Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards).

Do you Drive a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (62) 88% 84% 83% 82% 83% 82%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (17) 91% 96% 86% 87% 79% 86%
Falken Azenis FK510 (123) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Avon ZZ5 (92) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Accelera 651 Sport (14) 86% 74% 82% 84% 81% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (16) 97% 59% 91% 93% 61% 74%
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (11) 98% 79% 82% 91% 54% 43%
Nankang AR 1 (27) 91% 47% 86% 89% 75% 68%
Winrun R330 (23) 81% 71% 68% 71% 76% 78%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (127) 84% 73% 77% 76% 68% 64%
Bridgestone Potenza RE010 (2) 80% 70% 80% 85% 50% 60%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (20) 74% 65% 74% 74% 77% 66%

Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Previously had Goodyear F1 Assy3 and Michelin PS4 on the car, but thought I'd try saving some money this time with Falken's FK510 - that was a mistake. In March/April when newly fitted I was stunned at the amount of grip (although this could partly be because I went wider from 205 to 215), and they continued to please me for 6 months. If I'd reviewed them at that point they would've been very highly rated, the only mark against them being the sidewall is a bit soft. However after this, they have really disapointed. Perhaps it's wear (although neither front or rear are at the wear bars yet), maybe it's the cooler temperatures and occasional salt on the roads, but the grip has very rapidly reduced and they make me nervous in greasy conditions. I can get rear wheelspin in third gear sometimes in a car with only 160 hp. They have just now started understeering at the front. I'm not sure if they put a better compound on the very outside of the tyre or they just don't like 10'c temperatures but I've never seen tyres drop off like these have, and at such low mileage too. There's plenty of tread left but I am considering swapping them for something more premium already, so they are a false economy.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-19 23:50:28
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 70% (215-45-17-)
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
these are trackday tyres and i use them only on track or transfers from home to track. the grip is great, even better than Toyo R888R i have used before, consistent performance lap after lap. cornering speed is great! on wet surface it is better to stay at home or cruise at low speed. street usability is fine as long as you use them for short distances, you can feel every pothole, even the smallest my car is a 2016 Mazda MX-5 with no mods other than Tein dampers
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-15 17:54:25
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO given 81% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I've now driven these in cold-wet conditions (best suited to); in heavy snow and ice on Scottish mountains where they "got me home"; and dry hot summer days back in London where you can feel the reduction in grip vs summer tyre (but nothing too bad); plus torrential rain to gauge aqua-planing. Really not a bad tyre. As in my earlier reviews, they've handled all conditions as advertised, and I would buy again. Key things -- on snow/ice, if you drive carefully, they'll get you home in any conditions. In cold-wet they transform grip, and also great in torrential rain as advertised. In hot-dry conditions, you need to drive & think ahead to avoid any compromises as they are softer than summer-tyres and will slide more as they heat-up. Wear was not bad, even on the back of my MX-5. On a heavier car, driven primarily in South of UK, I can imagine 12k miles of life, as this is a stickier softer tyre, but that's what you are buying !!! Thoroughly recommend this. A great option if you only see a few days of snow each year.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-25 07:20:52
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun given 92% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
Having had these tyres on my previous car (Mini Cooper) I decided to have a set of four put on my MX 5 ND. They replaced 3 worn out Bridgestone Potenzas with 24,000 miles on them from new and a slippery Pirelli P7 that was half worn. My initial impressions are the care is more comfortable and smooth with less road noise. The 'W' rated Falkens have a stiff sidewall and handling feels positive. I am looking forward to a long wear life from these tyres (the Mini Cooper has 20,000 miles and plenty of tread depth). I can highly recommend these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-01 08:22:08
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 39% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24000 spirited miles
Bought a 2015 MX5 with these tires on as OEM. The car has done 24000 miles from new and the tires are worn out. The ride is bumpy and the tires feel really hard to the point where they don't grip well. Driving hard in the dry they are acceptable. Driving hard in the wet is not possible due to low levels of grip. In the wet it's like driving with banana skins on your wheels and steering becomes inprecise. These tires are probably great if you live in a hot, dry country as they do start to grip well when warmed up. Unfortunately I live in Scotland!
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-30 14:00:33
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO given 87% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I've now done 2000 miles with theseveral on my Mazda Mx-5 ND 2.0L manual. They've transformed grip vs OEM in cold wet conditions. And have been used in the snow and ice. Grip is poor, as the car floats on the snow, but I never got stuck despite driving in drifting snow in Scottish Highlands during February, and ocassional ice. Would recommend as advertised for cold wet conditions, and infrequent snow, where the objective is to get home safely.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-17 07:56:47
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO given 100% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Fitted to rear wheels of Mazda MX5 ND (2017 2.0L), these have immediately cured the sliding issues of the hard Bridgestones that the car was originall fitted with, when it is a bit cold & a bit wet. Feels very secure. Not quite cold enough yet for snow, but very happy with feel and grip at few degrees above zero in the wet. Good price too. Have done 1000 miles since purchase in mostly cold-wet conditions, and was after a premium tyre that'll get me home if it snows, and safer in the winter. This is a good option !
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-13 01:18:30
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
I put Cup 2 on my Mazda MX-5 ND (2017), I already had coilovers and sway bar upgraded (also power upgrade to about 190hp and brake of course), until now I drove on Michelin Pilot Sport 4 which have great grip in the dry and wet also in compare to stock Bridgestone tires (S001 really do not recommend them!), they was just little "spongy" in terms of precise of steering (they have very soft sidewalls) but they are still great tires and I like it, but with Cup 2 it's on another lvl! Steering is very tight, precise, very stable at high speeds in compare to Pilot Sport 4 also grip, absolutely amazing on my upgraded suspension, car is fast as f*ck! :D I can push it really really hard, I mostly drive on back roads (I have them a lot around with minimum of traffic so I can push it) Absolutely fullfill my curent setup what I want from car. They need some warm up in at beginning but nothing terrible, I drove them only in dry, I rarely drive in the wet (I love that car and had it just for my pleasure) so I can't tell anything about wet driving.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 17:11:34
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 73% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 miles
Regards grip these are Ok in the dry unless it's cold (15degC. If it's cooler damp wet weather, they are really slidey, and quite a hard tyre. On snow, these are absolutely useless.
After a puncture, I fitted a softer (and cheaper) set of Avon-ZZ5 tyres to the fronts and the confidence in grip was very noticible, especially in cooler damp weather.
For the UK winter months, these tyres are very slidey on the back of my 2.0 ND MX-5. I'll replace the backs with something softer and better in the wet when they wear out ... and given how hard the compound obviously is, I may be waiting some time !
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-29 23:18:01
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 100% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Fitted them to fronts of my MX5, after puncture on original Bridgestone tyre ... these are so much better. Definitely recommend. More grip and feel, especially when below 15 DegC - inspiring confidence, without any wear issues.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-16 01:37:42
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 73% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
virtually the same as a previous AD08R. I've been driving them all the year. I wasn't on the circuit. I drive them only on roads. I rode cautiously in the wet and then it's okay. They are perfect when dry. Of course you need to think of warming up before a quick ride.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-27 22:02:22
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 spirited miles
Great in the dry, lethal in the wet. Loose traction suddenly, few scary moments!
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-12 21:47:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre