the time.

    1. Has there been a direct comparison between the Pilot Sport 4 and the Cross Climate 2?
    2. Perhaps a comparison test would help many readers?
    3. Does anyone have any direct experience?

    Thank you
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 90% while driving a Volvo V90 Cross CountryT5 (255/40 R21) on mostly motorways for 22,500 spirited miles
    I have full confidence in its braking ablility, Im a late braker and it saved me from more than a few bumper collision. Aquaplaning is good. Wet handling - unsure, as I have not driven fast in the wet. Good grip all around, rotated twice and am on 36000km with still decent tread left. Tire’s sidewall had a chunk of rubber gorged out due to a kerb exposing the innards. Is it too soft?? Overall very good.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2023
    Given 73% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLE 250d 4Matic (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
    On my GLC since 3 summers, about 30.000 km done. It is a really good tire overall, the wear is very limited, the only aspect I don't appreciate much is the noise, and the fuel economy not better than the winter tire, a Michelin Alpin 5 SUV
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2023
    Given 91% while driving a Mazda cx5 (225/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Michelin is undoubtedly a fairly reliable option, the Pilot Sport 4 SUV is the best option for those who use their car to go out on the track, it requires a lot and does not cover so many kilometers, for us mortals who use the SUV as a vehicle For transportation and even for business work, the mileage performance is quite low, 40,000 km. Exaggerating this the price is high, another quality is that it has an excellent grip due to its low treadwear, but this causes an increase in fuel consumption between 10 to 15% more, it is not so annoying but in case anyone will be interested.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2023
    Given 100% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    Although its a bit pricey (and loud as they say, I dont care it it is loud as long as it is the safest), it will be my next purchase. Great tyre.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2022
    Given 84% while driving a Volvo XC60 (235/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Feels great in both wet and dry conditions. I use it on a heavy hybrid SUV in one of the wettest areas in Scandinavia, with temperatures roughly the same as in th UK in the summer. Plenty of grip in the wet and have not had any issues with aquaplaning. Seems to last long and keep it's characteristics for a long time. Very little change in feel as it wears (so far). These are the first tires on this car, so nothing to compare with, but I'm so happy with them that if I were to buy new tomorrow these would still be my choice.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2021
    Given 78% while driving a Ford Edge (245/50 R20) on a combination of roads for 27,180 spirited miles
    Had these on a owned since new 2014 Ford Edge Limited 245/40/r20 stick wheels for 46,000kms and 21 months. Rotated every 12,000kms and filled with nitrogen and laser alignment when installed. First 16 months were very grippy, smooth and comfortable. They felt like a premium tyre. Still the same afterwards except became very noisy and harder but not like the bricks that the OEM stock Pirelli Scorpion STR’s were. Noise due to tyre wear is probably due to extreme heat of the asphalt here in Dubai for 6 months of the year. From new I noticed slight rise in fuel consumption compared to the previous Pirelli Scorpion Verde AS tyres which were replaced after 24 months when they became too noisy too despite having 1/3 tread left before reaching the wear indicator. The Michelin’s were significantly better for comfort and performance - the Edge could be flung into bends with full confidence while the Pirelli’s would be noticeably jittery. Difference between UHP tyre and All Season tyre. All in all a great tyre but the noise became too intrusive. I’ve always installed premium brand tyres on my vehicles but having spent 3,500DHS (£700 GBP) on the Michelin’s for only 21 months use I’ve decided to go to medium range brand - NEXEN N-FERA RU5 AS tyres at less than half the cost (1,600DHS/ £320 GBP) to mollify the wife and bank manager. Reviews of the NEXEN overall are positive with only negatives being on snow (no chance here in Dubai). It was them or the Kumho Crugen HP71 or Nankang SP9 Cross Sport’s. I’ll review the NEXEN’s once I’ve put a decent amount of mileage on them but I expect them to last at least 24 months/50,000kms before they too succumb to the effects of road heat and spirited driving. At least the replacement cost will have reduced significantly! The Michelin PS 4 SUV are recommended but only for deep pockets if you live in very hot climate. Based on my experience with them I give them 8 out of 10.
    Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2021
    Given 97% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/60 R18) on mostly country roads for 13 spirited miles
    A superb tyre, neutral steering, very quiet, remarkably compliant on small bumps and just never wants to let go. Wear appears to be fairly good. After 21,000kms down to 5.9mm so I am expecting 37,000-40,000kms from them.
    Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2021
    Given 96% while driving a Mazda cx5 (225/55 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    I bought the tyres in the beginning of the 2019 summer season here in Vienna, Austria. The Michelin replaced the OE Toyo R36 which was 6 years old. I have extensive background with different tyres as i used to work in a car rental company as well as being the go to guy among friends and family for the past 10 years if it has anything to do with tyres (or cars in that matter) so i am basing my opinion not only on the OE Toyo that came off the car but on all my knowlage and experience with different tyres on different cars. Great dry and wet grip in any event (braking, hard/fast start, taking corners at great speeds and in the middle of the corner turning in even harder/tighter). In my size 225/55 R19 99V (relative tall sidewall and not reinforced tyre) there was a little lack of steering feedback. The tyres in my opinion are silent (i cant hear them) up to 130km/h (80 mp/h) and beyond that i get wind noise in my Mazda so i definitely can't hear the tyres then. They roundup the bumps great. Great aquaplaning reserves and even on roads with just starting light rain (those first few miles where the roads are still slick from the oils not been washed out jet) absolutely no signs of slippage. wear: mine came with about 7.5mm form the factory. After about 24 000 km or 15 000 miles my fronts are at 6-6.5mm and backs around 7mm would i recommend them?: if you want the absolute best tyre and money doesn't bother you ABSOLUTELY. but if you have a car like mine (175ps diesel with 4x4), you wont drive it spirited on B-roads but just on the highway and to the shops but still want good tyres for a decent price there are a lot of good tyres out there that won't break the bank and offer 95% of the Michelin.
    Helpful 69 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2020
    Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC 250 4 Matic (235/55 R19 W) on mostly town for 2,800 spirited miles
    This was my first change of tires on this car. Experiences are relative to the Bridgestone Dueler H/P Sport RFT that originally came with the car. Changed the tires at at 20,000km after I picked up a nasty bolt on one of the tires.

    The PS4 SUVs are definitely more comfortable and provided better tracking and feel (as much as a GLC can offer) compared to the Bridgestones. Traction was appreciably better and this allowed me to take the same sweeping bends with greater confidence. 35psi proved to be the sweet spot for the right balance between handling and comfort.

    Had the tires for a while now but have held off sharing till I had the opportunity to experience them under wet conditions.

    I got my wish today when the skies opened up and gave me a proper heavy tropical thunderstorm. Driving through the city and on the highway, with lashing tropical rain and large standing puddles (on the highway), I am happy to share that the handling was both composed and surefooted. Driving over standing water, at 80km/h, did not leave me with any aquaplaning. This was despite my repeatedly driving over all available standing water (near the median of the highway) all the way home.

    Am happy with the PS4SUV so far. More expensive than other offerings in this tire size? Likely. But my previous experiences with higher end Michelin tires on previous cars have convinced me that the price premium is justified.

    Helpful 89 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2019