Avon ZZ5

The Avon ZZ5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZZ3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 86%
Wear 70%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 92 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 610,571 miles driven.

The ZZ5 is ranked 21st of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Avon ZZ5
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 70 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71 12.06kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71 12.22kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E B 70 10.00kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 10.54kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL         11.31kgs
235/40 R18 91Y   E A 69 11.31kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 69 11.34kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 70 11.83kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E B 70 11.71kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 69 11.83kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 10.85kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 70 11.74kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 70 12.66kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70 12.66kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   E A 71 12.26kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 13.48kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 11.36kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL          
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 70 11.97kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 12.57kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 71 11.44kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 70 12.37kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71 13.48kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 12.93kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL          
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 13.03kgs

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZZ5

2018-03-07 - Do you know if AVON ever put their car tyres forward for comparison against their rivals? I believe Avon to be a respected British tyre company but i can never seem to find them appear in the tyre tests. Because i want to support British companies i have 2 cars both with full sets of avon ZZ5 which i find to be excellent but it troubles me that i cant see them reviewed against direct rivals Do they have something to hide?

The Avon ZZ5 is quite an old tyre now. If you look at a newer pattern, such as the Avon ZV7, it has been tested and scores comparatively well for its price point.


2020-06-03 - Can I replace Avon ZZ5 with Avon ZV7 on my Fiesta ST ? Thanks.

Replacing the ZV7 with the ZZ5 is no problem.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


ZZ5 Prices

Size Price Range  
255/35 R18 £130.34 - £130.34 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Avon ZZ5 Reviews

Given 98% while driving a Volkswagen MKV GTI (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
PERFECTLY SUITED TO MY CAR.VERY SECURE WET WEATHER PERFORMANCE.DRY GRIP AND STEERING FEEL VERY PLEASING>STILL TRYING TO FIND A DOWNSIDE TO THE BEST TYRE I HAVE EVER PUT ON MY CAR>
165 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2016   
Given 60% while driving a Mercedes Benz E 320 CDi (265/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,800 easy going miles
Absolutely disgusting wear rate , only got 5800 miles out of them!!! Sent back to Avon and was told there was nothing wrong with them !!!
46 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2017   
Given 37% while driving a Volkswagen bora tdi (225/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 1,100 average miles
DO NOT BUY . 1100 MILES OF DRIVING AND NEED REPLACED . I drive a 2002 vw bora 1.9tdi . No wheelspin , no fast driving , no chucking it round corners . Bought 4 June/ July 2018 . Fitted onto new wheels 5th August 2018 . It's 26th Sept 2018 and I now need to go replace the two front tyres. Already down to tread wear indicators. £72 ish per tyre I paid . Would have been better off with part worn tyres . Would have lasted longer .
37 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2018   
Have you driven on the Avon ZZ5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZZ5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon ZZ5 >

Latest Avon ZZ5 Reviews

Given 96% while driving a Ford fiesta st (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 17,000 spirited miles
Purchased a pair for the front of my ST200, now twenty months old and very near to needing replacement. They were immediately quieter than the Ford standard fit and have been providing me excellent grip throughout their use. I'm seeking to buy ZZ5's again!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Audi TT MK2 TFSI (225/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
If you have a heavy oil burner with soggy suspension you should not be buying sport tyres. If however you drive a mid weight VW TT or GtI you definitely want these. Lets start by saying a performance tyre will not last as long , I know this is an obvious mute point but it needs to be said. So lets start by saying we had these on the car when we bought it and the fronts even worn to legal limit felt fantastic, I had to get an old stock set as I dont think they make them any more any way put them on they feel like typical new tyres bouncy squidgy but after less 150 miles they are back to the perfect tyre for on the TT. The grip turn in and progressiveness of this tyre is outstanding as is mid corner stability. I send best wishes to engineer that designed his tyre ....outstanding on VW AUDI
0 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 76% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDIe C6 model (255/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Bought these with Audi A6 C6 '10 plate. They were pretty much new when I bought the car. 20k later there was nothing left on the front. I still got few k left on rear ones. The sportiest tyres I ve had, however I never really owned a proper sport tyre before. In warm weather, once the tyre was warm I was really happy with the grip, handling and responsivness even though my Audi was front wheel drive only. Had my car remapped to 205bhp on the wheel and aprox 430NM so quite a lot of torque sent to the front. In these conditions tyre performed really well. Even more experienced drivers were suprised at what speeds you can go around the corner. On the other hand, in wet and cold conditions it can be quite scary, trying to go up the hill and around the corner in first normally results in wheelspin howevever I am aware my front were worn unevenly. It appeared previous owner was putting way to much air in them as middle part had considerably less tread than sides. Had the front swapped for Nexen N Fera SU4 (£75 a piece). This was much more comfortable to ride on and better in wet however much noisier and even though the dry grio was good, Avon felt much sportier and way mlre responsive. Overall really good in dry, not so good in wet. Not the best in terms of wear. For £124 a tyre I will be trying Goodyear Eagle F1 AS5 as it has much better reviews and I miss the sporty feel.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2020   
Given 97% while driving a Audi TT Mk1 1.8T 225BHP (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Fitted to my Audi TT Quattro, replaced set of miss matched Chinese hedge finders that came with the car. Absolutely transformed the handling. Ok I've got four wheel drive but have never managed to loose grip in spirited driving in the wet or dry. Were rubbish for the first hundred or so miles, really slippy but guess they were bedding in.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2020   
Audi A4 1.8T S Line (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 11,500 average miles
Purchased used Audi A4 with 4x new Avon ZZ5 tyres. Less than 12000 miles later I’m changing all tyres. Whilst there’s a good amount of tread left, I’ve never been satisfied or felt secure with grip in either wet or dry conditions. However, my biggest complaint is tyre noise. Whilst I appreciate a 19” tyre will never provide a quiet, comfortable ride, these tyres are woeful. The tyres make a drone noise similar to a failing bearing and especially in colder conditions. I’ve been to several garages who have confirmed bearings are good and all suspect the tyres. For me and my fellow passengers sanity these tyres are going. Would I recommend? No. Would I buy myself? Definitely not.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Fitted them to fronts of my MX5, after puncture on original Bridgestone tyre ... these are so much better. Definitely recommend. More grip and feel, especially when below 15 DegC - inspiring confidence, without any wear issues.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2019   
Given 74% while driving a Ford S Max Titanium X Sport (225/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
While these tyres perform well in dry and wet conditions after 10000 miles I can say predominant dry driving will wear these tyres quickly. Switching tyres back to front half way is advised as the drive tryes lose adhesion after some wear, which translates poor wet driving grip.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 4 spirited miles
Fitted these tyres after acquiring some larger OEM wheels with no tyres. I’d shopped around and looked at alternatives from Pirelli, hankook and Michelin but decided on Avon’s due to reviews and price (cost me £277 fitted)

These tyres grip very well in the dry even when pushing the car, they seem to gradually lose grip and push into underdetermined but I have to really push the car to get that to happen.

In the wet they also have a good amount of grip. Not as good the uniroyal rainsport 3 tyres I was running previously. Although they still grip at 50 mph during corners in the cold wet weather.

After 4,500 miles they seem to be wearing well with a good amount of tread remaining, that’s being fitted to my 165bhp Abarth. They’re a bit noisy and uncomfortable but then again the car isn’t so it could just be the car and not the tyres
0 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a MG ZTT 135 diesel (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I loved these tyres when I first bought them. First thing I noticed was how quiet they were. Very grippy in the wet, dry and all summer tyre conditions (but not tried them in the ice and snow). Great driving feedback and fairly progressive too. Wear initially appeared to be good, but after less than 10,000 miles, both are now down to the tread wear markers. I don't drive aggressively and given that all other sets of tyres on the same car have outlasted these, I can't recommend them. A shame because in all other respects these are excellent. If Avon sorted out the wear, they'd have a winner on their hands.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Focus (235/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Best tyre I've used won't put anything else on my focus st
0 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Mazda MX5 bbr tuned (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
mx5 bbr super 200
after 22000 miles of spirited driving, i have replaced the ZZ5 avons on the rear of my mx5 at 3mm tread remaining.
they have performed, in every area, extremely well, in all conditions,( not driven in snow)
they have never let go...i have tried.
they have taken me on fast road trips around Scotland (twice) and wales (twice)
as well as 2500 miles through France down to Spain and back....never a problem.
the best tyre i have ever had.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2019   
Given 79% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (245/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 9,000 average miles
Firstly i'll start by saying these tyres replaced a pair of rovelo RPX998 On the front of my 2011 vauxhall insignia diesel

Now I fully appeciate these are summer tyres however in the uk 95% of us just plow on with the same tyres, the previous tyres (rovelo) had no issues getting me home in the snow i even covered 400 miles during the beast from the east with the M1 covered in 7inch of snow at some points. The avons are dreadful in the snow, in fact i had these fitted in november 18 and all through the colder months they were hard and noisy. Once the weather warmed up they were a totally different tyre but after covering 4000 miles over winter they were down to 3.5mm tread.

Dry and wet grip has been brilliant and they are very hard to make understeer. I have done 5000 miles now over summer, including a 2100 mile round trip to the south of france and they are still on 3.5mm tread.

In conclusion i find these a very strange tyre, they are hopeless in the snow, average and noisy on cold days but great during summer. .

A few other reviews mention these tyres are noisy and give a failing wheel bearing drone when they are running low on tread which is an issue i have now, myself and two garages have checked the car for duff bearings and have found no issues..i guess it could be the tyres.

Would i buy again? Nah, i will be swapping these soon before winter, i might try the nexen su4
0 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2019