SUV and 4x4 Summer Ultra High Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed suv and 4x4 summer ultra high performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nankang SP5 (5) 90% 90% 83% 88% 95% 90%
Cooper Zeon 4XS (6) 88% 88% 92% 78% 90% 90%
Kumho Crugen HP91 (10) 93% 92% 91% 93% 70% 93%
Avon Ranger HTT (6) 90% 85% 83% 83% 85% 88%
Falken FK510 SUV (4) 85% 87% 80% 85% 80% 75%
Michelin Latitude Sport 3 (16) 87% 85% 84% 84% 77% 76%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV (10) 90% 83% 88% 84% 63% 90%
Michelin Latitude Diamaris (5) 95% 75% 58% 77% 85% 85%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 SUV (8) 84% 84% 77% 69% 70% 79%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV (5) 86% 100% 74% 58% 58% 84%
Avon ZX7 (27) 87% 84% 77% 77% 57% 81%
Vredestein Ultrac SUV Sessanta (3) 87% 77% 87% 83% 45% 90%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport SUV (4) 90% 83% 87% 83% 50% 67%
Achilles Desert Hawk UHP (6) 78% 56% 68% 60% 78% 82%
Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 SUV (3) 83% 67% 83% 87% 40% 80%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (25) 84% 81% 77% 83% 53% 73%
Continental 4x4 SportContact (6) 87% 68% 74% 63% 53% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (43) 78% 71% 68% 68% 62% 71%
Cooper Zeon 4XS Sport (8) 78% 79% 69% 63% 54% 66%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (65) 79% 64% 68% 63% 72% 63%
Falken FK453CC (3) 77% 67% 63% 67% 63% 57%
Cooper Zeon XSTa (3) 70% 65% 75% 75% 35% 75%
Yokohama Advan ST (3) 73% 53% 57% 50% 40% 33%

SUV and 4x4 Summer Ultra High Performance Tyres with no reviews

Dunlop Grandtrek PT9000, Dunlop SP QuattroMaxx, Dynamo HISCEND H MSU01, Dynamo HISCEND H MSU02, Giti GitiSport S1 SUV, Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 SUV, Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 SUV, GT Radial Champiro HPY SUV, GT Radial SportActive SUV, Hankook Ventus S1 evoA, Kumho Crugen HP71, Maxxis S Pro, Michelin Latitude Sport 2, Nokian Hakka Black 2 SUV, Nokian Hakka Blue 2 SUV, Nokian Hakka Z SUV, Nokian Z Sport Utility, Nokian Z SUV, Pirelli P Zero Rosso SUV, Pirelli P Zero SUV, Radar Diamax 4 Season, RoadX RXQUEST, Uniroyal RainSport 2 SUV, Yokohama Parada Spec X PA02

SUV and 4x4 Summer Ultra High Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 SUV rated 79% while driving a Audi SQ5
Driving on mostly motorways for 1500 easy going miles
Can be noisy on expressway surfaces although Very comfortable. Steering can change from understeer to oversteer due to soft sidewalls P zero's steer better and are quieter although much higher treadwear
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-30 02:58:42
Dynamo HISCEND H MSU01 rated 100% while driving a Nissan Qashqai 2018
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
These are absolutely brilliant tyres! Such good grip in dry and wet weather. Comfortable cornering and stop when you need them to. Came highly recommended by my mechanic. Although not the cheapest tyres on the market, they’re still great value. I didn’t know the brand when they were recommended to me but I’ll be sticking with them from now on. Very impressed.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-22 20:47:42
Falken FK510 SUV rated NAN% while driving a Volvo
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Dry handling is better than the Michelins I removed, also quieter ! wet Handling & change of direction is better, with better feed back, also less movement from the rear (xc60 D4 2wd) as i do chuck it about more than most ....... Mpg has gone down by about 4/5mpg ....which is a tad pants.... as the everything else is very impressive. looking at sticking a set on my Focus also
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-14 16:30:16
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV rated 64% while driving a Hyundai Tucson
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 easy going miles
Very good in the dry, good in the wet , a smooth ride , but have to say only 14000 miles on a set on the front hardly seems value to me, also I believe these only come with 7 mm tread on them compared to 8 mm on most other brands. I still have the same original tyres on the rear of car and now the second set on the front are due to be replaced...I would love to know what tyres others have found that work better or last longer,
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-02 19:16:45
Pirelli Scorpion Verde rated 51% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 easy going miles
Worst tyre I have had in over 50 years of motoring. After 2 years and 14,000 miles first sign of cracking in grooves between treads. Cracking progressively got worse until had to change tyres at 4 years and 30,000. By this time tyres were in a distressed state with multiply cracks in groves and chunking of tread. Material looked very hard and brittle. For reference previous set of Pirelli tyres were changed after 5 years and 43,000 miles with over 2mm tread left,
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-01 09:29:54
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV rated 83% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan
Driving on mostly country roads for 50000 average miles
My 66 plate Tiguan came with these tyres. The front tyres were swapped out at 27,000 miles (with Avon ZX7's). I put the Contisports on the back axle and they are still there at c.3mm and just over 50,000 miles! I am now looking at whether to replace the front ZX7's (which will have done c.23,000 miles) with Contisports again, though I think the extra mileage from them doesn't justify the extra £30 a tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-30 12:34:08
Avon ZX7 rated 66% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML
Driving on mostly motorways for 17000 average miles
Full set fitted 18 months ago, 17000 miles completed, will need full set for MOT. No issues with the tyres other than, expected more miles from them especially when most miles are motorway driving.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-23 18:41:23
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport rated 40% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 average miles
These came VW factory-fitted as summer tyres on my second-hand Tiguan. Driven all summer on them and now just changed to the winter tyres...what a difference. I had assumed it was the Tiguan's set-up and probably partly is, but now with the winter tyres on I can hear/feel just how noisy and imprecise the Bridgstones were. I do a fair amount on rough winding mountain roads and never felt confident to really attack the road because I couldn't predict how the car would react because it was jumping around and usually understeering. On the straighter "main roads", the noise was really too loud....the Tiguan has a lot of sound-proofing but even so it couldn't deal with these tyres and overall I felt much happier in my 22 year-old Ford Focus. The positive....these tyres have done 24000 miles of summer driving and still have 6.5-7 mm tread. I'd really like not to put them back on next spring but that's a lot of money to "throw away"
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-23 08:20:51
Maxxis S Pro rated 43% while driving a Toyota fortuner
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
very noisy, no comfort, bad control good on forst 1000miles
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-10 02:25:46
Pirelli Scorpion Verde rated 57% while driving a Volvo 2.0 T5 Saloon
Driving on for 27000 average miles
Good grip and tyre wear, however huge tyre roar over 60mph. This coupled with a poor road surface can made long journeys a pain.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-05 15:52:35
Cooper Zeon 4XS Sport rated 74% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC 250 4 Matic
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
A full set came fitted to the used Mercedes GLC we purchased. After never having heard of these tyres I was pleasantly surprised. Do a little more digging and you find that David Coulthard (yes the F1 driver) endorses these tyres and helped with their development! They are one of the quietest tyres I have ever experienced - given that's its a Mercedes SUV things are pretty quiet in the cabin anyway, but I noticed that the Goodyear tyres fitted to a similar age/spec/mileage GLC was noticeably harsher and noisier. These tyres have a very unusual dot pattern in between the tread blocks, I can imagine this contributes to noise suppression. Being an SUV it doesn't get thrown around like a car would. That said you have full confidence flooring the throttle in the wet on these. Acceleration and braking is good enough - being a 4matic it's more difficult to break traction anyway compared to a FWD SUV and these tyres seem to work very well on the GLC. Wear is probably the only drawback - in the few months I've driven on them (around 4mm tread when we got the car) I'm starting to see bald shoulders on the front tyres, this is the design of the blocks and the rest of the tyre still has 3.5mm+ and the tyres have been correctly inflated. The tyres don't seem to offer a great deal of rim protection either although at a 55% SUV profile this is less of an issue than say a 30% profile. The top brands seem to have a thicker rim protection flange which in my opinion looks quite good. I get the sense that it's a very soft compound, excellent grip and a low noise tread design at the expense of wear. Goodyears and Pirelli's most likely will last longer, but they are more expensive (Cooper's available around £90 a corner) and noticeably harsher (in terms of noise and comfort). As the vehicle has a remote monitoring app it's the first time I've been able to monitor tyre pressures over the course of a few months daily. It's been very interesting to see the pressures drop as much as 4psi over 10deg C, I'm not sure if all tyres would vary to the same degree. All in all, would definitely buy these tyres again. Once you've had a quiet tyre fitted to an SUV it's very difficult to swap to anything noisier. The dB rating for this tyre is 70dB but it feels more like 68dB.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-25 13:31:53
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 SUV rated NAN% while driving a Audi
Driving on a combination of roads for 20156 average miles
used these tyres on the Q7 for over 20k now, still have over 4.0 MM left on the rear tyres, although the fronts are ready to replace.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-21 09:14:59
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre