SUV and 4x4 Summer Max Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed suv and 4x4 summer max performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV (19) 92% 89% 82% 82% 76% 73%

SUV and 4x4 Summer Max Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLS 500 bi turbo
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Already my third set of tires. The first generation of 2021 had lousy mileage (had under 5mm left after 8000 km) but has improved since and I typically do 30'000km until 4.4mm of tread is left (I never go under) starting with 6.8-6.9mm for a new one. Second comment is that Michelin seems to offer less tread on their tires as compared to competition - all things equal this makes for lower mileage. Overall I never liked Michelin tires and would take off if provided with a new car however after I have them on my Noble M600 (custom made for Z rating and size) I tried them on powerful SUVs and are positively impressed to the extend I switched over from ContiSportContact 5 SUV (also a great tire reviewed separately) for most of my cars. A balanced tire equally good for dry and wet. Surprisingly very good for offroad ALTHOUGH not an offroad tire by nature/design. A summer performance tire (contrary to many of the ones I used) maintains positive characteristics when nearing to freezing temperatures and even on wet roads just above freezing. THIS IS not a tire meant to be driven anywhere close to this levels but reassuring if you get surprised late autumn. Very good aquaplanning resistance and likes dynamic driving (although I add typically between 0.2-0.4bar (depending on style) of pressure for everyday driving. Looks also very good although due to tread may be slightly overbearing on some cars (just thinking whether to mount them on my Volvo XC90 V8 as they may have just to heavy looks. On the Mercedes SUV which is an ugly block anyhow they look gorgeous. If you opt for comfort, low noise levels this is not a tire for you but these parameters are secondary or even tertiary as is price for me. Safety, balanced performance and dry/wet/aquaplaning/stability being key for me - this is where the tire excels. Michelin (as any other producer) will not acknowledge this and I did not do a scientific side-by-side test but tires vary moderately (to even more than moderately) depending on country of origin. Also when reordering do not trust only the name/model but if you want same performance going forward check the SAP (or equivalent) systems number (I have been advised so by two premium tire manufacturers and in true life the difference can be significant - both in terms of e.g. dry/wet optimization as well as OEM vs aftermarket). The ones reviewed come from Hungary.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-09 14:17:07
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC250D
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-12-10 14:48:09
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 easy going miles
I have used Vredestein Quatrac 5, Pirelli Scorpion Verde and Michelin Pilot Sport on my Mercedes GLC350D. The tyre sizes were 255 / 45 / R20 101W.

The Michelin PS4 tyres operate at +7°C to +40°C and are excellent in the summer wet and dry but not great (useless) in the winter snow & ice. The Michelin did perform better than the Vredestein Quatrac 5 or the Pirelli Scorpion Verde. I love this tyre.

With winter approaching, and tread wearing, I am now looking for a new set of tyres and am deliberating between the Pilot Sport 4 SUV and the Cross Climate 2. The Cross Climate 2 operates between -10°C to +30°C and will offer improved winter (snow) performance. The operating temperature should be ideal for the UK climate but I would like to better understand how much summer performance (braking, handling & stopping) I will sacrifice. Will I notice any significant difference in a 3.0litre, V6 Diesel SUV? It does not go on the track and is driven in Comfort Mode.

Both Michelin tyres get good write ups, hence my problem. Try something new (CC) or stick with the product PS4 that I know performs well 95% of the time.

1. Has there been a direct comparison between the Pilot Sport 4 and the Cross Climate 2?
2. Perhaps a comparison test would help many readers?
3. Does anyone have any direct experience?

Thank you
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-08 14:54:47
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 90% while driving a Volvo V90 Cross CountryT5
Driving on mostly motorways for 22500 spirited miles
I have full confidence in its braking ablility, Im a late braker and it saved me from more than a few bumper collision. Aquaplaning is good. Wet handling - unsure, as I have not driven fast in the wet. Good grip all around, rotated twice and am on 36000km with still decent tread left. Tire’s sidewall had a chunk of rubber gorged out due to a kerb exposing the innards. Is it too soft?? Overall very good.
tyre reviewed on 2023-08-15 11:05:00
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 63% while driving a Volvo XC60 T6 POLESTAR
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Very noisy Tyre, not sure if it has something with dimensions, but definitely will consider buying different next time... everything else is good, but noise is deal breaker...
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-14 12:08:53
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 73% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLE 250d 4Matic
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
On my GLC since 3 summers, about 30.000 km done. It is a really good tire overall, the wear is very limited, the only aspect I don't appreciate much is the noise, and the fuel economy not better than the winter tire, a Michelin Alpin 5 SUV
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-01 09:35:31
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 91% while driving a Mazda cx5
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Michelin is undoubtedly a fairly reliable option, the Pilot Sport 4 SUV is the best option for those who use their car to go out on the track, it requires a lot and does not cover so many kilometers, for us mortals who use the SUV as a vehicle For transportation and even for business work, the mileage performance is quite low, 40,000 km. Exaggerating this the price is high, another quality is that it has an excellent grip due to its low treadwear, but this causes an increase in fuel consumption between 10 to 15% more, it is not so annoying but in case anyone will be interested.
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-21 06:28:16
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 100% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Although its a bit pricey (and loud as they say, I dont care it it is loud as long as it is the safest), it will be my next purchase. Great tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-03 23:11:19
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 84% while driving a Acura RDX a spec
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-21 13:33:41
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 61% while driving a Volvo XC90 2.5t AWD VOR
Driving on a combination of roads for 7600 average miles
After only 8.000 km less than 1,5mm pattern left!!!
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-04 20:07:41
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 84% while driving a Volvo XC60
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Feels great in both wet and dry conditions. I use it on a heavy hybrid SUV in one of the wettest areas in Scandinavia, with temperatures roughly the same as in th UK in the summer. Plenty of grip in the wet and have not had any issues with aquaplaning. Seems to last long and keep it's characteristics for a long time. Very little change in feel as it wears (so far). These are the first tires on this car, so nothing to compare with, but I'm so happy with them that if I were to buy new tomorrow these would still be my choice.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-09 21:44:57
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV rated 78% while driving a Ford Edge
Driving on a combination of roads for 27180 spirited miles
Had these on a owned since new 2014 Ford Edge Limited 245/40/r20 stick wheels for 46,000kms and 21 months. Rotated every 12,000kms and filled with nitrogen and laser alignment when installed. First 16 months were very grippy, smooth and comfortable. They felt like a premium tyre. Still the same afterwards except became very noisy and harder but not like the bricks that the OEM stock Pirelli Scorpion STR’s were. Noise due to tyre wear is probably due to extreme heat of the asphalt here in Dubai for 6 months of the year. From new I noticed slight rise in fuel consumption compared to the previous Pirelli Scorpion Verde AS tyres which were replaced after 24 months when they became too noisy too despite having 1/3 tread left before reaching the wear indicator. The Michelin’s were significantly better for comfort and performance - the Edge could be flung into bends with full confidence while the Pirelli’s would be noticeably jittery. Difference between UHP tyre and All Season tyre. All in all a great tyre but the noise became too intrusive. I’ve always installed premium brand tyres on my vehicles but having spent 3,500DHS (£700 GBP) on the Michelin’s for only 21 months use I’ve decided to go to medium range brand - NEXEN N-FERA RU5 AS tyres at less than half the cost (1,600DHS/ £320 GBP) to mollify the wife and bank manager. Reviews of the NEXEN overall are positive with only negatives being on snow (no chance here in Dubai). It was them or the Kumho Crugen HP71 or Nankang SP9 Cross Sport’s. I’ll review the NEXEN’s once I’ve put a decent amount of mileage on them but I expect them to last at least 24 months/50,000kms before they too succumb to the effects of road heat and spirited driving. At least the replacement cost will have reduced significantly! The Michelin PS 4 SUV are recommended but only for deep pockets if you live in very hot climate. Based on my experience with them I give them 8 out of 10.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-19 13:42:36
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre