Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards).

Do you Drive a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Accelera 651 Sport (13) 89% 76% 85% 87% 84% 86%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (6) 90% 96% 88% 86% 90% 92%
Avon ZZ5 (92) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (13) 97% 61% 93% 93% 58% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (8) 100% 78% 81% 93% 57% 40%
Winrun R330 (17) 82% 70% 69% 74% 81% 84%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (121) 85% 73% 78% 77% 70% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza RE010 (2) 80% 70% 80% 85% 50% 60%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (14) 72% 65% 71% 71% 72% 62%

Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO given 100% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Fitted to rear wheels of Mazda MX5 ND (2017 2.0L), these have immediately cured the sliding issues of the hard Bridgestones that the car was originall fitted with, when it is a bit cold & a bit wet. Feels very secure. Not quite cold enough yet for snow, but very happy with feel and grip at few degrees above zero in the wet. Good price too. Have done 1000 miles since purchase in mostly cold-wet conditions, and was after a premium tyre that'll get me home if it snows, and safer in the winter. This is a good option !
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-13 01:18:30
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
I put Cup 2 on my Mazda MX-5 ND (2017), I already had coilovers and sway bar upgraded (also power upgrade to about 190hp and brake of course), until now I drove on Michelin Pilot Sport 4 which have great grip in the dry and wet also in compare to stock Bridgestone tires (S001 really do not recommend them!), they was just little "spongy" in terms of precise of steering (they have very soft sidewalls) but they are still great tires and I like it, but with Cup 2 it's on another lvl! Steering is very tight, precise, very stable at high speeds in compare to Pilot Sport 4 also grip, absolutely amazing on my upgraded suspension, car is fast as f*ck! :D I can push it really really hard, I mostly drive on back roads (I have them a lot around with minimum of traffic so I can push it) Absolutely fullfill my curent setup what I want from car. They need some warm up in at beginning but nothing terrible, I drove them only in dry, I rarely drive in the wet (I love that car and had it just for my pleasure) so I can't tell anything about wet driving.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 17:11:34
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 73% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 miles
Regards grip these are Ok in the dry unless it's cold (15degC. If it's cooler damp wet weather, they are really slidey, and quite a hard tyre. On snow, these are absolutely useless.
After a puncture, I fitted a softer (and cheaper) set of Avon-ZZ5 tyres to the fronts and the confidence in grip was very noticible, especially in cooler damp weather.
For the UK winter months, these tyres are very slidey on the back of my 2.0 ND MX-5. I'll replace the backs with something softer and better in the wet when they wear out ... and given how hard the compound obviously is, I may be waiting some time !
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-29 23:18:01
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 100% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Fitted them to fronts of my MX5, after puncture on original Bridgestone tyre ... these are so much better. Definitely recommend. More grip and feel, especially when below 15 DegC - inspiring confidence, without any wear issues.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-16 01:37:42
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 73% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
virtually the same as a previous AD08R. I've been driving them all the year. I wasn't on the circuit. I drive them only on roads. I rode cautiously in the wet and then it's okay. They are perfect when dry. Of course you need to think of warming up before a quick ride.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-27 22:02:22
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 spirited miles
Great in the dry, lethal in the wet. Loose traction suddenly, few scary moments!
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-12 21:47:15
Writing about the Accelera 651 Sport given 34% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
So I bought Accelera 651 Sport. Somewhere like EP tires Accelera 651 Sport. And I promised to post, so here it is.
To sum up, don't buy! And whoever wants to buy them, no matter what, and I prefer to break both hands before he clicks on.
 At http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Accelera/651-Sport.htm they have a nice review, so I risked it, but I did. I put the tires on the rear axle, where I need to have strength and certainty, because the MX-5 rests mainly on the butt in the corners. When I bought unknown tires, I expected them to be able to slide more or not have a fixed sidewall, or they would be too hard to be noisy, or could disappear quickly - at worst they could have a tricky moment to slip. But I was naive, the EP tires of Accelera 651 Sport showed up as a semislick parody, perhaps as an amateur copy. What followed after the change I really did not expect.
 Already when they arrived, I was intrigued that they had a strange black and soft touch. The gaps were very wide. In fact, the inscriptions and the cut of the sample look quite amateurish as with any protector. Also, the tire profile is not as "square" as in Yokohama, and so the width of the interface is smaller. Well, but I bravely put them on and carefully set off on the road.
 Well I am cautious to napos..tý, because at low speeds, although a drop of rubber, but nicely glued, but over 90 kmh began to swim. Attention! On a dry flat road without tracks or anything. I just want to overtake on the plane and just the maneuver to the left and back my back swung so that my anti-skid and anti-skid system started to flicker. This is always the same, and even on the best road it is not possible to go straight over 120kmh - the car starts to swim and the orange angel on the deck flashes as runaway! Even on a straight ride, after a perfect journey, there is a sudden feeling that my bike has gone to the tracks and pulls, while trying to balance it, the back of the stall and the stabilization system hit - on the plane!
 I began to suspect that this was a totally different design from Yokohamas. Yokohamy is a solid tire with a touch-hard pattern that is soft as a parameter and simply has a perfect grip when heated. Therefore, Treadwear (UTQG) has only 200. However, this number does not mean quality. It just means the tire doesn't last as long as the one with UTQG 350. And here someone decided to abuse it. The tire looks like a semislick and has UTQG as a semislick, but it's not semislick. Rather, it looks like a soft winter blend with a summer pattern. The mixture is really soft to the touch, and at a new sample height of about 1cm (assuming) it simply starts to chew at higher speeds and the car rips uncontrollably from left to right. So the sidewall design is solid, but the sample is chewing.
 I even had my bicycles outweighed if it wasn't but everything was OK. Finally I put the new Accelera back and the old Yokohama back - and everything is OK again. I can go fast and safely again. I have already left for one season with the winter on my front and I like a softer front that bites the corner. In this feature, the Accelery is fine, better than the winters, more sticky. I just had to buy another, new Yokohama on my ass.
 EP tires Accelera 651 Sport, therefore, can not recommend driving over about 70 km / h. And the price is not even so low that I recommend them for some technical fooling at low speeds (drifts, small circuits), I do not even know it directly, but the 70kmh it went with them and stick stuck.

tyre reviewed on 2019-06-09 19:16:11
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 70% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-06 01:02:50
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R given 78% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
Very aggressive tyre!
Performance on dry road tops the DOT tyres like M PCS2 and P TR.
Haven't really push in the wet so no comment on that.
A bit pricy though.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-09 07:16:53
Writing about the Winrun R330 given 89% (215-45-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 200 easy going miles
This tires is amazing, its outperformed my advan sport tires. I definitely will buy this tires again for my other car.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-07 07:15:45
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre