Goodyear Excellence

The Goodyear Excellence is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 125 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 2,602,817 miles driven.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 71%
Wear 72%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 62%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size15 - 20"
Width195 - 275mm
Profile35 - 65
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripB - D
Noise (dB)68 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Excellence is ranked 95th of 148 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Goodyear Excellence

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/65R15 91 HDD70
195/65R15 91 HDC70
195/65R15 91 HBB70
195/65R15 91 HDD70
195/65R15 91 HDC70
17 inch
225/45R17 91 WDC70
225/45R17 91 WDC70
225/50R17 98 W XLDC72
18 inch
235/60R18 103 WDC71
20 inch
255/45R20 101 WDB72
255/45R20 101 WDB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear Excellence >>

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Excellence

2017-02-07 - Hi, can anyone tell me if this is a directional tyre or not? I need one for a full size spare wheel, which should ideally NOT be directional.

The Goodyear Excellent is an asymmetric tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £121.84 - £121.84 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 16 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear Excellence Reviews

BMW 730d (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 52,000 average miles
Have this on BMW 730d from April 2009 (I know somebody will classify me as mad). Run for app. 52000 miles, 95% on highways. App. speed 150 km/h (app 94 mph). We use this car rarely, but tires still with no breaks on sides like described in some reviews. Changed them for same new set bought through internet site. Will see how will they perform and last.
Helpful 238 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2016
Given 61% while driving a Honda Civic FD2 (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 27,961 spirited miles
Average economy tyre. Dry grip is good, but you will reach its limit when you push it hard enough. Wet grip is another story. While it is capable of driving normally in the rain, the tyre would easily aquaplaning if you hit heavy puddle of water. Road feedback is average as it is an economy tyre. Handling is slightly above average as in my experience it provides enough agility for slightly above normal driving. Wear is good as I have used this tyre for 4 years with over 45000 km with the tread is still not hitting the limit thickness yet. Just recently 1 sidewalls have torn and I decided to change all 4 sides. Comfort in the other hand is quite good. It provides light steering feel and sound level is good enough. In terms of value, I would say that this is among the best value for money for economy tyre. Goodyear has released new tyre model to replace this model which is assurance triplemax and assurance triplemax 2 for malaysian market.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2023
Given 52% while driving a BMW 318 (215/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
I drive my BMW E46 to Genting, the Goodyear Excellence gave me the lousy feedback, oversteered when in wet road running about 20-30 km/h. Tyre very very noisy.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2020
Have you driven on the Goodyear Excellence tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Excellence? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Excellence >

Latest Goodyear Excellence Reviews

Given 34% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0 MIVEC (MAN) (215/50 R17) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
stupid tyre in wet road cant using~slip in wet road~
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2024
Given 66% while driving a Honda Civic FD2 (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
These came fitted on the FD2 when I bought it and were new tyres. Dry Grip - I've had not complaints and generally push the car hard on highways averaging 150-200 km/h. Overall good tyres in the dry. Wet Grip - Able to take corners on wet roads post heavy downfall around 80 km/h but I dare not go any faster. They're fine on straight roads going 100-120 km/h and wouldn't skid tho wet braking was not very good. I have another car fitted with the Goodyear ATM2 and they have better wet braking NVH - These aren't comfortable tires, rather hard compound but it gives you good road feedback and you can corner with confidence on these. That being said my car is low and generally cornering has never been an issue. I will not recommend these tires if you are looking for comfort or quiet. I will req these tires for anyone on a budget and isn't fussed with tires but just want something good and lasts long. These are definitely cheap and bang for a buck tires for people who just want a pair of tires to get them to point A to B.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Touran Match SE BlueMotion TDI (235/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Bought 2015 Tiguan 2 ago have done over 20.000 miles never lost faith in the grip of the tyre’s wet or dry. Due to renew soon will definitely replace with the same
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Touran Match SE BlueMotion TDI (235/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Bought 2015 Tiguan 2 ago have done over 20.000 miles never lost faith in the grip of the tyre’s wet or dry. Due to renew soon will definitely replace with the same
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2021
Volvo (235/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
The tyres were part worn on the car when I bought it. Driven approx 20000 miles, on the front of a volvo xc70 awd. Found the tyres to be good all round summer and winter. Even wear, gripped well and seemed good on fuel economy. Smooth tomdrive and comfortable ride. Bought good year vector 4 all season tyres on the strength of good year quality. I will see how they compare wear wise. No complaints, would buy again if looking for a summer tyre.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2021
Given 76% while driving a BMW 520D M Sport Touring (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Runflat version. These are probably the most comfortable runflat's I've driven on. Dry and wet handling are both tidy, nothing too sporty but safe and predictable. Seem to wear pretty well too.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2021
Given 59% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (245/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Had the Run-flat version of these on my 535d. When i got the car the the fronts where new, and the rear just a few thousand miles old. Just a months after getting the car I had to replace the OSF - passenger front - as I found a bulge in the side wall. I took the car to the nurburgring and it was very hot weather late summer, tyres performed pretty well on the track. Fast forward about 8k miles and six months and I've found TWO bulges in the OSF tyre, the very tyre I had replaced with a new one for the same reason just six months earlier. Im removing them and replacing with Michelin non-runflat tyres. I can't recommend these goodyear excellence runflats - i've had much better expeice with dunlop sportmaxx runflat, perelli p-zero runflats, and bridgestone potenza and dueller runflats.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2021
Given 79% while driving a Honda Odyssey (215/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,800 average miles
Drive my car to phuket from singapore. To n fro ard 2800 km. Very happy with the performance. Comfortable and quiet.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019
Given 71% while driving a BMW F11 M550d xDrive (245/40 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
These tyres came factory-fitted to a set of OEM rims. When I purchased them, they had already seen quite some miles and were in their third season. They had about 5,5 mm tread left. I was originally just interested in the rims but decided to give the tyres a chance as well. Let me also mention that these were the run-flat version of the Goodyear Excellence.

The tyres have impressed me. They are a bit noisy on rough asphalt like the one we usually have in Norway. But during a trip to Italy and on the Autobahn, noise was no issue. Dry grip is also fair. But when pushed, they will slip. As for wet performance; well I have had better tyres. They are quite OK but when going fast in heavy rain you notice that they will gradually loose contact. The good thing is that this happens gracefully so you do get some warnings.

All in all I can recommend the tyres if you are after all round performance and don't need tyres that excel under specific conditions.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2018
Given 49% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport (275/40 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Tyre blew after about 20,000 miles and on inspection showed that the tyre had broken down and split around the inner rim.
For safety reasons have replaced with a set of Pirelli’s.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2018
Given 70% while driving a BMW 520d Sport (245/40 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Have had three of these tyres on the front of my BMW and all three have failed due to pothole damage.

Coincidence? I think not.
Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2018
Given 84% while driving a Honda Accord (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 31,000 spirited miles
Good handling during wet and dry.
Abit noisy.
Cheap and excellence premium touring tyre.
Helpful 59 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2017