Goodyear Excellence

The Goodyear Excellence is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 71%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 71%
Wear 72%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 62%

Tyre review data from 119 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 2,544,856 miles driven.

The Excellence is ranked 83rd of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Goodyear Excellence
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/65 R15 91H XL   E C 68 8.80kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL TOYOTA E C 68 8.89kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL *RSC E B 67 10.20kgs
195/55 R16 87V XL *RSC E B 67 10.20kgs
215/60 R16 95V   C C 69 9.59kgs
245/40 R17 91W XL MOEXTENDED F B 67 12.26kgs
215/45 R17 87V XL MO F C 69 9.78kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL MOEXTENDED E C 68 10.88kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL MOEXTENDED E C 68 10.84kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   E C 70 13.55kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C C 69 9.82kgs
215/55 R17 98V XL   C B 69 11.56kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL * E C 69 10.89kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL * E C 69 10.89kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL *RSC E B 70 14.20kgs
235/55 R17 99V XL AO E B 68 12.63kgs
245/55 R17 102V XL *RSC E B 71 16.83kgs
245/55 R17 102W XL *RSC E B 71 16.83kgs
235/65 R17 104W XL AO E B 70 13.80kgs
245/45 R18 96Y XL *RSC F B 68 14.75kgs
235/60 R18 107W XL AO C C 69 13.69kgs
235/60 R18 103W XL AO E C 69 13.76kgs
245/40 R19 94Y XL *RSC E C 70 13.50kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *RSC E B 69 13.51kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL *RSC E C 70 16.65kgs
245/45 R19 98Y XL *RSC E C 70 14.92kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AOE E C 69 15.89kgs
235/55 R19 101W XL AO C C 69 13.69kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL *RSC E C 70 15.75kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL *RSC E C 73 15.75kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL *RSC E C 69 14.04kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL *RSC E C 69 14.89kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL *RSC E C 69 14.89kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C C 70 15.84kgs
255/45 R20 101W XL AO E B 70 14.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Excellence

2017-02-07 - Hi, can anyone tell me if this is a directional tyre or not? I need one for a full size spare wheel, which should ideally NOT be directional.

The Goodyear Excellent is an asymmetric tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Excellence Prices

Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £95.00 - £102.65 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 17 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear Excellence Reviews

BMW 730d (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 52,000 average miles
Have this on BMW 730d from April 2009 (I know somebody will classify me as mad). Run for app. 52000 miles, 95% on highways. App. speed 150 km/h (app 94 mph). We use this car rarely, but tires still with no breaks on sides like described in some reviews. Changed them for same new set bought through internet site. Will see how will they perform and last.
209 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Honda Accord (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 31,000 spirited miles
Good handling during wet and dry.
Abit noisy.
Cheap and excellence premium touring tyre.
36 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2017   
Given 64% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Don't like the tyres under wet conditions...they are just terrible. On there other hand, under dry conditions...they are very good. I wouldn't buy them again though...
32 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2017   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Excellence tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Excellence? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Excellence >

Latest Goodyear Excellence Reviews

Volvo (235/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
The tyres were part worn on the car when I bought it. Driven approx 20000 miles, on the front of a volvo xc70 awd. Found the tyres to be good all round summer and winter. Even wear, gripped well and seemed good on fuel economy. Smooth tomdrive and comfortable ride. Bought good year vector 4 all season tyres on the strength of good year quality. I will see how they compare wear wise. No complaints, would buy again if looking for a summer tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2021   
Given 76% while driving a BMW 520D M Sport Touring (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Runflat version. These are probably the most comfortable runflat's I've driven on. Dry and wet handling are both tidy, nothing too sporty but safe and predictable. Seem to wear pretty well too.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 59% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (245/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Had the Run-flat version of these on my 535d. When i got the car the the fronts where new, and the rear just a few thousand miles old. Just a months after getting the car I had to replace the OSF - passenger front - as I found a bulge in the side wall. I took the car to the nurburgring and it was very hot weather late summer, tyres performed pretty well on the track. Fast forward about 8k miles and six months and I've found TWO bulges in the OSF tyre, the very tyre I had replaced with a new one for the same reason just six months earlier. Im removing them and replacing with Michelin non-runflat tyres. I can't recommend these goodyear excellence runflats - i've had much better expeice with dunlop sportmaxx runflat, perelli p-zero runflats, and bridgestone potenza and dueller runflats.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2021   
Given 52% while driving a BMW 318 (215/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
I drive my BMW E46 to Genting, the Goodyear Excellence gave me the lousy feedback, oversteered when in wet road running about 20-30 km/h. Tyre very very noisy.
16 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a Honda Odyssey (215/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,800 average miles
Drive my car to phuket from singapore. To n fro ard 2800 km. Very happy with the performance. Comfortable and quiet.
19 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019   
Given 71% while driving a BMW F11 M550d xDrive (245/40 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
These tyres came factory-fitted to a set of OEM rims. When I purchased them, they had already seen quite some miles and were in their third season. They had about 5,5 mm tread left. I was originally just interested in the rims but decided to give the tyres a chance as well. Let me also mention that these were the run-flat version of the Goodyear Excellence.

The tyres have impressed me. They are a bit noisy on rough asphalt like the one we usually have in Norway. But during a trip to Italy and on the Autobahn, noise was no issue. Dry grip is also fair. But when pushed, they will slip. As for wet performance; well I have had better tyres. They are quite OK but when going fast in heavy rain you notice that they will gradually loose contact. The good thing is that this happens gracefully so you do get some warnings.

All in all I can recommend the tyres if you are after all round performance and don't need tyres that excel under specific conditions.
5 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2018   
Given 49% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport (275/40 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Tyre blew after about 20,000 miles and on inspection showed that the tyre had broken down and split around the inner rim.
For safety reasons have replaced with a set of Pirelli’s.
12 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2018   
Given 70% while driving a BMW 520d Sport (245/40 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Have had three of these tyres on the front of my BMW and all three have failed due to pothole damage.

Coincidence? I think not.
25 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 11,500 average miles
These Goodyear Excellence have been fantastic tyres. Excellent dry and wet grip, superb handling and feedback, cannot fault them, you can definitely see that they are Premium brand tyres. Fronts lasted 11500 miles until they had 3mm left, rears still have 5.5mm left. Would certainly recommend, if I could afford them I would buy them again, or any other model Goodyear make.
8 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2017   
Given 84% while driving a Kia Motors (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I have got Excellence's in 215's on mine. They are far better comfort than the AU5's & AE50's that I took off. Low road noise on rough road, but very quiet on smooth road and they grip quite well too. They looks to be wearing well over the past 8000 km. Value for money product.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Mazda 6 2.0 D (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I get this tyre with car. It's very comfortable and proves good filling of contol in any conditions
1 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2016   
Given 49% while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
Standard from factory (Skoda Yeti 1.8 4X4).
Mostly driven on city roads and highways.
After 30K kms (19K miles) need to be changed (too early for a 4X4)
7/10 on dry roads (but 9/10 on dry braking - the only good performance from them).
4/10 on wet - maybe less(and NOT good wet breaking).
7/10 comfort and 5/10 to all the other performances.
There is almost nothing excellent on them (only dry breaking).
Their name should be changed from Excellence to Mediocre!!!
8 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2015